Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭crixos30

hi all dose any one know where i can get original hub caps for a 00 corolla fairly cheap just bought this car for my grandfather after his 88 corolla finally packed in,its just a run around but want it fairly respectable for him the car is spotless but has no hub cap and the man has had nothin but Toyota all his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

crixos30 wrote: »
    hi all dose any one know where i can get original hub caps for a 00 corolla fairly cheap just bought this car for my grandfather after his 88 corolla finally packed in,its just a run around but want it fairly respectable for him the car is spotless but has no hub cap and the man has had nothin but Toyota all his life.

Try your local scrapyard on www.partfinder.ie

You could get them from a dealer, I wouldn't say they'd be that expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

crixos30 wrote: »

Any of these? Must they be corolla ones?

http://www.ebay.ie/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570&_nkw=00+corolla+hub+caps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,547 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Try your local scrapyard on www.partfinder.ie

You could get them from a dealer, I wouldn't say they'd be that expensive.

I think they're about €150 a set from a dealer

These'd do. Not the exact right ones but respectable anyway

http://www.wheeltrims.eu/wheel-trims-for-toyota.html?modelli=250&dimensioni=126

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 med22

hey everyone,

I'm buying a car tomorrow which is not actually in the owners name but in his aunt's. do know really how to go about it ?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think they're about €150 a set from a dealer

:eek: That's some money for moulded plastic!

Meet the aunt.

If its not his to sell, or if he's lying to you about being a dealer then why bother

Meet the aunt.

If its not his to sell, or if he's lying to you about being a dealer then why bother

he's actually n old man and doesn't seem to be playing around. Also, I checked on motorcheck.ie and it said the car has 2 owners ,so he might be the other owner.

also, i'm paying him in cash , do I have to make him sign something as a prove or better to have a bank draft ? also, I was thinking of getting a copy of his ID in case anything goes wrong ? appreciator your help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

RoverJames wrote: »

A review of a SEAT Alhambra in the first episode, with such elusive and interesting cars on review, Im there!

Ah SEAT, the unironic Skoda.

"Ireland's only car review show" :rolleyes:

Sorry lads but I'll be sticking to The Next Gear for my car reviews :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

med22 wrote: »
    he's actually n old man and doesn't seem to be playing around. Also, I checked on motorcheck.ie and it said the car has 2 owners ,so he might be the other owner.

also, i'm paying him in cash , do I have to make him sign something as a prove or better to have a bank draft ? also, I was thinking of getting a copy of his ID in case anything goes wrong ? appreciator your help

It's sold as seen regardless. I wouldn't give you a copy of my id if you were buying a car off me!

Anyway, he could be someone who buys and sells cars on the sly. It's very hard to tell, but I can't say I'd be wild about buying off the middleman being honest.

What's the car? How much money is involved?

It's sold as seen regardless. I wouldn't give you a copy of my id if you were buying a car off me!

Anyway, he could be someone who buys and sells cars on the sly. It's very hard to tell, but I can't say I'd be wild about buying off the middleman being honest.

What's the car? How much money is involved?

the car is Cheverolet Aveo 2006 for 2900 Euro. no tax though but NCT'd till 5/14, had a mechanic to see it today and said it's good !!

Your aveo guy was also selling this:
    http://classiads.ie/en/board/view/id/390723

That was probably his uncles car

Good detective work.

This is the car for sale now: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3942187

Car is most likely sound, but seller is telling porkies. He just never sent away the logbook when he bought the car.

Where's the pic taken though?

Fairyhouse?

med22 wrote: »
    the car is Cheverolet Aveo 2006 for 2900 Euro. no tax though but NCT'd till 5/14, had a mechanic to see it today and said it's good !!

Just in case you're freaked out about how we found it and the other car he's selling.

Put Chevrolet Aveo into donedeal, found the one that cost 2900 and then googled the number. That's all:)

Colm, haven't a clue where the pictures are taken being honest, seems a bit out of the way?

UNBELIEVABLE !! people like him still exist !

what do you guys think I should do ? go ahead with the purchase ? the thing is I actually like the car and the price more importantly .

but you know what , he actually was wearing a worn jeans with and oil like stains,also,told me he just replaced the timing belt which just fits a garage owner. the front tiers weren't great but when I told him about he said he actually has new ones that are coming with the car.also, played the old trick that someone is willing to pay the car if I don't want it .

really suspicious but don't know what to do. !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Nothing so far has tickled my fancy, managed to convince a guy here in the office to get a 1.2 GP, lovely yoke too. He posted it in one of the other threads. I`m thinking of running the 156 into the ground and then get a GP sporting. If I spot a really nice one in the meantime though I may buy it.

You should have got that tjet GP that was for sale a couple of months back, the 1.4 na GP ain't much fun, and you know I love them! They're rare enough here in any form which is a balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

You should change your username to Sherlock:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,709 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

pred racer wrote: »
    You should change your username to Sherlock:D
    Would Alanstrainor be Watson then?

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

That Driving Seat (Typically crap, unimaginative Irish) is a pretty bad attempt.

Driving the Citroen Ds3 with a window mount they bought in the pound shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well I am getting old lads... :(

I just got my cannon replaced with standard exhaust. Those who were in meet hear that it was not that loud, so it's not like it was bad. It did sounded lovely.
    Saying all this I have to admit - I love it in stock now a lot more. Car just more civil. Still sounds like boxer when pushed though. Then again huge difference in response and over all car feel ( in to good side ) Taking out cats and putting full exhaust without a remap on a turbo car is a waste of money, plus dangerous.

So here you go. I am becoming one of those farts who enjoys quiet exhaust note :D

I just got my cannon replaced with standard exhaust. Those who were in meet hear that it was not that loud, so it's not like it was bad. It did sounded lovely.
    Saying all this I have to admit - I love it in stock now a lot more. Car just more civil. Still sounds like boxer when pushed though. Then again huge difference in response and over all car feel ( in to good side ) Taking out cats and putting full exhaust without a remap on a turbo car is a waste of money, plus dangerous.

So here you go. I am becoming one of those farts who enjoys quiet exhaust note :D

That's great, now get that spoiler sorted FFS :P

If the car doesn't sound how you think it should sound then feck what anyone else thinks and do it!

That's why mine got louder:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

That's great, now get that spoiler sorted FFS :P

You would fecking love that , booooooiiii! Feck ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

If the car doesn't sound how you think it should sound then feck what anyone else thinks and do it!

That's why mine got louder:D

Bet ya mine is louder. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I just saw, quite possibly the biggest WTF relating to cars ever.

First glance I saw what looked like two big jump lead cables coming from the closed bonnet of an old corolla and going in the passenger door.

I looked in the window, and I was right. There was the other side of jump leads connected to the cabling for the radio, inside the car. I could not believe my eyes. How in the name of christ on a bike is that thing road legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I just saw, quite possibly the biggest WTF relating to cars ever.

First glance I saw what looked like two big jump lead cables coming from the closed bonnet of an old corolla and going in the passenger door.

I looked in the window, and I was right. There was the other side of jump leads connected to the cabling for the radio, inside the car. I could not believe my eyes. How in the name of christ on a bike is that thing road legal.

Dafuq!?! :eek::eek::eek: