Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post here every time you get something new!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Also, some games are considerably cheaper from the US, likes of Indiana Jones for example.
    Wouldn't mind Super Mario RPG either.

Yep noticed that myself. I'll be buying NTSC US & JP from here on out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭alpahaeagle

Few odds and ends I have collected over the last few days......

Thanks Cidey for the D32

2012-05-16222153.jpg

2012-05-16221949.jpg

Some Atari XL/XE games.....

2012-05-16222048.jpg

2012-05-16222028.jpg

And as a part of my 200 C64 tapes collected over the last few weeks.....
    Sparks my like.....

2012-05-16222349.jpg

2012-05-16222402.jpg

Also won an Atari 520stfm Boxed, Super Mario Sunshine and Geoff Crammond Atari ST Grand Prix 1.

That is all.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭alpahaeagle

Also was very close to owning a Commodore 64 Game system Boxed....Had it in my hands just could not agree on the deal.....:eek:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

IMG_20120518_142435.jpgNot as big as AEs haul but what I've nabbed in the past week , sadly the Amstrad is borked , I spent the last few days getting trying to coax the tape drive back to life , but on getting hold of an RGB cable it looks like the Mainboard is dead. :( on the plus side the seller is sending me on a replacement CPC so fair play there.Also I've found a nice basic cable mod that'll let me hook up an mp3 player fairly handily..;)
    The Carts are actually lovely tototek flashable ones :) cheers enternow.
    Oh and I've found a 2nd hand shop in Celbridge with a load of PS1 games , sadly they're a bit pricer than I'd like , but after playing pretty much every conversion of Pac-land for the V-Log I figure PAc world is its sort of sequel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭MrVestek

I'm on a bit of a Dreamcast buzz at the moment (as if you couldn't tell).

This just arrived today:

205519.jpg

Tested it out here in the office (a colleague just happened to have a Dreamcast in his desk, don't ask lol) and it didn't seem to work so I'll have to wait to get it home and hook it up to either of the TVs that I have or my spare VGA monitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

kevin2me wrote: »
    Sweet they pretty pricey ain't they.
    U buy of eBay or what coming from canada.
    Buddle bobble... god hours I spent throwing money into a cab down should of France for 3 days straight
    Top Top Soundtrack.
    Be a great PCB to beat ur high score on.

I got Rastan. Captain America and TMNT this week.
    No sounds on two. Need -5v for rastan
    and tmnt wasn't working
    But got refund so all's good.
    Bought it off a guy on klov(arcade-museum.com) 220usd+50usd postage(€215) inc postage which was quite reasonable, I sold my bootleg which had sound issues on ebay for €115 so it really only cost me €100.
    Cant wait to get the parts to make the jamma/taito adapter

I actually bought it from this guy who has one on ebay at the moment and is accepting offers, so I would say he'd accept anything in the region of what I paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

o1s1n wrote: »
    The price of it seems to increase at a faster rate than my Earthbound saving fund.

'Yay! I can afford it now!'

/Runs to ebay

/Game has increased a third in price.

:(

Wish it was Earthbound I got, or Chrono Trigger, those 2 are the next on my hit list, might aswell get the big spends out of the way early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevin2me

Bought it off a guy on klov(arcade-museum.com) 220usd+50usd postage(€215) inc postage which was quite reasonable

Wow thats great Price, I hear they can go for 300e,
    Plus upgrade from bootleg makes it a steal.... :) Well Done!!!

Time to boot it up on the Mame Cab, Uve inspired me,
    Bubble Bobble Song imprinted in my brain all day long LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,970 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

I found my old PS1!

Sadly I don't even have a TV that it would look decent on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭Doge

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    I found my old PS1!

Post here everytime you find something old!

waveform wrote: »
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/110814460430?ssPageName=STRK:MESINDXX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1436.l2649

image-2.jpg

Will probably even end up ordering that myself at some stage.

This appears to have got lost in the post.

The seller was really nice and when I asked for a replacement, he sent one, but also sent a refund also.

