Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

daithijjj wrote: »
    My plan would have been to not panic like a schoolgirl waiting in line to see One Direction and given Kenny Dalglish more than one season.

Do you think it was a panic decision to sack Kenny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Right . . .

We have five days left in the window. Assuming we have no money (without sales) what should we do?

Personally, I would try and sell/destroy:
    Spearing 2m, Adam 5m, Carroll 12m, Cole 0m = 19m
    in the 10-15m bracket, and another forward on loan. Afellay would be perfect imo, either permanently or on loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

It's from the mirrors back story tomorow that we're bidding 15mill for him.

Make of that what you will.

The Times going with it also i believe..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Melion wrote: »
    There has been quite a few times this summer where i've called him out on something and didn't get a reply.
    they should add Notifications to your Boards.ie account so u know when someone quotes u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Right . . .

We have five days left in the window. Assuming we have no money (without sales) what should we do?

Personally, I would try and sell/destroy:
    Spearing 2m, Adam 5m, Carroll 12m, Cole 0m = 19m
    in the 10-15m bracket, and another forward on loan. Afellay would be perfect imo, either permanently or on loan.

2 million for Spearing is ambitious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

No, but it weakens their argument imo. And when posters who have no alternative and don't want to admit the reality of our finances say there should be a revolt, then I'm left scratching my head.

Is football about either winning titles/full-scale riots? With no middle ground?

They aren't necessarily calling for a revolt in fairness.

They are saying that things aren't anywhere near as rosey as some here would suggest.

With regard to the owners, they are saying that while the debt has been cleared, there hasn't been much funds invested in transfers and there appears to be have minimal progress on the stadium. Now those plans meant nothing and anyone wondering why they were abandoned are being shouted down.

They have expressed concerns with the managers ability to achieve what is expected of him. They have expressed concerns with how the owners have seemingly done a complete about turn on the structures which they aspired to set up in the club. They have expressed concerns at the apparent nature in which they abandoned these planned structures.

Numerous other reasonable points have been made and when all considered together, I can see why a lot of fans are worried. The manner in which those raising their concerns have gone about it have been anything but chaotic. They have generally been backed up with careful reasoning and logical points. Anything but riotous in nature in fact!

Those slamming the concerns of some fans previously argued the the new planned structures were the definitive way of running a club. It was used a means of justifying the sacking of Dalglish and more. Those plans seem to have been conveniently forgotten about and anyone asking what happened to them are being shouted down.

I would argue that the manner in which some posters have literally been chasing down the likes of Lloyd have been considerably more riotous in nature than the naysayers. There is an element of Fox News to it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,383 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Would people be as hopeful if we had drew
    2-2 with West Brom and then lost
    0-3 against Man City

1 pt on board either way

Next 3 league games will reveal so much
    I'm waiting till they have pasted to express my opinion on our hopes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Sticking with Kenny would have been a huge gamble as well, I think people don't see that, they think because he's club legend that things would improve. We got worse after Xmas.

Yeah there was the cups but I was only interested in them as I thought it would push on the team in the league, seemed to do the opposite. LL seems to be caught in a time warp tbh, league titles and emphasis on cups over CL.

Carroll, Henderson, Adam and Downing have seen little game time under Rodgers, that shows you the change in philosophy of the managers.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

My plan would have been to not panic like a schoolgirl waiting in line to see One Direction and given Kenny Dalglish more than one season. I personally feel Kennys main issue was getting the team to score goals and Carroll showed signs he had turned things around, now he is no mans land and any possible fruition of the Carroll xfer is gone.

I wouldnt have been pictured with Martinez one day and the next telling everyone that a man with one season in the EPL was our "First choice". If i had even the first idea about football i wouldnt have given that man full control, i would have appointed a DOF that was not Ian Ayre.

I have repeatedly said that i have no complaints with off the pitch. What i do have complaints about is my chairman telling me on LFCTV that he wants to increase wages but doesnt back it up. Sure, we want better value for those wages. So i expect the club to offer the released wages to better players.

