Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terminally Single

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

@OP when you've loitered around PI and other places on Boards where these types of questions come up as long as I have, you learn one thing. By the time you get to your thirties, the cheerleaders have married all the quarterbacks and some of the best of us are still on the shelf. It can be more complicated for us as we get older but one thing is for sure; your perfect guy is out there thinking EXACTLY the same thing wondering where to find someone like you. You sound really perfectly lovely. I hate the term and it's not my place to apply it to you but I love the tomboy type girls who wear jeans, slag the guys and still have a sensitive side.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Some people just don't meet partners, I'd say it would be a far greater number if people didn't settle for a relationship they're not really happy with.
    I've kind of thrown in the towel at 32, but it's not the end of the world is it? You seem to be doing fine, you sound like a good person, I'd be pretty sure you'll meet someone sooner or later but not everyone does unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭bjak

I just wouldn't be bothered asking an attractive, professional girl out as they all seem to be waiting for their consultant plastic surgeon or airline pilot to come along.

I don't think the type of "girl" you are referring is just waiting for their consultant or pilot to come along - more like they seem to actively target them, single or not.

I would keep as far as possible away from the type of person but would not tar all professionals with the same brush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭jellygems

Hi OP,
    I can sympathise with your situation. I am 52 male and also never been in a serious relationship.I do not lack self confidence, am fit , well and look better than 90% of men my age.I have been very successful in my business and have no financial worries.
    Why am I single?? . I am single because I set the bar way too high and instead of looking for Miss Right was looking for Miss Perfect. Many women I know are the same and Mr. Perfect doesn't exist.
    I am not saying you need to settle for some beer bellied couch potato who has no interests apart from Page 3 & football . There are plenty of really decent men out there , who are shy and tired of the endless rejection. I just wouldn't be bothered asking an attractive, professional girl out as they all seem to be waiting for their consultant plastic surgeon or airline pilot to come along. If you spot someone you like , ask straight out are you married single or seeing someone. If he is free, then just go and ask him on a day out and you would be amazed at what could happen.
    I am now very relaxed and happy in my single life and looking at the pro's and con's I doubt if would ever be happy any other way.
    Hope this is of help to you.

I was married to a pilot and id run a mile if i knew a guy was one now!!!! Im single and not waiting for any man just enjoying my freedom and having a gay auld time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

This debate over whether the OP is enduring forced celibacy or not is silly and I'm sick of reading about it, stop going on about it, you're not helping.

Now, since I don't want to repeat the advice of everyone else, I will say this. Dating and relationships, in my opinion, are things you learn how to do. I learned when I was a teenager when I was being too clingy or too forward or not flirtatious enough to communicate my interest. You haven't been so lucky in this regard and therefore may need to learn a bit more how to flirt etc., not that it's that hard once you get it. I really would strongely advise that you keep up the internet dating, not neccessarily to find someone you could be in a relationship with, but to learn how to act and gain confidence. I'm not saying you're acting inappropriately or anything of the sort, but there's certain things you become more comfortable with over time, like maintaining eye contact and giving a bit of gentle slagging and banter to break the ice.
    If you're still having problems, and I really hope you don't take offence to this, would you be for a few counselling sessions? Maybe with a relationship therapist? Our minds need upkeep just as much as our bodies and you never know how much a bit of talking about it could help.

All the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

pathtohome wrote: »
    Yes, I agree, it's no different than offline dating; not so good looking males have ZERO options, while below average looking females can pick from a variety of options. Females in this country have no right to complain about being "terminally single" just because they're too picky. Someone tried to suggest OP was incel (involuntary celibacy) which is an absolute insult to those of us who truly suffer from this.

Rubbish. I know some guys who are not traditionally good looking but because they are very nice they all have VERY attractive girlfriends/wifes. Just because a female is single it doesn't mean she is too picky.

<banned>

I have attractive sisters, cousins and friends who are in relationships/married nice guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Wink

<banned>

Every single time.