I told him I'd like to pay for the item, and that a refund was unnecessary but he refused to accept!

Ironically his name is Steve SO!

20640999.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Are we inclding PS2 stuff here? I've a gut feeling that gamestop are phasing out the last of em , it looks like most games have hit the sweetspot of 99c/1.99 for good games (previously most were still 3.99+ with only the odd random/sports/eyetoy at 99c), plus the usual buy 2 get 1 free may have gone nuts , got the following for a tenner (would only have been 8 but Killer seven, which I've wanted for a while was 1.99)
    th_IMG_20120519_161824.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

Mercenaries?

I only played it on the Xbox, but I distinctly remember good times being had. :D

Achilles wrote: »

Tested it out here in the office (a colleague just happened to have a Dreamcast in his desk, don't ask lol) and it didn't seem to work so I'll have to wait to get it home and hook it up to either of the TVs that I have or my spare VGA monitor.

What resolution does that output to?

The monitor may not support the resolution!

Edit: Just had a look at the FAQ here:
    www.gamefaqs.com/dreamcast/916412-dreamcast/faqs/2674

Q: Will the VGA box allow me to run games in higher resolutions ? A: No. Games will still run in 640x480, or 320x240 for lo-res games. The same as when displayed on a TV.

And on the Wiki:
    "displaying 640x480p60 (Progressive Scan, EDTV standard) at 31 kHz in RGBHV which allows it to
    connect to a computer monitor or EDTV/HDTV with VGA in."

The monitor may not support progressive scan @ 60 hz.

Probably best to try it out on an LCD / Plasma with VGA in.

a5y wrote: »
    Mercenaries?

I only played it on the Xbox, but I distinctly remember good times being had. :D

Only played Mercenaries 2 on the 360 & PC myself, and it's one of the most fun sandbox games I've ever played.

It's a little rough around the edges graphically though.

But it makes up for it with the sheer amount of vehicles you can drive, airstrikes you can call in, and the amount of stuff you can buy.

You can even take buildings out with anything from C4 to Nukes!

In terms of freedom, and vehicles it's similar to Battlefield 3 / Arma II, but in 3rd person.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Guess what, I'm a total hypocrite. Saw Rage had gotten in Wizardry: Tale of the Forsaken Land on the PS2 and after hearing how amazing it was I bought it yesterday.
    K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    I found my old PS1!

Get an RGB scart cable. Won't look as good as RGB on a CRT but much better than RF or ****ty composite.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Get an RGB scart cable. Won't look as good as RGB on a CRT but much better than RF or ****ty composite.

Just ordered one meself for the PS2.

Have only ever used composite upto now and the amount of ghosting/creeping or whatever it's called on the edges of menus and fonts, is nasty!

Can't wait to see how it looks through RGB.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

RGB looks glorious. It's a massive improvement.

What resolution does that output to?

The monitor may not support the resolution!

Edit: Just had a look at the FAQ here:
    www.gamefaqs.com/dreamcast/916412-dreamcast/faqs/2674

Q: Will the VGA box allow me to run games in higher resolutions ? A: No. Games will still run in 640x480, or 320x240 for lo-res games. The same as when displayed on a TV.

And on the Wiki:
    "displaying 640x480p60 (Progressive Scan, EDTV standard) at 31 kHz in RGBHV which allows it to
    connect to a computer monitor or EDTV/HDTV with VGA in."

The monitor may not support progressive scan @ 60 hz.

Probably best to try it out on an LCD / Plasma with VGA in.
    It outputs at 480p afaik.

Worked on both of my LCD TVs no problem anyway although I have to admit I'm a little bit disappointed... I don't see much of a difference between it and RGB Scart.

Achilles wrote: »
    It outputs at 480p afaik.

Worked on both of my LCD TVs no problem anyway although I have to admit I'm a little bit disappointed... I don't see much of a difference between it and RGB Scart.

VGA carries an RGB signal essentially and since this device has to convert S-video to RGB, then there's no way it's going to look better than RGB scart.

