Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

bbam none of that negative oul' chat on here! :D I think we've turned a corner. The cold snip has started to go out of the air in the last few days.... well around here anyways.

RE possible fertiliser wastage. I don't think any part of the country has got an major deluges. I don't see any reason why the majority of the fertilser won't be there for the grass once the real heat comes.

If I was to be a little dubious about the whole fertiliser issue, it would be the nitrogen element I would be most concerned about.

I won't be going again anyway. What's done is done. If a real growth spurt came and you did go a second time you could find yourself in a situation where all nitrogen is not used up before you cut and that would spell disaster in the pit :o

At the risk of sounding like Joan Burton.... 'can I just say' ....

there's a lesson here somewhere for us all. Calendar farming don't work. Having this fertiliser and that fertiliser out because such a lad in the Journal has it out doesn't work. It's nature you gotta work with. If ground temp ain't right, you won't get much growth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Muckit wrote: »
    At the risk of sounding like Joan Burton.... 'can I just say' ....

there's a lesson here somewhere for us all. Calendar farming don't work. Having this fertiliser and that fertiliser out because such a lad in the Journal has it out doesn't work. It's nature you gotta work with. If ground temp ain't right, you won't get much growth.
    yup have to agree, every farm is different , wouldnt worry what joe soap up the road is doing, each to their own... walked the silage ground 2 weeks ago, was very happy, will go around it again on monday.... praying for good weather tomorrow as my daughter is making her first communion, but the journal has loads of rain for the north east tomorrow:cool: just aswell we have the bouncy castle in the shed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

I only spread last weekend (: it had been sitting in the yard for 4 weeks waiting to see some signs of growth before getting it out.
    We'll only be taking one silage cut so we shouldn't be under pressure.

Stock are eating way more grass than expected so if the weather doesn't improve grazing will be tight.

Good luck with the communion :)
    You'll have a ball no matter the weather and the bouncy castle in the shed is a great idea. How will ye fix it down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »
    bouncy castle....

*Heads to Louth*

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    *Heads to Louth*
    got a fantastic picture of my daughter at the top of a bouncy castle slide... she has the fear of god in her face... might try and post it later its very funny

bbam wrote: »
    I only spread last weekend (: it had been sitting in the yard for 4 weeks waiting to see some signs of growth before getting it out.
    We'll only be taking one silage cut so we shouldn't be under pressure.

Stock are eating way more grass than expected so if the weather doesn't improve grazing will be tight.

Good luck with the communion :)
    You'll have a ball no matter the weather and the bouncy castle in the shed is a great idea. How will ye fix it down?
    we tie it to the girders ... its a big shed... swept the floor yesterday:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

At the risk of sounding like Joan Burton.... 'can I just say' .... .

Just reminded me.
    Went to gift grub in Drogheda last weekend. Yer man Mario does Joan Burron better than she does herself! It was side splitting stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

praying for good weather tomorrow as my daughter is making her first communion

I was at one myself last weekend (And another one this weekend!), the parents had the ice cream van arranged to call by in the afternoon.
    I dunno who was more excited when he played the jingle, the kids or the adults:)
    It was small money too and went down a treat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Bizzum wrote: »
    I was at one myself last weekend (And another one this weekend!), the parents had the ice cream van arranged to call by in the afternoon.
    I dunno who was more excited when he played the jingle, the kids or the adults:)
    It was small money too and went down a treat!

Thats a cracking idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Thats a cracking idea

I thought so too. So I made it my business to find out how they did it. They seen the ice cream van in the local village the weekend before and asked would he be about on the day, and agreed to give him €50 to call which included 25 ice creams.
    The child herself was brought into the van to make a few as were any other kids that asked. In fact the odd adult got a go to:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Managed to get my bucket fed calf to suck cow lastnight , she calved a dead calf premature so took a while for milk to come to her properly and calf I bought was used of drinking out out of a bucket :(

Trained her to the tit and then onto cow... Mini achievement was happy enough but still along way to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Just drank a cup of tea made with a LIDL tea bag and it shocking bad. ALDI seems to beat them hands down. I'd just gotten used to the ALDI tea, which is only slightly worse than Lyons, but this LIDL stuff is around the same quality as whats in my slatted tank:P.

