Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freshers Thread

• Site Banned Posts: 22 Count Wankula

Lynchy747 wrote: »
    It's to ensure that there is a good mix of beliefs etc. You should provide accurate information in order to ensure the right people get appropriate support.

I don't even know what that means. Fill in fake info brehs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭EmmetOT

Please... Stop saying breh.

EmmetOT wrote: »
    Please... Stop saying breh.

Don't you worry about what I'm saying, breh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Tcddentistry

And you're going to Trinity?

Tell us more about how intelligent you are, and how you deserve to go to trinity more than him..

And you're going to Trinity?

Wow settle down there tough guy, try make sense of your own comments before you start with the big dick slinging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭earwax_man

What the hell is wrong with you guys? It's a pre-freshers' week introduction thread, not a thread in which to show how much of a dick you are.

Anyhow, I'm Edmond. Most people call me Ed for short. I'm from Cork, and am 18. I'm studying engineering and I don't know anyone in Trinity [yet]. I like languages and stuff. I'm very shy, so if you happen to see a very tall guy at a language stand or anything else a bit odd with brown hair, don't be afraid to talk to me. :) I love baking, so I'll bake you goodies if you're nice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

earwax_man wrote: »
    What the hell is wrong with you guys? It's a pre-freshers' week introduction thread, not a thread in which to show how much of a dick you are.
    Welcome to the TCD forum, it's troll central!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭earwax_man

Lawliet wrote: »
    Welcome to the TCD forum, it's troll central!

WOO! \0/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭UnholyGregor

well on topic, hey Ed, nice to meet you, please god tell me the "earwax_max" username is totally unrelated to your physical attributes.. :p
    check out the facebook page for us boardsies linked above https://www.facebook.com/groups/102029066619726/

Its a bit hectic over there alright, but anyways thats where most of the chat goes down :) also make sure you get to one of the meetups! theres a few organised (sort of) for monday, and its a good way for all us loners to congregate and discuss our respective loneliness :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Oween

Hey! Name's Owen, from Mayo, studying Human Health and Disease, living in Halls! Can't wait to move up tomorrow! :D

sup owen, im tired and cranky.. .read my last post and check out facebook... same applies to you :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭leavingcert.

So are all the boardsies having a meet-up? Even though I haven't really posted on this much, i might just gatecrash it...mwahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭mathstalk

So are all the boardsies having a meet-up? Even though I haven't really posted on this much, i might just gatecrash it...mwahaha

Welcome aboard! Argh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭leavingcert.

mathstalk wrote: »
    Welcome aboard! Argh

Well gatecrashing it is gonna be minus craic if I'm welcome there.. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Sheedy07

everyone is welcome :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Lynchy747

I apologise for my recent comment, which has since been removed. I didn't intend it to be taken up like that, although now it is hard to see how it couldn't be taken up that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Random_Person

Well gatecrashing it is gonna be minus craic if I'm welcome there.. :/

Gatecrashing a party everyone is invited too.. niiice :pac:

Oween wrote: »
    Hey! Name's Owen, from Mayo, studying Human Health and Disease, living in Halls! Can't wait to move up tomorrow! :D

WOOO! Another guy doing HHD.. we're a few and far between bunch, not many of us going around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭skyscraperblue

Hi there! I seem to be a bit late to this thread... :o
    But yeah. I'm Karen, doing Maths, getting the train from Laois everyday :/
    I know exactly ONE person that's going to Trinity, and I think she has a bunch of her own friends to hang around with, so ye can basically consider me as by myself! But hopefully freshers week will change that.
    Speaking of. Other people who are alone & not living in halls, what on earth is the plan for freshers?! Are people literally just gonna wander around?

I know exactly ONE person that's going to Trinity, and I think she has a bunch of her own friends to hang around with, so ye can basically consider me as by myself! But hopefully freshers week will change that.
    Speaking of. Other people who are alone & not living in halls, what on earth is the plan for freshers?! Are people literally just gonna wander around?

Hey Karen, we're having a meetup on Monday for boardsie freshers. I'll link you to the Facebook group if you'd like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭skyscraperblue

Hey Karen, we're having a meetup on Monday for boardsie freshers. I'll link you to the Facebook group if you'd like :)

Ohh yes please! :)

sup karen! get on this page asap, its where all the sh*t goes down, us trendy people, ya know? :p but anyway im in the exact same situation as you, basically a loner, commuting from Wicklow. Good to see that Im not the only one, im sure theres tonnes of people in our situations, freshers will be grand anyway, just congregate around all the awkward looking people lurking in shady corners, chances are, thats us boardsies :phttps://www.facebook.com/groups/102029066619726/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Epsi

Can't wait for Monday! Should be a blast. Don't know anyone doing my course though ( Science) .

Unfortunately due to the My tcd portal being ridiculously slow , it hasn't updated itself with the correct course and I'm unable to complete my registration.

Edit: so it actually turns out I don't to complete registration till after selecting modules. Which is grand. But I wish the my tcd portal would display science as my accepted course and not engineering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

Epsi wrote: »
    Can't wait for Monday! Should be a blast. Don't know anyone doing my course though ( Science) .

Unfortunately due to the My tcd portal being ridiculously slow , it hasn't updated itself with the correct course and I'm unable to complete my registration.

I'm doing Science, now you know me! :P

leaveiton wrote: »
    I'm doing Science, now you know me! :P

Hello there fellow science student! What modules will you be choosing to study? I've settled on maths and physics , with geography as a likely candidate for my remaining credits.
    Maths and physics cuz I really enjoy learning about them and with geography as a sort of half interesting filler. It's either geography or biology and I really dislike biology despite it being somewhat interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

Epsi wrote: »
    Hello there fellow science student! What modules will you be choosing to study? I've settled on maths and physics , with geography as a likely candidate for my remaining credits.
    Maths and physics cuz I really enjoy learning about them and with geography as a sort of half interesting filler. It's either geography or biology and I really dislike biology despite it being somewhat interesting.

I'm going to be doing maths, chemistry and biology, probably one of the most common choices :P Biology was my favourite subject in school, I find maths really interesting and chemistry I could take or leave sometimes but I really really hate geography so chem it is :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 HughsieBaby

Hi everyone :)..just wondering what ye're all doing about the wristbands for next week? Are ye buying them online or waiting until monday:)?! 8-)

I bought mine online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

I got mine online last year - it's grand. No reason not to do it that way, really.

leaveiton wrote: »
    I'm going to be doing maths, chemistry and biology, probably one of the most common choices :P Biology was my favourite subject in school, I find maths really interesting and chemistry I could take or leave sometimes but I really really hate geography so chem it is :pac:

I think my dislike of biology is due to the way it was taught to me in fifth and sixth year. My teacher was a bit crazy and I really didn't enjoy the class. I spent most of the time half asleep. Agree with you on Maths. I absolutely love it. After a summer without it I hope I'll be able to get pick it up again quickly.

For me picking the last module was the hardest , as I didn't want to do any of them , yet still had to choose one.