Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

whelan1 wrote: »
    second cut silage in and covered , round bales of silage done and in... barley straw in... cheers.... come on john joe:)

any harm asking whats barley straw making ??

come on john joe is right!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

any harm asking whats barley straw making ??

come on john joe is right!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i dont pay until i get my sfp, i buy it off my godfather so he goes easy on me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭topgeas

is the ploughing match in doubt. heard they cant get in to cut the corn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

topgeas wrote: »
    is the ploughing match in doubt. heard they cant get in to cut the corn.

Rumour mill out again :rolleyes:

They'll get in alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

nashmach wrote: »
    Rumour mill out again :rolleyes:

They'll get in alright.

its over 6 weeks off yet, FFS time to take a chill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

its over 6 weeks off yet, FFS time to take a chill.

Agreed with you Bob :D

Site works started a few weeks back but harvest down here (I'm not far from the site) is no more than a week later than usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

got me second cut in thank god, rest of the slurry out in the coming weeks and things should slaken, gona head off on an all dayer session in 4 weeks!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Walked an outfarm yesterday which hadnt been grazed in 6 weeks and pulled 8 ticks off myself with a tweezers last night after it, funny thing is I walked it last week and didnt have one on me. I reckon this warm weather must have brought them to the top of the grass so a word of warning to any of ye grazing strong old grass, keep an eye out for redwater because the ticks seem to have become very active over the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,046 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Walked an outfarm yesterday which hadnt been grazed in 6 weeks and pulled 8 ticks off myself with a tweezers last night after it, funny thing is I walked it last week and didnt have one on me. I reckon this warm weather must have brought them to the top of the grass so a word of warning to any of ye grazing strong old grass, keep an eye out for redwater because the ticks seem to have become very active over the last few days.

Their making the most of this brief dose of heat and humidity - had to take nearly a dozen off the hounds in recent days:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Anyone know how much a solicitor charges to send out a simple warning letter?

Background:

A contractor crossed my property withour permission and caused a lot of damage. I asked him to repair it and after months and months of asking him he came back several months later and did a half arsed job, leaving drains filled in which has caused flooding, damage to laneways, drains blocked etc.

He has got thick about it and refuses to do anything more. I want to send him a little reminder, but I don't want to be out a fortune for it as I know I'll never recover it.

Thankfully I have no experience with legal matters.

for a single consultation about an hour with letter sent €100- but did the job

reilig wrote: »
    Anyone know how much a solicitor charges to send out a simple warning letter?

Background:

A contractor crossed my property withour permission and caused a lot of damage. I asked him to repair it and after months and months of asking him he came back several months later and did a half arsed job, leaving drains filled in which has caused flooding, damage to laneways, drains blocked etc.

He has got thick about it and refuses to do anything more. I want to send him a little reminder, but I don't want to be out a fortune for it as I know I'll never recover it.

Thankfully I have no experience with legal matters.

should you not be taking it up with whoever the contractor was working for. Before pictures are essential when this type of arrangement has to take place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Had 2 lots of lambs out on Tuesday .
    1st pen of 12 weathers at 48kg made 105eur .
    2nd pen at 44kg weathers made 100eur .

Was just taking notes of prices overall , and was watching a pen of 48kg ram lambs sold at 95eur .
    Certainly pays to get the burdizo out at 10/head differ:cool: .

The brutal summer was plain to be seen out there though . Most of the lambs on offer were stores with only a small number fit for the hook straight away

from listening to the radio this morning there seems to have been serious rain in the midlands with roads closed etc:eek: we just got a bit of drizzle and its really warm here now, offloading small square bales that we brought home on saturday and i am roasting....what the weather like where you are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

from listening to the radio this morning there seems to have been serious rain in the midlands with roads closed etc:eek: we just got a bit of drizzle and its really warm here now, offloading small square bales that we brought home on saturday and i am roasting....what the weather like where you are?

Bright, breezy and dry at the moment, the night wasnt so good though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Dry right now, but went to top a paddock this morning and had to abandon it, land is seriously wet here after the weekend.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Look at what's coming on wednesday. Its not good to see yellow on a weather chart!

web_irl_rainfall_2012081512.gif?h=1344859200000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Alternating between fierce heavy down pours and very hot spells. Steam rising off the tar and concrete yard! Made deluge last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

.75in in the rain gauge when we got up at 7oc in the midlands, emptied it and then another.75in by 8oc... horrendous thunder and lightning

anyone notice the honeysuckle, seems to have come twice this year, was out in may and is out again now, love the smell, my dad says he never saw the likes of it before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Had 2 lots of lambs out on Tuesday .
    1st pen of 12 weathers at 48kg made 105eur .
    2nd pen at 44kg weathers made 100eur .

