Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Hi Reilig its not lookin so bad here in the NW . The sun went down red there and I've a feelin we might get weather up here until monday. If its still dry at dinner tomorrow I'm gonna knock two fields that I was hoping for hay.
    OPTIMISTIC OR WHAT!

You'd want to be planning on putting the hay into laps :D:D

Thankfully we aren't getting the worst of it.

WEB_radar2_201207061330.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Came across this earlier while doing a tidy up of my desk. It's from an old farming indo article giving the target weights for replacement dairy heifers calving down at 24m.
    20120706134116.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

reilig wrote: »
    You'd want to be planning on putting the hay into laps :D:D

Thankfully we aren't getting the worst of it.

WEB_radar2_201207061330.png
    no rain here yet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

no rain here yet...
    famous last words:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

i havent seen dust clouds since january:eek:

stanflt wrote: »
    i havent seen dust clouds since january:eek:
    was a fantastic evening here yesterday... also running after cattle all afternoon yesterday was roasted:o stupid aa bull broke in with aa heifers- not good:mad: was also good to notice the bull was alot unfitter than the heifers they left him miles behind:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

finished picking the last of the silage this morning, got the covers pulled on the pit just before a down pour,

vet scanned some cows we hadn't observed in heat, all bar 1 are well in calf:D

contractor began clearing for the road in the forestry

overall not a bad day in the office,

o/h is away for a few days so hitting the pub along with daughter and b/f for a few jars

daughter pulled short straw and is driving ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

snowman707 wrote: »
    finished picking the last of the silage this morning, got the covers pulled on the pit just before a down pour,

vet scanned some cows we hadn't observed in heat, all bar 1 are well in calf:D

contractor began clearing for the road in the forestry

overall not a bad day in the office,

o/h is away for a few days so hitting the pub along with daughter and b/f for a few jars

daughter pulled short straw and is driving ;)
    Hope its the daughters b/f:p

5live wrote: »
    that was my thinking too:D

Anyone know good english or welsh website for second hand tractors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

Any one recommend any good online farm suppliers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

just do it wrote: »
    Anyone know good english or welsh website for second hand tractors?
    agriaffaires.co.uk or fwi.co.uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

5live wrote: »
    whelan1 wrote: »
    that was my thinking too:D
    :(

back to the monsoons here

son was telling me they were baling hilly ground yesterday when the rains started, about 3 acres left and the farmer told them keep going to F&%k. the fusion jackknifed, but luckily no damage

Suckler wrote: »
    Any one recommend any good online farm suppliers?
    am also looking for one , need lepto vaccine spirovac, huge variation in price , up to €10 for 25 cow pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Anyone spot the insurance disc on the tractor on the front cover of the IFJ this week?

Shouldn't have been let out like that. tut tut Matt Dempsey :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

Jesus what a night/day.came home from work and had cows and calves inside to dose calves and do a bit of herding .had a lad in doing agitating for me during the day and it's a old tank where slats have to be lifted . Cattle broke out and two of my best heifer calves landed into tank lucky I was around as was planning to have a cup of tea before I started . Well after a few calls to get help and loads of sweat eventually got one out and the larger one slowly came up to end .rope around her and pulled her out .both fairly weak but breathing tg .put down the slats and returned calves to mothers which I taught would be fine.spent the whole night awake with the two cows roaring at each other as they did not recognise there calves granted there was a fair smell of slurry off them but eventually at half five this morning I could n t take no more . Got up again and brought in the two calves and cows and washed both of them .let them dry in shed for a hour or so and got them to drink . Let them back out and it starts misting o well just checked them there and all ok .some prayers do work but knackered all day ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Finished my shearing this evening :D

Plan to start on Dads the next dry day, despite the other jobs he's bulling about which can be done in most weather, let battle commence :pac:

jerdee wrote: »
    Jesus what a night/day.came home from work and had cows and calves inside to dose calves and do a bit of herding .had a lad in doing agitating for me during the day and it's a old tank where slats have to be lifted . Cattle broke out and two of my best heifer calves landed into tank lucky I was around as was planning to have a cup of tea before I started . Well after a few calls to get help and loads of sweat eventually got one out and the larger one slowly came up to end .rope around her and pulled her out .both fairly weak but breathing tg .put down the slats and returned calves to mothers which I taught would be fine.spent the whole night awake with the two cows roaring at each other as they did not recognise there calves granted there was a fair smell of slurry off them but eventually at half five this morning I could n t take no more . Got up again and brought in the two calves and cows and washed both of them .let them dry in shed for a hour or so and got them to drink . Let them back out and it starts misting o well just checked them there and all ok .some prayers do work but knackered all day ...
    Lord above. You'd want to treat yourself to a few scoops tonite after all that hardship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Jaysus...You couldn't write it!
    You never know when trouble is upon you. I've seen cows not recognise their calves before after the calf was pulled out of the bog holes. All would be grand when they cleaned up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭porter shark

anybody here able to explain exactly what this new rule that the financial regulator put on marts giving credit entails?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Off to see Snow Patrol and Florence and the machine in the phoenix park.

The Wellies are packed ;) Come on the culchies! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

Muckit wrote: »
    Off to see Snow Patrol and Florence and the machine in the phoenix park.

The Wellies are packed ;) Come on the culchies! :D

florence knows how to make dry silage- shake it up shake it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I had a cow once that rejected her calf after I tagged it. I usually put a small bit of iodine on the point of the tag before applying. It's smell they trust the most for knowing their own.

No cream for the cats today :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Anyone spot the insurance disc on the tractor on the front cover of the IFJ this week?

Shouldn't have been let out like that. tut tut Matt Dempsey :rolleyes:
    god , ya have little to be doing:D

johngalway wrote: »
    unreal, well done ! :D:D:D:D

Galway have more to do though, they got a bit sloppy in the second half!

Two games to go :)

No cream for the cats today :D[/QUOT

A big upset. Ye certainly put the creosote on their bales :D

Jeez john, where did that performance come from?! :) Great win. I was listening to it on the radio in the car and looking forward to seeing it tonight. Cyril Farrell will be having conniptions :D

Jez, I dunno, I haven't seen them play like that for a long while. Hopefully now they can build on today's result and keep the ball rolling.