Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asylum Seekers /Immigration.

• 12-07-2012 8:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭

I have been banned from other sites for producing this information .
    The figures are from the www.cso.ie The Irish statictics office 2011 census.
    Total population of the Irish Republic 4,524281
    Total born outside Ireland 766281
    Total African population 54419 documented increase 17.9%
    on 2006.
    Total Polish 122585 increase 93.7% from 2006 .

The government had an Asylum agreement that you could only seek asylum at the first port of entry .The majority not disputed have come from the UK and sought asylum here when they were refused in the UK.There was no agreement on information sharing to identify them.They come and still do across the non existent border from Northern Ireland.There was also the Irish born children rule and that parents could get citizenship here if a child was born.A referendum changed this rule in 2004.Most live in rented accommodation now provided by the state and welfare .I believe many will never work .Over 90% of asylum claims are false it could be even 95%.

In 2006 the government allowed new EU members to come with only the restriction that they need to work 2 years before they can claim welfare.
    The new EU members can claim welfare here and also a child allowance even if the children do not live here.The welfare is less in Poland for example.
    These new EU immigrants worked here believing that they had a future but many lost their jobs and now claim welfare.
    There is an increase in the issue of Irish passports which will give our 'new Irish' rights to bring family here.
    There was a warning in 2006 that when EU structural funds finished it would mean a slow down in the economy.
    What is astonishing the government heeded no warnings and examples of immigration in other countries.
    I have worked 38 years and lost my job.I now queue for welfare and see those that just came here by deception getting money with a smile on their faces. This is not racist I just feel let down by government. There is now cuts to welfare,property tax and water rates.The number of Irish leaving is to work abroad is 40,000 each year 2009-2011. We export workers and import immigrants to claim welfare and state housing.
    Remember foreigners are racist too and that includes blacks.I attended an international college of many nationalities and was subject to racial taunts from blacks.I did not take it serious however.
    The illegal Irish in the USA work do not claim welfare and some even pay taxes. We are not a nation that had colonies but were ruled by Britain and were downtrodden.Looks like we are now fair game again or the usual phrase a SOFT TOUCH .
    Jaysus you can find sheep easier than illegals and shop around asylum seekers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

atkin wrote: »

Never a good start to a debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I leave my pram and African baby at the bus stop as the welfare will give me a new one on Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

EU citizens cannot claim benefits during their first 2 years here. It would make no sense to come here to claim benefits. False asylum seekers coming here for money is a different matter entirely. If they do get asylum they cannot legally work. This is no fault of their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

So.. you're a refugee then? Oh the f*cking irony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

So, AH OP? And you expect what to happen, exactly? Deep and meaningful debate?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I'm going to go out on a limb here and suggest you weren't banned just because you produced this information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

on 2006.

The government had an Asylum agreement that you could only seek asylum at the first port of entry .The majority not disputed have come from the UK and sought asylum here when they were refused in the UK.There was no agreement on information sharing to identify them.They come and still do across the non existent border from Northern Ireland.There was also the Irish born children rule and that parents could get citizenship here if a child was born.A referendum changed this rule in 2004.Most live in rented accommodation now provided by the state and welfare .I believe many will never work .Over 90% of asylum claims are false it could be even 95%.

In 2006 the government allowed new EU members to come with only the restriction that they need to work 2 years before they can claim welfare.
    The new EU members can claim welfare here and also a child allowance even if the children do not live here.The welfare is less in Poland for example.
    These new EU immigrants worked here believing that they had a future but many lost their jobs and now claim welfare.
    There is an increase in the issue of Irish passports which will give our 'new Irish' rights to bring family here.
    There was a warning in 2006 that when EU structural funds finished it would mean a slow down in the economy.
    What is astonishing the government heeded no warnings and examples of immigration in other countries.
    I have worked 38 years and lost my job.I now queue for welfare and see those that just came here by deception getting money with a smile on their faces. This is not racist I just feel let down by government. There is now cuts to welfare,property tax and water rates.The number of Irish leaving is to work abroad is 40,000 each year 2009-2011. We export workers and import immigrants to claim welfare and state housing.
    Remember foreigners are racist too and that includes blacks.I attended an international college of many nationalities and was subject to racial taunts from blacks.I did not take it serious however.
    The illegal Irish in the USA work do not claim welfare and some even pay taxes. We are not a nation that had colonies but were ruled by Britain and were downtrodden.Looks like we are now fair game again or the usual phrase a SOFT TOUCH .