Was just taking notes of prices overall , and was watching a pen of 48kg ram lambs sold at 95eur .
    Certainly pays to get the burdizo out at 10/head differ:cool: .

The brutal summer was plain to be seen out there though . Most of the lambs on offer were stores with only a small number fit for the hook straight away

Was trying to pick out a few lambs for the mart for Wednesday. They were slim picking. Lambs really not thriving this year. Picked our a pen of ram lambs. Not great but as good as they are going to get. Will reduce the stock pressure a little

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

sea12 wrote: »
    Was trying to pick out a few lambs for the mart for Wednesday. They were slim picking. Lambs really not thriving this year. Picked our a pen of ram lambs. Not great but as good as they are going to get. Will reduce the stock pressure a little

Any cases of maggots with you this year ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Some serious rain here today MT's alert for Galway this evening was spot on. The fields are swiming at the moment.

RTE's 9pm news coverage of the weather was brilliant as usual:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Some serious rain here today MT's alert for Galway this evening was spot on. The fields are swiming at the moment.

RTE's 9pm news coverage of the weather was brilliant as usual:mad:

They spelt occasional wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Richk2012 wrote: »
    sea12 wrote: »

Any cases of maggots with you this year ??

No none thank god but I had them them done with click a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

its going to be a nasty night

from mt page

ALERT for storm force winds with hurricane force gusts in exposed locations and very heavy rainfalls sweeping north tonight and lasting much of tomorrow, with some blustery squalls embedded. Potential for wind gusts to 80 mph in the most exposed coastal and upland locations, 60 mph more widely ... potential for 30-40 mms rainfall with severe flood risk where soils now saturated from previous rainfalls. More details in forecast.

Situation: A very powerful summer storm appears likely to develop explosively tonight as a deep vortex in the upper atmosphere rotates from its current location in the central Atlantic towards Biscay then north towards Valentia. A deep surface low that could reach 968 mbs is likely to develop very rapidly after midnight in response to this vortex (a swirl of colder air) slamming into the warm, humid air mass now present. The track of this low will be approximately due north across Kerry or near Valentia, up the west coast veering more to the northwest after passing Galway Bay mid-day Wednesday. The low will remain intense but will pull rapidly away from Ireland in the afternoon, leaving Mayo in the wake of diminishing southwest gales. Wind speeds should both rise and fall off rather swiftly during various phases of the low's brief rampage. All regions will be exposed to strong gusts although the highest wind speeds could be expected near Cork and various exposed locations. It would be very dangerous to be hiking above sheltered areas anywhere on Wednesday but fortunately this should become obvious before daylight. If you know of anyone with plans to set out today and camp, or anyone who left earlier on such an outing, they should be contacted and warned to return to shelter. Marine areas will see hurricane force wind gusts to force 11-12 and sailing after about 9 p.m. tonight is strongly discouraged. Persons living in hilly areas of the southwest should think back to a similar storm in January 2010 and assess possible wind damage risks from channelling of SSE winds pulled through gaps in the terrain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭fepper

thats all we need now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

fepper wrote: »
    thats all we need now!!

For us anyway it may as well be torrential as a light mist at this stage. I have "grazing" ground that could be sucked up with a slurry tank it's so sodden at this stage, it literally can't get any wetter.
    The wind just adds salt to the wounds.

For lads still trying to save fodder this must be like a kick in the nuts. Lad down the road pulled out the baker Saturday lunchtime as they were tracking the died. Has six acres lying now and god knows what will be done with it now.

Yer man MT has it nailed, nothing beats a personal interpretation of the weather, those computer generated forecasts are poor at best. It would serve RTE well if they looked at MT's forecast before giving out their own speel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

I work in a port and we have a cruise ship in today.When some of passengers heard of hurricane winds coming they decided to go off ship and headed for home .must put up a few picks in pics thread.

hope it passes here as land is soaked......

jerdee wrote: »
    I work in a port and we have a cruise ship in today.When some of passengers heard of hurricane winds coming they decided to go off ship and headed for home .must put up a few picks in pics thread.

hope it passes here as land is soaked......

I taught it was a much bigger cruiser, was in your port myself today. Jasus if anyone throws lighting fag around, everywhere within 5 miles will be dry in no time at all with all the coal thats currently sitting dock side