Its grand talking about debt, debt is not a new thing, football clubs are loss making in the majority not the minority, were you worried about Moores offering players contracts when he had the club in minor debt?, were you worried about the club offering Torres big wages when he signed?.

These owners can sh1t or get off the pot as far as im concerned. But by all means, slip into the mid table malaise if you wish to do so without asking too many intrusive questions. Thats how Moores lasted so long and why LFC failed, slowly but surely.

Cannot decide if I think you are being very impatient or bringing up a number of valid points. I think the truth might be somewhere in the middle.

You started your post talking about how you think Kenny should have been given more time to turn things around, but then seem to be unwilling to give the owners more time to turn things around on the things you view as mistakes/bullcrap.

I think blindly buying into anything any owners say is a folly, and that being willing to question things is a good and much need quality, but I also think that to be seemingly willing to give up on them (apols if that sounds a bit strong but your posts do carry that kind of vibe) would be a folly.

This season is a very big one on a lot of fronts. It is a huge season for our new manager, it is a huge season for our current owners, and it is a huge season for the club, not to mentions the players and supporters. After all the trials and tribulations of X number of years, I think we need to take this season at face value as it happens and question things each time we reach a point of no return.

Come the end of this transfer window we will have one such point of no return, We will know how much money went on new players and whether we have strengthened the squad to a large degree or not.

Come the ten game mark in the league, come the 19 game mark and so on we will have other points where on pitch and managerial aspects can be viewed and evaluated.

Come January 31st we will again be able to judge if the owners have backed the manager in the transfer market and to what degree.

Then come May we can make a final evaluation on owners, manager, club, individual players etc.

Anything out of the ordinary or dodgy something would of course be fair game to be questioned and would carry the potential to turn the support one way or the other, but I think there is a risk that comes with over-questioning things.

I just think we need to take a lot at face value this season whilst still keeping both eyes open. There will be no quick fix for the club in 2012/13, but what we can hope to see is genuine improvement on the pitch and the fruition of some more of the owner's promises by the time we hit the end of the season. If we don't get that, then it will be time to question things a bit more forcibly and to be less trusting of promises, but by the same token if we do get the positives then we need to be more willing to offer more by way of the benefit of the doubt.

I'm rambling a bit now, probably because I do agree with some of what you have been saying for some time, but at the same time I am not quite as willing to to lump the owners into a sh1t or get off the pot type scenario.

I guess the short way to say it is that I do have reservations on a number of issues, but I am quite optimistic on a number of fronts as well.

They aren't necessarily calling for a revolt in fairness.

They are saying that things aren't anywhere near as rosey as some here would suggest.

With regard to the owners, they are saying that while the debt has been cleared, there hasn't been much funds invested in transfers and there appears to be have minimal progress on the stadium.

They have expressed concerns with the managers ability to achieve what is expected of him. They have expressed concerns with how the owners have seemingly done a complete about turn on the structures which they aspired to set up in the club. They have expressed concerns at the apparent nature in which they abandoned these planned structures.

Numerous other reasonable points have been made and when all considered together, I can see why a lot of fans are worried. The manner in which those raising their concerns have gone about it have been anything by chaotic. They have generally been backed up with careful reasoning and logical points. Anything but riotous in nature in fact!

Those slamming the concerns of some fans previously argued the the new planned structures were the definitive way of running a club. It was used a means of justifying the sacking of Dalglish and more.

I would argue that the manner in which some posters have literally been chasing down the likes of Lloyd have been considerably more riotous in nature than the naysayers. There is an element of Fox News to it to be honest.

I wasn't saying the posters are being riotous. I was making reference to Lloyd's comment that the club is in turmoil and that we should be in revolt.

I understand why all those things are genuine concerns. But I don't get the way some fans are going about expressing those concerns. I think some of the arguments are disingenuous.

For example, plenty of posters have expressed concerns at our lack of spending (despite the fact we are spending more than 20 million a year) but will not just come out and say either 1) I want a sugar-daddy billionaire to plow his fortune into the club or 2) I am willing to accept debt and the risks that brings if we don't make it into the CL. I don't see any other way to increase our spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,938 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Melion wrote: »
    There has been quite a few times this summer where i've called him out on something and didn't get a reply.

Fair enough (But honestly just responding so that you can't say the same about me!)

Just on the stadium issue I think it is clear the owners want to refurbish, against the Council and many others wishes, so it will take time. They've to stand their ground on this one!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

So stick with Kenny was your plan. Grand, at least it's the beginnings of a plan. It's something

Too many people are judging KK on flagrant misuse of funds by Damien Comolli. Kenny brought in 2 young players in Henderson and Carroll that i believe will be good players in the future but needed time to adjust. Comolli was an idiot and rightfully sacked. KK clearly did not fancy Cole or Aquilani or Kuyt or Maxi etc. There was a huge job on and there still is, there tends to be when you keep changing your position with such frequency.

What will you be saying in 18 months if we are 8th and going nowhere fast? what excuse's will you bring out?, surely people wont bring out lack of investment right? right?. For all you or i know we might only have Sahin and Allen through 'assists' from Alonso and Bellamy. I have reservations over Borini, i dont believe he is the answer to our goal scoring problem, i like the cut of his cloth in terms of attitude but ultimately, even Rafa deposed Kuyt for another option, a significant upgrade in Torres, we need a significant upgrade but i dont believe these owners will take the leap again, i hope i am wrong, i have mixed emotions about the whole set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,938 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

K-9 wrote: »
    Just on the stadium issue I think it is clear the owners want to refurbish, against the Council and many others wishes, so it will take time. They've to stand their ground on this one!

I see what you did there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

GymJim wrote: »
    Ah West Ham, the perennial tale of the emperors new clothes

Jesus don't say that when Sam Allardyce is manager there, horrible images
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Spurs are failing. Arsenal are failing. Newcastle are failing. Not winning is failing.

What would realistically represent success for Newcastle then? They've gone from the championship to Champions League contenders in two seasons, have developed and excellent transfer strategy and scouting system, and are developing a sustainable model. In what way can that sort of progress be deemed failing?

They may have won nothing, but Rome wasn't built in a day. With the competition from the Oil Firm real life Championship Managers, its only the Utd's of this world that can realistically compete at the top of the league. Absolutely no shame in falling short of the top 3, given others have to live in the real world
    My plan would have been to not panic like a schoolgirl waiting in line to see One Direction and given Kenny Dalglish more than one season.

With out getting into the finances, would you trust Kenny Dalglish to spend money wisely? The amount of change the club got out of £80m for Downing, Carroll, Henderson and Adam suggest he shouldn't be trusted to buy a loaf of bread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Too many people are judging KK on flagrant misuse of funds by Damien Comolli. Kenny brought in 2 young players in Henderson and Carroll that i believe will be good players in the future but needed time to adjust. Comolli was an idiot and rightfully sacked. KK clearly did not fancy Cole or Aquilani or Kuyt or Maxi etc. There was a huge job on and there still is, there tends to be when you keep changing your position with such frequency.

This rubbish again? Kenny gets praised for signing Henderson while Comolli gets the blame for Adam and Downing. Kenny wanted Henderson, he wanted Adam, he wanted Downing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Sticking with Kenny would have been a huge gamble as well, I think people don't see that, they think because he's club legend that things would improve. We got worse after Xmas.

Yeah there was the cups but I was only interested in them as I thought it would push on the team in the league, seemed to do the opposite. LL seems to be caught in a time warp tbh, league titles and emphasis on cups over CL.

Carroll, Henderson, Adam and Downing have seen little game time under Rodgers, that shows you the change in philosophy of the managers.

I agree with you. In fact, I didn't want him appointed in the first place.

I won't give my views on how I believe things should have planned out as they involve Rafa. I believe that he can achieve what Rodgers is expected to achieve at the club now whereas I am not sure what Rodgers has enough experience to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

When Lloyd posts this
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Well they will need to sort this stuff out and get us to Y > X by a wide margin. That's the objective. I don't care what other clubs do. THIS club has revenues way in excess of what it did in 2004 and hasn't translated that into a huge increase in investment in the playing squad. I have no interest in excusing a reduction in squad investment. As a fan my interest is in constantly asking why they can't spend more when we are taking in more all the time.

I also don't buy the stuff floating around of 'oh well they got burned when they authorised big purchases last year I can understand if they don't want to spend again'. Wrong attitude. You got burned? So what. Onwards and upwards. Buy again. Keep going.

We have reacted positively to every bit of good commercial news (and there has been plenty). The objective for FSG should be to translate as high a percentage as possible of inward gains into playing squad investments. When that stops seeming to be their objective they are the enemy.

and then gets a good reply like this explainging why our increased revenue might not be all that an then just ignores I've to start wondering what he's at.
    You're not living in the real world. I don't have 2004 data to hand, but since 2006 our revenue has increased by around 50%. But guess what? Our wage bill has gone up by almost 90%

You want the club to keep spending, spending money it does not have. That's fine. But those losses will become debts and we will become another Leeds United.

Questions:
    1) Do you think we should have kept the wage bill at the level it was last season?
    2) Do you think the club should rack up losses chasing success?

Edit: We have had massive increases in revenues and all of this and more has been invested in the playing squad, most of it mis-directed in the form of wages to ageing players

Whether we move or not is irrelevant, you just don't get it. FFPR is irrelevant to the stadium issue, whether we move or refurbish. It still costs money to do either, money that will effect transfer spend, Arsenal had/have the same problem.

I will take that up with you at another time if you want, im not spending my whole night debating various issues and refreshing boards, i dont have the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

No, but it weakens their argument imo. And when posters who have no alternative and don't want to admit the reality of our finances say there should be a revolt, then I'm left scratching my head.

Is football about either winning titles/full-scale riots? With no middle ground?

One of my major gripes is that I think they should be front loading in at least another £50m to spend this year. This is where I agree with the lads to a certain extent, that I think a certain amount of vision should be shown. With vision comes risk but either way without CL the club is going to fall into a decline that we may never be able to be pulled from if it goes much further.

CL obviously remains vitally important, not only in terms of added revenue but in terms of this clubs relevance. At the moment we live hugely off our past but we have also been lucky that the exposure the club gained through the huge success we had under Benitez in Europe continued to give us new fans worldwide in incredible numbers. Now the PL has superclubs popping up left and right while we are fading into the background. Young fans are being lost, a new generation of supporters, each passing year it becomes harder to crack the top four having spent another year outside it, each year that our rivals remain within the top four cements that position further also giving them more and more revenue.

The owners idea that we become self sufficient while taking a crack at the top four is a nice one and I hope it works out because I think the alternative doesn't bear thinking about. If we manage to over the course of the next two years make the top four with this minimal investment strategy things will work out really well as we will then have year on year money to invest properly in the squad.

The other side of the coin though is fairly bleak. Each year that passes without CL football we will continue to have minimal investment in the squad which will continue to push us further and further away from the big spending CL clubs. Over the next few years without CL football our star players are not going to hang around. Gerrard will have left the stage and even our young stars will begin to question if they should move on. At that stage the situation may become unrecoverable. One of the things that makes this club a viable attempt towards cracking the top four presently is that from the clubs recent European years we still have some proper top four players which we obtained during those years or attracted in the afterglow of that relatively successful period. Making the push now makes the most sense as in the coming years we might not have or be able to attract the kind of players to ever make the push again.

