Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swedish house mafia stabbings (Updated Mod Warning Post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭criticalcritic

You know things are bad when some of local scumbag element who live around the rough estates beside the park are digusted by the element there last night.

As one junkie said to me earlier 'bleedin vermin at that yoke man'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 immersive

I forgot to say. Zero tolerance is the answer for me. Not just at gigs but every weekend. People should be able to go out without being treated like children. We should be able to stay out until six o clock in the morning if we so wish. Stagger club closing times so everyone doesn't spill onto the street at the same time. Control the sale of alcohol in clubs. For example stop selling certain lethal drinks at a certain time in the night and so on. If someone causes any trouble on the street allow the Gardai to have zero tolerance. Hefty fines or community service if you even look sideways! And don't blame it on cheap drink and it's availability because we do not have cheap alcohol when compared to most other countries.

immersive wrote: »
    I forgot to say. Zero tolerance is the answer for me. Not just at gigs but every weekend. People should be able to go out without being treated like children. We should be able to stay out until six o clock in the morning if we so wish. Stagger club closing times so everyone doesn't spill onto the street at the same time. Control the sale of alcohol in clubs. For example stop selling certain lethal drinks at a certain time in the night and so on. If someone causes any trouble on the street allow the Gardai to have zero tolerance. Hefty fines or community service if you even look sideways! And don't blame it on cheap drink and it's availability because we do not have cheap alcohol when compared to most other countries.

Let people drink til 6 but don't sell drinks above a certain strength at certain times? People should be able to go out without being treated like children but strong drinks shouldn't be sold? Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

I have been to many dance music gigs over the years and I've never seen trouble at the majority of them, but they would usually be attended by a maturer audience. There is a subset of dance music that attracts a very young crowd 17-21 and it's usually the current chart toppers. At that age they seem to care less about the music and are more attracted by the alcohol and drug fuelled revelry, with less experience and knowledge of how to handle it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭wallpaper12

I had one of the best nights of my life there last night. However I did get punched in the face an kicked in the stomach by 2 different scumbags, for literally no reason. There was so much scum around it was sickening, saying that there was loads more people who just wanted a good time and didnt do anything wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I'd imagine there'll be a full, factual and in now way hysterical report on this by Joeeeeeee tommorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

What the fook is wrong with people ? I don't get it anymore. You go to a concert to enjoy the bands and then you have arseholes like this stabbing people and then you have kids necking back bottles of vodka and killing each other and innocent strangers, man i'm on the wrong planet because this is just getting more fooked up by the week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Until people acknowledge that drugs such as MDMA, Ecstasy, Marijuana, speed, coke etc are not the problem here then we will continually be wondering why incidents like this weekend happen. The reason is very simple: alcohol. Mix alcohol with any of the above and there is the potential for what happened happening. Even mix alcohol with sleeping pills or antibiotics and mayhem can ensue.

The sooner people in this country wake up to the effects of the recreational drugs out there (including alcohol) then we wont get anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Until people acknowledge that drugs such as MDMA, Ecstasy, Marijuana, speed, coke etc are not the problem here then we will continually be wondering why incidents like this weekend happen. The reason is very simple: alcohol. Mix alcohol with any of the above and there is the potential for what happened happening. Even mix alcohol with sleeping pills or antibiotics and mayhem can ensue.

The sooner people in this country wake up to the effects of the recreational drugs out there (including alcohol) then we wont get anywhere.

You're not blaming other drugs but are blaming alcohol and then state we need to learn the effects of recreational drugs?

Let people drink til 6 but don't sell drinks above a certain strength at certain times? People should be able to go out without being treated like children but strong drinks shouldn't be sold? Huh?

I believe what he means is let people drink through hoses up their arse if they like, but once you begin to become a drunken arsehole then zero tolerance kicks in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,734 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Oranage2 wrote: »
    The Dublin City council workers who organised this should be sacked and probably should charged with having blood on their hands!

You realise this was an event run by a promoter on OPW land and that the city council merely issued a one licence and no knives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Awful news, but this thread is an absolute trainwreck- Kiera has closed her account!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

One of These, filled with This.

Low pass over Snoop Dog and SHM crowd………….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

what is it about stabbings and sunshine in Dublin - we moan about the poxy weather most of the time - then we get a blast of sunshine , and there is a new idiotic fad to pack knives instead of suncream - sickening - back in my day it was hand to hand combat amongst punks , skins, nothsiders/ southsiders - very rarely stabbings, a few broken noses was about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

I had one of the best nights of my life there last night. However I did get punched in the face an kicked in the stomach by 2 different scumbags, for literally no reason. There was so much scum around it was sickening, saying that there was loads more people who just wanted a good time and didnt do anything wrong.

That's the best night you've ever had?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

"Raves less risky than an actual concert". Despite repeated evidence on the contrary down the decades well I'll be damned what 'music' does scangers tend to swear by?!! And what music does scangers tend to swear at - we've just had a prime example laid on on the same stage alongside multiple 'rock' acts; which set the backdrop for stabbings. ****ing **** this. I wasn't born into it; I don't take it for granted I just kick it n watch the poison take hold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

*sigh*
    Why the hell do people have to equate "scumbag" with class, welfare, money, location, accent etc? It has absolutely nothing to do with it.
    A "scumbag" is the kind of thug who starts fights, carries weaponry, swears and shouts at people in public for no reason, drives around with windows down and music up to 90DB, etc.