Source for bolded statement, please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

this should get interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The government had an Asylum agreement that you could only seek asylum at the first port of entry

Yep, and they changed that to this
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59465073&postcount=1

What has this to do with Asylum seekers?

And yes, once they pay tax here, they can claim here. Thats how it works.

Yes, the horror wreaked by hordes of Poles, Latvians and Lithuanians across the continent.....
    I have worked 38 years and lost my job.I now queue for welfare and see those that just came here by deception getting money with a smile on their faces.

Who came here by deception?
    We export workers and import immigrants to claim welfare and state housing.

No, we don't.

I fail to see your point.
    The illegal Irish in the USA work do not claim welfare and some even pay taxes.

...they don't claim because they're illegal.
    We are not a nation that had colonies but were ruled by Britain and were downtrodden.Looks like we are now fair game again or the usual phrase a SOFT TOUCH .

We have the highest refusal rate for asylum seekers in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

you should go on a diet op, the atkins one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Dey tuk er jerbs!!!!

Never has that phrase been more appropriate to a thread than here I guess!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

I agree OP, as a country we should do more to support Asylum seekers.

Its shameful the lack of empathy some people have for those that have nothing, not even a pot to piss in...

incoherent and confused rant you mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I agree OP, as a country we should do more to support Asylum seekers.

Its shameful the lack of empathy some people have for those that have nothing, not even a pot to piss in...
    Coming over here, pissing in our pots..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

RACISM,ISRAEL, MAYONNAISE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

RACISM,ISRAEL, MAYONNAISE.

MONORAIL !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

Pottler wrote: »
    Coming over here, pissing in our pots..

ah yeah but I dropped a sausage last time I was asylum seeking, fair game!:D

MONORAIL !!!

And why? Because the asylum seekers took the other rail away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

I agree with you OP, but you're at nothing discussing it here.
    Expired Students on Expired Visas still here working for the cash if they can get it. I'd rather deport the rogue employers though.

this should get interesting

i know it won't even get that far on here

"Give any one species too much rope, and they'll **** it up"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

on 2006.

Whole post is pure bile and crap.
    Care to actually provided any evidence for the higlighted claims you make in this racist rant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

people who come out with this rhetoric should be murdered by the state. It's disgusting. Infact why isn't he banned?

SocSocPol wrote: »
    Whole post is pure bile and crap.
    Care to actually provided any evidence for the higlighted claims you make in this racist rant?

care to provide your own evidence?

just an example: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/false-claims-help-bill-for-asylum-seekers-to-hit-300m-1366632.html

"An overview of the asylum seeker situation estimated that 90 per cent of claims are bogus;"

ah sure everything is racist these days, i'm not bothered about going to australia, my current skillset is not on their skills requirement list :( ah sure they're very racist :rolleyes:

leave ye to it on this soft landing

Dey tuk er jerbs!!!!

Never has that phrase been more appropriate to a thread than here I guess!!

Really? OP seems to think they won't take jobs.

VEN wrote: »
    care to provide your own evidence?

just an example: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/false-claims-help-bill-for-asylum-seekers-to-hit-300m-1366632.html

"An overview of the asylum seeker situation estimated that 90 per cent of claims are bogus;"

ah sure everything is racist these days, i'm not bothered about going to australia, my current skillset is not on their skills requirement list :( ah sure they're very racist :rolleyes:

leave ye to it on this soft landing

the independent :D

because they have no agenda.

last time I read that rag they had a practically full page special from some scumbag who was championing the cause of geert wilders and warning fellow like minded defenders of ireland to watch out for the left wing agenda.

the english daily mail would be held to a higher account that that. It's disgusting.

