Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Great win for the Tribesmen today - well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

johngalway wrote: »
    Jez, I dunno, I haven't seen them play like that for a long while. Hopefully now they can build on today's result and keep the ball rolling.

The best hurling I have seen for a long time John, Words couldnt express my delight when Galway got the second goal :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Weather didn't end up as promised so cut no silage. Neighbour is out baleing this morning on a hill. He has 2 tractors pulling the baler and is leaving deep tracks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Great win for the Tribesmen today - well done

not just a great day for G but for sport overall and thanks to both teams for a great game,

no doubt the cats will licks their wounds and be back with a vengeance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Hurling need that game, big time. Evrything was becoming dull and predictable..... and Clare beat Dublin.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,046 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

pakalasa wrote: »
    Hurling need that game, big time. Evrything was becoming dull and predictable..... and Clare beat Dublin.:rolleyes:

I've never seen Davy Fitz so laid back!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭jfh

we're drawn against limerick in the next round, think they bound to get lucky sometime! esp if played in the gaelic grounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

johngalway wrote: »
    Jez, I dunno, I haven't seen them play like that for a long while.

It is a long time. I have to say after seeing Galway against Offaly I didn't see this performance coming. The intensity and first touch was on a par with anything I've seen in recent years.
    As Pak said hurling needed a game like that. Good to see Clare building too. I would be nicer to see Offaly climb the ladder too from my perspective. I miss the golden age of hurling when it was impossible to tell where Liam would end up in sept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

anybody here able to explain exactly what this new rule that the financial regulator put on marts giving credit entails?

heard something strange about this last week. doubt the financial regulator is doing anything, credit terms for goods isn't any of there business. Tightening up of credit at marts is only a good thing. Will end allot of the messing by certain individuals, and benefit the good payers that is only right. Marts running large credit lines is only asking for trouble, especially to the sellers of animals.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Must dash. My 15min lunch break is over. Left tractor agitating. Ta wifey for the lovely bully beef stew;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

raining here since 6 this morning:mad: getting fed up now, just let cows in... is there any end to it? thought i was done with sawdust and lime for this year

really upset to hear about the Pheonix Park gig on Saturday. Future doesn't bold well for some of the nations youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

whelan1 wrote: »
    raining here since 6 this morning:mad: getting fed up now, just let cows in... is there any end to it? thought i was done with sawdust and lime for this year
    No rain here yet just finished spraying the wholecrop.
    Hope the cows dont have to go in again not much grass left here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

was on a stag at the weekend, the behaviour on show was a disgrace, all in the name of "craic" young and the not so young out of control painful to watch, and i don't count myself as that old at 30

really upset to hear about the Pheonix Park gig on Saturday. Future doesn't bold well for some of the nations youth.

The country is overrun by scumbags - every town and city is full of them.

If they were animals they'd be put down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

pure madness- maybe i am getting old but i had never heard of that band that where playing, there's no value on a life any more:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Muckit wrote: »
    Off to see Snow Patrol and Florence and the machine in the phoenix park.

The Wellies are packed ;) Come on the culchies! :D

Some mess wasn't it!!! Did u get the smell of pig **** everywhere ... How did that get in there as the straw looked clean that they were ferrying in?? Was it spread on the ground earlier in the year ... I doubt it in the Phoenix Park???!! Either dirty straw or I don't know... ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Bodacious wrote: »
    Some mess wasn't it!!! Did u get the smell of pig **** everywhere ... How did that get in there as the straw looked clean that they were ferrying in?? Was it spread on the ground earlier in the year ... I doubt it in the Phoenix Park???!! Either dirty straw or I don't know... ??

florenceb.jpg

wellies.jpg

muck.png

That was just the smell of waterlogged ground, I'd recognise that smell anywhere unfortunately :(

I never seen conditions like it at a concert. The place was literally in sh*t! I suppose 3 concerts in a week on the same ground in this weather was too much to ask. I really don't know how they are going to get it back to any kind of 'normal'. I'd say a full reseed is on the cards there Michael D :D

No dry lie anywhere so standing for over 9 hours, then had to walk 3 miles out of the place:o 'I'm getting too old for this sh*t'

The country is overrun by scumbags - every town and city is full of them.

If they were animals they'd be put down

dont insult animals please, these scumbags need a few bus loads of german style coppers to hammer the sh*te out of them. I was going to head on Saturday but the craig was good elsewhere in town so didn't bother.

