Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Writing Contest] - THE ARENA

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭hcass

Ho, sorry! I always think I have time then something comes up but I am free now. You still up for it Das Kitty?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

just shoot a theme out there hcass! ;)

Minimum wage
    Ok that's my theme above. Do you accept the challenge, DK?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

No blood spilled yet. :(

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

hcass wrote: »
    Minimum wage
    Ok that's my theme above. Do you accept the challenge, DK?

Hey, sorry I'm late! I was at the zoo on Friday and I've had house guests all weekend so only seeing this now.

Yep, I accept (although I haven't a baldy what to write on the above).

See ya between now and tomorrow at 10.45pm.

I can smell blood. Blooooooooooood.:D
    (I hate the sight of blood.)

GOOD HONEST WORK

I remember me Da making a joke when I got a place at UCD studying arts. We were sat round the table having a ‘special’ dinner to celebrate my CAO offer. He dug his spoon into the monstrous mound of mashed potato sitting on his plate before sharing his gag.

"An engineering graduate asks how that works.” He smirked to himself before continuing.
    "A science graduate asks why that works. So what does an arts graduate ask?"

I shrugged my shoulders.

"Would you like fries with that?" He boomed, laughing at his joke as he shovelled the mash into his gob.

My older brother and sister cackled along with him. I looked at them in dismay. What a pack of idiots. What did my Da, the brickie, know about college anyway?

Well, turns out he knew a lot. After three years I left university full of hope. Only to be met with disappointment. My Da didn’t have much sympathy for me.

“I told ye that would happen, didn’t I? Next time you’ll listen to yer oul fella, wha’? Arts me hole.”

He was on my back constantly, asking had I got a job yet. Saying he’d never been out of work. Didn’t I have any shame? If it were him, he’d take any job rather than scrounge the dole.

One day he came home with “great news”. There was a labouring job going on his site.

“Do ye want it? Do some real work for a change. Make a man of yerself.”

Jesus, I really needed a job but there was no way I was working for him. I could just about handle the constant put downs and criticisms at home. I couldn’t imagine dealing with it at work as well. Thanks. But no thanks.

“Nah, I’ll keep looking for something else.”

“Turning down good honest work? Think you’re too good for it, don’t ye? I was sticking out me head for ye with that job. Told the boss man I’d take the hit if ye didn’t measure up. That’s the last time I look out for you, ye ungrateful pup.”

F**k him. He didn’t give a sh!t about me. Just wanted to lord it over me like always.

Now I was determined to get work. I finally bit the bullet and took a job as supervisor at a deli café in the city. It wasn’t MacDonalds but it wasn’t far off. Of course me Da thought it was hilarious.

“Making sambos for a living," he sneered. "Not so bleedin' proud now are ye? Next time you’ll listen to yer aul fella, wha? To think ye could’ve been on site with me earning a proper wage instead of playing Mrs Doyle to a bunch of city suits.”

His laughs didn’t last long. Three months after I started my job he lost his. I couldn’t help but smile when I heard the news. Ma sent a text.

Your Da lost his job. Don’t say anything when you come home. He’s very upset.

F**k that. He wouldn’t be too sensitive if I was the one in the sh!t. I planned what to say, it had to be harsh. I wanted to see him hurt, crushed, defeated.

I got a call on the way home. It was the owner of the café.

“Tommy, d’you have any friends looking for work. We need a deli hand, pronto. Sheena’s after fecking off back to Poland with no notice. Starts tomorrow, minimum wage. You’ll train them in of course, show ‘em whose boss, eh?”

I grinned to myself.

“Good honest work? Yeah, I have just the man.”

I’m walking to work, same as most days, trying to enjoy the cygnets on the canal and the temporary lack of rain as I make my way in. But it feels like I’m playing at it lately, forcing myself to notice these things because I remember I used to enjoy them. Something has become detached; it could be the world, but it’s probably me. Today I count nine cygnets, one less than yesterday. I think about where the other might have gone, but I don’t wonder. I don’t care. Some animal lover you are.

When the shop comes into view, everything inside me wants me to stop, or to turn around. And yet my legs keep going, the traitorous bastards. I know I’m not powerless, but knowing it doesn’t make me stop. I push the door and the bell salutes me. I smile across at Claire, who’s slicing tomatoes and smiling back. Two years she’s been working here. How can she stand it? Maybe it gets better, or maybe I’m the problem.

I’m not.

My boss, Chris, is the problem.

There are a set of ‘truths’ about myself I wrote down last month. I keep them at home and look at them sometimes. The top three are: Smart, Brave, and Competent. I don’t believe them. I only wrote them because I used to believe them, and I don’t want to forget how I used to be.

