It's PanDENmonium! [Off Topic Chat]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Ah who cares about Mars? We all know the best way to utilise the savings is by invading more middle eastern countries to "pacify terrorist groups", and building more "detainment centres" (which shouldn't be mistaken for concentration camps, totally different) where we can "detain" and "interrogate" "terrorists" to aid our efforts.
    Yeah, the way the US spend billions on the military, and the Republicans are so eager to protect it, really annoys me. Never mind the insane inequality, poor public education system and creaking infrastructure, oh no, we need a giant army with stations all over the globe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

jumpguy wrote: »
    Yeah, the way the US spend TRILLIONS on the military, and the Republicans are so eager to protect it, really annoys me. Never mind the insane inequality, poor public education system and creaking infrastructure, oh no, we need a giant army with stations all over the globe!

FYP unfortunately.

It's actually rather sickening when you sit back and think about it.

It always reminds me of how Bill Hicks finished off one of his shows. He would go on a huge rant about this subject, culminating in a line along the lines of:

"If we took every penny that's currently being spent on military forces all over the world, and instead used that money to ensure no one went hungry, that no one was left sleeping on the streets, no lacked clean water, and made sure not one person, NOT ONE PERSON, was left out, then there would be no need for wars or armies, and with the money left over, we could all explore the galaxy as a united world... forever."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

I can't stop laughing at this...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

I giggled, but I felt too bad for the poor things to really enjoy it. </3 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

_meehan_ wrote: »

Twas a great ald laugh. Bookfaced it, tweeted, tumbled and what ever else oyu have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭JamJamJamJam

(vid)

The vids you post are always brilliant :pac:

D'awwwww:pac:

NONONONO cat too :P

I know it's just twitter, and it's probably a bit sad of me, but when celebrities reply to you it's amazing :o

NONONONO cat too :P

I know it's just twitter, and it's probably a bit sad of me, but when celebrities reply to you it's amazing :o

Humorous animals are the best!:p

Who replied to you?:eek::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

FYP unfortunately.

It's actually rather sickening when you sit back and think about it.

It always reminds me of how Bill Hicks finished off one of his shows. He would go on a huge rant about this subject, culminating in a line along the lines of:

"If we took every penny that's currently being spent on military forces all over the world, and instead used that money to ensure no one went hungry, that no one was left sleeping on the streets, no lacked clean water, and made sure not one person, NOT ONE PERSON, was left out, then there would be no need for wars or armies, and with the money left over, we could all explore the galaxy as a united world... forever."
    The sad fact is though, money or not, there's not enough resources on the globe to sustain our population in an equitable manner. There's some ridiculous statistic that we'd need like 5 Earths or more for everyone to same quality of life as we do in the West. It's in the rich's interest to support inequality, and the Republicans love the rich, branding anyone who doesn't a socialist, as though socialism was on the same level as satanism or something.

Humorous animals are the best!:p

Who replied to you?:eek::o

Didn't you post the 'animals being dicks' page as well? :P Oh Frightened Rabbit, who aren't really that famous to begin with. I just clicked onto twitter and they had posted 'Are you okay?', and seemed to be replying to everyone who answered. So I responded with the first thing that came into my head, purely hoping that they'd reply to me too :P It's a bit pathetic but it made me feel special :P I just said I was hungry and they said 'James doesn't know how to take care of himself. EAT SOME FUCKING TOAST JIM!', and I was like woah so I made toast..

I cant wait to get into bed so I can go to sleep and wake up in the morning. Tomorrow I'm gonna give myself an early Christmas present cause I've kept my phone for over a year. And its all LG , LG people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Jhcx wrote: »
    I cant wait to get into bed so I can go to sleep and wake up in the morning. Tomorrow I'm gonna give myself an early Christmas present cause I've kept my phone for over a year. And its all LG , LG people.

I have had an LG now 2 years and no problems but it's very hit and miss with them!
    Will only buy myself a smartphone when my current phone is unusable:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭AtomicKoala

Yeah, the way the US spend billions on the military, and the Republicans are so eager to protect it, really annoys me. Never mind the insane inequality, poor public education system and creaking infrastructure, oh no, we need a giant army with stations all over the globe!

The big problem with US spending is actually healthcare. Americans smoke less, are a bit heavier, drink less, yet live 5 years less than us Europeans after spending twice as much as a percentage of GDP. That difference is about 8% of GDP - The exact same as the US federal deficit.
    Basically, if the US introduced a Universal Healthcare system like say, Germany, they could continue with massive military expenditures. But the Republicans won't, because they don't care about the country, which is the sad truth.