OP, I'm in the same position as you. I've been in short term relationships but none have lasted over a year. I'm 30 and I think my role in life is to be the cool aunt, or the one that's going to be the life of a hen party or the one who organises nights out and weekends away. I am desperately trying not to let it matter, or to accept it. My MO is to fill my time, keep in touch with friends, say yea to every invitation & everytime I feel down I just tell myself that life is ok without being in a relationship. It just doesn't happen for some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Some people just don't meet partners, I'd say it would be a far greater number if people didn't settle for a relationship they're not really happy with.
    I've kind of thrown in the towel at 32, but it's not the end of the world is it? You seem to be doing fine, you sound like a good person, I'd be pretty sure you'll meet someone sooner or later but not everyone does unfortunately.

I've seen you and your a good looking dude(no homo)

OP your like me I've never been with anybody and I don't see it happening anytime soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Can I remind posters to review our charter.
    Off topic posts or those not offering constructive advice are against the rules and will result in mod action up to and including a ban.

Taltos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭,mnb

For those saying you're too fussy or its easy for girls. They are making wild assumptions. I'm sure it's easy for a girl to get sex on a dating site but most girls don't want that and you don't want that.
    To give you a male perspective. I'm male, late 30s, definitely good looking enough to be in a relationship (not that there is any minimum threshold), good career, good friends though the circle is getting smaller in ways BUT I haven't had a proper committed relationship in over 15 years. The only few girls I've really fancied in those years were not interested in me. I'll be deadly honest and say it comes down to self esteem for me. I don't truely believe I have something to offer a woman such that she could love me. In work situations I believe I have something to offer. In family situations the same. But when it comes to women I don't ever really think that any woman sees me and thinks hes cute or hes attractive. It's a work in progress but its hard to shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭castaway_lady

Can associate with most of that. I have no concept of me being part of the relationship world, I don't feel like I understand anything about it at this stage of my life. I know what I think I have to offer, but that's proven time after time after time never to be what anyone wanted and it's damn hard to maintain self-esteem specific to feeling attractive even if your overall self-esteem isn't bargain basement.

I've thought a fair bit about it all since posting here, I know Im never going to go near online dating again for sure. Beyond luck I can't see a pathway in my life to what I want and I've never felt like that about any area of life before, feeling powerless isn't nice. Im tired of hearing about peoples relationships/ plans etc....I actually have no response to what they're talking about- none! It all just sits in my head these days, I go and do my stuff....I dutifully perform at work, I fix problems for my family, I go to the sports club and the gym and then I go home and lie down alone again & again & again and circumnavigate the issue inside my head but I don't get to the solution or a plan of action and weeks and months just pass me by wondering.

It's tough to feel just like deadwood but sure I suppose nobody ever said life was easy! *shrugs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭thefeatheredcat

OP I see traces of myself in you through your posts... you've mentioned you're a problem solver and you've mentioned that you do fix things for your family. You don't come across to me as really that there's anything wrong with you, the only thing probably I picked up is that possibly that some people might see that you're too good for them; you are successful, accomplished, kind and caring, you look after those you care about, you look after yourself and are independent, you come across as a general well rounded individual who is confident and can get on with anyone and can hold conversations with men as people and not men (if you know what I mean, you like me could probably talk about sci fi or astronomy or whatever topic of conversation with a guy for hours on a platonic level as a person, rather than feel you need to present yourself as a girl talking to a boy). Perhaps too, maybe because you're easy for men to get on with that you're overlooked for being female as you're accepted in general by them without having to be validated as being female?

But going back to you being a problem solver... I think that's part of it, you want to solve this and it frustrates you that you can't. I think it's a case of having to realise you can't solve this one alone, not without outside help like being set up or talking about it with family. I can and have solved others problems and general problems for other people in life, I can never solve my own problems and issues (but often find a half solution in helping someone else) for myself, because half the time I don't know where to start as I can see better from the outside in solving problems others have, I can see things that they can't because they're too close to the situation and the issue, but myself I'm too close to the issue I try to solve for myself and get nowhere. Maybe it's the same for yourself?

