Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

ED E wrote: »
    UPC pair them with mac addresses, this is not so with eircom. Should work just fine. Factory reset it first.
    Well thx to "pcadvice" ( name here ) I got back online!!! He had spare netopia modem rooter from eircom at home. It was not even used once. So it will do for now until I get replacement from eircom now.
    It worked fine as you said m8. Just plugged in the bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Have an X4 640 pretty much welded to the cooler, cant get the f'cker off. Trying to warm it up now, any other ideas?

Hope the socket isnt damaged....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Switch it on briefly to warm it and twist it off is usually the way to go about it.

Monotype wrote: »
    Switch it on briefly to warm it and twist it off is usually the way to go about it.

Was already out but a blast from the 2kw heater in the kitchen followed by a sharp twist did the trick.

Working on pushing the clocks a bit now.

The orca is a mining support ship. What you'd be looking at are the mining barges and exhumers. You'd want to go for a Retriever/Mackinaw if solo mining and a Covetor/Hulk if you have group support. Procurer/Skiff are designed mostly for dangerous mining, as they have the highest effective hit points of all the mining ships.

So stuff like orca would be prety much a transport ship for a 3x group? I presume mammoth would be the same role? I almost done training on cldari frigate 4, so tomorrow ill be in ofspray.
    My next aim is rokh. In guide it is recommend as a miner ship for very dangerous places and it is a ship good for battles outside of mining.
    Damn I love this grind fest!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭VenomIreland

So stuff like orca would be prety much a transport ship for a 3x group? I presume mammoth would be the same role? I almost done training on cldari frigate 4, so tomorrow ill be in ofspray.
    My next aim is rokh. In guide it is recommend as a miner ship for very dangerous places and it is a ship good for battles outside of mining.
    Damn I love this grind fest!!! :D

Orca would be for more than just ore transport, there are typically foreman links installed on it to boost a mining fleet along with tractor beams to haul jetcans toward it.

As for the Rokh, there was definitely a time where it was worth it to train to them if you were mining, but with the mining barge/exhumer buffs, they are likely to be better to train for after the Osprey (I haven't mined in an age, but even back then I went for a barge).

Orca would be for more than just ore transport, there are typically foreman links installed on it to boost a mining fleet along with tractor beams to haul jetcans toward it.

As for the Rokh, there was definitely a time where it was worth it to train to them if you were mining, but with the mining barge/exhumer buffs, they are likely to be better to train for after the Osprey (I haven't mined in an age, but even back then I went for a barge).

Rokh would be a good ship for battle too, no? I am looking to be a bit more versatile for future. Plus it does look badass :).
    Btw, grey ships are npc?

Rokh would be a good ship for battle too, no? I am looking to be a bit more versatile for future. Plus it does look badass :).
    Btw, grey ships are npc?

I've heard of people using the Rokh in incursions, but they wouldn't be used often in PvP or mission running. NPC ships are either grey such as the navy around gates or red, such as NPC pirates. They are shown as crosses rather than boxes IIRC.

EDIT: it'd also take some amount of training to fit and fly that Rokh effectively.

I've heard of people using the Rokh in incursions, but they wouldn't be used often in PvP or mission running. NPC ships are either grey such as the navy around gates or red, such as NPC pirates. They are shown as crosses rather than boxes IIRC.

EDIT: it'd also take some amount of training to fit and fly that Rokh effectively.

Btw thx for all info m8. Me and my buddy are pretty much going blind :). So rokh would not be the greatest option so? What would recommend as a better all arounder and not fully focused on mining then? What is incursions btw?
    Then again I heard there are some low grade pvp events? Where people use cheaper ships for fun? Some Ffa events?
    Btw how dangerous low sector regions? Would there be people hunting in packs over there? I presume stations and asteroid belts are the biggest attractions for pirates? ( human players )?

Btw thx for all info m8. Me and my buddy are pretty much going blind :). So rokh would not be the greatest option so? What would recommend as a better all arounder and not fully focused on mining then? What is incursions btw?
    Then again I heard there are some low grade pvp events? Where people use cheaper ships for fun? Some Ffa events?
    Btw how dangerous low sector regions? Would there be people hunting in packs over there? I presume stations and asteroid belts are the biggest attractions for pirates? ( human players )?

To be honest, if you want to mine you'd be best off going straight for the barges and then training up the skills needed to fly PvP/PvE fit frigates/cruisers if you want to do that on the side.

Incursions are sort of similar to dungeons/raids in other MMOs, this page can describe them better than I can: http://wiki.eveuniversity.org/Incursions

If you want to get cheap PvP, join one of the RvB (Red vs Blue) Corps, as far as I can remember they offer cheap/free ships to fight each other in.