Eathrin wrote: »

I have had an LG now 2 years and no problems but it's very hit and miss with them!
    Will only buy myself a smartphone when my current phone is unusable:P

Never owned an LG just not my cup of tea. But Lifes Good when u have it 2years. Longest phone I had was 3 years using it. Still have it. Current phone recently celebrated its first birthday. :pac:

The sad fact is though, money or not, there's not enough resources on the globe to sustain our population in an equitable manner. There's some ridiculous statistic that we'd need like 5 Earths or more for everyone to same quality of life as we do in the West. It's in the rich's interest to support inequality, and the Republicans love the rich, branding anyone who doesn't a socialist, as though socialism was on the same level as satanism or something.

Indeed. I know the whole "world peace" thing will never happen. As time goes on we're just going to get more unified (take the Eurozone, which any sane person can see will eventually just become one huge country), at which point we may stand a chance of furthering space exploration with fewer countries involved in the dick-measuring contest that goes on. (did someone post that quote from Rominey(?) mocking the Chinese because America had got to the moon in 1969? Or was that another forum...)

I was going to say "it's odd", but really it isn't odd, that Sci-Fi reflects reality so much. Take the Drell in Mass Effect, who's home planet was utterly destroyed because of overpopulation to the point where it became an uninhabitable arid wasteland. At the rate we're going at, it's on the cards for Earth in a few hundred years, maybe a little longer when a few plagues and viruses get hold.

"When all the world is overcharged with inhabitants, the remedy of all is war, which provideth for every man, by victory, or death."

/doomsday rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

I was going to say "it's odd", but really it isn't odd, that Sci-Fi reflects reality so much. Take the Drell in Mass Effect, who's home planet was utterly destroyed because of overpopulation to the point where it became an uninhabitable arid wasteland. At the rate we're going at, it's on the cards for Earth in a few hundred years, maybe a little longer when a few plagues and viruses get hold.

No worries man, as soon as we find our version of the hanar, everything will be fine

Are Friday nights always this boring and painful.

Yes.

Just something about German things that makes me go mental. I just realized that in at everyone of my neighbors houses there is at least one German car. starting with an Audi, 2 bora's a passat, an Audi and now i can finally put our house on the map with the first German car in our family. *Does little shift dance* :pac:

Down with the Japs. i also burst out laughin today listening to Spin Sw and someone was giving out about the Germans how if they got the chance they would take over the world....... again. and then the German's who ever they were fought back saying they were offended by the Irish. Fair play

Just something about German things that makes me go mental. I just realized that in at everyone of my neighbors houses there is at least one German car. starting with an Audi, 2 bora's a passat, an Audi and now i can finally put our house on the map with the first German car in our family. *Does little shift dance* :pac:

Down with the Japs. i also burst out laughin today listening to Spin Sw and someone was giving out about the Germans how if they got the chance they would take over the world....... again. and then the German's who ever they were fought back saying they were offended by the Irish. Fair play

I'm guessing that was on Spin Talk? You've gotta love any phone-in show really. I mean, they're terrible and shoite to listen to, but all the weirdos congregate in one place and argue... some laugh! :pac:

Sure was. :pac: That show is just a ball of laughs. Todays question was what would you do if the world is going to end tomoro... i didn't get to hear any of the replies. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

You've just reminded me that it was Friday. I had actually lost track of the days.

frantic190 wrote: »
    You've just reminded me that it was Friday. I had actually lost track of the days.

Your welcome...? :pac: I know the way. TBH i actually thought was Saturday. well it is now but back then it wasnt :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

Your welcome...? :pac: I know the way. TBH i actually thought was Saturday. well it is now but back then it wasnt :D

I've not been sleeping very well so all the days blend into one :p I'm hoping this is the beginning of the end of my mental sleeping pattern because college is in 2/3 weeks. At least I'm waking up early these days...

frantic190 wrote: »

I've not been sleeping very well so all the days blend into one :p I'm hoping this is the beginning of the end of my mental sleeping pattern because college is in 2/3 weeks. At least I'm waking up early these days...

In one way I want to say lucky u. Least ya have something to give ya schedule... Or a day keeper. Me I dropped out so sleep is all hours and days are just one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

WE SHALL NOT BE MOVED!!

Fcuk off randy :pac:

I feel like posting something but i have nothing to post. and for the love of god can someone speed up time. Please. wish it was 9 o clock already so i can get my tax book and tax the car and live life like its supposed to be away from this laptop. just like the good ald days listening to the engines roar and coming in home black at 6 for the tea. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

alcohol once again failed in its attempts to kill me in my sleep saturday night. sleeping on my side ftw! although 8 pints and 9 rums was asking for trouble. all joking aside this dodged bullet will stay with me for a while. only jimi hendrix can choke to death on puke in a cool way for me it just makes me consider giving it up. thank god i work nearly every weekend doesn't give me many oppurtunities to drink as it is will make it easy if i do decide to leave it behind. :/ the fear and shame sunday morning was not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Patchy~ wrote: »
    WE SHALL NOT BE MOVED!!

Fcuk off randy :pac:
    :eek: :eek: :eek:

Such absolute lèse-majesté and abuse to a respected CatMod! :eek:

To the Coliseum!! Release the man boy-eating lions!!! :cool: