Alphas (Syfy) [** Spoilers **]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,790 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Good,I am enjoying it and for a summer show it is one of the better ones. I think it deserved its renewal.

tvnutz wrote: »
    Good,I am enjoying it and for a summer show it is one of the better ones. I think it deserved its renewal.

Agreed....i think it's the best Syfy show they have, besides Being Human.

Really great episode today,best of the season so far. Really exciting from start to finish and looks like they are setting up some interesting storylines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Good episode. I got the feeling that they seemed to hint that Dr Rosenberg could be an alpha. Bill said something like, "You're not an alpha and you're still here" to which he didn't get an answer and some of the conversation with Brent Spiner's character. Maybe I'm reading too much into it.

tvnutz wrote: »
    Really great episode today,best of the season so far. Really exciting from start to finish and looks like they are setting up some interesting storylines.

If you thought last weeks was good you'll be blown away by this week! :D
    Outstanding, best ep. of the season by far, i actually thought last weeks ep. while very good was a bit overhyped, the invisible girl thing though sorta original was kinda predictable.

But this week!...wow, i never called Roen being copied by a shapeshifter until Rachel said it, great episode all around....terriffic action and fight scenes, inside Binghamton....all the guards etc.

I think the show is MUCH more interesting when it does arc/Red Flag episodes....they are much more gripping. This one was top quality.

Ye another very good episode,it has gotten stronger as it has went along. Delighted it has been picked up for another season and I reckon the last few episodes will be good.

Weird season schedule, it's only got 11 episodes this season....the finale is on Monday....appears to be 90 mins (63 mins without adds): http://tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/2011/09/23/season-finale-of-syfys-alphas-airs-monday-september-26/104691/

Alphas has been hit and miss, some rather average eps. mixed with some really excellent ones. But overall i think it's one of the best SyFy shows outside of the US version of Being Human.

Look forward to the finale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,083 ✭✭✭✭adox

Yeah enjoyed the show so far. Has gotten darker in the last couple of episodes which is a good thing imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,790 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

The finale wasn't as strong as the last few episodes (the 'raid' looked really low budget), but the ending was pretty good. Unless there is a big magic reset button, season 2 could be a bit different.

Mr E wrote: »
    The finale wasn't as strong as the last few episodes (the 'raid' looked really low budget), but the ending was pretty good. Unless there is a big magic reset button, season 2 could be a bit different.

Agreed, there was alot of filler scenes, i thought the raid was pretty good myself, they had alot of SWAT guys running about, pity about Anna though :(
    Did anyone notice it was Hicks the shot through the door and saved Rosen and his daugther?

They way i read that was that Hicks was working for Red Flag!...like he was taking out all the Red Flag members, he's still under yer mans spell from ep. 1 - anyone pick up on that? :confused:

I'm not sure what the point was of Rosen exposing the Alphas, what's his endgame?, if anything i was hoping Rosen and the team would finally go rogue!

Gary as always brought the laughs :p , but as for a finale it was rather average, :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,790 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Rosen didn't do it on purpose, I think he was being forced to do it. I think in that scene with his daughter 5 minutes before the end (where they held hands), she planted the thought in his head. Looks like Dani was working with Stanton Parish - they were together in that closing sequence.

Mr E wrote: »
    Rosen didn't do it on purpose, I think he was being forced to do it. I think in that scene with his daughter 5 minutes before the end (where they held hands), she planted the thought in his head. Looks like Dani was working with Stanton Parish - they were together in that closing sequence.

But Gary gave him the camera pen, and all the team knew he was gonna out the Alphas, plus....it was never suggested his daughter was able to push thoughts into Rosen's head.

Didn't realise it was the finale. Not a bad episode,with a very good ending. Don't think rosen was forced into doing what he did,sure Parish didn't want to go public,hence why he had a load of the Red Flag people killed since they were thinking about going public.

Overall I really enjoyed the show,a few average episodes but none really bad as far as i can remember. Glad it has gotten another season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,511 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

you think they'd more about the massarce

Interesting news, season 2 will have a new showrunner....good or bad?

http://www.deadline.com/2011/09/bruce-miller-joins-syfy-series-alphas-as-new-showrunner/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I've been pretty hard on this show, but just caught up to episode 7 and I have to say it's not the best show ever, with certainly some really poor episodes, but overall it's not awful.
    Gary is a bit annoying, but the characters are all starting to grow on me a bit.

The mission of the week isn't the show's strongest suit and the characters/acting is a bit 2 dimensional at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Well I've watched the whole season now... and things indeed have just become complicated.

The show has totally redeemed itself to me and I'm actually enjoying it now and looking forward to next season. It was totally worth sticking it out for the overall storyline.
    Each individual episode has its pacing problems and issues, but as a whole I think the show will benefit from a new showrunner next year and a slightly new direction.

Fan site with lots of info and spoilers for season 2 etc.

http://www.alphastv.net/2012/03/casting-calls-for-alphas-2x01-spoilers.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Starts on SyFy UK tonight

Season 2 premiere date set for Monday July 23rd @ 10pm

SFX has posted a part of their interview with Bruce Miller (season 2 showrunner) that has a few spoilers.

http://www.sfx.co.uk/2012/05/28/alphas-season-2-new-showrunner-speaks/

They also have the first two pics from season 2:

http://www.sfx.co.uk/2012/05/29/alphas-season-2-new-pics/

Syfy has a new promo for Alphas and Warehouse 13 that has new footage from both shows:

http://www.syfy.com/videos/Warehouse%2013/Promos%20&%20Trailers/vid:18524158

And Alphas TV has a spoilers roundup for the first 8 episodes:

http://www.alphastv.net/2012/05/spoilers-roundup-for-first-eight.html

OK, that's it. Have a great day. :)

^ via --> http://www.spoilertv.com/2012/05/alphas-season-2-various-snippets.html

^ "show killer" Summer Glau is returing.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,754 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Great News Summer Glau is returing.......:D

Fixed! :D

But yeah, I suppose what you said could be right as well. :(

Loads of excellent guest stars for season 2, incl. a favourite of mine: C. Thomas Howell + Miss show killer herself Summer Glau returns for three episodes.....so expect cancellation to follow! :p

http://tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/2012/07/05/new-season-of-alphas-to-feature-guest-stars-summer-glau-sean-astin-c-thomas-howell-lauren-holly-more/140590/#comment-1213100

A sneak peak of Alphas 2x01 is out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,754 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Forgot this and Warehouse 13 were back tomorrow. Thanks for the reminder.

Hope both shows are up to the quality or better than last season. Especially W13 which really surprised me

Not a bad season opener, wasn't an all out "magic reset button" scenario....but close enough, so they lock Rosen up for 8 months and then shiits hits the fan....and release him again?

Um, didn't this happen first time round, what's to stop Rosen going rogue again?...you'd think Rosen wouldget a clue!....they locked his ass up, rubbished his name....and he goes back to work for them and trusts they'll keep up their side....WTF?????

Nina + Hicks = splitsville, lol...like no one saw that purely non phsyical loving relationship going bust........Rachel is back to her fetal stage, Gary got a job at the NSA....and then chipped, ara....look they just got the team back together and Paris and Rosen's daughter are in cahoots.

Twas a solid opener, but you do smell a magic reset, plot holes and deja vu with added stupidity from our scooby gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,511 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

its relys too much on rosen being a wise old ... nanny, but it was quite good a war has started!

reminds me of continuum