While the issue is a big one for you, how high a priority do you give to resolving the issue itself? Maybe it is worth literally taking the time out to dedicate to it for a while so that you're actually proactive about it with a plan and treat it as priority?

....and I wouldn't write off asking randomers either and it may be that is something worth trying if not to find a connection, even if it does not last, but to inspire your confidence to not give up while actively trying to find meaning in your life on that scale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭ladiesman216

Op I empathise with your situation, I've been single the past 2 years now, in my late twenties and can't seem to click with anyone of the opposite sex!
    I HATE the whole nightclub scoring aspect to trying to meet someone too. It's just not me, I take rejection really badly so I don't even bother trying really even though most lads will tell you it's a numbers game and a lot of the guys that score a lot get rejected a lot.
    I think there are plenty of guys out there like me. You sound like a girl I would love to get to know but the chances are if I saw you in a pub I wouldn't just walk up to you so my advice to you would be if you see a guy in a pub that you like, catch his eye once or twice, maybe smile in a subtle way, then when he's at the bar you go to the bar beside him, If he's interested he'll try and start a conversation, there's no pressure on either of ye and there's a quick and easy get away...drinks are ready.

This has never happened me but in my head this is how I think it would be most natural in the otherwise ultra forced 'shifting' scene. It takes the whole 'approach' out if it, which I find the hardest part.

I know there are way better ways of meeting someone but I'm giving my opinion based on the fact that you said you tried joining clubs etc. and I'm presuming you still would go to pubs.

You sound like a really nice person Op, and I know it's difficult to remain positive when you feel your missing out but remember when you go into any busy pub thers's probably a couple of decent guys like me looking to meet a girl like you.....they just need a little indication that they might have a chance!

By the way my username is ironic!

Im not sure that the issue the OP has is the lack of opportunities to meet men, it is the lack of interest shown by the men she does meet is the problem. Im in much the same age bracket and situation as yourself op and Im at a loss at how to solve it. I haven't gone down the online dating route yet but it appears to be the only option left and Im not overjoyed at the prospect of it to be honest. One thing I have come to learn is how much emphasis men appear to place on a womans looks. Despite what men say it is from what I have observed the deciding factor in their choice of partner. I think men (and women but to a lesser extent) have massive expectations in terms of how their prospective partner should look these days compared with say 20 or even 10 years ago. Also you say that you have shown inititaive in approaching men by letting them know you are inetersted but its got you nowhere.....me too. As a very laid back, easy going girl, with what I would say average looks Im not sure where it leaves me. What I have decided though is that finding a partner is not meant for me right now and Im not going to chew myself up thinking about it every day. I know I have a lot to offer, so do you, it will just take a little longer to get to that point...and until then make the most out of life, out of your talents and the great people around you. Don't regret all that time you wasted on something over which you actually have very little control over. I think the volume of feedback you have received indicates how common this is (more than you think) and that people wish you well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭sharper

skyfall wrote: »
    I haven't gone down the online dating route yet but it appears to be the only option left and Im not overjoyed at the prospect of it to be honest.

It's worth checking out the online dating thread on here for some idea of what to expect. Basically it's not much different to dating via any other means, for good or for bad. It's a useful opportunity to get a better idea of what's out there for you, no more or less.

I know Im never going to go near online dating again for sure.

I say fair play to you for that. Stick to your guns and dont let anybody tell you that you should do internet dating, speed dating etc. You've already given it a go, its not your thing. End of story.

Im tired of hearing about peoples relationships/ plans etc....I actually have no response to what they're talking about- none!

Maybe things are different for women in that other women will talk about their relationships and partners a fair bit. I can understand how that would be difficult. Im a man and all my friends are married or in long term relationships and honestly, they rarely talk about their wives/girlfriends. So maybe single men get the better end of that deal.