Jeez it's a tough day when you can't just have a lovely cuppa tea, Mrs Doyle would never stand for it;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

just do it wrote: »
    Just drank a cup of tea made with a LIDL tea bag and it shocking bad. ALDI seems to beat them hands down. I'd just gotten used to the ALDI tea, which is only slightly worse than Lyons, but this LIDL stuff is around the same quality as whats in my slatted tank:P.

Jeez it's a tough day when you can't just have a lovely cuppa tea, Mrs Doyle would never stand for it;):)

Barrys for the win!!

I suppose I should just be greatful I don't have the man flu at the minute:D:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Barrys for the win!!

and forget about tea bags if you want a decent cuppa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

snowman707 wrote: »

Spitting tea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

anyone in carrick on suir recently? hows cattle prices fairing?

ch heifers/blks 300/350kgs?

Yes I'm getting more particular (should that read grumpy?!) in my middle age, I may have to get a box of tea next time. What brand do you go for snowman, lyons or barrys?

(Important decisions been made on here today;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

II'll probably get shot for this but Tetleys if I'm shopping, best of the lot!!

Also prefer Walkers cheese and onion over Tayto! Better quality potatoe less oil and definitely less salty than our Tayto just IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Proper tae with atein and dhrinkin in it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

just do it wrote: »
    Yes I'm getting more particular (should that read grumpy?!) in my middle age, I may have to get a box of tea next time. What brand do you go for snowman, lyons or barrys?

(Important decisions been made on here today;))

Barry's
    johngalway wrote: »

good spring water is just as important ( hate the tea from the 'town' water)

remember back in the 70's we travelled to support the local macra who were in the final of the public speaking competition, needles to say we well "lubricated" when we eventually arrived and the festivities were over and tea and sandwiches were been served,

the tea was dire and my mate muttered 'this tastes like p1$$' the comment was oveheard by one of the hostess who replied " my good man when I make tea i Make tea and when I make water I make water "

quick as a flash my mate replied "missus is there any fear you got your pots mixed up"

also you cant beat tea off the aga cooker,have to agree about the lidl tea bags they are crap.. When i get up in the morning i put the kettle on the slow plate, then come in a hour later and bring a cup of tea out to the parlour with me.... pure heaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Man of Aran

johngalway wrote: »

aye , when the spoon dont sink, then its good strong brewed tae ... with a skiin on it!:)

you could trot a mouse on the top of it :D

bring a cup of tea out to the parlour with me....

Is that the milking parlour or the sitting room you're talking about?...:D

no parlours in our house:)

You won't beat tae out of the flask! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Finno59

Maybe someone can help me with this, i received this recording book in the post today but the letter that came with it/ if it did has been lost and i didnt get to read it so i dont know what its about. Are they sending these out to everyone or is it because i am in the process of joining the IHFA, I emailed the woman 2 days ago ( so she could have sent it) about when we'd be ratified and she said after the meeting on the 23rd may they'd sent out a letter of conformation and other stuff. So that leaves me wondering who sent this book and do i have to use it or continue registering online? :confused:

P.s the envelopes that came with it to be sent back with registrations are addressed to Nat calf reg servicve, animal events agency, Clonakilty
    Its a good thick book with plenty of events sheets 1 white and 1 yellow

Finno59 wrote: »
    Maybe someone can help me with this, i received this recording book in the post today but the letter that came with it/ if it did has been lost and i didnt get to read it so i dont know what its about. Are they sending these out to everyone or is it because i am in the process of joining the IHFA, I emailed the woman 2 days ago ( so she could have sent it) about when we'd be ratified and she said after the meeting on the 23rd may they'd sent out a letter of conformation and other stuff. So that leaves me wondering who sent this book and do i have to use it or continue registering online? :confused:

P.s the envelopes that came with it to be sent back with registrations are addressed to Nat calf reg servicve, animal events agency, Clonakilty
    Its a good thick book with plenty of events sheets 1 white and 1 yellow
    What recording book? Sounds like the sucker cow welfare scheme but you can alternately do all that online