Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freshers Thread

• 10-09-2012 8:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭

Hey all,
    Looked around and couldn't find a thread for all us freshers, and the facebook page is an absolute disaster...
    So yeah, general enough chat, maybe it'll help ease the social awkwardness next week when we're all thrown in there together... Or maybe it'll multiply it tenfold...

But yeah lemme get this ball rolling, name's Greg, doing medicinal chemistry, and I know nobody going to Trinity... Surely there's others in a similar situation... ARGH IM SUCH LONERRRR :o

what societies are we all hoping to join? and whats everybodys general plan for ye old week of the freshers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Gindle

Thread's a tad silent.... I'm Conor anyways, doing Human Genetics and pretty much in the same boat as you haha! Dunno about clubs/socs seeing as I'm commuting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭UnholyGregor

Ah commuiting also, from Wicklow, so its a bit of a pain, but nothing too horrific. Where you gonna be heading from?
    But yeah the threads awfully quiet.... its eerie lol, bleh, at least its better than the sh*tstorm on facebook, everybody freaking out about the registration issue....

Whats your plan for freshers week, seems sort of like a pissup for a week, which is gonna be weird for us commuters, Id sort of feel bad just bumming off somebody's accommodation... but if needs be... ;)

the clubs socs thing isnt really too bad for commuting i think, like a monthly pass on the bus, and we can travel at any time, so really iv got no problems with the occasional late evening, i mean, as long as its not that regular that its interfering with the actual coursework

I'll be coming from Celbridge, which can be a bitch sometimes when it comes to nitelinks and buses home, I'd say ill have a few nights of walking home from leixlip.. :/ FW looks to be a week long binge which is just what ill be needing :D What's the deal with the wristbands/nights out? hopefully I'll make a friend in the halls and get an invite to crash at theirs somehow haha :D Yeah I'm hoping the socs will go grand, the TKD club was the main one i wanted to join but classes are on at 9pm or something :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 emma__

Kinda worried about all the stuff happening at night seeings as I know absolutely no one as well! I'm not living in halls either. Might sound like a stupid question but the Freshers Ball on monday, I mean do people go on their own? I know personally I'd hate to just show up by myself, knowing nobody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 TomTrayt

Med chem aswel. Can't wait to start

I didn't even know about any freshers' ball! Might be because my envelope with SU stuff in it hasn't arrived yet... I'm kinda hoping to meet some of my course people at the talks etc. and head out with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭mathstalk

Hey y'all! Ah I'm so impatient; can't wait to start! Anybody been able to register yet? Name's Seán, doing CSL. Freshers' week for me will be a quest to find and consume as much free food as possible. I found the Sci-Fi society pamphlet quite interesting. I'm a beast at Super Mario Karts Wii, so schedule-permitting, I'll probably be attending their Mario Karts afternoons.

Also heard Adam savage and Patrick Stewart are going to be speaking at the Phil this year. Really looking forward to that.

ah wouldnt half hurt a starcraft 2 tourney, maybe some night in gamersoc,
    but yeah the ball thingy, its all on facebook page for trinity events... apparently its like 30 euro for a week of events, though mostly its just a pissup. The silent disco on friday night does sound pretty badass though in fairness :)https://www.facebook.com/events/354821374602162/?notif_t=plan_user_invited

Its gonna be pretty daunting walking in on the first day, seeing all the groups of people at the society's stalls around trinity, totally on my own like some outcast! at least for the tutor meetings we're in groups of around 10, so that should give us some first introductions...

The sci-fi soc too seems like a really good way to get to know some people, with the movies and all during freshers week. If anybody wants to catch an ep of game of thrones or two i'll see yas there :)

oh ya, and when i seen Richard Dawkins on the speakerlist for the phil this year, i think i transcended into a higher state of being

ooh 2 med chems, a human genetics, and a maths student, i think we might all be sharing certain lectures this wear! :o emma you better be doing a science or something!!

Cheers for the link :) I think for Fri, Sat and Sun there's more nights out too, organized by the Halls :D Gonna be a strange experience thats for sure.

I forgot about tutor meetings, has anyone been given their times yet or is it just me thats so lost? :confused: I'll be going to the free(ish) movie nights no doubt, good way to meet some out-of-course people!

oh ya, and when i seen Richard Dawkins on the speakerlist for the phil this year, i think i transcended into a higher state of being

Ah I missed his name! Love watching his interviews and talks on YouTube. I hope some Religious people show up to get the ball rolling; nothing's better than listening to an on form Dawkins speak.

nope no word from the tutors, we're supposedly meant to hear from them via our portal page, after registration I assume, which is also meant to be via the tcd portal page... the whole thing seems to be delayed i think... though i have heard some people saying that we register during freshers week in person, despite it specifically stating that its carried out online this year... its a bit of a mess really.... :(

its a bit of a mess really.... :(

What else to expect from a system in its first year :/ It's handier than having to pay fees etc via bank though, saves a trek into college too if they finally get the online registration sorted out :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

Incoming science student here :) Thanks for the link to the events on during Fresher's Week, I hadn't seen them already! Don't know if I'd be bothered going to most of them but the Friday in the Pav sounds grand enough, if you can get individual tickets I'll probably go to that! Otherwise I'm planning on joining far too many societies, going to a fair few events that were mentioned in that thing we got in the post today, and like others, scoping out the free food :D Should be a good week all round! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Horsovsky

It's threads like this that remind me how excited I am for college to start (good work UnholyGregor!)