Opr

What will you be saying in 18 months if we are 8th and going nowhere fast? what excuse's will you bring out?, surely people wont bring out lack of investment right? right?. For all you or i know we might only have Sahin and Allen through 'assists' from Alonso and Bellamy. I have reservations over Borini, i dont believe he is the answer to our goal scoring problem, i like the cut of his cloth in terms of attitude but ultimately, even Rafa deposed Kuyt for another option, a significant upgrade in Torres, we need a significant upgrade but i dont believe these owners will take the leap again, i hope i am wrong, i have mixed emotions about the whole set up.

We aren't going to solve our problems in one season and yes, our problems were made worse last year.

So stick with Kenny was your plan. Grand, at least it's the beginnings of a plan. It's something

Kenny is as much to blame as Comolli for the money we spent.
    Kenny wanted Carroll. Are you telling me at no stage did Comolli come back and say "its gonna take 35 million?" Come on! Kenny himself said he had final say on transfers and him not pulling the plug on Carroll there and then must rank as one of the stupidest transfer decisions of all time. They are equally to blame.

What a ridiculous comment to be fair.

The only way Liverpool could ever be contenders for the EPL is if someone came in and pumped the club full of money.

Earning it the way your suggesting isn't possible for a mid-table English club like Liverpool in the modern era.

Or if FFP was introduced and enforced in the Premier League.

As an aside, did Abramovich have shares in BP or Transocean? I noticed Chelsea spending and hence performances dip dramatically around the time of the Deep Water Horizon disaster, before steadily rising again back towards their previous level as things got back to normal. The similarities in performance and recovery are remarkable

I will take that up with you at another time if you want, im not spending my whole night debating various issues and refreshing boards, i dont have the time.

Look, it's very simple. Building or refurbishing still costs money, FFPR is irrelevant to how much a stadium costs. We don't have owners willing to invest £60/70 Million a year which is what we'd need if we spend £15/20 Million a year on interest.

Stop thinking about FFPR and think about actual money, look at the accounts and forget FFPR. Whether it will be implemented or not is a side issue to the clubs finances if we move or refurbish.

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Jesus don't say that when Sam Allardyce is manager there, horrible images

What would realistically represent success for Newcastle then? They've gone from the championship to Champions League contenders in two seasons, have developed and excellent transfer strategy and scouting system, and are developing a sustainable model. In what way can that sort of progress be deemed failing?

They may have won nothing, but Rome wasn't built in a day. With the competition from the Oil Firm real life Championship Managers, its only the Utd's of this world that can realistically compete at the top of the league. Absolutely no shame in falling short of the top 3, given others have to live in the real world

With out getting into the finances, would you trust Kenny Dalglish to spend money wisely? The amount of change the club got out of £80m for Downing, Carroll, Henderson and Adam suggest he shouldn't be trusted to buy a loaf of bread

In case it escaped you and others, Kenny was not negotiating. He named some players and Comolli did that, a fkin shocking job at it too. Comolli was given full control over spends, a huge mistake. Worst case scenario, i would have given Kenny and Clarke a summer without Comolli to see what would have happened. Please distinguish, that when i say give Kenny one more year, i mean one more year, not 4. I might be an oul romantic over him but im not a dinosaur either. If he repeated mistakes id want him gone but i would at least given some time to see some fruition of the squad. People also forget that there was huge turnover in terms of bodies in and out, it was a difficult job and difficult jobs need owners and fans with patience.

opr wrote: »

One of my major gripes is that I think they should be front loading in at least another £50m to spend this year. This is where I agree with lads to certain extent, that I think a certain amount of vision should be shown. With vision comes risk but either way without CL the club is going to fall into a decline that we never be able to pulled from if it goes much further.

CL obviously remains vitally important, not only in terms of added revenue but in terms of this clubs relevance. At the moment we live hugely off our past but we have also been lucky that the exposure the club gained through the incredible success we had under Benitez in Europe continued to give us new fans worldwide in incredible numbers. Now the PL has superclubs popping up left and right while we are fading into the background. Young fans are being lost, a new generation of supporters, each passing year it becomes harder to crack the top 4 having spent another year outside it, each year that our rivals remain within the top 4 cements that position further also giving them more and more revenue.

