Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swedish house mafia stabbings (Updated Mod Warning Post #1)

People keeping saying that this type of music attracts "scum" but as much as I hate the genre I think it's the fact that this was an outside gig that attracted them. Thinking back over the two AC/DC concerts a few years back I was struck by the contrast in the crowds.

The O2 crowd was made up of fans and people there for the music, as such there were no fights and very few people falling all over themselves drukenly and trying to start trouble. A couple of months later and the crowd at the outdoor gig was much different, there were drunken idiots everywhere and I saw a number of fights. A lot of the audience seemed to be there solely to get as drunk as possible, they certainly didn't seem to be there for the music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

cournioni wrote: »
    Right, so why did he bring a knife with him if it wasn't premeditated?
    I bring my credit card to the shops every day but rarely use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

If we find out that the guy who did all these stabbings is from "a leafy south Dublin suburb" I'd say this thread will probably break the internet.

Clondalkin apparently.

*whoops, too late*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Naid23

Laneyh wrote: »
    A woman died at a Britney Spears concert last year - no assumptions were made about her at the time nor was anyone berated for saying they enjoyed the gig.
    It would still have been shocking to learn someone died at / outside the gig

She got thrown from an amusement ride. Not really in the same class as this really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭ShelTomato

I think that the drugs probably had a lot to do with the stabbings: even if he was the ultimate scobe, it wouldn't make a lot of sense to go on a stabbing rampage at a concert.

It's far more likely it was just the drink. Alcohol seems to promote the worst behaviour from what I've witnessed over the years.

RTE reports that the man who died after being taken ill at the concert has been identified (but not named), he was from Clonsilla in Dublin, very sad indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

giggle84 wrote: »
    Also saw two seperate fights between girls while queuing for the toilets, that was really classy, not to mention the orange bum cheeks everywhere. But maybe, at 27, I was just too old to be there.

Same yesterday for Florence/Snow Patrol- we went to the loo between the acts and there was NO stewarding of the poraloo area- normally there are barriers and queues etc, but this was a free for all. Luckily we got talking to various other women in the line during the 40mins it took us to get to the toilets and whenever random knackers tried to cut in line they were brought up short by the 20 or so of us. We prob had a bit of mob mentality going on, but it worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Do you bring a knife with you too?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Yes, but you don't get searched for your credit card on the way to the shops with the possibility of being prosecuted for it.

Nailz wrote: »
    Do you bring a knife with you too?
    Nope, but I don't habitually carry a knife. I do habitually carry a credit card.

Some scummers habitually carry knives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,094 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

People keeping saying that this type of music attracts "scum" but as much as I hate the genre I think it's the fact that this was an outside gig that attracted them. Thinking back over the two AC/DC concerts a few years back I was struck by the contrast in the crowds.

The O2 crowd was made up of fans and people there for the music, as such there were no fights and very few people falling all over themselves drukenly and trying to start trouble. A couple of months later and the crowd at the outdoor gig was much different, there were drunken idiots everywhere and I saw a number of fights. A lot of the audience seemed to be there solely to get as drunk as possible, they certainly didn't seem to be there for the music.

Your argument is flawed though because the crowds at the gigs yesterday and on Friday were fine and there was no trouble.

Commercial dance and commercial hip-hop have extremely questionable elements to their fanbases. Combine the two - Swedish House Mafia and Snoop Dog - and you have a recipe for disaster. I took one look at the lineup when it was announced and knew there would be trouble.

The problem was not the fact that the gig was outdoors,and equally drink and drugs are not to be blamed. The scummy individuals who went there purely to cause trouble are the ones at fault. One guy was randomly stabbed in the back while enjoying the gig - that's just thuggery and blaming drink, drugs or anything else is just silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

ShelTomato wrote: »
    RTE reports that the man who died after being taken ill at the concert has been identified (but not named), he was from Clonsilla in Dublin, very sad indeed

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/irishsun/irishsunnews/4418416/Shane-left-after-gig-hours-later-hes-dead.html

Shane Brophy (21) from Laois, he was staying with a friend in west dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

1210m5g wrote: »
    I have spent the last 12 years attending dance music events in Ireland, the UK and other parts of Europe and in my opinion nowhere else attracts as many scumbags as the Irish events, i'd love to know why its so different.

