Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

because i rock up with insurance cover, my own car taxed, tested and with my full license, the seller with a driving ban was more qualified to do the test drive was he? i'm not taking a 250k ferrari out or anything.

regardless, the car was not as described, even the pictures lied so to speak.

anybody sees a nice glanza do post it here. in the lenister area. appears theres nothing but ****e for sale. dont want one caked in mods earlier because i dont want the insurnace hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

andyseadog wrote: »
    because i rock up with insurance cover, my own car taxed, tested and with my full license, the seller with a driving ban was more qualified to do the test drive was he? i'm not taking a 250k ferrari out or anything.

Jaysis lad calm down, just having a conversation :) No offence intended
    andyseadog wrote: »
    regardless, the car was not as described, even the pictures lied so to speak.

anybody sees a nice glanza do post it here. in the lenister area. appears theres nothing but ****e for sale. dont want one caked in mods earlier because i dont want the insurnace hassle.

Best try find one on an owners club. Dungdeal will be full of sh1tboxes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Jaysis lad calm down, just having a conversation :) No offence intended

Best try find one on an owners club. Dungdeal will be full of sh1tboxes

ah i wasn't snapping at yous sorry if it came out that way, just more cross over your man not letting me take it out, makes little sense to me.

been browsing toc-irl, im a pretty active member over there (toyota fanboi number one :D) 2 nice original ones for sale, one was just sold, but theres another in cork just out of my budget.

think i just have to bide my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Yeah you were just trying to get one over on me :pac:

Tease-smiley.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Compressor and gun booked for the morning :D

Now to fit this rather large and heavy brake servo + master cylinder...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Thanks guys for them replys and to the user that posted the bubble wrap popping app thingy. :cool:

Anyway, Nothing special, But I drove a landcruser 3.0 for the first time today. I was helping a neighbour with to move catle. Then he nipped of to the shops in his car and left the keys to the toyota in the ignition. I done a few donuts. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

I might have found somewhere to live, fingers crossed

*does lil dance*

I've just organised slicks and Endless brake pads for the trackday next month, going to fit an exhaust system to the car for the day too, really gonna drive the nails out of it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Well that was the easiest servo and master cylinder change EVER! 4 nuts, 2 brake pipes, one pin, vacuum hose and a clip... 10 mins to remove, fit and bleed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Great to see the Traffic Corps out tonight in a very good spot with a checkpoint

Shame they werent checking D/L's or breathalizing :( (still yet to be breathilized myself)

glad to see all the "lads" in polos, golfs with their stripey jumpers and best pair of "Nike" runners with their sun lounger seats getting fines for no tax etc.

Sad to see a very bad accident on the way home too.

Taxi and showroom Dealership car with advertising (2012) blue something - Both must be total write offs from what i saw :( didnt see any drivers, only guards and tow truck man.

weird thought from today,

Ireland - Many rules on roads but still accidents and crap
    India - No rules and everything is fine ! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Yeah, the last couple of weeks the guards have been out in force in Kilbarrack, Donaghmede. Mainly checking tax, like yourself, I'm yet to see a mandatory breathalizing checkpoint though. Good to see, but unfortunately it seems more like revenue collection than road safety!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Fiona

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Yeah, the last couple of weeks the guards have been out in force in Kilbarrack, Donaghmede. Mainly checking tax, like yourself, I'm yet to see a mandatory breathalizing checkpoint though. Good to see, but unfortunately it seems more like revenue collection than road safety!!!

Im driving 6 years and have only ever passed two check points in my life and all they looked at was my window and waved me on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

robbie_998 wrote: »
    Great to see the Traffic Corps out tonight in a very good spot with a checkpoint

Shame they werent checking D/L's or breathalizing :( (still yet to be breathilized myself)

glad to see all the "lads" in polos, golfs with their stripey jumpers and best pair of "Nike" runners with their sun lounger seats getting fines for no tax etc.

Sad to see a very bad accident on the way home too.

