What would help the Irish Language In Todays Media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

We actually have 2 forums on this site dedicated to the language. Gaeilge (Irish) for grammar, translation, etymology, etc, and Teach na nGealt for general conversation trí mheán na Gaeilge. I'd love to see more activity in them, but a lot of people either a) don't know they're there, or b) couldn't be bothered to actually use the bit of Irish the have.

Stop stressing about whether or not the language is "dying" and start actually using it. Radical or wha'?

Like u said I would have gone straight there but few people know where that sub forum is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

We actually have 2 forums on this site dedicated to the language. Gaeilge (Irish) for grammar, translation, etymology, etc, and Teach na nGealt for general conversation trí mheán na Gaeilge. I'd love to see more activity in them, but a lot of people either a) don't know they're there, or b) couldn't be bothered to actually use the bit of Irish the have.

Stop stressing about whether or not the language is "dying" and start actually using it. Radical or wha'?
    But Teach na nGealt by it's very nature filters out the non gealgoirs. Maybe not intentionally though. And as for the Gaelige board they forbid such discussions in their charter.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

DyldeBrill wrote: »
    If bands such as bell x1 and so on have interest in writing and singing Irish songs,....then we are hardly flogging a dead horse would u say?

It kills me to do this but...

Bell X1 are one of my favourite bands. I've seen them play 4 or 5 times in Limerick. Paul Noonan doesn't actually know the lyrics to Bladhm off by heart. He apologises every so often for not being able to perform the Irish version live. They had help from translators and native speakers when they recorded it for the Ceol CD a few years back.

Ugh I get tired of this ignoranc.

Tell me in your opinion , has irish grown in the past 10 years

So you know the fun song...great! Least that's one advertisement that you've heard.

If bands such as bell x1 and so on have interest in writing and singing Irish songs,....then we are hardly flogging a dead horse would u say?
    Yep. I'd still say you're flogging a dead horse. Songs and snazzy ads won't make people like the language. You need natural economic incentives and by natural I mean offered willingly by private individuals. Not imposed by the government.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    But Teach na nGealt by it's very nature filters out the non gealgoirs. Maybe not intentionally though. And as for the Gaelige board they forbid such discussions in their charter.

Jaysus. I've just had a look at the Charter there. It hasn't been updated since 2004! :eek: I'll send my Gaeilge co-mod a PM during the week and see if we can bring it up to date a bit. Some forum feedback could be useful. Thanks for the heads-up.

Ugh I get tired of this ignoranc.

Tell me in your opinion , has irish grown in the past 10 years

So you know the fun song...great! Least that's one advertisement that you've heard.

Yep. I'd still say you're flogging a dead horse. Songs and snazzy ads won't make people like the language. You need natural economic incentives and by natural I mean offered willingly by private individuals. Not imposed by the government.

What do you mean by snazzy? Are we going ott with them...?

Again there are more people than ever signing up for private classes and group classes through irish.There's something that isn't imposed by the government....but yup flogging a dead horse obviously.

It kills me to do this but...

Bell X1 are one of my favourite bands. I've seen them play 4 or 5 times in Limerick. Paul Noonan doesn't actually know the lyrics to Bladhm off by heart. He apologises every so often for not being able to perform the Irish version live. They had help from translators and native speakers when they recorded it for the Ceol CD a few years back.

It shouldn't 'kill' you to mention this.its true that he doesn't, and very worth while mentioning.

It's the fact that the band themselves.wanted to do it along with many other artists (that can remember the words)

What do you mean by snazzy? Are we going ott with them...?

Again there are more people than ever signing up for private classes and group classes through irish.There's something that isn't imposed by the government....but yup flogging a dead horse obviously.
    You mean out? lol well I don't know about you but "snazzy" isn't one property I look for when dating...

Who says there's more people than ever signing up for private classes and group classes through irish? Did you make that up or do you have a source? And while attendance to these classes or not imposed by the government often the organising bodies are implemented by them. Pull the funding from Foras na Gaeilge and see how long these classes last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

People always have mixed thoughts when it comes to this subject, some positive, some negative, and that will forever live!

