Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breaking Bad 5x08 - Gliding Over All [**SPOILERS WITHIN**]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

squonk wrote: »
    Interesting episode. The montages were great. The lockup with the money is awesome! I'm looking forward to seeing what becomes of that. Maybe we'll see Gomez smiling one more time next season?

I'm not buying that the book is actually Gale's. It's another GB, maybe Gretchen as was said. There clearly is a history there and we don't know exactly what caused Walt to leave Grey Matter but the book might be part of that puzzle. I think the book is more a catalyst to have Hank put the pieces in place. It makes sense that the book isn't Gale's. Once again Hank is the guy with the crazy gut feeling who needs to pull proof together, much like with Fring. Nobody believed him then and it'll be the same now, only it'll look worse because he's fingering his brother in law and he presumably won't be able to tell his men or even Marie.

I too thought that Holly was going for a dip in that final scene. You have to love the subtlety of the show. The scene where Holly had been 'purpled' was a great touch. What was even better was Marie mentioning that she had to take vitamins for mothers-to-be for her hair. She wants her own little Holly. I love the way that it's never been explained or discussed why they're childless but perhaps it's Hank's decision? It's just another little sub plot that they threw in.

Much as I don't fancy waiting 9 months for the next season, its a small price to pay. This time next year all these characters will be bowing out of our lives for good. I find I'm so engrossed in the world and caught up in all of the characters lives that I care quite a lot about them. I'm happy there's another season to go. It's not so bad waiting 9 months for one last chance for some old friends to surprise me before it's all gone for ever.

While I don't buy it whatsoever either, it is an interesting concept.

Imagine Hank eventually accuses Walt with some shakey evidence and theories, similar to what he had for Fring. Walt says the book is from Gretchen and she backs it up. Hank loses his job as a result because he has embarrassed the agency and is consistently wasting the DEA's resources on 'favored cases' and wild goose chases, as he has been clearly shown to be doing already with Mike. Walt subtly laughs in Hank's face, similar to the dinner scene where Walt implies that Gale's notebook was merely rote copying and that "maybe this Heisenberg is still out there.. ". Walt also hints that drug money paid for his rehabilitation. Hank vows revenge and ends up breaking bad himself. The show ends with almost everyone dying bar the children in a huge bust up like to how the cartel dies. You read it here first :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Cienciano wrote: »
    No, WW was in the book, Hank is now going to hunt down Willy Wonka (a name he said it earlier). Hank knows he's a sort of mad scientest that could make the blue meth. Perfect cover and distribution in a chocolate factory and the oompa lumpas will never talk, so the perfect staff in a meth lab. Hank realised all this, you could see the look on his face at the end when he was mentally joining all the dots together.
    That's what I think the end scene meant anyway

lge_Willy_071107024606677_wideweb__300x300.jpg

Don't be so ridiculous and obtuse.

It's obviously these guys

6a00e554575e8288330128768a820e970c.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,046 ✭✭✭✭briany

Let's face it, a simple tailing of Walter White by Hank or his men would be enough to incriminate him. I don't buy his being out. There's too much evidence of the operation to clean up for a start. There's a huge tank full of methylamine out there somewhere with Walt's fingerprints all over it that would just be waiting for someone to stumble across it, wherever it is. Walt will need to dispose of that or sell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

It could not have been made any clearer that the book is from Gale. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

bushhank.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

bushhank.jpg

First thing that came to mind for me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

briany wrote: »
    Let's face it, a simple tailing of Walter White by Hank or his men would be enough to incriminate him. I don't buy his being out. There's too much evidence of the operation to clean up for a start. There's a huge tank full of methylamine out there somewhere with Walt's fingerprints all over it that would just be waiting for someone to stumble across it, wherever it is. Walt will need to dispose of that or sell it.

once a cop always a cop BUT i am making the prediction (and it might be a bad one) that hank will join up with walt when he sees how much money there is to be made.
    after all hank doesnt really like the position hes in at work at the moment and his boss is breathing down his neck to.and they need the money.
    besides how could he turn his own brother in law in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,634 ✭✭✭✭Basq

crazygeryy wrote: »
    once a cop always a cop BUT i am making the prediction (and it might be a bad one) that hank will join up with walt when he sees how much money there is to be made.
    If that happens, I will literally eat my hat-shaped hat! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭Mousewar

Funglegunk wrote: »
    It could not have been made any clearer that the book is from Gale. Seriously.

Yeah it could. It could have been signed Gale Boetticher with a little picture of him blowing Walt a kiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

BreakingBad-5x08_switch.gif

brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Go on Hank, the moment we've all been waiting for has finally happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭coL

Did they not say in an earlier series/episode (think it was the one with or near the Schwartz birthday party that Walt and Skylar attended) that Gretchen's maiden name was Black and that one of the reasons behind the name of Grey Matter came from the combination of their surnames. Black + White = Grey.

Maybe I am wrong but it does seem very unlike the writers to make the rookie mistake of getting Gale's handwriting wrong which would lend credence to the argument that it wasn't Gale's book.

Either way Hank suspects Walt now even if it is for the wrong reason.

Anyone want to bet he goes full scarface and says the immortal words while letting loose with the M60?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

Ok episode. I expected more but then again I guess it isn't really a season finale and more of a 'wait till you see what happens next' episode. Liked the prison executions, really hit home that Walt has gone past showing any remorse for his crimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

coL wrote: »
    Did they not say in an earlier series/episode (think it was the one with or near the Schwartz birthday party that Walt and Skylar attended) that Gretchen's maiden name was Black and that one of the reasons behind the name of Grey Matter came from the combination of their surnames. Black + White = Grey. QUOTE]

You're right. I don't think it really matters now though. Even if it does stand for Gretchen Black, the reference to Walt Whitman and that connection to Gale is enough for Hank to put it together. At least I hope this is the realization, and that he doesn't get thrown off the scent again.

