Tickets for All Ireland Finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

tipp county board were selling AI tickets on the friday and saturday before last years final, i imagine KK were doing the same. on the day there were people who couldnt get rid of tickets so since you will be meeting one of them you should be ok, only problem will be that half of Galway will be there snapping them up.

so, if you can, keep your internet open on tipp fm and whatever the kilkenny radio site is on the run in and their gaa sites.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 817 ✭✭✭audman

tipp county board were selling AI tickets on the friday and saturday before last years final, i imagine KK were doing the same. on the day there were people who couldnt get rid of tickets so since you will be meeting one of them you should be ok, only problem will be that half of Galway will be there snapping them up.

so, if you can, keep your internet open on tipp fm and whatever the kilkenny radio site is on the run in and their gaa sites.
    More great advice, great feedback guys, genuine help, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

audman wrote: »
    Are you actually serious or just looking for something to do with your day? If you take the time to read back through this thread you'll see the problem is the fact that AI final tickets aren't distributed publicly and harder to get, I've been to all the other matches and take them as they come! No problem in doing that considering Galway are in an AI final for the first time in 7 years, how would you justify buying a season ticket? I take matches as they come, go to them all and have been for years! I'd imagine you're one of the 'loyal' Dublin supporters eh? ;)

Its called supporting your county. The bangwaggon comment was made in jest and im sorry for that. If you are attending all Galway games like the previous poster says it makes more sense to buy a season ticket as it works out cheaper and for attending these matches your reward is an AI final ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,688 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I've been to all the AI hurling finals that KK have been since '98 and almost every year there are tickets to be got up in Dublin on the day. That being said, I wouldn't feel comfortable heading up without a ticket. I actually had an extra ticket last year for the upper Cusack that I wasn't able to sell.

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    audman wrote: »
    Are you actually serious or just looking for something to do with your day? If you take the time to read back through this thread you'll see the problem is the fact that AI final tickets aren't distributed publicly and harder to get, I've been to all the other matches and take them as they come! No problem in doing that considering Galway are in an AI final for the first time in 7 years, how would you justify buying a season ticket? I take matches as they come, go to them all and have been for years! I'd imagine you're one of the 'loyal' Dublin supporters eh? ;)

Its called supporting your county. The bangwaggon comment was made in jest and im sorry for that. If you are attending all Galway games like the previous poster says it makes more sense to buy a season ticket as it works out cheaper and for attending these matches your reward is an AI final ticket.
    As mentioned above I work Sundays, I book my days off around matches but I'm not always guaranteed to get it off. Therefore buying tickets game by game suits me better. Bottom line is I've been to the other matches this season and all I'm doing is increasing my chances of getting a ticket for the final by asking for advice, no shame in that. There'll be 'bandwagon' supporters up there for the first time this year on the 9th, I'd be more ashamed to be one of those than ask for genuine advice on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭TBP

Mr Keek wrote: »
    You can buy them from the county board at Pearce stadium.

Im in thr same boat as you, small ball fan from big ball town of Tuam.

Keep an eye on the Galway Hurlers Fan Club website,they will announce when they go on sale. I think the fan club members get preference, but Im not sure. Membership is 20 yoyos for the year. Bit late to join now .

I always got my tickets from the GAA website too, so im a bit anxious to get something sorted too.

Ill PM you if i get any leads or more info. Keep me posted on how ya get on.

Any chance you'd have contact details or something for the County board at Pearse stadium and post a few links to the fan club websites your on about. Cheers!

edit: If anyone can there hands on a spare ticket I'm willing to pay double the price of the ticket just drop me a pm. Like audman I too was at the majority of league games this year and all of the championship games but have damn all contacts etc when it comes to a situation like this.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Dollymae

Guys, any advice ye have is much appreciated in order to get tickets by the AI on 9th of Sept.
    Many of us Galway supporters are eager to get some tickets to attend the final but unfortunately do not meet the criteria in order to receive them from the GAA.
    I am trying all means possible in order to get access to two final tickets since leaving Croke Park on sunday, like previous poster stated I dont think I would feel comfortable or confident enough to go to Dublin on the 9th to get a ticket.
    So please post any advice you may have.
    Thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I haven't missed a Galway Hurling game in over 4 years.

But one of the reasons I wouldn't get a season ticket is the assigned seating in Croker. If myself and a few friends are going to a game, (or if my local pub runs a bus) its nice to be able to sit together.

Question - Does a (Galway Hurling) season ticket guarantee a seat in the stand in places like, Port Laoise, Kilkenny, Mullingar, Tullamore and other grounds we have played in since joining Leinster ?

TBP wrote: »
    You can buy them from the county board at Pearce stadium.