If the Irish language is to succeed, what do you think would help it within the media world?And people who don't speak Irish, what are your thoughts on the language in relation to how its portrayed? Is there not enough advertisement done? Or is it the fact that there is plenty of advertisement, its just the fact that it is not done right?

Would be interested in hearing people's views on this subject.

The best way, to me, would be to make a few very popular tv programmes in the Irish language with English subtitles.

Something with the popularity of The X Factor and The Late Late Show combined would be perfect.

People would pick up loads of Irish this way and it would make it trendy and exciting.

Obviously this is easy easier to say than to do, but i reckon it would be one of the best ways to raise the profile of the language.

On a more basic level, it should be thought in a much more interesting fashion.

Kids should do PE through Irish, and their Irish lessons should be something interesting. They could translate their favourite films into Irish and then act them out for example. The same could be done for pop songs perhaps. Better than reading about a woman's life on the Blasket Islands anyway.

Having said all that, I think Irish is on a downward trend.

I'm fully confident that it will always be around though. People will always keep it alive and spoken.

You mean out? lol well I don't know about you but "snazzy" isn't one property I look for when dating...

Who says there's more people than ever signing up for private classes and group classes through irish? Did you make that up or do you have a source? And while attendance to these classes or not imposed by the government often the organising bodies are implemented by them. Pull the funding from Foras na Gaeilge and see how long these classes last.

ott-Over The Top

Well yes I do have a source from Conradh na Gaeilge who has told me classes have grown, which I think is great.But the best thing about these classes are is that there is an increase in foreigners learning Irish, which I find brilliant for the language.

Well if you pull funding yes, you would stop a lot of organisations do what they are doing mainly because a lot of them are non-profit or that a lot of the workers themselves are self voluntary.There is 2 sides to that story, some areas in the Irish language would suffer more than others, but that's not to say that the growing interest will decline.

The best way, to me, would be to make a few very popular tv programmes in the Irish language with English subtitles.

Something with the popularity of The X Factor and The Late Late Show combined would be perfect.

People would pick up loads of Irish this way and it would make it trendy and exciting.

Obviously this is easy easier to say than to do, but i reckon it would be one of the best ways to raise the profile of the language.

On a more basic level, it should be thought in a much more interesting fashion.

Kids should do PE through Irish, and their Irish lessons should be something interesting. They could translate their favourite films into Irish and then act them out for example. The same could be done for pop songs perhaps. Better than reading about a woman's life on the Blasket Islands anyway.

Having said all that, I think Irish is on a downward trend.

I'm fully confident that it will always be around though. People will always keep it alive and spoken.

Really like the idea of having kids act out their favorite film in Irish! Nice one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭An Coilean

Cosmicfox wrote: »
    But of course, this has all been said before. If you had no interest in it while in school, your hardly going to switch on TG4.

You see, thats not true, most Irish speakers I know, myself included disliked Irish as a subject in school, its not very likeable regardless of what you think of the Language its self. Not liking a school subject dose not mean you will have no interest in that area outside of school.

ott-Over The Top

Well yes I do have a source from Conradh na Gaeilge who has told me classes have grown, which I think is great.But the best thing about these classes are is that there is an increase in foreigners learning Irish, which I find brilliant for the language.

Well if you pull funding yes, you would stop a lot of organisations do what they are doing mainly because a lot of them are non-profit or that a lot of the workers themselves are self voluntary.There is 2 sides to that story, some areas in the Irish language would suffer more than others, but that's not to say that the growing interest will decline.
    I don;t mean to be pedantic but do you have evidence on this source? Can you elaborate more on it? I don't mean to be pedantic but anyone can claim to have a source on anything.

Exactly, they are not for profit because profit can't be made. Instead the government decides fund them during a time of financial crisis. If there was a way to make money on the promotion of the irish language it would have already been taken up by a private body. So I think we can safely assume no such scope for profit exists and all these bodies are operating on a loss. These types of details are important when you start talking about record labels producing pop music in irish.

Pull the funding from almost anything and see how long it lasts, I dont get your point :confused:

I don;t mean to be pedantic but do you have evidence on this source? Can you elaborate more on it? I don't mean to be pedantic but anyone can claim to have a source on anything.

