Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I sold my suck calves that I posted about last week - CH heifer, of BB cow, 6 weeks old made €420. BB bull off CH cow, 8 weeks old, but a little under fed because the cow hadn't much milk made €480. CH bull off limousin cow - 4 weeks old made €400.

Sold 2 of the above cows as well. The CH cow was 16 years old, had only 2 milk quarters and was 660kg and made €990. The BB cow was 8 years old, a miser on milk and year after year produced the worst calf. She was 870kg and made €1500. Thought I did well. At least the load is a bit lighter with grass being scarce.

Bodacious wrote: »
    What's the story with lads pulling plant out of boards?! They starting up a splinter group or something?!

One or 2 people were disciplined (not by this forum) for posts that they wrote and they seem to have just got the huff and deregistered.

The others, I don't know.

Perhaps they will come back under a different username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

J DEERE wrote: »
    just do it wrote: »
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/beefcattle/3788821

Anyone fancy putting a value on these?

They yours just do it? Lovely animals
    Not mine or no connection. Thinking this might be the way to go though, AAxBF cows using a CH terminal sire.

I got away from this in recent years. You'll have great milking cows that are easy fed, but calves off a CH bull will come a brown mousey colour. Exporters won't want them, and if they are over done, finishers won't like them either.

I'd be aiming for the calves off these heifers - Limousin if possible. This would take away the narrow bone and tight skin - you' still have a history of milk in them, but you'd also have a good bit of continental in them. They would breed serious calves off a CH, Part, Lim or BB bull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Hay_man

bbam wrote: »
    Are they moving over to BFF or something?

Yes I know muckit is another one who has gone very quiet here in the last while to,

I have both the forum4farming open here and boards,

F4F has 18 members online now :eek:

and boards has 9 :eek:

Whats going on :confused::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Some showers going over here today. Got caught out in one earlier, in two minutes it looked like I was dipped into a barrel of water!
    Have been talking to a few lads who are weaning spring born weanlings this week to house the cows.

Anyone see the inventions section at Tullamore Show? They did an article about it in today's indo. I was looking at the hydraulic crush that won in the flesh in Tullamore. It was a good invention, but god help us the welding on it was similar to the welding of mine that my father described as "spit" welding when I was 10 years old.

I'm guessing the prize is for the idea or invention as opposed to the quality of the build ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

Good idea but wondered about the head scoop in front gate as you can t feel the pressure you are putting on stock.bit like slaughter houses for halal meat.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

reilig wrote: »
    Anyone see the inventions section at Tullamore Show? They did an article about it in today's indo. I was looking at the hydraulic crush that won in the flesh in Tullamore. It was a good invention, but god help us the welding on it was similar to the welding of mine that my father described as "spit" welding when I was 10 years old.

I'm guessing the prize is for the idea or invention as opposed to the quality of the build ;)

was this not invented already, im sure there are similar products available in either UK or definitely NZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

had a little health scare a couple of months ago, any how went for tests and was on treatment, went for my follow up tests this morn.

all clear, come back in 18 months .. I can live with that, afraid you guys will have to put up with me for a little longer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

bbam wrote: »
    Some showers going over here today. Got caught out in one earlier, in two minutes it looked like I was dipped into a barrel of water!
    Have been talking to a few lads who are weaning spring born weanlings this week to house the cows.

Took action myself last week and weaned the spring calves. 3 months earlier than last year. All settled down now, on good after grass and getting a bit of meal. Can't see how they could be doing any better in the sheds or having the cows eat the best of the grass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I'm back early from Carnaross. it was absolutely sick to see the prices tonight. Reilig you done well on the calves. cows with four month old calves selling for 1100. big springing charlaois heifer made the best money at 1400.
    Heifer weanlings over 300kg making less than 600. The only animals selling were export quality blue bulls between 350-450 kgs. Anyone that says you will make as much on limo or charlaois are dreaming. we have mainly limo this year and bloody lucky we are not under pressure to sell.

snowman707 wrote: »
    had a little health scare a couple of months ago, any how went for tests and was on treatment, went for my follow up tests this morn.

all clear, come back in 18 months .. I can live with that, afraid you guys will have to put up with me for a little longer ;)
    I'm glad to hear it snowman, salads and mineral water from here on in and you'll be grand;)

1chippy wrote: »
    I'm back early from Carnaross. it was absolutely sick to see the prices tonight. Reilig you done well on the calves. cows with four month old calves selling for 1100. big springing charlaois heifer made the best money at 1400.
    Heifer weanlings over 300kg making less than 600. The only animals selling were export quality blue bulls between 350-450 kgs. Anyone that says you will make as much on limo or charlaois are dreaming. we have mainly limo this year and bloody lucky we are not under pressure to sell.

Had a quick look in at the weanling sale in Ennis today, saw about 5 bulls and 5 heifers go through. I thought prices were good, but well back, all considering. All made €2.10/kg with some nice stock making €2.30/€2.40. Two bulls around 400kg suitable for export made a bit more around €2.75/kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Finno59

have 8 stores to sell on thrusday in castlerea around 340-390kgs. 18months, mostly blacks and 2 mountbeliarde bullocks. Hopefully they'l go ok. 1 lovely peachy coloured char heifer out of MO cow with white face, perfect for breeding.

