Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

1chippy wrote: »
    Thought i had a rough one. 3800 metres of barbedwire pulled, strained and nailed by two of us. all carried by hand (reseeding is still a bit soft and didnt want to mark it ), was actually delighted to see rain at 6 for an excuse to go home. The only downside is i know i still have another day to do.

Always helps to have that extra pair of hands when you ares straining to keep the wires from getting tangled and throw an odd staple here and there;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

johngalway wrote: »

Must get better thistle pulling gloves :o

Welding gauntlets, you can pull briars with them, never mind thistles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

JohnBoy wrote: »
    Welding gauntlets, you can pull briars with them, never mind thistles.

I was thinking as much, I only had those crappy €2 supposed work gloves, the latex covered cloth ones. Must have pulled a few hundred all the same :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Charlie Charolais

Upgrading a skulling gate today from the old V shape to semi auto. Got all the slurry out too, land is very wet again, great to have the silage done earlier this week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Upgrading a skulling gate today from the old V shape to semi auto. Got all the slurry out too, land is very wet again, great to have the silage done earlier this week
    Was it hard to fit the new semi in the old ones place ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I'm not so sure which is best! We have both and both have their uses and drawbacks.
    Did anyone here ever have a beast get half through a semi auto gate only to be caught between the ribs and the hips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

I was thinking as much, I only had those crappy €2 supposed work gloves, the latex covered cloth ones. Must have pulled a few hundred all the same :D

Surely a few gals weedkiller in the knapsack would be easier and you'd get all the roots

rancher wrote: »
    Surely a few gals weedkiller in the knapsack would be easier and you'd get all the roots

I sprayed five separate times (to get the individual thistles at the right growth stage) last year with something called "highgrass". It killed them alright, but they're back again this year, so I'm trying out something different. Been reading that cutting/pulling before they flower/seed will weaken the root system which is where they store their energy reserve to push up new plants for the next year.

Bought some thistlex this year but been reading it's not recommended for knapsack use, something to do with it being able to cause severe eye damage.

I do have grazon90, but I figured I'd give pulling them a try. Was going to cut them, but had the gloves with me yesterday and just got on a roll pulling them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

rancher wrote: »

seen something advertised on telly a few weeks ago for pulling weeds. it pulls the full weed and whole root out too. it was like a litter picker type thingy.
    now it was for garden use, but it worked it would be great. could bring it herding everyday and catch them early??? also easier on the back lol!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Brought 4 bull weanlings to Sixmilebridge yesterday (pictures on photo thread about a month ago). Sold the 3 blues 332kg €900, 372kg €920, 366kg €960. Average €2.60/kg. I thought they'd be ~30/40kg heavier, thought I'd get €2.70-€2.80/kg and based on that I'd hoped to get an extra €100 a head for them.
    I'd a LM as well but didn't sell at €860. I think he weighted 340kg. I've him in with a dry cow and will bring him to ennis in a month.

In hindsight given their weights another month at home would have made a difference.

Talked to Mitchell after, the 3 blues are being exported. 2 were average and the 3rd was borderline quality for export. he was only taking him to keep them together. Told me given their quality it would be better to use CH or LM on their dams. So just reinforces what I think is common knowledge - blues need to be top quality to sell. He's a sharp eye, he was able to tell me there was Angus in one of them. I appreciated him coming over and talking to me.

Lessons to self: cows still not good enough to produce quality blues and need to get better ADG. They average 9.6mo and had a ADG of 1.07kg.

For all that I've had steady improvement since 09 (average figures for male weanlings):
    2009 Age at sale 13m, Weight 294kg, ADG 0.68kg, €/kg €1.75
    2010 Age at sale 13m, Weight 375kg, ADG 0.86kg, €/kg €2.10
    2011 Age at sale 10m, Weight 357kg, ADG 1.07kg, €/kg €2.60

Anyone know how to insert a table?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

just do it wrote: »
    ...... Told me given their quality it would be better to use CH or LM on their dams......
    I leanrned that lesson myself the hard way. The worst weanlings I have this year are BB's from plainish cows. These same cows had much better weanlings from Lim and Char bulls, like you said. BB's won't grow up so they have to grow out, with muscle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Brought 4 bull weanlings to Sixmilebridge yesterday (pictures on photo thread about a month ago). Sold the 3 blues 332kg €900, 372kg €920, 366kg €960. Average €2.60/kg. I thought they'd be ~30/40kg heavier, thought I'd get €2.70-€2.80/kg and based on that I'd hoped to get an extra €100 a head for them.
    I'd a LM as well but didn't sell at €860. I think he weighted 340kg. I've him in with a dry cow and will bring him to ennis in a month.

In hindsight given their weights another month at home would have made a difference.

Talked to Mitchell after, the 3 blues are being exported. 2 were average and the 3rd was borderline quality for export. he was only taking him to keep them together. Told me given their quality it would be better to use CH or LM on their dams. So just reinforces what I think is common knowledge - blues need to be top quality to sell. He's a sharp eye, he was able to tell me there was Angus in one of them. I appreciated him coming over and talking to me.

Lessons to self: cows still not good enough to produce quality blues and need to get better ADG. They average 9.6mo and had a ADG of 1.07kg.

For all that I've had steady improvement since 09 (average figures for male weanlings):
    well done on those prices but i have to comend you on your improved weight gain and price per kilo,it just shows, you are doing it right.

knocked last bit of meadow today and 3 paddocks that had gone strong. Smothered with hay fever now :o

Baling early tomorrow evening. An extra day of wilting would be nice, but Mr. Weather will not play ball

Spent another while at the drains and thistles today, sprayed my spuds for blight. Love to see a new drain working, moss, mint, and rushes days are numbered in that spot, grass and clover here we come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

serious improvement there just do it. keep it goin. I'm in the same position with a number of cows that don't suit BB and to be honest would be quite happy to get the 2.6 for the weanlings. Just wonderin how much meal your feeding??? We will be selling 4 weanlings on tuesday night in carnaross weighed them last week avg 455 kgs at with birth dates 28.7 26.8 and twins born 10th .8th. These ate between 300 and 400 kgs of meal and i think they easily cover it at least 3 times over. you said they weighed a little lighter than expected... our experience is they can loose up to 30 kgs from standing around the mart for alot of the day and then of course being weighed with an empty stomach. anyway well done again on the progress hopefully i can achieve a 2.60 avg with our lads.

Thanks lads for feedback. I've learned a lot on here so every so often I hope someone gets something back ;)

serious improvement there just do it. keep it goin. I'm in the same position with a number of cows that don't suit BB and to be honest would be quite happy to get the 2.6 for the weanlings. Just wonderin how much meal your feeding???
    They were born between 20aug and 26sep and started on beef nuts in the creep area on 15dec. Hadn't planned on starting them off that young but was talking to a local lad who started doing this and reckons he's getting better thrive. They were on 8kg between 9 of them so 0.9kg a day up untill 29mar. They were weaned and weighted that day was disappointed by they're weights - average ADG of 0.95kg/day.
    Weaned on 29mar just out of convenience i.e. day of turn-out. From 29mar on they had 7 weeks on 1.5kg, 3 weeks on 3kg and 2 weeks on 4kg. For first 7 weeks they were in with the heifers. Not ideal but not set-up yet to split them. ADG between 29mar and sat was 1.27kg giving a life-time adg of 1.07kg/day.
    So total meal ~280kg costing €80.
    Grass quality still isn't great so as this improves I'd expect to get some better thrive. Also I'll be a bit better planned for the next bunch!
    We will be selling 4 weanlings on tuesday night in carnaross weighed them last week avg 455 kgs at with birth dates 28.7 26.8 and twins born 10th .8th. These ate between 300 and 400 kgs of meal and i think they easily cover it at least 3 times over.
    Best of luck! I think you'll fare out better as I was told on Sat the exporters are looking for a heavier animal than I had:). I look forward to hearing how you get on.;)
    you said they weighed a little lighter than expected... our experience is they can loose up to 30 kgs from standing around the mart for alot of the day and then of course being weighed with an empty stomach. anyway well done again on the progress hopefully i can achieve a 2.60 avg with our lads.
    They were only off grass about 4hrs and got their meal that morning so I don't think they lost that much. It was a bit of wishfull thinking on my behalf now that I see the ADG's.:rolleyes:

Got half my ewes shorn this evening, lovely evening for it too, cool, breezy, no midges but a few horseflies. Absolutely love to see a shorn sheep, means I don't have to do that job again for another full year :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Had a lovely evening mapped out... Spot spray with nap sack a few <30 ferns in silage ground closed off June 2 so they can die away and not be around next year! And pull few minor docks that persist by headland...
    Nice dry evening for job...

Instead had 2 month bb with white scour... All I had was a lectade Vet sending noroclav and something else tomorrow z... Big hardy hoor to manhandle and get 2 Ltrs into on my own...

Then to top it off neighbours stock bull came thru 3 fences, again and nailed a cow.. He has rattled 3 in 3 days on us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

2nd animal calved this evening a heifer.... calf backwards tough enough pull but not too hard. calf was stone dead when he landed not a kick. talking to vet friend reckons it was more than likely "displaced placenta". Hopefully thats the last of that for this year. Fcukin annoyed so goin to have a monday night beer b4 bed...i think i'm allowed:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

2nd animal calved this evening a heifer.... calf backwards tough enough pull but not too hard. calf was stone dead when he landed not a kick. talking to vet friend reckons it was more than likely "displaced placenta". Hopefully thats the last of that for this year. Fcukin annoyed so goin to have a monday night beer b4 bed...i think i'm allowed:(

dead animals are just getting way more frequent for some reason. Had a lovely suckler cow this morning injured bulling yesterday, screwed her back up some way, off on the knackers truck today. oh the joys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Sorry to hear about your loss, its a dose alright ... enjoy the beer, i doing the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

dead animals are just getting way more frequent for some reason. Had a lovely suckler cow this morning injured bulling yesterday, screwed her back up some way, off on the knackers truck today. oh the joys

Bad luck.
    It's a killer, you tip away doing jobs, trying to improve things. Plan out what needs to be done and try and keep things as best you can.
    Then wham, crap like this blindsides you and kills of the profit of all your hard work.

My father used to roll out the usual stuff, " where theres livestock there'll be dead stock" or " once it's outside the door it's great". All well and good and I agree, but it's damn frustrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Got half my ewes shorn this evening, lovely evening for it too, cool, breezy, no midges but a few horseflies. Absolutely love to see a shorn sheep, means I don't have to do that job again for another full year :D

Do you shear the sheep yerself John?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Do you shear yerself John?

bit personal, eh

Finished up bringing in last of baled silage @11 O'Clock last night. :D

Pissing down here this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

bit personal, eh

Very good Bob, I must admit... :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

Muckit wrote: »
    Finished up bringing in last of baled silage @11 O'Clock last night. :D

Pissing down here this morning

Same here Muckit. Even got the youngfella to paint them:D

misc257.th.jpg
    misc254.th.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

off to powerfloat concrete see you in a couple of hours. hopefully its dry all day tomorrow