Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I just saw, quite possibly the biggest WTF relating to cars ever.

First glance I saw what looked like two big jump lead cables coming from the closed bonnet of an old corolla and going in the passenger door.

I looked in the window, and I was right. There was the other side of jump leads connected to the cabling for the radio, inside the car. I could not believe my eyes. How in the name of christ on a bike is that thing road legal.

If you see it again, try to get pictures.. That Id love to see! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Aww no more Cork Scooby cannon Boi !

Give it to the 1.6 GL fella you work with SH :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Saw some really interesting learner driving last night on the way to football training. Was behind a learning in a school car being thought how to drive. They were creeping along which is OK but then they veered towards the side of the road.

I thought they were pulling over to let me pass but no the driver just drove up onto the cycle path and drove up along the path. Quite comical as I my current speed meant I was passing overtaking them on the actual road. I could see the instructor furiously trying to grab the wheel.

Reminds me of this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Aww no more Cork Scooby cannon Boi !

Give it to the 1.6 GL fella you work with SH :p

Trust me, he already got one. Bigger then my one! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Few hopefully simple questions for ye lads.

What are staggered wheels? Does this mean the back ones are wider?

I'm looking at a set of alloys. They are replicas not genuine and are not staggered.

What's the difference gonna be if I buy replicas instead of the real deal? If its just width of back wheels so what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

ft9 wrote: »
    Few hopefully simple questions for ye lads.

What are staggered wheels? Does this mean the back ones are wider?

I'm looking at a set of alloys. They are replicas not genuine and are not staggered.

What's the difference gonna be if I buy replicas instead of the real deal? If its just width of back wheels so what?

Pretty much...

Some replicas can be crap quality wise, others can be quite good. The good thing about non-staggered replicas is cheaper tyres :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Pretty much...

Some replicas can be crap quality wise, others can be quite good. The good thing about non-staggered replicas is cheaper tyres :D

My thoughts exactly! Cheers.

Im saving furiously for some reps atm, stupid sexy wheels :( Next thing they will be wanting tyres :(

http://www.fordpartsuk.com/shop/ford_18_rs_design_wheel_black_set_f_KIT1695031_c_611.htm

1.jpg

Time_94d7c2_824482.jpg

That video has a cute Asian lady in the car my encounter certainly didn't :pac:

Never took much heed of that.

Asain ladies don't do it for me really - look like school children until they're 39 then a la Tir Na Nog turn in to 80 year olds once they hit 40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Im saving furiously for some reps atm, stupid sexy wheels :( Next thing they will be wanting tyres :(

http://www.fordpartsuk.com/shop/ford_18_rs_design_wheel_black_set_f_KIT1695031_c_611.htm

1.jpg

Time_94d7c2_824482.jpg

Dude, they aren't reps in the same sense as people usually mean. ;) They are genuine RS Team Parts, which means they're genuine OEM parts, they're just 'reps' in the sense that they're an inch smaller than the Original RS wheels. ;)

Take the finis code off them that those guys provide and ring a Ford dealer parts department. When I checked mine, they wanted something like €226+VAT per alloy for them! :eek:

They are reps and i am a filthy chav and don't you say different !

(Realises he is too big to be a chav)

But yea seriously OEM at that price is madness :p

Also feck off rain, that is all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Never took much heed of that.

Asain ladies don't do it for me really - look like school children until they're 39 then a la Tir Na Nog turn in to 80 year olds once they hit 40.

You called? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

From the hilarious "Where is Neutral" thread.....

Mr. McMahon has a very strange gearbox....
    1st 2nd 3rd
    ¦ ¦ ¦
    <----neutral---->
    ¦ ¦ ¦
    4th 5th R
    Asain ladies don't do it for me really - look like school children until they're 39

That's because you're already an old man :P

I would go mental in Japan given half the chance :D

(Realises he is too big to be a chav).........

Out of curiousity how big?

6'2 17 stone, my seat bolsters love me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Same height as me, but 4 and a half stone heavier :pac:

4 stone of it is uneaten cornflakes in my beard :pac:

.... not that big so :)

I would go mental in Japan given half the chance :D

I'd braaaake ure face laaaaaaaaad :p

Disclaimer: I more than likely would not break your face or any part of you as i would get confused by a fly i thought was a wasp and end up in my car's boot weeping for it to leave me alone.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

You can't hear their shrieks of agony when you sit in?:D

MPG on the alfa is up since I replaced the thermostat, can't help but love the beast, 450 miles in three days, one massive crash, one giant delay and still I love her*

*Driving in Cork in general is bad for your health.

/Awaits backlash from Corkonians, however the JLT backlog, then a crash between Carrigtohill and Little Island leading to a 6km backlog is a bad experience :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

20121004_002741.jpg

I brought my new beast to her new home last night. Note the sign on the wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

What a fun evening that was helping my friend buy another car... Got a bargain :) yer mans wife wasn't happy, that was some confrontation! :pac:
    I have really been abusing the Alfa lately and it hasn't missed a beat. That 1.6 engine is a peach would make a nice little track car with some mods. I was thinking that a 166 with that famous V6 would be a fun project.

What an interesting project that'd be :D Don't expect more than 25mpg though :p

6 stone heavier than me yet the same height! :(

dgt wrote: »
    What an interesting project that'd be :D Don't expect more than 25mpg though :p

25mpg in a V6 track car!?! :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I think he forgot the decimal point i.e 2.5mpg....;)

Track car??!!! I missed that part! :o

What an unusual track car that would be :D

I have really been abusing the Alfa lately and it hasn't missed a beat. That 1.6 engine is a peach would make a nice little track car with some mods. I was thinking that a 166 with that famous V6 would be a fun project.

Mine has done 1800km the last two weeks with the same 1.6 engine. Hasn't missed a beat either. Struggles a little at motorway speeds but the engine is just loud at any revs tbh.

The sound when floored in 2nd is just delicious. Not massively fast but it's such a pleasant way of getting up to speed. :) I love my car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

dgt wrote: »
    Track car??!!! I missed that part! :o

What an unusual track car that would be :D

Unusual in that it would spend more time in the pits than on the track?

dar83 wrote: »
    Unusual in that it would spend more time in the pits than on the track?

Clearly it would be in the pits resting more due to it being so much faster and better than everyone else of course!