Handy yoke to have though.

VGA carries an RGB signal essentially and since this device has to convert S-video to RGB, then there's no way it's going to look better than RGB scart.

Handy yoke to have though.

Yeah... I suppose I had been reading too many US-Centric reviews about it. They'd have no way of doing RGB natively through SCART I suppose I should have thought about that before ordering it.

Ohh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Got myself a nice light little projector that I can use on retro consoles.
    Takes composite, svideo and vga and has a native res of 1024x768 so looks pretty decent at 640x480. It's fairly low spec for modern devices but is just about right for plugging some older consoles into if I suddenly need a 21" to 300" screen.

Best part, it was free :D
    A friends company was binning it and I said "hey, I'll take that".
    It's an LCD projector and one or two of the polarizers need replacing as they have a small bit of screen burn on them. Will only cost about 30 Euro to replace the parts direct from the manufacturer.
    Got the bag, remote, cables and all docs with it :)

dsc1417fj.jpg

dsc1418r.jpg

http://www.justprojectors.com.au/necnp305g.htm

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Was at the Balbriggan market this morning, frak all there tbh.
    Picked up a few 360 games though, Left 4 Dead, Grid and Just Cause 2.
    3 for a tenner but L4D looks v scratched, will have to get it resurfaced, but it is worth it, the other two seem fine.
    I was hoping to find some Sega or Ninty carts but they have become rare finds indeed at the market there.
    Even PS1 titles are rare now, tons of suck ass PS2 games though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,970 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Sold most of my PS2 collection (and some boxed MD & PS1 games) to The RAGE on Saturday, so give them a look-see and buy something.

I got Zelda: Minish Cap (GBA), PuyoPop Fever (GBA) and R-Type DX (GBC) in the trade, and bought a lovely pair of Koss PortaPros with some of the cash.

koss_porta_pro_-_on_fire_ear-pad_-14566951-frntl.jpg

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I actually had one (boxed, even), I meant I didn't have a CRT TV :)
    Anyway I didn't have many games anyway. I'll just buy any games I really want from US/JP PSN in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

Steve SI wrote: »
    dsc1418r.jpg

"Errr... well um... You see kids, when an Xbox and a Mac Mini are very much in love..."

Gamecube RGB scart arrived from consolegoods. Will be testing shortly

EnterNow wrote: »
    Gamecube RGB scart arrived from consolegoods. Will be testing shortly

Bad cross hatch pattern :(

Official cable it'll have to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

EnterNow wrote: »
    Bad cross hatch pattern :(

Official cable it'll have to be

Are all the pins on the SCART end populated ?
    Crack open the cover and disconnect pin 19 on the SCART plug. Some TVs will output a signal on this pin and can cause interference with other (typically) unshielded signals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Only played Mercenaries 2 on the 360 & PC myself, and it's one of the most fun sandbox games I've ever played.

I bought it because I thought the song "Oh No You Didnt" might be somewhere in the game itself :o:o
    CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Was at the Balbriggan market this morning, frak all there tbh.
    Picked up a few 360 games though, Left 4 Dead, Grid and Just Cause 2.
    3 for a tenner but L4D looks v scratched, will have to get it resurfaced, but it is worth it, the other two seem fine.
    I was hoping to find some Sega or Ninty carts but they have become rare finds indeed at the market there.
    Even PS1 titles are rare now, tons of suck ass PS2 games though!

yeah, alot more crap, but still the odd gem
    eg. a while back I got Zelda Windwaker Limited Edition mint for all of €1

Are all the pins on the SCART end populated ?
    Crack open the cover and disconnect pin 19 on the SCART plug. Some TVs will output a signal on this pin and can cause interference with other (typically) unshielded signals.

Yep, all populated & there was already a pin semi-lifted in the scart head so I presume that's it. Will check to be sure though. But honestly this is a seemingly well known issue with 3rd party GC scarts...the PAL GC has no native c-sync, & that's the issue methinks.