Irish racists are an absolute special embarrasment considering the history of emigration.

Leftist wrote: »
    because they have no agenda.

piss poor excuse if ever i saw one, no agenda :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Can be boiled down to "I'm annoyed I lost my job so I occupy myself by moaning about asylum seekers"

piss poor excuse if ever i saw one, no agenda :pac:

if you honestly think that news papers/agencies don't have an political alliance, agenda or leaning then you're even more gullible than I gave you credit for.

people who come out with this rhetoric should be murdered by the state. It's disgusting. Infact why isn't he banned?

Gloriously apt username.

if you honestly think that news papers/agencies don't have an political alliance, agenda or leaning then you're even more gullible than I gave you credit for.

they do have an agenda, you said they don't! "because they have no agenda"

you're not making sense at all.

Gloriously apt username.
    yep, my opposition to racism and xenophobia can be disregarded because my username can be presumed to be associated with left wing politics. Brilliant stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

The OP came out with this exact stuff a couple of weeks ago, i called him on the 90% figure (i spent 3 years in asylum law) and a mod closed the thread.
    OP then proceeded to pm me with an explanation that showed that not only was he slightly racist (and the regurgitation of this thread confirms it to me) but he had a terrible grasp of basic statistics

they do have an agenda, you said they don't! "because they have no agenda"

you're not making sense at all.
    it was sarcasm you absolute genius. You sure your skill set can't be accomodated in australia?

yep, my opposition to racism and xenophobia can be disregarded because my username can be presumed to be associated with left wing politics. Brilliant stuff.

Hug?

Hug?

go on then.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You're enabling them OP by not voicing your concerns when you see them, OP. Let'em have an earfull of it!

The OP came out with this exact stuff a couple of weeks ago, i called him on the 90% figure (i spent 3 years in asylum law) and a mod closed the thread.
    OP then proceeded to pm me with an explanation that showed that not only was he slightly racist (and the regurgitation of this thread confirms it to me) but he had a terrible grasp of basic statistics

i found the 90% bogus claims figure, i posted it here on page 2 from the good old reliable 'Irish Independant' :D its from the Garda National Bureau of Investigations.

studying asylum law wouldn't give you these figures. the current state of the situation outside the class room would.

i honestly feel theres a major major misunderstanding and misuse of the word 'racism' here, its gone beyond beyond now at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Op we all know this country is a soft touch,thousands of bogus asylum seekers may have had their cases refused but not many deported.
    Eastern Europeans working cash in hand and claiming the dole,nothing new.
    No one cares here unless it directly affects you, it ain't gonna get any better so best get used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I have worked 38 years and lost my job.I now queue for welfare and see those that just came here by deception getting money with a smile on their faces. This is not racist I just feel let down by government.

It's bad that you lost your job after 38 years of work. Sorry to hear that.

However, you appear to want to have your cake and eat it. You are blaming the government & immigrants / asylum seekers for your woes, yet in another thread you admitted to marrying a Russian woman purely to get her into the country.

I am an Irish citizen married to a foreign national.
    This woman came here sought asylum 2001 and married me in June 2006.
    The marriage was one of convenience.
    Atkin

It's a bit rich, don't you think, to be pointing the finger at other people when you yourself have admitted to having a sham marriage just to get around the immigration legal system?