Im in thr same boat as you, small ball fan from big ball town of Tuam.

Keep an eye on the Galway Hurlers Fan Club website,they will announce when they go on sale. I think the fan club members get preference, but Im not sure. Membership is 20 yoyos for the year. Bit late to join now .

I always got my tickets from the GAA website too, so im a bit anxious to get something sorted too.

Ill PM you if i get any leads or more info. Keep me posted on how ya get on.

Any chance you'd have contact details or something for the County board at Pearse stadium and post a few links to the fan club websites your on about. Cheers!

edit: If anyone can there hands on a spare ticket I'm willing to pay double the price of the ticket just drop me a pm. Like audman I too was at the majority of league games this year and all of the championship games but have damn all contacts etc when it comes to a situation like this.

Thanks.
    Likewise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

TBP wrote: »

Thanks.

A link to the 'Galway Hurling Supporters Club' can be found here

An example of Ticket news from Sundays game can be found [URL=" http://www.ghsc.ie/index.php/news/team-news/949-ticket-details-for-the-all-ireland-semi-final "]here[/URL]

Just keep an eye on the home page, all news updates are there. They have a Facebook page if you find it easier to keep tabs on announcements.

No idea about contact details for the county board, but when the above site gives a time an date, be there, you'll see the que!

Hope that helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭Steven81

If Tipp win on sunday tickets will be like golddust, no prob getting a ticket if its the cats. Try asking people in none hurling areas as each club gets 2 tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

Steven81 wrote: »
    If Tipp win on sunday tickets will be like golddust, no prob getting a ticket if its the cats. Try asking people in none hurling areas as each club gets 2 tickets.

...and the demand from the Galway fans is gonna be huge too, especially if the Minors do the business next Sunday, and make the final too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭mags85

Lapin wrote: »
    I haven't missed a Galway Hurling game in over 4 years.

But one of the reasons I wouldn't get a season ticket is the assigned seating in Croker. If myself and a few friends are going to a game, (or if my local pub runs a bus) its nice to be able to sit together.

Question - Does a (Galway Hurling) season ticket guarantee a seat in the stand in places like, Port Laoise, Kilkenny, Mullingar, Tullamore and other grounds we have played in since joining Leinster ?

AFAIK season tickets are always a (covered) stand ticket no matter where the match is. My first year with a season ticket and we have been in the covered stand for every match and ok seats, the seats we have for croker on Sunday look decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭MfMan

...and the demand from the Galway fans is gonna be huge too, especially if the Minors do the business next Sunday, and make the final too!

Should the Minors reach the final, I'd imagine it should improve the chances of getting a ticket - the clubs would receive an increased allocation with both teams taking part? TBH, last year's final was the third instalment of KK/Tipp and there was no problem with spare tickets; every second person along Jones road seemed to have surplus, mates of mine were even left with them. Hurling finals aren't usually as tight as football finals.

MfMan wrote: »

Should the Minors reach the final, I'd imagine it should improve the chances of getting a ticket - the clubs would receive an increased allocation with both teams taking part? TBH, last year's final was the third instalment of KK/Tipp and there was no problem with spare tickets; every second person along Jones road seemed to have surplus, mates of mine were even left with them. Hurling finals aren't usually as tight as football finals.
    If I don't manage to get tickets before the 9th would you recommend Jones road as the best place to find them? Any pubs, hotels, etc... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

you dont have any problems getting a ticket on the day. im a dub and i go to the hurling final every other year. i usually pick a ticket up around O'connell st or dorset st. there's always tickets available for face value. you just have to ask around.

Nozebleed wrote: »
    you dont have any problems getting a ticket on the day. im a dub and i go to the hurling final every other year. i usually pick a ticket up around O'connell st or dorset st. there's always tickets available for face value. you just have to ask around.
    I hope so, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Lapin wrote: »

Do you mean "guarantee you will get a seat" or "guarantee you a particular seat"?

Anyone have any idea when tickets go on sale/allocated to clubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Just to throw my two cents in here. In 2008, when we got to our first All-Ireland final since 1963, you can imagine the panic that was present around Waterford with regard to tickets. In the end, through various contacts, the whole family managed to get tickets and we even ended up with one extra. My dad sold it to someone over by Jones's road for about €35.

My point is that, even though this seemed like it would be impossible to get tickets for, we ended up in a situation with extras. If you want a ticket, you'll get one.

Think of anyone you know from counties that aren't traditionally big hurling counties. The clubs there get an allocation too. We got some down from Derry.

You'll be grand.

nkay1985 wrote: »
    Just to throw my two cents in here. In 2008, when we got to our first All-Ireland final since 1963, you can imagine the panic that was present around Waterford with regard to tickets. In the end, through various contacts, the whole family managed to get tickets and we even ended up with one extra. My dad sold it to someone over by Jones's road for about €35.