Did they not say in an earlier series/episode (think it was the one with or near the Schwartz birthday party that Walt and Skylar attended) that Gretchen's maiden name was Black and that one of the reasons behind the name of Grey Matter came from the combination of their surnames. Black + White = Grey.

Maybe I am wrong but it does seem very unlike the writers to make the rookie mistake of getting Gale's handwriting wrong which would lend credence to the argument that it wasn't Gale's book.

Either way Hank suspects Walt now even if it is for the wrong reason.

Anyone want to bet he goes full scarface and says the immortal words while letting loose with the M60?

You're goddamn right!
    See from 8:30 onwards. Gretchen's maiden name is Black! Boom!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SjVZcfnuaEI
    I wouldn't be surprised if the final scene of the entire series is Gretchen finding herself in Walt's house after the dust has settled and coming across the book and reminiscing about when she gave it to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

The prison scenes reminded me of Goodfellas when De Niro tidies up.

Mousewar wrote: »
    You're goddamn right!
    See from 8:30 onwards. Gretchen's maiden name is Black! Boom!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SjVZcfnuaEI
    I wouldn't be surprised if the final scene of the entire series is Gretchen finding herself in Walt's house after the dust has settled and coming across the book and reminiscing about when she gave it to him.

What???? He refers to Elliott Schwartz, her husband.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schwarz

It doesn't imply Gretchen's maiden name was Black at all.

This is getting silly lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭guttenberg

Great episode. After this next batch of episodes, has there been any announcements about planned further series? O/T but it's always bugged me. Those chemicals/precursors that they need to make the meth, what are their legal uses? Considering the hassle involved to get them I assume the end product won't turn up in somewhere like B&Q.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭rudiger2.0

Yeah I think this could be right. Also in the inscription it says "To my other favorite", which hints to the love triangle with Walt, Gretchen and Elliot.

It doesn't really matter though, it serves its purpose to make Hank aware but from looking at the commentary video of the episode they don't have a plot written for the next series so they could play it either way, Gale or Gretchen.

Just as a thought on the series as a whole, I thought it was pretty bad. It's become far too farcical and the style has completely changed to an often caper-like show or sometimes Macguyveresque. This last episode did nothing for me, although I did like the way they killed off the prison guys quick. After that though it was just a slow meandering till the inevitable cliffhanger at the end.

Ah yes, Schwarz is the German for black. Ok, so her surname isn't Black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I thought he said that her maiden name was Black and that's how they came up with Grey Matter - White and Black. Or did he just say that Scwartz meant Black?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 sekelly11

Love this show...excellent stuff!

I thought he said that her maiden name was Black and that's how they came up with Grey Matter - White and Black. Or did he just say that Scwartz meant Black?

Yeah Schwarz means Black. White and Black make grey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

I don't think it really matters if it's Gretchen's or Gale's. To me it looks a lot like the season 2 finale of Sopranos with Big Pussy and Tony. It's just something that's been lurking in Hank's subconscious for a while now, and now this coincidence and all the other odd events have finally led him to suspect Walt. It's the same as the situation with Fring, he didn't have hard evidence then but the Los Pollos number on the napkin was enough for him to begin connecting the dots.

Oh yes, it doesn't matter at all. Either way, it's not evidence of anything at all. It's just the catalyst that makes Hank put all the pieces together:
    -Skylar's depression
    -Walt's money
    -Walt's fugue state
    -The missing chemistry stuff from Walt's school
    -His relationship with Jesse
    -The fact that he's a chemistry genius

It would just, however, be a nice reversal if, after Hank realises all of this, what brought him to that realisation was a false tell. Not necessary but would be a nice touch of pathos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

Oh yes, it doesn't matter at all. Either way, it's not evidence of anything at all. It's just the catalyst that makes Hank put all the pieces together:
    -Skylar's depression
    -Walt's money
    -Walt's fugue state
    -The missing chemistry stuff from Walt's school
    -His relationship with Jesse
    -The fact that he's a chemistry genius

It would just, however, be a nice reversal if, after Hank realises all of this, what brought him to that realisation was a false tell. Not necessary but would be a nice touch of pathos.

Hank doesn't know of this, does he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,683 ✭✭✭✭Penn

It's clearly not Gretchen. Even if it is a coincidence that Gretchen and Gale share the same initials (whether Gretchens married name also began with a B), there's almost no way they also have the Walt Whitman connection.

Gale wrote on his notes about W.W, which Walt correctly pointed out to Hank was Walt Whitman. The note on the book was "To my other favourite W.W"

Firstly, that's too big of a coincidence that Gretchen would have written the same thing. Secondly, it's not just the initials G.B that give it away to Hank, but also how the note is written; specifically saying "To my other favourite W.W" which ties in to Gale's lab notes.

People are over-thinking it, that just because we didn't see Gale give Walt the book, that it's not from him. But we didn't see Gretchen give it to him either, and with the Walt Whitman connection, it is far more likely to be from Gale.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Epic!

You don't think a book, with a note from a murdered known meth cook, found in his bathroom is evidence? It clearly indicates that Walt and Gale knew each other and worked together.

It's funny how the same people who watched the scene posted from season 1 and concluded that Gretchen's maiden name is black (when anything but that is indicated) are the same people who refuse to believe what's been clearly stated in this weeks episode. Mind boggling.