Sappa wrote: »
    No one cares here unless it directly affects you, it ain't gonna get any better so best get used to it.

exactly, it may hit them head on one day. its up to the authorities if they had the resources to sort the mess out. we can't do much about it, the whole thing is a joke. it does however have an affect on morale here, like the OP. I do understand where they're coming from.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

i found the 90% bogus claims figure, i posted it here on page 2 from the good old reliable 'Irish Independant' :D its from the Garda National Bureau of Investigations.

studying asylum law wouldn't give you these figures. the current state of the situation outside the class room would.

i honestly feel theres a major major misunderstanding and misuse of the word 'racism' here, its gone beyond beyond now at this stage.

Er no i WORKED in asylum law. Read my post.

The 90% figure is the amount of claims that dont get through. The unofficial quota on asylum seekers imposed and carried through by the Government (actually a 92% average refusal rate at first instance since 1994) has nothing to do with the merits of an asylum claim.

As for the racism angle, well i told the OP that he was mixing up a bogus claim and a claim that is simply refused. Trust me, a decent proportion of that 92% have very valid claims and deserve asylum but get refused for a reason as simple as not knowing the ins and outs of a custom in their country.

Maybe you should pay a little more attention in your own classroom.

it was sarcasm you absolute genius. You sure your skill set can't be accomodated in australia?

might come under copywriting, i'll look into that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Op we all know this country is a soft touch,thousands of bogus asylum seekers may have had their cases refused but not many deported.
    Eastern Europeans working cash in hand and claiming the dole,nothing new.
    Source evidence?

Op we all know this country is a soft touch,............

No, you'll find we don't. Or, to be specific, the country is not in fact a "soft touch" and we don't believe it to be so.

Er no i WORKED in asylum law. Read my post.

The 90% figure is the amount of claims that dont get through. The unofficial quota on asylum seekers imposed and carried through by the Government (actually a 92% average refusal rate at first instance since 1994) has nothing to do with the merits of an asylum claim.

As for the racism angle, well i told the OP that he was mixing up a bogus claim and a claim that is simply refused. Trust me, a decent proportion of that 92% have very valid claims and deserve asylum but get refused for a reason as simple as not knowing the ins and outs of a custom in their country.

Maybe you should pay a little more attention in your own classroom.

pay attention, the 90% figure given here is bogus, read it all now and swallow it whole:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/false-claims-help-bill-for-asylum-seekers-to-hit-300m-1366632.html

"An overview of the asylum seeker situation estimated that 90 per cent of claims are bogus; "

not knowing the ins an outs, you mean not having the correct documents!

no, i wouldn't 'Trust you' without giving me evidence here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭atkin

I will try to answer all the one liners .
    The real refugees are those in war zones. The UN should broker a deal with countries surrounding these zones to accommodate refugees more than at present.This is no myth that over 90% asylum claims are false.I know many former asylum seekers and immigrants.
    Ireland is now more strict on granting refugee status because of the past mistakes.
    The new EU nationals came here believing they had a job and a future .
    Many have just welfare now.
    I don't blame these people just the government for bad management.
    Is this racist just to expose bad management.
    Oh and by the way foreigners are racist too if you want to put that tab on me.

pay attention, the 90% figure given here is bogus, read it all now and swallow it whole:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/false-claims-help-bill-for-asylum-seekers-to-hit-300m-1366632.html

"An overview of the asylum seeker situation estimated that 90 per cent of claims are bogus; "

not knowing the ins an outs, you mean not having the correct documents!

no, i wouldn't 'Trust you' without giving me evidence here.

No finding is made as to whether a claim is "bogus" or not, they're either accepted or rejected. A rejection is not a finding that the claim was false.

Oh and by the way foreigners are racist too if you want to put that tab on me.

So you're saying you're a racist but thats ok because some foreigners are racist too? Brilliant logic. Sir, I salute you.

Nodin wrote: »
    So you're saying you're a racist but thats ok because some foreigners are racist too? Brilliant logic. Sir, I salute you.

oh jeez here we go again...

the OP said "if you want to put that tab on me"

why do you have to find some little part in a posters comment and either twist it around or use this boring 'word association' thats rampant on here?