To introduce myself, I'm starting History and Political Science and staying in Halls. Really looking forward to freshers, the Phil looks to have a great line up for next week (I'll be certainly joining it ASAP), and if Dawkins is there sometime in the coming year, well, that would be fantastic too! I think I could well end up joining the sci-fi too (along with probably a dozen others lol).

I'm just dying to know more about my course (timetable, reading etc.). I wish the college would be just a bit more forthright with info! Hopefully this thread works, and I'll see some of ye next week! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭FaoiSin

Name's Jack I'll be doing Pharmacy :D Looking forward to it though I haven't a clue what will be going on :P Anybody else staying in Halls?

yeah basically my goal was to gather some people here that arent total psychopaths, and if theres enough of us, we can just meet up at one of the events during some downtime on our orientation timetables.... though that could backfire horribly and we'll all implode with awkwardness.... still **** it, cant wait either way :) ill take ye on in mariokart i suppose if yis are around the sci fi soc :) (though mathstalk's post was pretty intimidation :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Sheedy07

Just saw the thread there, exactly what we need as I had considered starting something like it myself :D. Anyway the name is Shane, from Limerick going doing theoretical physics and I too know nobody, which is quite daunting but very exciting at the same time :D.. Anyone else really looking forward to freshers week? :D

I don't think anybody really knows anybody. And it prob will be **** awkward but sure were all adults and really who gives a sh't at the end of the day

TomTrayt wrote: »
    I don't think anybody really knows anybody. And it prob will be **** awkward but sure were all adults and really who gives a sh't at the end of the day

Ya I do think it could be a small bit but the cable tie pub crawl and things like that during freshers week sounds like great crack and an easy way to get talking to people so ya i think it will still be fun :P

Sure after freshers week you probably won't even see most of the people you meet again. Unless there in your course and even then some of the courses are so mixed

Ya but even so at least you'll have some few people to talk to even if it was just to head out each night jano, well thats what I think anyway

Wish my course meeting was on Monday but it isn't till Thursday. Would have made life easier to get to know people if it was a monday

Ya mines not until wednesday which isnt great but sure bit a lot can be done. You going joining many societies?

Sheedy07 wrote: »
    Ya mines not until wednesday which isnt great but sure bit a lot can be done. You going joining many societies?

Knowing me I'll probably join every single soc possible and then only get involved in like 3.

TomTrayt wrote: »
    Wish my course meeting was on Monday but it isn't till Thursday. Would have made life easier to get to know people if it was a monday

Mines Tuesday luckily enough :D but you never know, you could have your tutor meeting earlier on in the week which'll supply you with some people to go on the crawls with!

I'm in on Monday morning to pick modules so that's handy enough :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 Buster Keaton

Won't be hanging out with people in college really. Not into it and don't need it.

leaveiton wrote: »
    I'm in on Monday morning to pick modules so that's handy enough :D

Oh God! Do we have to pick modules that early? I thought we'd have some more time to choose what to do :/
    ill take ye on in mariokart i suppose if yis are around the sci fi soc :) (though mathstalk's post was pretty intimidation :p )

I admit my skills are slightly diminished since my dog went loco on the disk earlier this year, but I accept any challenges :D

well might as well keep this going since we've got a few people here! :p How'd everyone get on in the leaving cert? I mean, we're prob gonna be bored ****less hearing about it after the 1st week of freshers week, seems like the perfect ice breaker...

What about your course choices? Anybody pick the course with a specific career in mind?
    I did med chem since i narrowly missed out on medicine in hpat points :(
    The plan's so do medicine grad entry after, and this course compliments medicine really well, since its basically the scientific side of medicine, and even overlaps quite a bit module-wise, so hopefully , IF, i stick to my (very vague, general) plan, ill (hopefully) piss through medicine :)

Anybody sign up for the optional language module? I sent in a form to do the french one, would be great to have something more than a school standerd in another language. Id love to be near fluent in french and maybe live/work there for a few years in the future... would be BADASS :D

well might as well keep this going since we've got a few people here! :p How'd everyone get on in the leaving cert? I mean, we're prob gonna be bored ****less hearing about it after the 1st week of freshers week, seems like the perfect ice breaker...

