Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yes Kenny Dalglish and Liverpool are done. MOD POST #425 *ALL READ*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If you read his latest media interview he seems to know his fate already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

mike65 wrote: »
    If you read his latest media interview he seems to know his fate already.

What did he say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Blatter wrote: »
    What did he say?
    Dalglish said: “I was asked to come back here and it was an honour and a privilege to do so. There was no hesitation in my decision, and if I was asked again tomorrow, I would do exactly the same thing.

“For me, the aim was to move the club forward and that is what we’re all trying to do to the best of our ability.

“But if the progress stops, then something else needs to be looked at.

“Where the line is going to be drawn, I don’t know. I am sure that everyone will have set different targets that they would see as being progress.

“But the most important people here are the people who own the football club, and the people who support the football club.

“I think they will be better judges than anyone else.”

Dalglish added: “I don’t know whether winning the Carling Cup and reaching the FA Cup Final means we have been successful.

“People have to judge for themselves and if they still want to batter me that’s also up to them.

“It doesn’t matter what happens to Kenny Dalglish. All that matters is Liverpool Football Club. As long as this club doesn’t suffer, then that’s OK with me. I’ll just come into work every day, work as hard as I can and live up to my responsibilities – and we will see what happens from there.”

Dalglish said: “The beliefs and philosophy that Bill Shankly put in place will never change at this football club.

“If that’s what Shanks believed then maybe a few people should listen to him.

“The problem is the goalposts keep moving. Some people say that winning trophies is more important, other say it’s all about finishing in the top four.”

He added: “The overall view this season was to improve, give the supporters a bit of pride back and put a smile on their faces.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Yes he is done. Also rumours on some fan sites by the dreaded "ITK's" that Steve Clarke is being moved on after the final game of the season. Quite frankly, this could be a good thing, he gained his rep on his Chelsea involvement with Mourinho, who has had success subsequently without Clarke, all Clarke has done has contributed to getting West Ham relegated with Zola.

Love and respect for the Kenny in the city and amongst supporters means that reality is being suspended until he is sacked.

Then people will finally see how massive a task it is for us to get back into the top 4.

People also forget that Chelsea and Arsenal have had very poor seasons by their own standards yet they are streets above us. They will improve somewhat next season, so we need to improve tenfold. Also factor in that Newcastle have been clever in the transfer market, to the extent that their first XI is quite possibly alot better than ours.

This talk of progress is crazy. Massive investment with little return. No european football to distract us from league games either.

People need to get their heads out of their arses and liverpool fans need to live in the here and now. Or else all we will be doing is talking about glorious history for the next 20-30 years whilst we have been well and trully left behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Hmm, sounds resigned alright.

That tone could change if he wins the FA cup though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,305 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'm a neutral here, not a fan of any EPL team, but Liverpool are shocking and getting worse. Forget cups, they prove nothing, look at Portsmouth. Leagues matter and the pool are now turning into an embarrassment.

the squad has few players you'd keep if the clearout that's desperately needed ever happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

mike65 wrote: »

to me that seems like Kenny in politician mode. Tugging the heart strings and preaching the good word of Liverpool to the masses. And the fans lap that stuff up.
    Any word of Shankly reminds the fans of how great the club is. The club they support.

Can someone tell me what these "Principles of Shankly" are? I'm a liverpool fan, and I mean no disrespect to the great man, and the foundations he laid. Paisley carried it on, Joe Fagan did his bit and Kenny added to the bootroom legacy.

But the empire crumbled. And the game has changed.

What exactly is this "Liverpool Way" ? Other than romantic guff to make it seem like we are a better club to anyone else? I'm baffled, is it a state of mind or what? Applauding opposition goalkeepers when they run to mind the net at the Kop end?

Its something of very little substance.

The only thing recaptured from the old days is Kenny (like Shanks) being able to hynotize the hardcore support, by spouting romantic nonsene about Liverpool FC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

^POTD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

When is that interview from? Was it after last week's cup semi final??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,899 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Jayob10 wrote: »
    Yes he is done. Also rumours on some fan sites by the dreaded "ITK's" that Steve Clarke is being moved on after the final game of the season. Quite frankly, this could be a good thing, he gained his rep on his Chelsea involvement with Mourinho, who has had success subsequently without Clarke, all Clarke has done has contributed to getting West Ham relegated with Zola.

christ, I don't know about that!

Clarke has been fantastic for liverpool! In fact the only thing we've been consistently good at since he came in is the area He's in control of - defense!

He turned around an absolutely pathetic defense in the first half of last year, to giving us the 3rd best defense in the league this year.

Regardless what happens with Kenny, I'd like Clarke to have every chance of staying on - I hate these stupid staff clear-outs that happen when a manager leaves.