I was single for about 3 years and in that time I struggled to come to terms with it. Its like all around you everybody is coupled up and has someone they can rely on. Looking at it that way made it something to long for. But then I met a girl and got back in the game. At first I was delighted, I no longer felt like I was on the outside, that there was this club I had been excluded from but now I was allowed in. But pretty soon I realised something, that my previous single life had been pretty damn good, I just couldnt see it because in society you're led to believe that being in a couple is the way to go and being single is something to be avoided. Even though thats whats being peddeled via the media, movies, books etc, personally I didnt buy it. And its not because I hadnt met the right person, she was lovely and I really liked her. Being in a relationship just seemed overhyped. It made me realise I was grand not being part of a couple, that so much of what people do in life is an effort just to fit in and try to do what others do just so that dont feel different or left out. But thats more going away from something as opposed to going towards something. I broke off the relationship and went back to my previous life but this time with a way better attitude. The irony is I got a lot of attention from women, a lot more than I got before. I feel in control of things like if I wanted I could start a relationship at any time, but I just dont want to right now, my life is pretty good as is and I dont want to complicate things.

Anyway if you want a relationship thats ok but dont put too much stock in it. I know its a cliche and all but if you're not happy out of a relationship you wont be happy in one. Being in a relationship is kind of like a bonus not the main game. Have a good look at your life, what do you do with yourself outside of work and the gym? Have you got a purpose in life, something you strive towards? For me thats a big one. I have a few things I wanna achieve in life and it gives me purpose and direction, which just seems to fill me up. I just think your issue is internal OP, it seems like you're looking for answers in the wrong places i.e. in other people or the prospect of a relationship.

I know its a cliche and all but if you're not happy out of a relationship you wont be happy in one. Being in a relationship is kind of like a bonus not the main game. Have a good look at your life, what do you do with yourself outside of work and the gym? Have you got a purpose in life, something you strive towards? For me thats a big one. I have a few things I wanna achieve in life and it gives me purpose and direction, which just seems to fill me up. I just think your issue is internal OP, it seems like you're looking for answers in the wrong places i.e. in other people or the prospect of a relationship.

Yep I have a purpose in life, lots in my diary every week, things Id like to achieve...and knowing what its like not to be single for even 5minutes of my life is one of them :rolleyes: Maybe you're right, maybe I would prefer being single...but the thing is I don't get to test that theory, you did- lucky you. And if relationships aren't worth having then why does the vast majority of the world pursue it? Where exactly is the right place to look for answers? If I could have my hormones removed I would, then I wouldn't have a stupid biological motivator that I can't satisfy.

Skyfall you're right, it's not a lack of being around men....I was in the presence of 60 of them last weekend and that's not unusual stats.
    But I know I may as well be invisible in that regard.

Logically I know that I need to find a way to not have it matter to me, but I can't tap into that anymore, I used to pack other things onto the priority list but that just doesn't work these days, the motivation isn't there, frustration is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

It's a cliche of course, but my experience of meeting someone has been that it happens when you have really, honestly, genuinely put it to the back of your brain and bottom of your priorities list.

I'm in my late 20s and spent most of my life single until recently - single and obsessed with it. I made excuses for it, I felt shame for it, I felt I had to cover it up, I felt it meant people would think there was something wrong with me, I felt I wasn't 'relationship material', Jesus, I remember a few times I invented 'exes' just to fit in with everyone else. I felt I'd end up alone forever, yadda yadda yadda. It's a long list and comprised 100% of negative, self-destructive thoughts about myself and my life and you can just imagine the kind of vibes I must have been giving to the people around me. I didn't feel 'enough' by myself. And I wondered then why the singledom persisted :rolleyes:

It's Dating 101 stuff that people are attracted to confident, outgoing, happy people. OK, we all know that. What is so easy to lose awareness of when you're long-term single though is the fact that that feeling of 'lacking' in you, translates to a shaky, nervous, insecure, self-conscious, unapproachable sometimes aloof, sometimes miserable demeanour. I am none of those things; never have been - always had lots of friends, well-liked by people. But looking back on my interactions with men, social occasions when people typically meet someone like talking to strangers in the pub, meeting male friends of friends etc...that's the image I projected. Because it was always on my radar. 'Oh here we go again, last woman standing again tonight' or 'loads of men...all any of them will want is sex because I'm not 'relationship material''.