Exactly, they are not for profit because profit can't be made. Instead the government decides fund them during a time of financial crisis. If there was a way to make money on the promotion of the irish language it would have already been taken up by a private body. So I think we can safely assume no such scope for profit exists and all these bodies are operating on a loss. These types of details are important when you start talking about the possibility record labels producing pop music in irish.

Actually Conradh does profitt from providing Irish Classes.
    I have a copy of their anual budget at home, Classes they ran brought in about 40'000 last year.

An Coilean wrote: »
    Pull the funding from almost anything and see how long it lasts, I dont get your point :confused:
    My point is there is no "natural" ie private basis for the promotion of the language.
    An Coilean wrote:
    Actually Conradh dose profitt from providing Irish Classes.
    I have a copy of their anual budget at home, Classes they ran brought in about 40'000 last year.
    Do you have a link to them? And is this a profit minus grants given to them by the government or government bodies? I doubt it otherwise we'd see companies offer these same services at more competitive rates.

Exactly, they are not for profit because profit can't be made. Instead the government decides fund them during a time of financial crisis. If there was a way to make money on the promotion of the irish language it would have already been taken up by a private body. So I think we can safely assume no such scope for profit exists and all these bodies are operating on a loss. These types of details are important when you start talking about record labels producing pop music in irish.

Yeah no bother let me take a head count at the next class, or maybe a group photo! Surely that will be enough....

If you want I can send you on details on how to contact me at my office but yes the record of people has grown in recent years. It's hardly a secret to be honest with you, but how or never I will try print some things off tomorrow to have posted here, see what I can do!

Why profit off trying to advertise the Irish language and to encourage people to learn it?And yes there are many Irish organisations that do profit.You could look at Redshoe, Stillwater Communications to list 2.

There are 2 sides to every story like I said, but you are completely convinced on the fact that Irish is Dead Ed, advertisement won't even help it and no one is interested.

You argue that NO profit is made by an Irish language organisation or should I say assume, Well obviously you have some info that I do not have based on your assumption.Would love to get a quick look at whatever it is

Oh wait, what?

We all ended up speaking English there anyway

Take it out of primary, optional in secondary, teach a useful foreign language in primary

Do you have a link to them? And is this a profit minus grants given to them by the government or government bodies? I doubt it otherwise we'd see companies offer these same services at more competitive rates.

I have them at home, it was printed as part of a booklet for their Árd Feis.
    Conradh does a lot more than just provide classes, as far as the classes they run go, they make a profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

People do lots of things without government incentives.

The presence or absence of Irish in popular society and media has its roots among the people.

The reason Irish is not popular in media is because....it's not popular.

Yeah no bother let me take a head count at the next class, or maybe a group photo! Surely that will be enough....

If you want I can send you on details on how to contact me at my office but yes the record of people has grown in recent years. It's hardly a secret to be honest with you, but how or never I will try print some things off tomorrow to have posted here, see what I can do!

Why profit off trying to advertise the Irish language and to encourage people to learn it?And yes there are many Irish organisations that do profit.You could look at Redshoe, Stillwater Communications to list 2.

There are 2 sides to every story like I said, but you are completely convinced on the fact that Irish is Dead Ed, advertisement won't even help it and no one is interested.

You argue that NO profit is made by an Irish language organisation or should I say assume, Well obviously you have some info that I do not have based on your assumption.Would love to get a quick look at whatever it is
    Well no it wouldn't. Just because the numbers have grown in your class doesn't mean they have grown nation wide.

Why profit off it?! because we are in the middle of a financial crisis and shouldn't be spending state money on a language. Money that could be used to reduce our freickin deficit! Or does our financial independence not matter to you as long as we get a 2% increase in the uptake of Irish classes this year?

To be honest I've never heard of Stillwater communications but one look at their website says they are proud to work with foras na gaeilge and udaras na gael. Now my next question is. How much of our money are they getting?

And now let me be clear. I'm not saying that no profit is ever made by any body promoting the irish language. I'm saying that all of these bodies together opperate on a loss. They must logically. Otherwise the government wouldn't need to subsidise them.

