Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

okay lads, explain me: what is iconic about twincams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Fiona

I dunno... and I can't believe I am about to say this..... but I would love an AE86 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,543 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Irish people always had a thing for toyotas, back in the late 80s and early 90s the thing to do was import one from the uk and put a yellow reg on it.

They were very reliable and drove well. Tax was cheap too being 1.6.
    They became deeply uncool after that then suddenly became valuable when drifting became popular.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Irish people always had a thing for toyotas, back in the late 80s and early 90s the thing to do was import one from the uk and put a yellow reg on it.

They were very reliable and drove well. They became deeply uncool after that then suddenly became valuable when drifting became popular.

i was told that twincams are iconic cars, but bejaysus i cant remember any iconic stuff about part the drift king and a few drifting twincams.
    i still see it as overpriced old bucket, which is only good for diffing, but i just wanted to double check :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

They were very reliable and drove well. Tax was cheap too being 1.6.
    They became deeply uncool after that then suddenly became valuable when drifting became popular.

They've been fetching big money since the mid 90's or so. The drifting scene didn't kick off until after 2000 IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Knackers are forever calling into where I work looking for pallets. They've often stolen them before. What the hell do they do with them?!

Repaired pallets do have a value to warehouses but I can't see them paying enough to make it viable to steal small quantities. Maybe just fire wood?

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    They've been fetching big money since the mid 90's or so. The drifting scene didn't kick off until after 2000 IIRC.

In the mid 90s you could buy them for tiny money! Everyone wanted civics

Could ya fcuk!

I remember lads paying £5k+ for them in the late 90's! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Knackers are forever calling into where I work looking for pallets. They've often stolen them before. What the hell do they do with them?!

Sell them! They make silly money.

I'd love a twincam, I think they're a fantastic car. If only ever one of them wasn't rotten!

okay so, still stands the question... wtf is so iconic about them? :p

What's not iconic about them?

They're a cool, 1.6, RWD old Toyota. They look class.

okay so, still stands the question... wtf is so iconic about them? :p

They're a liftback version of a Corolla, RWD with a 1.6 engine. They looked good and were / are fun to drive. Twincam owners were doing donuts and generally making a nusance of themselve way before the modding scene took off here. They were the MkII Escort of the 90's.

If you look up old Japanese drifting vids you will see how they became iconic.

You couldn't have planned that to happen! :D

Couldn't have paid for it either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It was meant to be I think! It's like that car got it's grandad's old watch :D

Irish people always had a thing for toyotas, back in the late 80s and early 90s ..................

Back in 1998/1999 a guy I knew had a 1987 one (Silver over black) for sale for months for IR£1500 for months and months and couldn't get rid of it. He eventually swapped it for a front wheel drive one, a 1988 iirc.

There was defo a few years in the late 90s when they were available for reasonable enough money before they climbed in value. They would have been in original condition though for the most part and less than mint too. Debatable how much filler was in them back then :pac:

They sound lovely in fairness with the right exhaust.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Back in 1998/1999 a guy I knew had a 1987 one (Silver over black) for sale for months for IR£1500 for months and months and couldn't get rid of it. He eventually swapped it for a front wheel drive one, a 1988 iirc.

There was defo a few years in the late 90s when they were available for reasonable enough money before they climbed in value. They would have been in original condition though for the most part and less than mint too. Debatable how much filler was in them back then :pac:

They sound lovely in fairness with the right exhaust.

We must have mixed in different circles so! :D

For sure I remember lads grumbling in 2002 how a '5 grand car was now 7 grand' after the euro changeover when people were still trying to grasp it. Ok, I might have been a bit ahead of myself with mid-nineties but they were definitely fetching big enough money by the end of the nineties.

We must have mixed in different circles so! :D..............

I'm sure that was before I did the Leaving Cert :p

Actually to put a bit more context on it I remember one of the lads at work used to work in the Sports Car Centre in Cork City (crowd who used to specialise in fast shtuff mainly), he was saying one day how he used to go for a burn in an Impreza at any opportunity, this was defo 1999, I remember him saying once how in 5/10 years time Impreza turboes would be like twin cams, ie available for sweet feck all !!

In fairness he was right about the Impreza turboes but I don't think he anticipated the price climb in twin cams :)

Actually to put a bit more context on it I remember one of the lads at work used to work in the Sports Car Centre in Cork City (crowd who used to specialise in fast shtuff mainly), he was saying one day how he used to go for a burn in an Impreza at any opportunity, this was defo 1999, I remember him saying once how in 5/10 years time Impreza turboes would be like twin cams, ie available for sweet feck all !!

In fairness he was right about the Impreza turboes but I don't think he anticipated the price climb in twin cams :)

there are plenty of classic scoobies out there for small money, but a lot of them are just half dead or on their last legs though :(

......... but a lot of them are just half dead or on their last legs though :(

That's what he meant exactly, like twincams at the time :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I'd love a twin cam, I know they're famous for drifting (Drift King, Initial D) but they make great time attack cars too.
    Not to mention they're one of the best sounding Jap' 1.6 motors.

That's what he meant exactly, like twincams at the time :pac:

that twincam price thing is really mind blowing thing. If i would have 8k and wanted something like twincam, then i would just buy 1.8 mx5 for 4 times less and have a lot of money left over on some tasty mods, drugs, sluts, alcohol.

A garage in Galway had a 2005 e90 330i for sale for under €7k at the start of the year. Not really at all twin cam ish but for the same sort of money I know which one I'd prefer.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80224700&postcount=5

:(

another top poster gone, all the best Mr Kildare dude.

that twincam price thing is really mind blowing thing. If i would have 8k and wanted something like twincam, then i would just buy 1.8 mx5 for 4 times less and have a lot of money left over on some tasty mods, drugs, sluts, alcohol.

Mx5s are cool and all but they have nothing on a cam. Plus the fact that the mx5 looks like a girla car, cam doesn't.

you dead right, cam looks like scang! :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80224700&postcount=5

:(

another top poster gone, all the best Mr Kildare dude.
    why is he gone, and wherE?