Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i know mine was just under 400 thanks to a few "slappers" that where only a few weeks calved when the bull served them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

could anyone help me, we need a side window (the glass only) to a lambourne cab for a mf 265, anyone know where one could be got?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

moy83 wrote: »
    Im going lamping foxes tonight and after that a mate is having a house party , couple of beers and plenty of jameson :D:D:D:D

Christ, what time does the party start, 3am? :D:D Not dark at 6pm this time of year :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

johngalway wrote: »
    Christ, what time does the party start, 3am? :D:D Not dark at 6pm this time of year :p
    The party is probably started since he came home from work :D Its a very relaxed affair that he organises every now and then most of the lads there wont even bother changing out of work clothes .
    I wont be lamping until at least 11 o clock and bout 1 or 2 it will be party time . If this wind doesnt die down there might not be any lamping at all

If this wind doesnt die down there might not be any lamping at all

:confused: Sure a windy night is the best time. What kind of ground you lamping over, gun or dogs?

Gun thats why I dont like the wind . It would be mostly bog around where he is coming from , I might be able to call him in close hopefully and get a good shot at him .

What calibre, if you don't mind me being nosey? And if ya do well :p

Got .223 here if you need a hand some night.

What calibre, if you don't mind me being nosey? And if ya do well :p

Got .223 here if you need a hand some night.
    Its only a .17 hmr so you can see why i dont like the wind .
    I do alright but dont do alot of lamping since the kids came along , thats why tonight is a treat night :D
    If you want to come down my way some night next week we can do an hour or two no bother , there are one or two spots that we might do well out of

Its only a .17 hmr so you can see why i dont like the wind .
    I do alright but dont do alot of lamping since the kids came along , thats why tonight is a treat night :D
    If you want to come down my way some night next week we can do an hour or two no bother , there are one or two spots that we might do well out of

I was figuring it was either a HMR or .22lr.

Yeah, sound, we'll work something out no probs.

I do feck all lamping this time of year as it's dark too late.

no bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Charlie Charolais

Lads, I have bullock with a lump on his shoulder at the site of his blackleg injection,(8 weeks after the shot) think is it a sign of something oncoming or is it now useless and he could do with another shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Lads, I have bullock with a lump on his shoulder at the site of his blackleg injection,(8 weeks after the shot) think is it a sign of something oncoming or is it now useless and he could do with another shot?

probably an infection from a dirty needle. should burst in its own time and all will be okay, the vaccine will more than likely have worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Heading to the mart in a few hours, fingers crossed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

stanflt wrote: »
    whats your calving interval-honest please mine was 417 this year
    whelan1 wrote: »
    i know mine was just under 400 thanks to a few "slappers" that where only a few weeks calved when the bull served them

Jeez lass, I'm a bit shocked to hear this as I've ye both marked down as good pro-active farmers. Do ye think this is the norm out there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I have it at 378. It was at 360 a few years ago, but a problem with the bull one summer saw a lot of cows run a month later than normal.

National average for sucklers is 407

Can't believe that almost 6% of calves born die before 28 days old.

where can you find the calving interval on icbf? found it

reilig wrote: »
    I have it at 378. It was at 360 a few years ago, but a problem with the bull one summer saw a lot of cows run a month later than normal.

National average for sucklers is 407

Can't believe that almost 6% of calves born die before 28 days old.
    amazed also that alost 50% of calves in the national herd have an unknown sire:eek: in this day and age it should be an essential part of registering a calf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

amazed also that alost 50% of calves in the national herd have an unknown sire:eek: in this day and age it should be an essential part of registering a calf

I didn't think you could register a calf without the sire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

reilig wrote: »
    I didn't think you could register a calf without the sire.

No you don't have to. We run 2-3 bulls with our cows / heifers, AI occasionally. Don't formally keep track of the bull, but would have a fair idea which bull covered which cow. We should be doing it of course, but just more paper/record keeping. Just register away on line or via post & leave the sire blank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

latest calving interval 390 days here with 100% ai used. !st cow of the season calved yesterday. calved on the 22th of july last year. She had a class heifer calf by EKB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

403 days at last recording for 2011. Should be a lot better for 2013. we used a lot of cidrs and made sure to register allcalves on time this year. probably loose a couple of days with the fact were holding all late calvers for autumn calving . Taking the bull out in a week and only three to hold round.All dependant too on what the scanner tells us in a couple of weeks. calvings all finished till october.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

just do it wrote: »
    Jeez lass, I'm a bit shocked to hear this as I've ye both marked down as good pro-active farmers. Do ye think this is the norm out there?

too many 2500gal cows is killing the calving interval-

currently looking at 392days for next year- would be alot lower if i had no carryover cows like a spring man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

latest calving interval 390 days here with 100% ai used. !st cow of the season calved yesterday. calved on the 22th of july last year. She had a class heifer calf by EKB.

winter milk? or spring calving

Day spent cutting new drains, evening spent pulling up thistles and earthing up maincrop Desiree spuds. Kinda glad I'm done for the day now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Day spent cutting new drains, evening spent pulling up thistles and earthing up maincrop Desiree spuds. Kinda glad I'm done for the day now.

Thought i had a rough one. 3800 metres of barbedwire pulled, strained and nailed by two of us. all carried by hand (reseeding is still a bit soft and didnt want to mark it ), was actually delighted to see rain at 6 for an excuse to go home. The only downside is i know i still have another day to do.

1chippy wrote: »
    was actually delighted to see rain at 6 for an excuse to go home.

Lol, I know that feeling.

If we're not moving sheep tomorrow I'll be employed with the drag removing the scraw from the drains.

Must get better thistle pulling gloves :o

Actually have a bit of barbed wire work to do myself, but nothing like what ye're at.

putting in new roadways at the minute, just before milking the digger hit a water pipe, had to leg it in to local hardware shop, was €27 for 2x 1 inch joiners with inserts:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

winter milk? or spring calving

no no got sense 5 years ago all suckling;). on a side note are u goin on the trip to holland next week??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

putting in new roadways at the minute, just before milking the digger hit a water pipe, had to leg it in to local hardware shop, was €27 for 2x 1 inch joiners with inserts:eek:

philmac ? expensive but the only fittings of any use.

how are you going about building the roadways, and what width.
    started some of ours on new land a few month ago, but had to leave them be for a while, will be going back at them next month if it ever dries up.
    removed the top soil on some sections and will just put gravel straight on top of top soil on other parts, the most of them are at 17 ft wide, and a few short stubs will be 13/14 ft.
    with all this bloody rain there are spring opening up in stretches where i plan on laying road

have alot of shale here, have a hymac in this week digging out all the shale... roadways needed to be done this years cows hated walking on 1 particular roadway... will step out width in the morning... probably around 20 foot... where philmac fittings...will post pics when done:D got 4 loads of stone to go on top tofinish it off €150 a load