Taxi and showroom Dealership car with advertising (2012) blue something - Both must be total write offs from what i saw :( didnt see any drivers, only guards and tow truck man.

weird thought from today,

Ireland - Many rules on roads but still accidents and crap
    India - No rules and everything is fine ! :pac:

India has huge amounts of road accidents per 100,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Fiona wrote: »
    mmcn90 wrote: »

Im driving 6 years and have only ever passed two check points in my life and all they looked at was my window and waved me on.

What part of the country are you from Fiona??
    I've been randomly breathalised 3 times in the last year or there abouts! Luckily I don't drink anymore :) been through quite a few tax checkpoints aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Fiona

gollywog wrote: »
    What part of the country are you from Fiona??
    I've been randomly breathalised 3 times in the last year or there abouts! Luckily I don't drink anymore :) been through quite a few tax checkpoints aswell!

Up until the start of the month I have been living in Ashbourne since I started driving. Main roads I would be on would N2 / M50 / city centre driving.

I never even got hassle when I was driving my E46 on the classic plates. I must just have an innocent face :o

Fiona wrote: »
    Up until the start of the month I have been living in Ashbourne since I started driving. Main roads I would be on would N2 / M50 / city centre driving.

I never even got hassle when I was driving my E46 on the classic plates. I must just have an innocent face :o

Ah i see,
    Im from wexford out in the sticks and every time I've only been breathalised on back roads, never in a town! Drink driving must be rampant among the farmers down here or something! If you have an innocent face, I must have an awful dodgy looking one altogether! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

If you have an innocent face, I must have an awful dodgy looking one altogether! :p

Well if your username is anything to go by...

:eek::pac:

dar83 wrote: »
    Well if your username is anything to go by...

:eek::pac:

I had someone else say that to me before and was wondering,
    just googled it there and now i see your point, jesus....
    Is there anyway i can change my username???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

Didn't realise 123.ie don't insure Impreza WRX or Evo's :confused:

Currently with them, and I'm having trouble finding a manual S60 T5, so getting quotes for all sorts of other cars.

They let you go through the whole process of filling in details, then say:
    Thank you. Unfortunately we are unable to offer you a quote at this time.

Rang them thinking they'll sort it over phone, and I was told regardless of who you are, experience etc, they don't insure them at all.

WTF?????????

Waste of time on the net and ringing them :rolleyes:

(for the record I asked him what they don't insure so I don't waste my time in future, he said also: Celicas and some Legacy's)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

I had someone else say that to me before and was wondering,
    just googled it there and now i see your point, jesus....
    Is there anyway i can change my username???

Lol, subscribe for a month to boards and you can. Think it's a fiver?
    How did you come up with that name if you didn't know what it was?

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Lol, subscribe for a month to boards and you can. Think it's a fiver?
    How did you come up with that name if you didn't know what it was?

When i was a kid one my great uncles used to call me a gollywog joking from time to time.... really sorry if ive offended anyone here??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

When i was a kid one my great uncles used to call me a gollywog joking from time to time.... really sorry if ive offended anyone here??

Ha, I doubt you have. We used to have gollywog statues on the mantle. My mam loved them. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Noticed it when you first started posting but its spelt with and i rather than a y so you're not too bad :)

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Ha, I doubt you have. We used to have gollywog statues on the mantle. My mam loved them. :pac:
    Noticed it when you first started posting but its spelt with and i rather than a y so you're not too bad :)

Well thats not so bad then I suppose :o
    Sorry anyway!

Lads, I need a front ABS sensor for the 7er and priced it in Rathgar Motor Factors @ €119!:eek: Micks Garage has them for €54 but when I went to order I noticed they only have rears. Did a quick search online and found this for £22.50! :eek:

Anyone used these before or see a problem with using this part? Car is a facelift E38 BTW.

Never used them before but at that price it's worth the risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Jemmy wrote: »
    I might have found somewhere to live, fingers crossed

*does lil dance*

When is the party:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

pred racer wrote: »

Forget about the party mate, It would be the place for a motor meet. Free grub and all! :)

Never used them before but at that price it's worth the risk

Can't really go wrong at that rate can you? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

pred racer wrote: »

You lot would have me evicted before I even settled :eek::p

Would anyone be up for a BBQ meet during the summer though? I'd suggest my place in wicklow but it might be a trek for a few, could tent it in the field next door :D