Also, it's ridiculous to simply write off Clarke's achievements with Chelsea, assisting in creating probably the best defensive powerhouse the league has ever seen, simply because Mourinho has had success elsewhere. If he takes some blame in West Hams relegation under Zola, then he takes some credit for Chelsea's achievements under Mourinho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,837 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

NIMAN wrote: »
    I'm a neutral here, not a fan of any EPL team, but Liverpool are shocking and getting worse. Forget cups, they prove nothing, look at Portsmouth. Leagues matter and the pool are now turning into an embarrassment.

the squad has few players you'd keep if the clearout that's desperately needed ever happens.
    I love the way people discard cups by picking out Portsmouth.

What about all the other teams that won the FA Cup?

I'll tell you who has won it in the last 17 years and thats Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester United and Manchester City and then of course Portsmouth. Of course that Portsmouth win proves everything while the other teams who have shared it over the other 16 years mean nothing. I'm including this year of course which will be another win for one of those teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

to me that seems like Kenny in politician mode. Tugging the heart strings and preaching the good word of Liverpool to the masses. And the fans lap that stuff up.
    Any word of Shankly reminds the fans of how great the club is. The club they support.

Can someone tell me what these "Principles of Shankly" are? I'm a liverpool fan, and I mean no disrespect to the great man, and the foundations he laid. Paisley carried it on, Joe Fagan did his bit and Kenny added to the bootroom legacy.

What exactly is this "Liverpool Way" ? Other than romantic guff to make it seem like we are a better club to anyone else? I'm baffled, is it a state of mind or what? Applauding opposition goalkeepers when they run to mind the net at the Kop end?

The only thing recaptured from the old days is Kenny (like Shanks) being able to hynotize the hardcore support, by spouting romantic nonsene about Liverpool FC.

Great post.

It's like having a chat with your grandda about years ago when the lads would go out on the sauce for the whole weekend and get home and the dinner would be on the table not a bother.

Then you try and do the same thing this day and age and you're put out of the gaff.*

This may or may not have happened in my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

Thats a pretty immense post, fair play, hits the nail on the head

Lots of talk of "the liverpool way", nobody ever says what the hell this special way is supposed to be?

Is it to spunk away money on expensive flops? Is it to harp on about the past so often? does it involve failing to bring the club into the 21st century off the field resulting in stadium issues, failing to cash in on new revenue streams etc....? Failing to recognise that the landscape of the modern game has changed perhaps?

That above post is one for the main Liverpool thread, love to see what our own supporters have to say about the "Liverpool way". and if its anything of substance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

for me he is done, almost certainly

but only time will tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

To be honest, I'd love if more clubs' fans did this, and were it a unique Liverpool trait, it'd certainly be one fans could be proud of. Can't knock a bit of bloody courtesy at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Strong rumors circulating that Dalglish is going to get the sack very soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

around 4 hours to late with that news buddy :rolleyes:

ricero wrote: »
    around 4 hours to late with that news buddy :rolleyes:

The relevant thread needed a bumb.

Better late than never ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,225 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

There is enough shít talk in here already!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

First.....

tCp90.gif

Seriously though, it wouldn't be a massive surprise to see Dalglish leaving "the football club", would it?
    I dont think so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

I think what he may have meant is you are a bit late as it would seem Kenny has not been sacked and has returned to the UK after his scheduled meeting with FSG.
    Carry on though Willy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,375 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

it would seem Kenny has not been sacked

Thank God.

amiable wrote: »
    I think what he may have meant is you are a bit late as it would seem Kenny has not been sacked and has returned to the UK after his scheduled meeting with FSG.
    Carry on though Willy :)

or maybe he's flying back to Liverpool with his tail between his legs and a P45 in his back pocket.

Wouldn't be any less than he deserves but i sincerely hope that's not the case.

J. Marston wrote: »
    Thank God.

I'm not sure he had anything to do with it tbh. He's working with Sky these days afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

or maybe he's flying back to Liverpool with his tail between his legs and a P45 in his back pocket.

Have you confirmed this Will?

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Have you confirmed this Will?

Do you have difficulty with reading? I said MAYBE ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Wouldn't be any less than he deserves but i sincerely hope that's not the case.

He arrived back early this morning without a P45 in any pocket.
    This rumour you posted was after it was established he wasn't sacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

as a Liverpool fan if he was to leave and we brought in a young hungry world class manager id be happy but if Kenny was to stay i also would be happy as long as he got the appropriate backing. but if the king was to step aside and we were to replace him wit a inexperienced manager at the top level such as martinez i would be bitterly disappointed with the new owners as i feel we need a proven world class manager

has it been fully established that he won't be sacked though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

You gotta take into account the Willy is a Chelsea fan and has trouble understanding the concept of a manager getting a second season.