I'm not against the irish language I'm against the use of public money to promote it. You say that I am convinced irish wil never be revived under any circumstance. That's not true. Maybe it can be revived. I don't know and frankly I don't care as long as I don't have to pay for it.
    An Coilean wrote:
    I have them at home, it was printed as part of a booklet for their Árd Feis.
    Conradh does a lot more than just provide classes, as far as the classes they run go, they make a profit.
    So they operate at a loss? If so who directly subsidises them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭con1982

People always have mixed thoughts when it comes to this subject, some positive, some negative, and that will forever live!

If the Irish language is to succeed, what do you think would help it within the media world?And people who don't speak Irish, what are your thoughts on the language in relation to how its portrayed? Is there not enough advertisement done? Or is it the fact that there is plenty of advertisement, its just the fact that it is not done right?

Would be interested in hearing people's views on this subject.

It may be that there a just too many people with bad memories and experiences of learning Irish. I hated it and still do. Aged 29 now. I was delighted when I finished the Leaving Cert, knowing I would never have to listen to or use it again.

Has the debate on the relevance of the language ever been resolved? English is the language I grew up with, and my parents and their parents. Every one of us born in Ireland. The Irish language is not important at all to me and doesn't represent the culture I developed in. It's foreign to me, to be honest.

Also, I actually enjoyed studying French and German in secondary school, and I have studied Polish for a number of years. I'd much rather promote a continental language to kids (if I had any).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

It doesn't need to be advertised, at all. Anyone here for a week, with zero prior knowledge that the language exists, will discover that it indeed does. Funnel all the money we don't have into it, only so people can feel nationalistic in knowing a language that is, and I hate to say it, more of a novelty than anything else unless you speak it as a first language. Knowing Irish won't help the economy. I think that's priority one.

TG4 is right there. I have zero interest in learning Irish, and I only occasionally watch it for the documentaries, but having a couple of shows a day on it where you can learn Irish from watching would be a start, maybe one during the day for kids and one later in the evening for the adults. The problem with all these advertisements is that they're preaching to the choir. Anyone who wants to learn it will, whether they're showered with ads or not.

I did my schooling the U.K. I can remember more French than most people I know remember Irish, and I never paid attention in class, and I learned it for less time. It's not about advertising, at all, like has been said. It's about giving the people who WANT to learn it the opportunity to learn it PROPERLY. On top of the really terrible way it's taught, there's a complete us-and-them mentality on both sides, which just makes me give less of a shit.

Put it like this; Irish won't help me pay the bills, put food on my table or help me in any way whatsoever. Please, for me, my future children, the children of my friends and everyone else in this country, stop putting money into things that aren't absolutely essential to this country's economy.

I was under the impression we were talking about Irish classes, Conradh do not make a loss on the classes they provide, the classes are not subsidised.

If you wan't to talk about the organisation as a whole thats fine, but have the cop on to realise that it is a seperat issue.

Put it like this; Irish won't help me pay the bills, put food on my table or help me in any way whatsoever. Please, for me, my future children, the children of my friends and everyone else in this country, stop putting money into things that aren't absolutely essential to this country's economy.

I would hate to live in a country where money is spent only on things essential to the country's economy. It would be absoutly dire. Whatever people might think of living in Dev's Ireland where a nationalistic view of culture came first.
    A country where people are nothing more than units acting in an economy would be far far worse.
    Seriously projecting a society based on that principle would turn very nasty very quickly.

I was under the impression we were talking about Irish classes, Conradh do not make a loss on the classes they provide, the classes are not subsidised.

If you wan't to talk about the organisation as a whole thats fine, but have the cop on to realise that it is a seperat issue.
    You didn't answer my question. Conradh is one organisation. If it makes a loss it makes a loss. A private company would cut out the loss making elements.
    I would hate to live in a country where money is spent only on things essential to the country's economy. It would be absoutly dire. Whatever people might think of living in Dev's Ireland where a nationalistic view of culture came first.
    A country where people are nothing more than units acting in an economy would be far far worse.
    Seriously projecting a society based on that principle would turn very nasty very quickly.
    It would if the society was state controlled. We saw this in the USSR. But projecting a society based on the principals of minimalist government spending and intervention in peoples lives is another matter entirely.

Well no it wouldn't. Just because the numbers have grown in your class doesn't mean they have grown nation wide.

