Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

last silage.jpglast of the bales 2012:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

leg wax wrote: »
    last silage.jpglast of the bales 2012:)

nice solid bales

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Bodacious wrote: »

The family were only talking about swimming cattle out to the islands last week.
    All done by ferry now and probably wont be done at all soon.

Thanks for sharing that. Really enjoyed it

The family were only talking about swimming cattle out to the islands last week.
    All done by ferry now and probably wont be done at all soon.

Thanks for sharing that. Really enjoyed it

I've watched it 10 times it's a lovely well made video with the underwater camera too.

My mother's people are from the island. Lovely to see the tradition continued ... 3 nice yearlings Nice blue calf and bigger yellow ... Middle yellow was struggling with the swim especially at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Great video and camera work,which island is it too?....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

My mother's people are from the island. Lovely to see the tradition continued ... 3 nice yearlings Nice blue calf and bigger yellow ... Middle yellow was struggling with the swim especially at the end

He was probably just pulling against the holter.
    They'd tend to roll when they do that.

Havent seen someone swim the cattle in a long time but your right, really is lovely to watch.
    Very well made video aswell. Every aspect of it is just perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Great video. I've helped a neighbour years ago to do this. Great crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Brilliant video.
    What distance would a bullock swim if he had to?

Great video and camera work,which island is it too?....

Inis Turk and inis Turbot off of Clifden

Bizzum wrote: »
    Brilliant video.
    What distance would a bullock swim if he had to?

Not sure i suppose they differ though ill find out for ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Not sure i suppose they differ though ill find out for ya

Maybe it could become an olympic event:D.

Gold for Ireland in the bullock swimming!

Horseback boxing was another I was thinking we might have a chance in:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Jesus but these lads have a great way of working, anyone ever see one of these bale throwers working in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

it must be those cattle first time swimming since they had to rope them. a couple of animals used of swimming would bring the rest of the herd with them, this is how I have seen it being done in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Tommyj1

just do it wrote: »
    Nice heifers there Tommy, what mart are you selling at? Let us know how you get on.

Sold the heifers on Saturday. Trade back a bit. Got an average price of £950 stg which is equal to around €1200. Was talking to a dealer after the sale and he said I got away well enough that trade was slow enough. There were not that many buyers about. I suppose because of the crap weather and silage shortage. You can't plan for these things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

img4389d.jpg

13spanner wrote: »
    img4389d.jpg

Contractor near here was buried Saturday also... Field destroyed , half cut and then windrolls left where baler couldn't go near it :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

Contractor near here was buried Saturday also... Field destroyed , half cut and then windrolls left where baler couldn't go near it :-(
    It's such a sickener. That meadow there could've been travelled grand last year, it's like butter now. We have lads yet to call us about 1st cuts, the place can't be travelled! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

It's such a sickener. That meadow there could've been travelled grand last year, it's like butter now. We have lads yet to call us about 1st cuts, the place can't be travelled! :(

what are the kubota's like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

stanflt wrote: »
    nice solid bales

Yes those bales look to have great shape to them.
    Those tyres could do with a breeze :p

Muckit wrote: »
    Yes those bales look to have great shape to them.
    Those tyres could do with a breeze :p
    they were soft alright ,20 bales on top dont help:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

img4389d.jpg

I will have to hop that off your auld lad at the next farm walk :D Did ye trade the zetor for a new kubota?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

this is why we'l be using alot more ekb these are our 1st 2 heifer calves by him this year. had 1 calf by him last year a bull class animal made 1250 at about 10mts old. All out of black lim cows out of holsteins!!!

Great calves - EKB must have the best figures on ICBF, Top 2% for weanling index and top 5% for calving difficulty. How could you beat that?

anyone have a pic of him:rolleyes:

Barco.jpg

http://www.bova-ai.com/BeefSires/Barco.html

Different AI code in link though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

pakalasa wrote: »
    Great calves - EKB must have the best figures on ICBF, Top 2% for weanling index and top 5% for calving difficulty. How could you beat that?

my thoughts exactly!! goin ta order enough to do me a few seasons!only thing i don't like is the way he marks the calves but if the shape keeps coming no bother,i can live with muscley friesians:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

my thoughts exactly!! goin ta order enough to do me a few seasons!only thing i don't like is the way he marks the calves but if the shape keeps coming no bother,i can live with muscley friesians:D

How much are his straws???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

pakalasa wrote: »
    Barco.jpg

http://www.bova-ai.com/BeefSires/Barco.html

Different AI code in link though.

It must be just me but I learn bulls by their full name and wouldnt know their codes. I find it fierce frustrating when people put the codes up here as I have to pull up the catalogues to findout what sire it is. Anybody else find this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

It must be just me but I learn bulls by their full name and wouldnt know their codes. I find it fierce frustrating when people put the codes up here as I have to pull up the catalogues to findout what sire it is. Anybody else find this?
    Completly agree but getting better, since joining boards. The other half just knows the catalogue as my cow book when i check codes.