Great to hear that young girl from Cork was located. I have attended many European festivals and never once had or saw a bit of bother and the lads with me are serious people for putting drink away. Its a whole attitude problem and not solely a drink and drugs problem. Drink just fuels the problem if you are that way inclined.

pakalasa wrote: »
    I had a cow once that rejected her calf after I tagged it.

I was reading your post fast and misread rejected as injected.
    I was thinking that's some f**king cow!! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Bodacious wrote: »

florenceb.jpg

wellies.jpg

muck.png

That was just the smell of waterlogged ground, I'd recognise that smell anywhere unfortunately :(

I never seen conditions like it at a concert. The place was literally in sh*t! I suppose 3 concerts in a week on the same ground in this weather was too much to ask. I really don't know how they are going to get it back to any kind of 'normal'. I'd say a full reseed is on the cards there Michael D :D

No dry lie anywhere so standing for over 9 hours, then had to walk 3 miles out of the place:o 'I'm getting too old for this sh*t'

good man muckit you were well up the front... We were further back and it was dog rough.. Rows, kicking muck at people etc total idiots ... Saw one tosser pee on a lady's leg! Her fella and his brother (2 big galway hurlers) showed up lifted him out of it in fairness .. Much trouble up that far ie I'd imagine they'd be more into the music and less messing ?

dont insult animals please, these scumbags need a few bus loads of german style coppers to hammer the sh*te out of them. I was going to head on Saturday but the craig was good elsewhere in town so didn't bother.

Great to hear that young girl from Cork was located. I have attended many European festivals and never once had or saw a bit of bother and the lads with me are serious people for putting drink away. Its a whole attitude problem and not solely a drink and drugs problem. Drink just fuels the problem if you are that way inclined.

My apologies to animals the world over;)

But you have hit the nail on the head - it is an attitude problem and the drugs (and drink) just fuel it even more

What is going to sort it out is my question? These scum are breeding like rabbits. they will take over the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

florenceb.jpg

wellies.jpg

muck.png

u must have never went to oxygen or witness as it was called the 1st time i was there.
    it was a lot worse than this and then u had to camp for 3 days in the ****e.i did it for many years but not any more i need my bed to sleep on any more

No never did (or will) go to Oxegen. I don't do hardship. Camping in sh*t not my thing :D
    Slane is the only live concert venue IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I was reading your post fast and misread rejected as injected.
    I was thinking that's some f**king cow!! :D:D
    :D....That's the drugs, Man !!

My apologies to animals the world over;)

But you have hit the nail on the head - it is an attitude problem and the drugs (and drink) just fuel it even more

What is going to sort it out is my question? These scum are breeding like rabbits. they will take over the country

A tough and fair justice system. My mates got a bollocking on Thursday night for taking a pee in the woods by some Garda. FFS well done Garda. there is a element (fairly large) that think its okay to get away with doing whatever they like. A section of the Garda armed and told to use whatever force they deem necessary anytime of the day or night to cut out all this sh*te on our streets. Hit them early and hit them hard. As I have always said - would you chance legging it from a Garda versus would you chance legging it from one of the police in mainland Europe. I would fancy my chances with the Guards, by F*ck I wouldn't chance running from most european police forces. Our Guards don't even look the part, they don't put the fear of god in you (good old paulie) and then they are put doing stupid jobs like shutting pubs at stupid hours where a few fair good law abiding punters are having a few pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Sister is away today so I was tasked with finding her three gluebags in the jungle she has rented.

Found two no bother, had to cross an electric fence tape to find the other one...

Grabbed it, lifted a leg over ... Thwap!

:mad: 'the f>>k ???????

Lucky twas just the hand that got it...

More than twenty years of horses been in that place, always had tape on the road side fence top and tape across gap, first effing time someone ever attached a fencer to it !!

Felt like kicking the bucket it was in down the path ahead of me :D

Try standing with your bare feet in two metal buckets of water and hold it.....:D :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

On a completely seperate topic...

Why do some machinery dealers (esp in N.Irl ) advertise stating "avail of the 100% capital allowance/tax write off" on s/hand farm machinery?
    Did I miss something cos I thought such purchases could only be written off over 8 years....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

there was a special scheme in the UK for the last few years allowing a special 100% write off of machines. it ended in April I think so a lot of ads were highligting it around then