My point is that, even though this seemed like it would be impossible to get tickets for, we ended up in a situation with extras. If you want a ticket, you'll get one.

Think of anyone you know from counties that aren't traditionally big hurling counties. The clubs there get an allocation too. We got some down from Derry.

You'll be grand.
    Thanks for the input! I've contacted everyone that might be able to get me a ticket. So between now and the 9th the fingers are crossed! If not, I'll have to go up on the day looking for a ticket. That or pay €215-€350 from a source like 'Needaticket.ie' would be ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,872 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Honestly Audman they'll be any number of tickets flying around at face vaule on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Honestly Audman they'll be any number of tickets flying around at face vaule on the day.

Really? Where or how would you get those?

Neeson wrote: »

It's been mentioned a couple of times in the thread already. I got my ticket on Sunday for the semi-final off a lad around Croker who said he'd have more for the final.
    If your still looking for tickets on the morning of the AI final, I've seen plenty been sold and taken up outside Barry's hotel over last few years, if you really want have a sign with tickets wanted made and just stand there and wait!!! If any fella with a Dublin accent tries selling ya tickets tell him ta F off .... He'll be a tout more than likely
    Nozebleed wrote: »

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

hang around the usual haunts of Barrys hotel, the Big Tree, Quinns etc. or the Kilmacud tournament on the saturday. There are always tickets floating about. The year of the Waterford Kilkenny game, I had a situation like the one above, we had spare tickets as those who were to take them off us had contacted heaps of people and they didnt want the pair we had for them. It was a nightmare to try get rid of them then, as most up there were already sorted.

For the Tipp KK game, in 2010 I think, we had 2 free spare tickets, and could not get rid of them at all. Ended up giving them to a guard who was at the Clonliffe/Dorset st junction, and he pulled out a fistful of about 10 and said he had enough of them! So I asked him if I could see what he had, and ended up swapping our tickets for better ones he had in his stockpile.

Not many people travel without tickets, and lots of people contact far too many to try get sorted and end up with multiple tickets then on the Friday/Saturday and are trying to offload them. I'd be extremely suprised if someone went up without a ticket couldnt get one outside at face value.

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    It's been mentioned a couple of times in the thread already. I got my ticket on Sunday for the semi-final off a lad around Croker who said he'd have more for the final.

Yeah, but do you go round shouting

Help me, help me. I need a ticket. How do you know who to ask?

Yeah, but do you go round shouting

Help me, help me. I need a ticket. How do you know who to ask?

If you're not doing well after an hour of visiting the usual spots, it might do no harm to let out the odd shout. But I was approached several times on Sunday just gone, I'd imagine the AI would be similar, though perhaps not quite as easy. You just have to be there early and be patient.

PS - Don't buy above face-value from the first person you meet.

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    If you're not doing well after an hour of visiting the usual spots, it might do no harm to let out the odd shout. But I was approached several times on Sunday just gone, I'd imagine the AI would be similar, though perhaps not quite as easy. You just have to be there early and be patient.

PS - Don't buy above face-value from the first person you meet.

So you just stand there looking glum and someone will want to offload on you? How do you go about it other than roaring off the top of your voice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Hears6

Out of interest face value of tickets for lets say in the Cusack stand is how much?

bruschi wrote: »
    hang around the usual haunts of Barrys hotel, the Big Tree, Quinns etc. or the Kilmacud tournament on the saturday. There are always tickets floating about. The year of the Waterford Kilkenny game, I had a situation like the one above, we had spare tickets as those who were to take them off us had contacted heaps of people and they didnt want the pair we had for them. It was a nightmare to try get rid of them then, as most up there were already sorted.

For the Tipp KK game, in 2010 I think, we had 2 free spare tickets, and could not get rid of them at all. Ended up giving them to a guard who was at the Clonliffe/Dorset st junction, and he pulled out a fistful of about 10 and said he had enough of them! So I asked him if I could see what he had, and ended up swapping our tickets for better ones he had in his stockpile.

Not many people travel without tickets, and lots of people contact far too many to try get sorted and end up with multiple tickets then on the Friday/Saturday and are trying to offload them. I'd be extremely suprised if someone went up without a ticket couldnt get one outside at face value.

The year of the Waterford Kilkenny game I hadn't really tried to get a ticket, assuming it would be too difficult. Drove down to Waterford instead to watch it, and got a call 30 minutes before the match from a Garda friend of mine working outside Croker who said that he had been handed tickets for it.

I was raging at the time, but about two hours later I was a bit relieved I'd been able to see it with a pint in my hand the whole way through... :o