Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deadline Day: Bring Out The Transfer Gimp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,558 ✭✭✭xtal191

Aquila wrote: »
    Who is the better player Falcao or Cavani?

Falcao in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Different type of players really.

Cavani can be more versatile also which might make him more appealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

kryogen wrote: »
    Different type of players really.

Cavani can be more versatile also which might make him more appealing

Cavani is more your drogba type, falcao is more your torres type IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Much of a muchness between Cavani and Falcao imo, they're both class acts.

Gun to my head i'd take Falcao.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I'm a toss up between Falco or Cavanni, I'd take Lavezzi, every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭QikBax

Falcao had a better season and is a little better in the air IMO.

Both are class acts though and would score goals for any team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

L'Equipe apparently saying that Thiago Silva will sign for PSG tomorrow. Well **** me if that's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Blatter wrote: »
    L'Equipe apparently saying that Thiago Silva will sign for PSG tomorrow. Well **** me if that's true.

That would be some bit of business if true. He cant be cheap at all but I supopse PSG wont be to hard pressed.

What would he go for €30-35Million, you'd imagine hes worth that all day long to a cash rich club.

Mooted fee is between €40-50m.

Ouch, my wallet!

Milan wouldn't sell him unless they were offered well over the realistic valuation. I don't blame them either, defenders of that quality are very hard to get hold of.

Agreed, I'd love to see T.Silva or Hummels at Chelsea but it would take insane money to tempt the clubs to sell and then you got to factor in wages and a players willingness to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,600 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Milan want to sign Dede from Vasco to replace Silva, so I read a week or two ago. Maybe things have changed but a good signing if it happens.

gavredking wrote: »
    That would be some bit of business if true. He cant be cheap at all but I supopse PSG wont be to hard pressed.

What would he go for €30-35Million, you'd imagine hes worth that all day long to a cash rich club.

30-35m upfront, maybe.

If they sold him for less than €50m I'd be pissed, and I still think we'd be mugging ourselves.

Thiago Silva is a player you cannot replace, he's the best CB in the world.

Milans finances are rightly f*cked so.

Selling the best defender in the world and Nesta leaving as well.

A centre half partner ship of Mexes and Mesbah sounds delicious.

Seaneh wrote: »
    30-35m upfront, maybe.

If they sold him for less than €50m I'd be pissed, and I still think we'd be mugging ourselves.

Thiago Silva is a player you cannot replace, he's the best CB in the world.

The beauty with PSG is if Milan name their price PSG are likely to bend for it.

Milan wont want to lose one of their prized assets not even for that money.

I agree with ya, T.Silva has been arguably the best CB around for the last 3 years and replacing him will be near impossible.

jamc wrote: »

Mesbah is a left winger who sometimes plays fullbacks.

Milan just wiped over 500k off their weekly wage bill (Zambrotta, van Bommel, Seedorf, Gattuso, Nesta, Inzaghi, Flamini) they are also owned by one of the richest men in the world, finances aren't an issue.

But if PSG make a stupid offer, Berlusconi will accept it.

We will probably sign either Astori or Salvatore Bocchetti anyway/

Seaneh wrote: »
    Mesbah is a left winger who sometimes plays fullbacks.

It was a joke based on my despair as a Milan fan and Mesbah's defensive "ability".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

55 mil for silve to psg according to goal.com :eek: extraordinary.

it seems theyre in for lavezzi as well. they really do mean business.

will cavani join city or juve or either? what about hamsik?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I'd love to see T Silva play. Haven't seen him yet, must be good with all this best in the world craic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Samich wrote: »
    I'd love to see T Silva play. Haven't seen him yet, must be good with all this best in the world craic :D

He is really good, he is certainly in the top 3 cb's in the game right now, arguably the best.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

It was a joke based on my despair as a Milan fan and Mesbah's defensive "ability".

A performance for the ages vs Arsenal last season :P

Paolo Bandini ‏@Paolo_Bandini
    Wow. Sportmediaset reporting Thiago Silva to #PSG is a done deal. €50m fee, €9m/year salary. #acmilan
    Expand
    Reply Retweeted Favorite

Baldini is a very good jounro, no idea how reliable Sportmediaset is however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dor83

If they do sell Thiago Silva then it is a big mistake by Milan, yes it is a lot of money but they will not get another player of his quality for that money. The only thing I can think is that Milan are thinking of the FFP rules and see this as a way of reducing the losses, but looking at the likes of Chelsea and PSG they don't seem to be worried about FFP so why should other teams. I also think they would be better off selling Ibra if they have to sell someone because at least they have Pato to replace him. It's not good for the league to have it's best players leaving either.

Where did Silva come from? Was he always promising? Only first heard of him this season tbh. Or did he just become good out of the blue?

LOL at someone having PSG stuck in the career performance table :pac:

Fluminense is where I first heard/seen the odd match of him in the Copa Libatadores. He looked a real player back then and was linked with Real at one point before Milan swooped him and signed him. Flum had a very good defensive record in that season where they finished runners up in the Copa Libatodores.

Since 2009 with Milan he has progressively improved every season, and put in many a MOTM performance for them as well as for the national Brazil team.

His claim as the best defender in the world isn't without any substance that's clear. Himself, Kompany and Hummels are far an away for me anyway, the best 3 CB's in the world.

dor83 wrote: »
    If they do sell Thiago Silva then it is a big mistake by Milan, yes it is a lot of money but they will not get another player of his quality for that money. The only thing I can think is that Milan are thinking of the FFP rules and see this as a way of reducing the losses, but looking at the likes of Chelsea and PSG they don't seem to be worried about FFP so why should other teams. I also think they would be better off selling Ibra if they have to sell someone because at least they have Pato to replace him. It's not good for the league to have it's best players leaving either.

Thing about selling Ibra though is you couldn't rely on Pato to go to the shop for a pint of milk. He'd probably end up in a nightclub and pull an unknown muscle.

Such a waste of talent

He's 28 this year I see, might aswell go and get a hape of money for himself in the few years he has left at the top. I doubt it was Milans choice I'm thinking?

If he does join PSG I'd say the main reason would be his relationship with Leonardo and Carlo Ancelotti, with money being secondary, its not on small money as it is!