As for Low Security space, it isn't really that dangerous once you know what you are doing. Keep the d-scan up so you know who's around you and if you are travelling through, just keep your wits about you and jump when you land on the gate (NEVER use autopilot, even in High Sec). Occasionally you get a single person or a group of people using d-scan to find where other ships are, so they can blow them up (This is actually a really fun thing to do), so they typically won't be at any one point in space for a long time (another tip is to keep the local chat tab seperate so you can see when a huge load of people jump into a system so you can quickly get out).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,670 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

lads what is the best option for sound quality without a sound card

I need a new headset too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

That's a bit of a vague post Headshot. We talking speakers or what? Budget too would help. Any reason you don't want a sound card?

I cant install a sound card because of the gpu's

I want somthing like an external sound card to give me that great sound quality that a mobo cant give

You don't have a single free slot on your motherboard? (Not that I'm being a jerk and not answering your question, I just don't know much about external cards, so I'm trying to think of a way you could get an internal one to work).

Serephucus wrote: »
    You don't have a single free slot on your motherboard? (Not that I'm being a jerk and not answering your question, I just don't know much about external cards, so I'm trying to think of a way you could get an internal one to work).

I do but I cant install the sound card because I dont want gpu to over heat
    not chancing 400 euro worth of a card

I was running my Auzentech between two 580s for months. Most sound card aren't long enough to block GPU fans. (assuming you have the stock, blower-type fans)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

he doesn't, its the gigabyte wind force cooler. I think you could try it headshot. those things run so cool even an extra 10°C will be below average.

OT: batman (1966) is so bad its brilliant. its done a full 360° on the bad books its actually watchable.

Ah. Yeah, I'd still go for it then. Tea nailed it. Even if you're unhappy with the temps, you can always just offset the fan profile in Afterburner or similar to compensate for it

what ill do is take some pics and create a new thread. Get a few opinions on the matter

I dislike chancing my arm over 400 euro worth of a card tbh

Take a bit of cardboard or something, and sit it where the sound card would go. See what your temperatures do. Odds are they'll be fine. Higher than normal, but as Tea said, probably still below stock.

would introducing the sound card result in nosier computer since the fans will have to work harder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

only you can find that out :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

ASUS Xonar U1 might be worth a look if you don't have room in the case, ideally if you use headphones. Plus the silver finish looks proper.

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    only you can find that out :P

suppose your right

feck it ill give it a shot then, I can always return the sound card to amazon.

Tea im thinking of somthing like this sound card http://uk.store.creative.com/sound-blaster/sound-blaster-x-fi-titanium-hd/1-19749.aspx but do you think im better off getting a sound card without the plastic (ie having it as thin as possible?

To be honest, if you want to mine you'd be best off going straight for the barges and then training up the skills needed to fly PvP/PvE fit frigates/cruisers if you want to do that on the side.

Incursions are sort of similar to dungeons/raids in other MMOs, this page can describe them better than I can: http://wiki.eveuniversity.org/Incursions

If you want to get cheap PvP, join one of the RvB (Red vs Blue) Corps, as far as I can remember they offer cheap/free ships to fight each other in.

As for Low Security space, it isn't really that dangerous once you know what you are doing. Keep the d-scan up so you know who's around you and if you are travelling through, just keep your wits about you and jump when you land on the gate (NEVER use autopilot, even in High Sec). Occasionally you get a single person or a group of people using d-scan to find where other ships are, so they can blow them up (This is actually a really fun thing to do), so they typically won't be at any one point in space for a long time (another tip is to keep the local chat tab seperate so you can see when a huge load of people jump into a system so you can quickly get out).

Well no mining time today. Some littlecprick in banton kept annoying us. Stealing things from our container and fecking off. Then while friends was home to take his badger someone looted container with badger too. I could not attack as it was his container :(. Now we are trying to get in to some corp so we could attack both.
    Btw anything we could use to stop people from warping out? Feckers just loot and warp out!

On a good side I am finally in my osprey! :D some mining power in it! Now to upgrade some mining upgrades, science and electronics to have more CPU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

http://www.adverts.ie/2107930

Somebody has a system built in the Btifenix prodigy case - looks very neat. Didnt think there would b much space left. Must say since ive seen it i have been looking for ways to justify getting it!

good to see real life build pictures though

hey lads iv seen a multi monitor stand on adverts there. I know some of ye have multi monitors so I thought you might be interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    he doesn't, its the gigabyte wind force cooler. I think you could try it headshot. those things run so cool even an extra 10°C will be below average.

OT: batman (1966) is so bad its brilliant. its done a full 360° on the bad books its actually watchable.

Yes. yes. yes.

I'd watch it before 90% of the ****e they're peddling these days to be honest, it's positively hilarious!

Got the e-mail from HWVS telling me my order had been dispatched today, due to arrive on Tuesday, only ordered & did the transfer yesterday morning, delighted I had no problems. :D

Got these fair nice headphones from ebay, perfect for pc gaming but the **** of a seller wants to relist because he's upset of not getting enough money

From what iv read to, I cant do **** all

Its no wonder I rarely use ebay anymore, how a seller can get away with this is beyond me