The owners idea that we become self sufficient while taking a crack at the top 4 is a nice one and I hope it works out because I think the alternative doesn't bear thinking about. If we manage to over the course of the next two years make the top four with this minimal investment strategy things will work out really well as we will then have year on year money to invest properly in the squad.

The other side of the coin though is fairly bleak. Each year that passes without CL football we will continue to have minimal investment in the squad which will continue to push us further and further away from the big spending CL clubs. Over the next few years without CL football our star players are not going to hang around. Gerrard will have left the stage and even our young stars will begin to question if they should move on. At that stage the situation may become unrecoverable. One of the things that makes this club a viable attempt towards cracking the top four presently is that from the clubs recent European years we still have some proper top four players which we obtained during those years or attracted in the afterglow of our relatively successful years. Making the push now makes the most sense as in the coming years we might not have or be able to attract the kind of players to ever make the push again.

Opr

That might even be the plan. If it was I wouldn't mind at all, but fans would have to accept lower spends in year 2 and 3 and maybe even selling players if it doesn't work out.

Even that plan required the rebuilding job we are doing now. Getting that 15 million off the wage bill might allow us to pay a top strikers wages if one becomes available. And we are only halfway through that rebuild. Carragher, Cole, Gerrard, Downing, Spearing and Adam will most likely be off in the next couple of years.

The 50 million you mention is an awful lot of money though. Even with that we are not guaranteed 4th. That's how competitive things are

Too many people are judging KK on flagrant misuse of funds by Damien Comolli. Kenny brought in 2 young players in Henderson and Carroll that i believe will be good players in the future but needed time to adjust.

Assuming, and its quite a leap, that these were the only two transfers KK was responsible for, its still a disgraceful return on £53m. While both have potential, they don't have the potential to realise any where near the sort of money that was spent on them

There's also the additional cost of the commission now added by other clubs when they see Liverpool interested. The ''If they're willing to spend that on Andy Carroll....'' mentality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

A £50m increase in spending would probably mean a £100m for FSG in two years of owning this club before spending anything on a new stadium. That's a very big ask I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Am I alone in thinking that I don't want us to get a new stadium?

We're not in a strong enough position to be giving over a large part of our profit towards debt repayments on the construction costs of a stadium and have any hope of challenging for CL spots.

I'm also not entirely convinced that we'd be able to consistently fill a 60k seater anfield if we also inevitably up ticket prices to pay for the stadium/refurbishment.

I think the best middle ground is a nice clean veneer, maybe a small increase in size to 50k or so and an expansion of corporate facilities.
    As far as I know Anfield isn't falling apart at the seams. It would surely take decades for the extra capacity to pay for the costs and that's without counting how much it would cost us if we failed to get into the CL as a result.

In case it escaped you and others, Kenny was not negotiating. He named some players and Comolli did that, a fkin shocking job at it too. Comolli was given full control over spends, a huge mistake. Worst case scenario, i would have given Kenny and Clarke a summer without Comolli to see what would have happened. Please distinguish, that when i say give Kenny one more year, i mean one more year, not 4. I might be an oul romantic over him but im not a dinosaur either. If he repeated mistakes id want him gone but i would at least given some time to see some fruition of the squad. People also forget that there was huge turnover in terms of bodies in and out, it was a difficult job and difficult jobs need owners and fans with patience.

He should have set a limit though. I find it difficult to believe Kenny didn't work to a budget, in that he must have had some idea how much would be available to him in order to plan

Once he heard the prices quoted, he should have pulled the plug. Anyone with an ounce of sense knows they were all dramatically overpriced, and Kenny should have realised that something was not right. I doubt he said he wanted Andy Carroll at any cost, he must have had a say in the sanctioning of that deal, similarly with Downing and Henderson