If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Asylum Seekers /Immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

Leftist wrote: »
    if you honestly think that news papers/agencies don't have an political alliance, agenda or leaning then you're even more gullible than I gave you credit for.

they do have an agenda, you said they don't! "because they have no agenda"

you're not making sense at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Gloriously apt username.
    yep, my opposition to racism and xenophobia can be disregarded because my username can be presumed to be associated with left wing politics. Brilliant stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

The OP came out with this exact stuff a couple of weeks ago, i called him on the 90% figure (i spent 3 years in asylum law) and a mod closed the thread.
    OP then proceeded to pm me with an explanation that showed that not only was he slightly racist (and the regurgitation of this thread confirms it to me) but he had a terrible grasp of basic statistics

VEN wrote: »
    they do have an agenda, you said they don't! "because they have no agenda"

you're not making sense at all.
    it was sarcasm you absolute genius. You sure your skill set can't be accomodated in australia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

yep, my opposition to racism and xenophobia can be disregarded because my username can be presumed to be associated with left wing politics. Brilliant stuff.

Hug?

Hug?

go on then.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,411 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You're enabling them OP by not voicing your concerns when you see them, OP. Let'em have an earfull of it!

The OP came out with this exact stuff a couple of weeks ago, i called him on the 90% figure (i spent 3 years in asylum law) and a mod closed the thread.
    OP then proceeded to pm me with an explanation that showed that not only was he slightly racist (and the regurgitation of this thread confirms it to me) but he had a terrible grasp of basic statistics

i found the 90% bogus claims figure, i posted it here on page 2 from the good old reliable 'Irish Independant' :D its from the Garda National Bureau of Investigations.

studying asylum law wouldn't give you these figures. the current state of the situation outside the class room would.

i honestly feel theres a major major misunderstanding and misuse of the word 'racism' here, its gone beyond beyond now at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Op we all know this country is a soft touch,thousands of bogus asylum seekers may have had their cases refused but not many deported.
    Eastern Europeans working cash in hand and claiming the dole,nothing new.
    No one cares here unless it directly affects you, it ain't gonna get any better so best get used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

atkin wrote: »
    I have worked 38 years and lost my job.I now queue for welfare and see those that just came here by deception getting money with a smile on their faces. This is not racist I just feel let down by government.

It's bad that you lost your job after 38 years of work. Sorry to hear that.

However, you appear to want to have your cake and eat it. You are blaming the government & immigrants / asylum seekers for your woes, yet in another thread you admitted to marrying a Russian woman purely to get her into the country.

I am an Irish citizen married to a foreign national.
    This woman came here sought asylum 2001 and married me in June 2006.
    The marriage was one of convenience.
    Atkin

It's a bit rich, don't you think, to be pointing the finger at other people when you yourself have admitted to having a sham marriage just to get around the immigration legal system?

Sappa wrote: »
    No one cares here unless it directly affects you, it ain't gonna get any better so best get used to it.

exactly, it may hit them head on one day. its up to the authorities if they had the resources to sort the mess out. we can't do much about it, the whole thing is a joke. it does however have an affect on morale here, like the OP. I do understand where they're coming from.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

i found the 90% bogus claims figure, i posted it here on page 2 from the good old reliable 'Irish Independant' :D its from the Garda National Bureau of Investigations.

studying asylum law wouldn't give you these figures. the current state of the situation outside the class room would.

i honestly feel theres a major major misunderstanding and misuse of the word 'racism' here, its gone beyond beyond now at this stage.

Er no i WORKED in asylum law. Read my post.

The 90% figure is the amount of claims that dont get through. The unofficial quota on asylum seekers imposed and carried through by the Government (actually a 92% average refusal rate at first instance since 1994) has nothing to do with the merits of an asylum claim.

As for the racism angle, well i told the OP that he was mixing up a bogus claim and a claim that is simply refused. Trust me, a decent proportion of that 92% have very valid claims and deserve asylum but get refused for a reason as simple as not knowing the ins and outs of a custom in their country.

Maybe you should pay a little more attention in your own classroom.

it was sarcasm you absolute genius. You sure your skill set can't be accomodated in australia?

might come under copywriting, i'll look into that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Op we all know this country is a soft touch,thousands of bogus asylum seekers may have had their cases refused but not many deported.
    Eastern Europeans working cash in hand and claiming the dole,nothing new.
    Source evidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Op we all know this country is a soft touch,............

No, you'll find we don't. Or, to be specific, the country is not in fact a "soft touch" and we don't believe it to be so.

Er no i WORKED in asylum law. Read my post.

The 90% figure is the amount of claims that dont get through. The unofficial quota on asylum seekers imposed and carried through by the Government (actually a 92% average refusal rate at first instance since 1994) has nothing to do with the merits of an asylum claim.

As for the racism angle, well i told the OP that he was mixing up a bogus claim and a claim that is simply refused. Trust me, a decent proportion of that 92% have very valid claims and deserve asylum but get refused for a reason as simple as not knowing the ins and outs of a custom in their country.