I lived in England for 6 years and went to a variety of events over that time
    Firstly, you just wouldn't see real chavs at any of the events I presume because they couldn't afford the tickets. Also the security is pretty tight so they'd have no opportunity to go mental.
    The people that go ape here should not really be considered music fans as the music is just background noise for them. It is obvious that they'll go to a rap or dance act over a rock or pop gig but their motivation is different to ours - they're going there to get wrecked and cause havoc.
    I suppose a UK equivalent might be football hooligans - this isn't as bad as in their hayday but the police don't take any chances.(mounted police outside some of the cheap pubs near the football stadiums)

I've been to see Tiesto in London and there were police at the nearest tube station with sniffer dogs. There was a thorough security check at the gig gates - bags checked, people frisked, more police with sniffer dogs circulating the queue
    People still managed to get in with drugs or had consumed them in advance but there was zero trouble.. The first hint of it and they'd have been thrown out.

I went to see Tiesto here in the 02 and there was a noticeably rougher crowd, probably lots of normal people too but people barging through the crowd being a bit aggressive. I saw one guy peeing on a pile of jackets I don't think he knew where he was

I'm not actually a Tiesto fan but my English friends are but they were pretty surprised by the difference in crowd / atmosphere between Dublin and London

Skangers here seem to have the money to go to these things, the security at the 02 would be fairly good but I think once you get in unless you do something outrageous you won't get thrown out.
    I also think one of the main differences is that in Europe and England if people are taking drugs they'll drink water , people here still drink alcohol so it's a different effect altogether.

I don't think there is a solution to the troublemakers other than tightening security to the extent that the events will be in unappealing to them
    You can't stop people acting like idiots.

Whilst you don't see this element at festivals / concerts there were definitely London clubs particularly urban clubs in the suburbs that were quite scary where stabbings and shootings have occurred . So I suppose my very long winded answer is that if scumbags have the opportunity to cause trouble they will take it

Nope, but I don't habitually carry a knife. I do habitually carry a credit card.

Not just scummers. My bf told me he used to carry a knife and I flipped, and he is not a "scummer" he was someone who was hopped on a lot by scummers with knives, people carry them for protection from people that carry them to stab people and it all escalates into a stabathon. Should be a mandatory jail sentence just to be found carrying a knife, no excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Vanderbilt

Often respect your posts, but no merit in being facetious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭coolhandluke

Sleepy wrote: »
    The quick solution to this kind of thing is incredibly unpalatable: lots of cops, appropriately armed and with the mandate to use as much force as they deem necessary in the situation they're facing.

i.e. let the cops beat seven shades of ****e out of any scumbags they see causing trouble.

Unfortunately in our attempts to create/maintain a civil society we've created a system of law that only really works for those who respect it.

That is about the size of it unfortunately, any guard who gives a fella a smack of a baton these days is a fool, because the likely outcome is the loss of his job.
    Fill out the forms, process the prisoner and release him, rinse and repeat, rinse and repeat.
    The scumbags know the score, when enough pressure comes on politicans from the public, things will change just like the gloves were taken off when veronica guerin was shot.

My own personal opinion is that a certain breed of skanger only understand one thing, and it is not neatly joined handwriting on forms.

But people must understand, if you want to make an omlette you have to break a few eggs, ruari going mad in templebar on saturday night is no different to anto going mental after a tray of cider, but at the moment people only want "tough" policing for anto, how dare they arrest little ruari sure he was just a little under the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Then why did you compare it to a fecking knife? You're right there, though, scummers do habitually carry knives, and scumbags carry those knives for scumbag reasons. It has nothing to do with drugs and everything to do with them being total knackers.

davet82 wrote: »

Different guy, one was taken to hospital by the stewards and died there, was only identified this morning. 3 lads dead from drugs at one concert? WTF Ireland...

Vanderbilt wrote: »
    Often respect your posts, but no merit in being facetious.
    That was a serious post. The point is that, because it depends on whether he habitually carries a knife, you can't state definitively whether his possession of a knife indicates that the stabbings were premeditated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

The amount of boardsies in After Hours that justify taking illegal drugs is mind boggling. You have no case! And that's not a matter of opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Was there myself along with 80,000 others. I didnt see a person say an aggresive word to anybody. There were thousands of people sitting in the field outside drinking for hours before the gig and not a peep from anybody. Even the ridiculous queues for the busses after the gig were civilised. Even if you go to a massive festival like Download, you would rarely see trouble from a crowd of 120,000. Its definitely the type of clientele.

And to think the likes of AC/DC and heavy metal in general was tagged as a rough crowd for years :pac:

Tusky wrote: »

Your argument is flawed though because the crowds at the gigs yesterday and on Friday were fine and there was no trouble.

Commercial dance and commercial hip-hop have extremely questionable elements to their fanbases. Combine the two - Swedish House Mafia and Snoop Dog - and you have a recipe for disaster. The problem was not the fact that the gig was outdoor, drink and drugs is not the blame - the scummy individuals who went there purely to cause trouble are the ones at fault. One guy was randomly stabbed in the back while enjoying the gig - that's just thuggery and blaming drink, drugs or anything else is just silly.

I wasn't blaming drink or drugs but rather the less than savoury element that many out door gigs seem to attract. While the other gigs were largely trouble free, friends of mine at both saw fights and a lot of drunken idiots throughout the two days.

At the end of the day there are two elements to blame for all the trouble, the scum who brought weapons to a gig and went out of their way to cause trouble and the organisers. I hope the famines of those affected by the stabbings sue the hell out of them but I fear that this will just be another scandal they weasel their way out of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

According to joe.ie:
    Six people were robbed of their tickets at knifepoint outside the Phoenix Park before the show

What factors combined to give us this scum-fest? Time of year, location, line-up, people with too much money for alcohol?

That was a serious post. The point is that, because it depends on whether he habitually carries a knife, you can't state definitively whether his possession of a knife indicates that the stabbings were premeditated.

its that sort of bollix talk that has scumbags back out on the streets after a few months instead of a few years!

nobody needs to carry a knife to a fcuking music festival! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    The amount of boardsies in After Hours that justify taking illegal drugs is mind boggling. You have no case! And that's not a matter of opinion.

Ha! Ha! Yes it is.

Was there myself along with 80,000 others. I didnt see a person say an aggresive word to anybody. There were thousands of people sitting in the field outside drinking for hours before the gig and not a peep from anybody. Even the ridiculous queues for the busses after the gig were civilised. Even if you go to a massive festival like Download, you would rarely see trouble from a crowd of 120,000. Its definitely the type of clientele.

And to think the likes of AC/DC and heavy metal in general was tagged as a rough crowd for years :pac:

It was only a tiny element causing trouble but there were a lot of less than savoury individuals there simply to get as drunk as possible. They weren't there for the music, whereas the O2 gig was made up of fans there to hear a band they loved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

The amount of boardsies in After Hours that justify taking illegal drugs is mind boggling. You have no case!

When a drug is unjustly illegal it can of course be justified.
    And that's not a matter of opinion.

Of course it's a matter of opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Someone charged with a stabbing incident at the concert:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0709/man-charged-with-concert-stabbings-due-in-court.html

I'm just going to leave this here (I have no idea if these people are related):

http://www.herald.ie/news/courts/roadrage-driver-smashed-barrier-2403675.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

It's a bit sad that some people need to take drugs to have a good time

And contributing to the sale of illegal drugs is a crime. If that's a matter of opinion then Lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

Raymond donnan from Clondalkin Dublin.

Time of year, location, people with too much money for alcohol?

too little money for alcohol maybe?

you could either line up for 20 mins and buy a plastic glass of heiniken for 5 euro a pop

or

you buy a cheap bottle of vodka for 10 euro and down it before you go in...

by the looks of the state of everyone before hand they chose the latter