If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭topgeas

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Just finished the scanning the cows

35 out of 35 heifers
    93 out of 100 cows

Pretty happy with that

13 out of 14 heifers
    67 out of 71 cows.
    very happy too

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Muckit wrote: »
    Best of luck with the last of the harvest boys and girls.

I'm afraid I've sown the last of my wild oats.... heading up to aisle tomorrow ;)

Muckit
    Have fun Muckit, enjoy the big day.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

pakalasa wrote: »
    The Irish Salers cattle society will hold its annual Salers X Heifer Sale at Gort Mart Co. Galway. on TONIGHT 11th of October at 8pm.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/beefcattle/3996976

Might be worth a spin over, all going well i will have a report for ye tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Muckit wrote: »
    Best of luck with the last of the harvest boys and girls.

I'm afraid I've sown the last of my wild oats.... heading up to aisle tomorrow ;)

Muckit

Best of luck Muckit and enjoy the day. Got married myself earlier this year and the only advice I'd give is enjoy the day cause its over in a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

Muckit

What ever you do, don't let her eat the cake!

Otherwise the main job goes down the drain!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

topgeas wrote: »
    13 out of 14 heifers
    67 out of 71 cows.
    very happy too
    Good going

I was fearing the worst considering the year was in it but happy now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Best of luck Muckit and enjoy the day. Got married myself earlier this year and the only advice I'd give is enjoy the day cause its over in a shot.

Jaysus you're all getting married. I'd better find myself someone soon or there'll be no land left to marry into ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Jaysus you're all getting married. I'd better find myself someone soon or there'll be no land left to marry into ;)

jebus the world is turned on it s head altogether, sure its the woman thats supposed to be bringing more land to the equation..not he other way around ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Might be worth a spin over, all going well i will have a report for ye tomorrow.

do, a few pics would be good too.
    jebus the world is turned on it s head altogether, sure its the woman thats supposed to be bringing more land to the equation..not he other way around ;)

Its the only way to go lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

No pics I'm afraid but I did post them as youngsters somewhere on the farming thread.
    Crossmolina Euro bull (CH)- 350kg- €920
    Kilmoney Bruce- (BA)- 335kg- €900
    Westside Bob- (BB)- 340kg- €925

Roughly all marchish born calves.
    Very happy with my first blonde too:)
    You're reason to be cheerful:-). Good weight gains too for the year that's in it

Not when you've an older brother to contend with:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

whelan1 wrote: »
    what did the vet treat him with, never heard of it before

just pen strep for 3 days and the swelling went down and the hardness left him but just want to get him checked out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

Best of luck muckit

Sure ya can t be happy all your life........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

remember it was the second mouse that got the cheese, no need to rush the marriage thing. the aulder the fiddle the sweeter the tune, hey Kovu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

good growth these days:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

had you a high germination % down through the years

Nah, he was at mass every Sunday like the rest of us praying for crop failure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

the lim cow that put out her calf bed last year just calved all ok ,she calved on 15 sept last year, so not too bad considering,still dont know what it is a bull or heifer ,as mother says its quite all right i am looking after it.:D:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

leg wax wrote: »
    the lim cow that put out her calf bed last year just calved all ok ,she calved on 15 sept last year, so not too bad considering,still dont know what it is a bull or heifer ,as mother says its quite all right i am looking after it.:D:eek:
    You know you've a mad cow, when you're out in the field with a pair of binoculars trying to see if it is a bull or heifer. Been there - done that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

did you make it over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Anybody on here go to the walk in Johnstown Castle earlier this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭tanko

Does anyone think that the deadline for slurry spreading will be extended again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

tanko wrote: »
    Does anyone think that the deadline for slurry spreading will be extended again?

I'll be surprised if this happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

Anyone goin to Eddie lynches springer sale in Elphin this eve, let us know how it goes

remember it was the second mouse that got the cheese, no need to rush the marriage thing. the aulder the fiddle the sweeter the tune, hey Kovu

;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

did you make it over?

No, got held up in the evening and didnt make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

had an appointment in town at 10 this morning , so got milking done, offloaded kids to school and did few jobs around the yard, went to check dry cows- only have 7 left to calve- could see from a distance one of them was flat out. I thought she was dead but her leg moved as i shouted at her as i running to her:cool: She was calving, head only coming, 2 legs bent back:eek: i got one leg straightened but couldnt get the other, rang my dad , between the 2 of us we got the other leg but it seemed funny ,thought it was a back leg and was afraid to take the calf any further , so rang vet..... half an hour later she came- got jeep stuck in the field in the process- she took the calf with one leg, i was on the jack and there was serious pressure on it, calf was dry, eventually got him out . Massive dead friesian bull:mad: Gave the cow a few shots and she is up now.... think it will take my back a while to recover though

Sorry to hear it. Was the calf dead or deformed to start with? Or just a big brute that spent too long in the process of calving? At least it sounds like the cow should be ok and it's her milk you're after anyway.

Just got a text from 50123 number from the Dep of Ag stating the SFP start next week. The next line gave me a laugh "Pls be patient" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

just do it wrote: »
    Just got a text from 50123 number from the Dep of Ag stating the SFP start next week. The next line gave me a laugh "Pls be patient" :D
    Did they say if i was getting mine!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Thats not good but sure look at the positive , you would be in worse humour if it was a dead fresian heifer calf .

And it would be worse again if the cow couldnt get up and get into the parlour within a week or so .

And yad really have the hump if you didnt get a chance to check her this mornin and come back this evening to have a dead cow on your hands.

Every dark cloud has a silver lining somewhere in it ;)