If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Antares wrote: »
    I spied some cheap CCTV equipment in Maplin Dundalk yesterday. Was thinking of covering my driveway should somebody with no taste attempt anything on my Avensis. :)

Cat (plus DPF if you have one) could be whipped in a matter of minutes. Worth looking out for those! Neither are cheap to replace. Quick money weighed in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

dgt wrote: »
    Cat (plus DPF if you have one) could be whipped in a matter of minutes. Worth looking out for those! Neither are cheap to replace. Quick money weighed in...

Spoken like a pro :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Does anyone know what this light is?

7774599782_76932675a8_c.jpg

Which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

One means your door is open, the other oil, the other brakes (yella).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

There's your problem dude - your yard is full of scrap metal and you have no gate. Pikeys will love ya! ;)

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    There's your problem dude - your yard is full of scrap metal and you have no gate. Pikeys will love ya! ;)

Everyone of them asking for some scrap metal gets ran out of the yard, very un-politely...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

RoverJames wrote: »
    Can't see them taking the car off you unless you give them the VLC.

It's just that I always believed that too be a big no no, maybe more so in a private sale, just that I never went through the proceedure of disposing of a car. I did put it to him though, saying that I don't want letters in the door with fines etc. He said he was licensed and to call Shannon to verify. I did email them earlier and am awaiting their responce. I said I'll have a look for the vlc and call back...

Which one?

Sorry, yellow one
    One means your door is open, the other oil, the other brakes (yella).

Not having a gate makes no difference. In fact he's better off not to have one because they'd rob that too!

Also, a Rover 75 has the coolest cup holders ever :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Ah god, another Rover fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Stuff like this happens to you way too much man.

Haha I know well. , thats why I try to avoid asking quistions...:o But I was stuck this morning. :D

But I went into the tax office, there was nobody at the window. It said "ring the bell" So I started looking or this bell all over the shop. But I chouldnt find it. I got down on my knees to look for the bell. Then I heard, "Hello?" I kept searching for it, But I couldnt find. So I stood up and there was an angry looking chap the other side of the window. I felt like a right dingbat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

You think you have problems, just went up the road there to my local petrol station in Caherlistrane and right across the road is 3 cop cars an ambulance and a couple firetrucks cutting people out of a car, really puts things in perspective.

Also i was shocked by the amount of locals rubber necking, you would swear they were watching TV

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    You think you have problems, just went up the road there to my local petrol station in Caherlistrane and right across the road is 3 cop cars an ambulance and a couple firetrucks cutting people out of a car, really puts things in perspective.

Also i was shocked by the amount of locals rubber necking, you would swear they were watching TV

Jaysus, I really hope their alright.

Nosy parkers, you can expect to find them every where, I don't really know why your surprised though...

Try this. Car crashed. Lad can't get belt off. Fire crew insist on cutting him out and THEN cut the belt. Car was CAT C pre crash. :eek:

Why would someone put a diesel engine into a GTi?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3757879

If it was a GTI where the engine died (there are afew) then it's probably alot cheaper than tarting up a tdi tbh, you have the whole package just waiting for a powerplant

cgal093 wrote: »

Low insurance Lad!

Does anyone know what this light is?

7774599782_76932675a8_c.jpg
    Sorry, yellow one

Worn brake pads.

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    If it was a GTI where the engine died (there are afew) then it's probably alot cheaper than tarting up a tdi tbh, you have the whole package just waiting for a powerplant

In fairness the original engine in them yokes was very robust. Tarting up a diesel of that vintage would be alot easier than putting a diesel in an original GTi. They've left the petrol clocks in her from what I can see :)

DGT - give the that fella a drink of water. I say he was trusty.

hidden_weapon-1.jpg?t=1344889311

Glockacola mmm

Might have stumped up for an engineers report after engine swap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Also, a Rover 75 has the coolest cup holders ever :cool:
    CianRyan wrote: »
    Ah god, another Rover fan.
    RoverJames wrote: »
    Worn brake pads.

or just a frayed cable to the pads, if they ain't noisy ( squealing) just unplug the cable :)

BTW

Any Rover75 lovers that need INNER tierods replacing ( not available as an OEM part ) it would seem that the VW Sharan/Ford Galaxy ones will fit, at least they did on mine...result €28 instead of €300+

Spook_ie wrote: »
    or just a frayed cable to the pads, if they ain't noisy ( squealing) just unplug the cable :).........

I'd have a look at the feckers at least :)

Does anyone know where I could pick up a reg like this?

12341.jpg

And would they cost much more than a regular reg?

Does anyone know where I could pick up a reg like this?

12341.jpg

And would they cost much more than a regular reg?

Been discussed in the old OT thread if you search for it. LM and Johnos chatted about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Thought you sold the 75?