What about your course choices? Anybody pick the course with a specific career in mind?
    I did med chem since i narrowly missed out on medicine in hpat points :(
    The plan's so do medicine grad entry after, and this course compliments medicine really well, since its basically the scientific side of medicine, and even overlaps quite a bit module-wise, so hopefully , IF, i stick to my (very vague, general) plan, ill (hopefully) piss through medicine :)

Anybody sign up for the optional language module? I sent in a form to do the french one, would be great to have something more than a school standerd in another language. Id love to be near fluent in french and maybe live/work there for a few years in the future... would be BADASS :D

We're the ones going to Trinity so I'd say most of us did fairly well in the leaving cert lol. I got my first choice (Hist/Pol) comfortably enough tbh. As to career prospects, well, you're as informed as I am about that. My first (and probably only) concern was picking a course that would interest me and that I'd enjoy. Might not have been the wisest career move but whatever...

Fluency in another language would be pretty cool alright but unfortunately I despised language classes in school more than anything else and I really wasn't prepared to sign myself up for something I could very well hate :( feck it, I want to enjoy college! :p

haha "enjoy college" I wish! God-damn schols is what I'm aiming for in 2nd year, so Ima try finish top of my year, which could very well prove to be a nightmare... Hopefully I'll have the time do still do some cool Soc stuff, as the zoology and climing socs realy piqued my interest :)
    After looking at all the events for freshers week, it seems like us commuters are gonna be such outcasts! I mean, maybe one or two nights might work, but I cant see myself shacking up with one of my friends every night for a whole week... might be a little, emmm.. scabby? :o

aside from that, really looking foward to checking out the gym! Every day after school trainings the plan :) any of you guys looking fow a gym buddy? Hit me up! Im gonna be such a loner next week!!! :'(

? Im gonna be such a loner next week!!! :'(

if u keep saying it , it might come true

take the hint!!! its a cry for help :'(
    sooo insensitive hahah

take the hint!!! its a cry for help :'(
    sooo insensitive hahah

Ok. Sure u can still go out every night anyway

Prob won't be able to go to the nightclubs but I don't know what the bus/train/luas is like for you

I'll commute but the latest I can really stay in Dublin mon-Thursday is 11.50.

So you can still go to the pub and all that and them there might be a night link then on Friday and Saturday.

There hope :)

ya im the same really, i mean, i *think* i can stay at one or two people'e appartments if im stuck, but really, id rather not want to be one of "those guys".... so realistically, id say im in a similar situation, 10 or 11 would be the latest i think id be able to stay in town, and if alcohols involved, its a different situation altogether... Dont know if id even trust myself to get the bus back to Wicklow at that stage! :p

mathstalk wrote: »
    Oh God! Do we have to pick modules that early? I thought we'd have some more time to choose what to do :/

In my course we have to, but it's probably different in other ones!

Has anyone been asked to register yet? I'm really anxious to just get it over with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Random_Person

Great thread guys :D

I'm doing Human Health & Disease and unfortunately not staying in halls :/ hope to get to meet you guys during the week. you all coming to the Fresher's beers?

actually, beers are on Tuesday --1st year meet up for coffee sometime on Monday? :P

Id definitely be down for a meetup, maybe like at 4 in a coffee shop somewhere if it works for you guys, since that way im fairly sure wed have all our orientation stuff done for that way... any other times work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Random_Person

Id definitely be down for a meetup, maybe like at 4 in a coffee shop somewhere if it works for you guys, since that way im fairly sure wed have all our orientation stuff done for that way... any other times work?

4 sounds good.. maybe we'll meet somewhere fairly obvious on campus and then head to the Buttery (campus café). Oh and then we could all head to this: http://www.facebook.com/events/110244605792662/

I think you have to be a member of the Hist but it looks like it could be a great laugh :)

ooh tcd v ucd, cannot miss that! :D
    but yeah, we can get i dunno, tea/coffee, then walk around and familiarize ourselves with the place waiting for the debate, maybe map out where we'll be for most of our lectures, be nice to not be all lonesome and scared, ya know? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 XxshadowsxX

Bless this thread! I can't even look at the FB page. =P

Hi everyone! I'm Sarah, I'm studying Ancient and Medieval History and I'm gonna be staying in Halls. (: I have a few friends in second year but I know nobody in First Year (yaaaaay *sobs*)

Does anyone know what the deal with Hist and Phil is? Are they like debating teams or what? Can you join both? Cuz both are doing some amazing talks and stuff I and I dunno do I have to choose or not. xD

PS. I will take ANYONE in a game of Mariokart. Just name your console. xD <3

Anyone else think a group on facebook for the trinity freshers boardsies is a good idea? :D

Yeah I'd definitely join! :)

Plus a FB group would mean we actually know who to look out for if a meet up goes ahead!

I hope its ok to put the link up here but anyway ya here it is :D

http://www.facebook.com/groups/102029066619726/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Darksider

Anyone know how likely it is that the freshers week wristbands will sell out before we can buy them at an SU stand?

Darksider wrote: »
    Anyone know how likely it is that the freshers week wristbands will sell out before we can buy them at an SU stand?

To be honest im not too sure but i bought mine today online just incase :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 tyty

Is there also any general Freshers' group btw or only the event page?

tyty wrote: »
    Is there also any general Freshers' group btw or only the event page?

Not sure personally I havent found any but if there is one please let us know :D