In other words, someone who is generally antisocial and has no decency.

I'm from Sandycove, what a lot of people regard as a "posh" area, and I can assure you there are just as many scumbags among the well off as there are among the disadvantaged. So can we please stop dragging social welfare and geographic location into these debates. I know assholes from D4 and I know absolutely sound people from "de northside". I know rich assholes and I know people who haven't got a penny to their name who are the kind of people you'd happily have as a roommate. This ridiculous stereotyping isn't going to solve anything. "Class profiling" is not going to solve anything. Assuming anyone who stabs somebody is on social welfare is not going to solve anything.

If you carry a knife around, if you start fights for the craic, if you abuse random members of the public for kicks, you're an antisocial scumbag and should be dealt with accordingly under the law. That's it. It doesn't matter where your money comes from or what part of the country you come from for f*ck's sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭BRAIN FEEDs

immersive wrote: »
    :rolleyes: go to a court for a day mate and see how many of these bullsh1t cases are before the court.

stop your nonsense

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

You're not blaming other drugs but are blaming alcohol and then state we need to learn the effects of recreational drugs?

Of which i expressly included alcohol as it commonly isnt listed as "recreational drug" by most people. Thanks for paraphrasing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Paully D wrote: »
    Was at the gig myself and only heard about the trouble today.

I had actually commented to a few people on how 99% of the people I had spoken to up there were just there to enjoy it and have a laugh, so was very surprised to hear about the stabbings and death(s). From my own experience it was one of the quietest gigs with regards to trouble that I've been at in a long time.

EDIT - The organisation was very poor though. The queue to get in was basically pushing and barging for 30 minutes +. It also would have been very easy for anyone who didn't have a ticket to get in. I don't really know much about these things and I'm not from the area, but surely the organisers could have found a better and more effective way to get people in?

Overall I really enjoyed it and didn't see any trouble at all.

Same! We were at the gig too and had a fantastic time! A lot of the trouble seemed to happen at the far left of the stage, from what I've heard. We were up the front for Calvin Harris and moved back a bit and we were in an area where people were just dancing and having a laugh, so pushing, shoving, we had space...it was great!

Sad to hear about the injuries and deaths, but honestly I didn't come across any violent behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭criticalcritic

Until people acknowledge that drugs such as MDMA, Ecstasy, Marijuana, speed, coke etc are not the problem here then we will continually be wondering why incidents like this weekend happen. The reason is very simple: alcohol. Mix alcohol with any of the above and there is the potential for what happened happening. Even mix alcohol with sleeping pills jor antibiotics and mayhem can ensue.

Im sorry pal but that argument is pure b*llox

Its nothing but a drug addict or heavy users attempt to justify their drug use.

Take a walk around some of the flat blocks in the inner city and ask the residents what drugs has done to their community.

Narcotics drive addiction and mental issue, social deprivation, and Im sure you know damn well that drugs like coke and speed can induce mad behaviour that leas lead to violence, so can drink but nowhere near level narcotics do.

Id bet my life if was drugs related those stabbings last night

I had one of the best nights of my life there last night. However I did get punched in the face an kicked in the stomach by 2 different scumbags,
    :D class!

you should move down the country mate.

Brian Stoking is right imo........ alcohol is the common factor here:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Of which i expressly included alcohol as it commonly isnt listed as "recreational drug" by most people. Thanks for paraphrasing

No you stated:
    Until people acknowledge that drugs such as MDMA, Ecstasy, Marijuana, speed, coke etc are not the problem here then we will continually be wondering why incidents like this weekend happen.
    Then you said:
    So what one is is exactly? That we need to learn the affects of recreational drugs or that it's not the fault of other drugs bar alcohol?

Im sorry pal but that argument is pure b*llox

Its nothing but a drug addict or heavy users attempt to justify their drug use.

Take a walk around some of the flat blocks in the inner city and ask the residents what drugs has done to their community.

Narcotics drive addiction and mental issue, social deprivation, and Im sure you know damn well that drugs like coke and speed can induce mad behaviour that leas lead to violence, so can drink but nowhere near level narcotics do.

Id bet my life if was drugs related those stabbings last night

I'd bet my life that the drug responsible for 99.99% of voilence is alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Atlantis50

Yet crime is lower now than when young lads were sent to borstal for any little thing they did, how does that work?

Rubbish. Crime is much higher now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Sorry but that's complete bullsh*t, many people are able to get locked/high and not become violent psychopaths.

If you turn into a murderer when you do drugs, it means it's already hidden under the surface but you keep it under control when you're sober. That's a problem. How do people end up that way? Is it to do with upbringing? The media? Genetics? What?

We should be concentrating on creating a generation which doesn't have those tendencies in the first place.

Atlantis50 wrote: »
    Rubbish. Crime is much higher now.

You've statistics to back that, I trust?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

attacks are more vicous now,going to concerts when i was a teen was a completely different kettle of fish..
    why bring knives to concert events?another thing,i dont think the security were doing their job that night,were they intimidated by the scummy crowds i wonder?

attacks are more vicous now,going to concerts when i was a teen was a completely different kettle of fish..

I'd suggest your memory is a bit flawed there.