Why profit off it?! because we are in the middle of a financial crisis and shouldn't be spending state money on a language. Money that could be used to reduce our freickin deficit! Or does our financial independence not matter to you as long as we get a 2% increase in the uptake of Irish classes this year?

To be honest I've never heard of Stillwater communications but one look at their website says they are proud to work with foras na gaeilge and udaras na gael. Now my next question is. How much of our money are they getting?

And now let me be clear. I'm not saying that no profit is ever made by any body promoting the irish language. I'm saying that all of these bodies together opperate on a loss. They must logically. Otherwise the government wouldn't need to subsidise them.

I'm not against the irish language I'm against the use of public money to promote it. You say that I am convinced irish wil never be revived under any circumstance. That's not true. Maybe it can be revived. I don't know and frankly I don't care as long as I don't have to pay for it.

It is actually not my class, I am not in a class...plain nd simple joke with the headcount!

Why spend money on a language? Well the government certainly get a return on tourism as a lot of tourists have a lot of interest in Irish films, books and also participating in oral classes.

Just because they are happy to work with them does not mean they are funded, of course they would support other organisations that have the same level of interest as themselves.

And again what Organisation is coming out with a profit...very few so don't put it down to it just because its through Irish, we are all having problems making a profit these days!

The reason I claimed that you said it'd never be revived is becfause of your you saying that people like me were "flogging a dead horse", I didn't know what other way to take that comment.I do agree with some half points that you've made as some of them are true, just a few places we don't quite agree ;) ...sure only the future will tell!

con1982 wrote: »
    It may be that there a just too many people with bad memories and experiences of learning Irish. I hated it and still do. Aged 29 now. I was delighted when I finished the Leaving Cert, knowing I would never have to listen to or use it again.

Has the debate on the relevance of the language ever been resolved? English is the language I grew up with, and my parents and their parents. Every one of us born in Ireland. The Irish language is not important at all to me and doesn't represent the culture I developed in. It's foreign to me, to be honest.

Also, I actually enjoyed studying French and German in secondary school, and I have studied Polish for a number of years. I'd much rather promote a continental language to kids (if I had any).

I also love french and german and have picked up classes once again in French to improve my speaking of it.Fair play...keep it up!

But read the title of this thread...I agree Irish is thought in the worst way possible in schools. If that has made your mind up on the language itself, then so be it.You were brought up without Irish....fine, so have more than half our population but what i want to know is what way can we better the advertisement.

Simple question, without wanting to go into the whole "how it was thought at school" argument

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

but what i want to know is what way can we better the advertisement.
    First you need to know why you are advertising.

A language should propagate itself in a natural way, being adopted by people who find it useful in their daily lives and then picked up by other people who want to associate with them. 'Word of mouth' is the most powerful form of advertising.

No need for commercial advertising.

Just let it thrive on its merits.

It is actually not my class, I am not in a class...plain nd simple joke with the headcount!

Why spend money on a language? Well the government certainly get a return on tourism as a lot of tourists have a lot of interest in Irish films, books and also participating in oral classes.

Just because they are happy to work with them does not mean they are funded, of course they would support other organisations that have the same level of interest as themselves.

And again what Organisation is coming out with a profit...very few so don't put it down to it just because its through Irish, we are all having problems making a profit these days!

The reason I claimed that you said it'd never be revived is becfause of your you saying that people like me were "flogging a dead horse", I didn't know what other way to take that comment.I do agree with some half points that you've made as some of them are true, just a few places we don't quite agree ;) ...sure only the future will tell!
    I think you're missing the point here. Provided the government does get a return from tourism on the money it spends on the language it is only relevant if the money gained from tourism exceeds the money spent on the language. There would need to be extensive studies done on this to find the correlation.

I doubt it. Any company that losses money providing redundant irish language services would in the long run be forced out of the market place. If they made a profit from providing these services all companies would do it.

My point is that government bodies set up to promote a language aren't by their nature going to produce profit. Any thoughts that they will is folly since they are not a private company their main aim is not to maximise profit. They are because of that inefficient. And the government is spending money, our money on them.

No I don't know if it will be revived. And I don't care if it is. I won't be learning it however and I don't want my money spentm on it.