Maybe you should pay a little more attention in your own classroom.

pay attention, the 90% figure given here is bogus, read it all now and swallow it whole:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/false-claims-help-bill-for-asylum-seekers-to-hit-300m-1366632.html

"An overview of the asylum seeker situation estimated that 90 per cent of claims are bogus; "

not knowing the ins an outs, you mean not having the correct documents!

no, i wouldn't 'Trust you' without giving me evidence here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭atkin

I will try to answer all the one liners .
    The real refugees are those in war zones. The UN should broker a deal with countries surrounding these zones to accommodate refugees more than at present.This is no myth that over 90% asylum claims are false.I know many former asylum seekers and immigrants.
    Ireland is now more strict on granting refugee status because of the past mistakes.
    The new EU nationals came here believing they had a job and a future .
    Many have just welfare now.
    I don't blame these people just the government for bad management.
    Is this racist just to expose bad management.
    Oh and by the way foreigners are racist too if you want to put that tab on me.

pay attention, the 90% figure given here is bogus, read it all now and swallow it whole:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/false-claims-help-bill-for-asylum-seekers-to-hit-300m-1366632.html

"An overview of the asylum seeker situation estimated that 90 per cent of claims are bogus; "

not knowing the ins an outs, you mean not having the correct documents!

no, i wouldn't 'Trust you' without giving me evidence here.

No finding is made as to whether a claim is "bogus" or not, they're either accepted or rejected. A rejection is not a finding that the claim was false.

Oh and by the way foreigners are racist too if you want to put that tab on me.

So you're saying you're a racist but thats ok because some foreigners are racist too? Brilliant logic. Sir, I salute you.

Nodin wrote: »
    So you're saying you're a racist but thats ok because some foreigners are racist too? Brilliant logic. Sir, I salute you.

oh jeez here we go again...

the OP said "if you want to put that tab on me"

why do you have to find some little part in a posters comment and either twist it around or use this boring 'word association' thats rampant on here?

oh jeez here we go again...

the OP said "if you want to put that tab on me"

why do you have to find some little part in a posters comment and either twist it around or use this boring 'word association' thats rampant on here?

He's brought it up twice. I presume hes setting up an "out".

Ven I read your link and it shows even more abuse of the system.
    I can tell you for fact that those who are granted refugee status are sometimes bogus too.
    I know a Russian man that was refused refugee status in 3 countries.
    He became more expert in fooling the authorities each time.He made an invitation himself to come here .He sought asylum and was granted this after 1 year. He does not speak English and the day he was granted refugee status he finished his illegal job and claimed welfare . I saw him one day doing the flowers around the Garda station while working illegally.He has not worked since.
    I did meet a translator with the Asylum application section he reckoned 95% bogus .They asked one African how did he come to Ireland he replied by camel.

OK forget racism what about the cost of this sham asylum system 300 million each year. The property tax will only bring in 150 million. !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I can tell you for fact that those who are granted refugee status are sometimes bogus too.
    He became more expert in fooling the authorities each time.He made an invitation himself to come here .He sought asylum and was granted this after 1 year. He does not speak English and the day he was granted refugee status he finished his illegal job and claimed welfare . I saw him one day doing the flowers around the Garda station while working illegally.He has not worked since.
    I did meet a translator with the Asylum application section he reckoned 95% bogus .They asked one African how did he come to Ireland he replied by camel.

Two hump or one ?

And, as with all Asylum threads, its come to the anecdotes section....
    He became more expert in fooling the authorities each time.He made an invitation himself to come here .He sought asylum and was granted this after 1 year. He does not speak English and the day he was granted refugee status he finished his illegal job and claimed welfare . I saw him one day doing the flowers around the Garda station while working illegally.He has not worked since..

And you never reported this person to the authorities?
    I did meet a translator with the Asylum application section he reckoned 95% bogus ..

How convenient. Did he have an Asylum seeker crystal ball?
    .They asked one African how did he come to Ireland he replied by camel.

Yes...I believe it. Really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

With this rigorous and clinical fact gathering you're doing I'm surprised you had time for a job to be fired from....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

They asked one African how did he come to Ireland he replied by camel.

He said "camion", the French word for lorry.

The bogus Russian asylum seeker was reported by incensed Eastern Europeans to the local Garda immigration officer. He replied there was nothing he could do as he had already been granted asylum and got an Irish passport.

Well if he meant 'camion' the translator was a bad one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Glad to see someone has a point as 1st poster. Look as a country Irish or not we have to cop on and start helping ourselves and are problems then reach out and help others. The op is not racist but some of you say they are because how dare they comment about how bad things are in this country. Sure go have a look at Mosney (what use to be). Instead of smart comments or digs it would be nice if everyone could look at these threads from both sides of the argument. Everyone has an opinion but one thing annoys me bad is the racist card been used its been used on me many times for just doing my job and this is without any comments or whatever from my side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Just saw a half-eaten Nigerian swan driving down Parnell Street with a "powered by the dole" bumper sticker.

True Story.