I was so happy when I got this job. Minimum wage, but I didn’t mind. Money was tight and it meant I wouldn’t need the ‘generous’ €7 weekly dole pay out I got for being fortunate enough to live with my big-shot Supermacs-employee boyfriend.

But it didn’t take long for my list of truths to be chiselled away. First to go was competent. I was pricing sandwiches incorrectly, adding too much cheese, not enough cheese. Three slices of cucumber for 15c, not four. You get the idea.

Next out the window went smart—I liked smart. Too thick to remember a deli order, and I was only getting worse as time went on. That’s not supposed to happen; it’s never happened before. Maybe I have a tumour. The cool rush of relief that accompanies that thought is slightly worrying.

Brave was the last to go. Out with a whimper. I clung to its corpse too long after it was cold. I tried to convince myself that by going in and taking what Chris could dish out, I was being brave. The properly brave option would have been to walk out, but by the time I realised, it was too late. Fuck.

It’s been okay today, but it’s nearly time to go home now and I don’t know what time Chris wants me in tomorrow. I ask him and he says, “Later.” I leave it until I’m getting my coat and ask him again. “I told you I’d tell you later. Are you fucking thick?” He’s shouting. Customers are staring. Everyone’s waiting for my reaction.

I feel bad for being so hard on my legs earlier, because now they’ve decided to extract me from the situation. I just about manage an “I quit” (where a “fuck you” would have been equally appropriate), before I push out through the chiming door.

The door chimes again and I can hear people leaving the shop. One shouts after me. “Fair play!” I’m not looking around, though, because something has changed. For the first time in months I feel part of the world. And I know that I’m brave.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

Two brilliant stories, I loved them both, so different and so much the same. It was too close to call but as it was posted first I went with hcass, but that is not to decry DasKitty who wrote an equally great story. Well done to both of you on what I would have found to be an impossible subject.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

I did'nt like hcass's story - a bit too close to the bone for me , too unsettling really. But then that is one of the best things that can be said for a story- it was unsettling , thought provoking , remembrance of things past territory , and so well written - so I will go for hcass.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭partnership

Liked them both but give it to hcass cos I like the idea of him going to his dad saying he got him a job - would like to read that interaction! The other one is a finished product does not leave me wanting more.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Antilles

Loved hcass's story - a very relatable character and well written :)

Aaannnnd Time!

Well done hcass!

Total nobbler of a topic for me. Can't stand anything financial, so I ended up writing something that was 95% autobiographical.

I was half hoping to get to write some porno considering your record here on CW! :)

To the victor, the spoils. (Or the having to write a new story at other people's bidding every week or so)

Very close call. Thanks to everyone who voted. I am hoping this will help get me out of the rut I find myself stuck in lately.

Thanks Das Kitty.

hcass wrote: »
    Very close call. Thanks to everyone who voted. I am hoping this will help get me out of the rut I find myself stuck in lately.

Thanks Das Kitty.

Well deserved win. Hope you get some challengers soon.

Do you have to have so many posts before you can challenge or is there any other criteria?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

i can't remember if we decided on a minimum post count - there were a lot of hit and run posters who never did participate

bluewolf wrote: »
    i can't remember if we decided on a minimum post count - there were a lot of hit and run posters who never did participate

We could compensate that by having contestants send me their bank details.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

For verification purposes only, to prove you're over 18!
    no wait, wrong one...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Antilles

I'm over 18! I was born on January 01, 1900.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,431 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Antilles wrote: »
    I'm over 18! I was born on January 01, 1900.

Seems legit.

Hcass - can I be so bold and lay down a challenge if you are up to it?

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭Agent Weebley

I would say that partnership should challenge hcass ASAP, otherwise someone else may jump in first.

Hcass - can I be so bold and lay down a challenge if you are up to it?

Go nuts Partnership. I'm only dying for a challenge.

That's great Hcass. I understand I choose the topic so how about

The Interview

Don't want to break any rules so let me know how long I have to post or what suits you. Please go easy on me have not written anything for a while, am trying to ease back into it and get some feedback on how I write!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Interesting topic! :D Lots of directions you could go

F*ck it, I might write something on that tonight! :D Won't post it in this thread though, don't worry!

That's great Hcass. I understand I choose the topic so how about

The Interview

Don't want to break any rules so let me know how long I have to post or what suits you. Please go easy on me have not written anything for a while, am trying to ease back into it and get some feedback on how I write!

You have 24 hours from hcass's acceptance post, when she posts it.

Maybe we can set up an "overspill" thread where people who like the current arena themes want to post up their stories

Good idea - I have been watching this thread for a while and have often said I would like to do something on a topic which is put up - just to see what I can do without the competitive edge. Now I have taken the plunge though!

That's a fantastic idea. I haven't written anything in yonks. It might just get me to write something. :D