Finno59 wrote: »
    have 8 stores to sell on thrusday in castlerea around 340-390kgs. 18months, mostly blacks and 2 mountbeliarde bullocks. Hopefully they'l go ok. 1 lovely peachy coloured char heifer out of MO cow with white face, perfect for breeding.
    Good luck Finno and make sure to report back;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Charlie Charolais

Stick on BBC 4, good programme on the history of beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

1chippy wrote: »
    I'm back early from Carnaross. it was absolutely
    sick to see the prices tonight. Reilig you done well on the calves. cows with four month old calves selling for 1100. big springing charlaois heifer made the best money at 1400.

were these big mature cows or light first calvers either way twas small money for them roughly what weight were they ??
    what sort of calves had they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hay_man wrote: »
    Yes I know muckit is another one who has gone very quiet here in the last while

I'm still here! :D I thought ye were sick of listening to me!!

I was gettin' a little addicted to the F&F forum has to be said and other things weren't gettin' done.

Getting things sorted before my wedding the start of October ;)
    Boards I can live without (for a while), but I'd be lost without the missus ;) (ahh!)

was this not invented already, im sure there are similar products available in either UK or definitely NZ

I agree with you Bob 100%. That 'inventions' stand is a pure joke in Tullamore. They're not inventions. Most of them are invented already, they're just variations on the idea. A lot of the exhibitions are made by lads with too much time on their hands IMO.

Jeez it will be quiet on here come October due to lads going on honeymoon. Make sure to send us an ePostcard if there is such a thing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

ellewood wrote: »
    were these big mature cows or light first calvers either way twas small money for them roughly what weight were they ??
    what sort of calves had they?
    calves were ok quality, i'll admit a lot were (running with bull but not sure) so seemed a bit iffy. cows ranged from light to big frames, majority were fairly empty and would take a fair bit of feeding if they were to be killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

have 20 cows and heifers calved in last 2 weeks.. lost 2 calves 1 was born with cleanings over face- i was away at a wedding- and the other was born early... also had a suckler cow calved yesterday- a surprise- she had calved last november and bull was out from 1st december, went to tag calf, the cows always go mental when we go to tag them and the bvd tag broke- typical- the needle part snapped when iwent to apply it:eek: had to run and get a new set of tags for the calf, luckily i always use the bvd tag first. anyways have 9 friesian heifer calves, 2 bb heifers and the rest friesian bulls

whelan1 wrote: »
    have 20 cows and heifers calved in last 2 weeks.. lost 2 calves 1 was born with cleanings over face- i was away at a wedding- and the other was born early... also had a suckler cow calved yesterday- a surprise- she had calved last november and bull was out from 1st december, went to tag calf, the cows always go mental when we go to tag them and the bvd tag broke- typical- the needle part snapped when iwent to apply it:eek: had to run and get a new set of tags for the calf, luckily i always use the bvd tag first. anyways have 9 friesian heifer calves, 2 bb heifers and the rest friesian bulls

Good going Whelan1. Hopefully you'I have few if any more losses.
    RE tagging... you've tagged more calves than I have had hot dinners I'm sure, but might be an idea to check the tip of the needle on the tagger aswel. If even a little bit is missing off it, it won't support the bullet of the tag and it'I go to one side rather than go through hole when you go to tag.;)

Interesting point from one of the better farmers in today's comic. None of his top 20% of calves based on weight gain came from his top 20% heaviest cows.

Heavy cows are heavy for a reason. They put feeding on their back instead of into milk. A good cow will lose condition over the summer as she puts it all into producing milk to feed her calf. Calves that get the most milk will have the best weight gain.

Muckit wrote: »
    Good going Whelan1. Hopefully you'I have few if any more losses.
    RE tagging... you've tagged more calves than I have had hot dinners I'm sure, but might be an idea to check the tip of the needle on the tagger aswel. If even a little bit is missing off it, it won't support the bullet of the tag and it'I go to one side rather than go through hole when you go to tag.;)
    i'd say it was more of my fault as i was rushing as the cow was going mad for the calf, i had 3 sets of taggers and i'd say it wasnt lined up right:cool:

big local tillage farmer got a few of the big combines at combines for charity to cut his winter barley on their way home, apparently the combines wheren't set right and most of the grain stayed on the straw, dont know what he is going to do with the straw, its on the ground since then, would they have to get it through the combine again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

whelan1 wrote: »
    big local tillage farmer got a few of the big combines at combines for charity to cut his winter barley on their way home, apparently the combines wheren't set right and most of the grain stayed on the straw, dont know what he is going to do with the straw, its on the ground since then, would they have to get it through the combine again?

that sounds like a pub tale, could put it through combine again but it would be a pain in the arse. was the idiot not checking over the back losses in field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

that sounds like a pub tale, could put it through combine again but it would be a pain in the arse. was the idiot not checking over the back losses in field
    +1 i thought it would or should be standard practice to walk behind combine for 1st 10 mins or so checking under swards of straw for lost grain...not doing this is like going milking without checking if the milk pipe is in the bulk tank.