About a year ago I got seriously sick of my own negative inner dialogue and decided, fcuk it, if I'm gonna be on my own forever I may as well drop the men stress and enjoy myself, and the male attention escalated. Because I was being me, not some poor desperate girl who obsesses over who's looking at her in any room she walks into or cares about whether or not she 'scores' at any given social event. Just me. Meeting new people. Making new friends.

Now, you don't sound like a miserable person. You sound like you've a lot going for yourself. But take a look at the negative thoughts that you're feeding yourself. Even the thread title, 'terminally single.' Is it a disease now? A horrible affliction that you'll suffer through for the rest of your days? No. It's the state you came into this world in and to this point in your life, it's the more natural state for you than being in a relationship. Embrace yourself. Look within yourself, not outside of yourself. There's too much to you to undersell yourself because you don't have a man walking beside you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

There are plenty of really decent men out there , who are shy and tired of the endless rejection. I just wouldn't be bothered asking an attractive, professional girl out as they all seem to be waiting for their consultant plastic surgeon or airline pilot to come along.

Since you're missing out on a high proportion of decent women who simply want to work and be capable of paying their own rent, probably not the best strategy for avoiding singledom...

OP, what I have seen women who are not perhaps the type the guys flock do, is that they target men and flatter them and move in their social circles. Its almost like picking out their prey. They don't seem to be easily put off by rejection or competition. Its like they almost make a project of it. And it nearly always seems to work, even when the man seems quite reluctant initially!

Either that or dedicated internet dating - apparantly the trick is not to waste loads of time messaging but arrange a quick coffee date and move on to the next one if no good, apparently its a numbers game...

So it's been a few weeks of parking thoughts on the situation and then getting sideswiped by it. I suppose I completely underestimated what I'll call the practical aspects of being single at this stage in life up until now (aside from the fact that I naively believed all the advice articles that said if you keep busy with your life and your interests it'll find you yadda yadda yadda).

Last week at work a new girl asked me something to do with a boyfriend, assuming that there would be one.... on the spot I actually couldn't tell the girl Im single, words wouldn't come out to that effect, eventually managing to divert the conversation.
    It's not the first time lately attention has been drawn to my lack of a love life and I HATE it. Yes I know logically being single isnt something to be ashamed of, but it's becoming an ever increasing achilles heel. The week before at work a friend was talking about the trip her and her fella have just booked for next Spring, somewhere I've always wanted to go, I even have guidebooks for it but could never get anyone to come with me. Just hearing about peoples normal life plans like this leaves me driving home in tears.

You'd think after all this time I'd manage to get a handle on it and some acceptance or make my peace with it or whatever but it just gets harder and harder and affects life so much more than I would ever have thought.

Last week at work a new girl asked me something to do with a boyfriend, assuming that there would be one....

It's not overly comforting but I think it might be a little worse if people just assumed you were single :) Obviously when they look at you and interact with you it seems like you're someone that's attractive and should be in a relationship rather than someone they can't imagine being in one.

Not that it's anyone's business what your relationship status is but you really shouldn't feel flustered telling people you're single. For one thing they have no idea of your history so they're likely to assume you're recently single or otherwise just between relationships as people often are.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

a friend was talking about the trip her and her fella have just booked for next Spring, somewhere I've always wanted to go, I even have guidebooks for it but could never get anyone to come with me. Just hearing about peoples normal life plans like this leaves me driving home in tears.

Why would being single stop you going somewhere you've always wanted to go? In fact, there's very few things that being single should prevent you from doing. Maybe that's why it's bothering you so much - your association with coupledom and activities. No coupledom = no activities. But it really doesn't have to be that way.

Been on holidays solo and never again....been on group trips with strangers and never again....Im now associating activities with coupledom because the fact that thats what everyone around me is doing means that there is never anyone around to do anything

Been on holidays solo and never again....
    Maybe it's a matter of where you go and what you do? You might find it easier to go somewhere English speaking and where maybe just being Irish is a plus like the US. Being far away from your life you might find it easier to strike up conversations.

You probably won't find the love of your life in a foreign land but you might find something to boost your confidence, something you can bring back with you.

castaway_lady I think you sound depressed. I maybe wrong but you should see a GP if you are feeling down.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,635 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

I was single for about 3 years and in that time I struggled to come to terms with it. Its like all around you everybody is coupled up and has someone they can rely on. Looking at it that way made it something to long for. But then I met a girl and got back in the game. At first I was delighted, I no longer felt like I was on the outside, that there was this club I had been excluded from but now I was allowed in. But pretty soon I realised something, that my previous single life had been pretty damn good, I just couldnt see it because in society you're led to believe that being in a couple is the way to go and being single is something to be avoided. Even though thats whats being peddeled via the media, movies, books etc, personally I didnt buy it. And its not because I hadnt met the right person, she was lovely and I really liked her. Being in a relationship just seemed overhyped. It made me realise I was grand not being part of a couple, that so much of what people do in life is an effort just to fit in and try to do what others do just so that dont feel different or left out. But thats more going away from something as opposed to going towards something. I broke off the relationship and went back to my previous life but this time with a way better attitude. The irony is I got a lot of attention from women, a lot more than I got before. I feel in control of things like if I wanted I could start a relationship at any time, but I just dont want to right now, my life is pretty good as is and I dont want to complicate things.

You were single for three years. That means you do not understand the OP's issue. You're not one of those people who have never been in a relationship so you're situation is completely different.
    There's a world of difference between being single for three years, meaning you have had relationships before that, and having spent your entire life single.

Sorry I can't offer more advice, OP. Have you any close friends who you could 'jokingly' ask to set you up with someone? Have you ever asked a guy out yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭zxcvbnm1

OP - I do know how you feel. I'm male - 36 years old - and went out with someone for 9 months about 16 years ago - and that's it !
    So pretty identical to you.

By the way? I'm unsure - is the issue that you do go on dates but they don't work out? It that you don't even get dates?

Anyway - what I did was I blitzed speeddating. And I got dates. None of them worked out - but it's a numbers game after all.
    I guarantee if you go speeddating multiple times you will at least get dates. I've been about 30 dates over the last 3 years or so - and I'm just average looking.

Also - you seem very against online dating. While it can be a chore, the reality is that dating really is a numbers game. Closing off a pretty good avenue (at least from a numbers perspective) is not a good idea in my book.

To sum up - go speeddating and stay online dating. Go on as many dates as possible - as I say, dating really is a numbers game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

I've never ever been on a date before, at this rate I think they are maybe something that only exists in the movies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

OP, I believe some of the recent advice given on participating in online dating or taking proactive steps to partake in singles nights or other events that involve interaction with guys (salsa or ballroom dancing) is something you should seriously consider.

When I was single, I often didn't have friends available to go out with and often just went out to clubs myself and met and hooked up with various people before meeting my OH of 8 years on one of those nights I was out by myself. If I stayed in just because all my friends were couples on those nights, I may very well be single now. I know it's probably a little more difficult for girls to go out or want to go out alone to a niteclub but my point is you need to be proactive.

I also went on several blind dates over the years when I was single too. While none of them were a great success, I didn't regret any of them as at least it meant I was getting myself out there. You are eliminating a very big part of modern dating by boycotting online dating. There will be tonnes of duds out there but as can be seen on these forums, lots of decent people looking for relationships too.

Don't every feel ashamed of being single. Anyone who judges you for being single is not someone you should be associating with anyway. I think you yourself rather than others has the biggest hangup on being single and from your latest post, it seems to become a kind of self destructive obsession. It's ok to not want to be single and relationships to be something you aim or aspire to having. Being single should not be something that depresses or stresses you. If it does,then it sounds like there is perhaps a more serious underlying issue that is causing this stress for you and maybe it would be no harm if you sought some counseling to address this.

A relationship should enhance your life, not be the sole factor that determines your happiness.