Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

dar31 wrote: »
    finally got ground ploughed for maize, hope we get 2 dry days this week to get it in
    204785.jpg204786.jpg

plastic or in the open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Seaba

johnpawl wrote: »
    so, where do ye draw the line at too muscely to breed?
    Sorry meant to reply earlier.
    We look at the hips/pins either side of the tail head. We don't go out with the measuring tape or anything but you sorta know by looking as to whether there is much room there. We just found that with some of our BB heifers, they are narrow in that area. Also there is no 'give' in that area when they calf - its nearly all muscle which does not move easily. A 'softer' cow seems to open up more when calving. Again all cows are different and I am sure many farmers have BB cows that would calf anything.
    I suppose for some it depends on what type of calf you want - some farmers down our way don't mind throwing the jack on everything that calves/have a few C-sections, if they get a great calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Handling cattle this morning. I've fenced off a roadway leading to paddocks from the shed and it has made life so much easier. They get nuts each time they come in and it is making handling them such a dream! This roadway is only in place a few weeks, the place is starting to come together :)
    20120513234422.jpg

This cow and another one like her are breeding the best calves in the place. Note she's not too muscular and she's still relatively young (5 or 6yo). She's got scope and produces plenty milk. Place a terminal sire on her and she'll spit out the calf, produce a great weanling, and go back in calf (fingers crossed anyway!). I'm in the camp that don't believe replacements should be too muscular.
    20120513234555.jpg

And here they are going out the gap. They're getting quieter and easier to handle all the time. Unfortunately I'm not finished the roadways yet but this one they're on leads to 5 paddocks and it has improved life no end! I hope by the end of May to have the other roadway fenced and finally, after 4 years, be finished fencing, other than maintenance of course!
    20120513234721.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

just do it wrote: »
    I'm in the camp that don't believe replacements should be too muscular.

It's a hard one to call, for me anyway. A real good U grade heifer that goes to the bull can be a super cow if kept at the right condition for calving. Ideally if they carry the muscle gene and pass it on rather than exhibit it on their ar$e!
    Most of the best cows at home would be cows that have double muscle breed back in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

I'm wondering will I run into problems with this lady. 13 months old now
    dscn0440be.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

A chx replacement heifer, year old. She will be getting an easy calving part.
    dscn0429vs.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

dscn0440be.jpg
    send her on to legs:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Seaba wrote: »
    ...We look at the hips/pins either side of the tail head. We don't go out with the measuring tape or anything but you sorta know by looking as to whether there is much room there. ....
    For me, this is the starting point when choosing a heifer. Even if she is wide at the hips, I'd still like her to have the width at the tail pins. A good square boxy shape. The tail head should slope down too, not stand proud. Any cows or heifers I had problems calving all seem to have proud tail-heads.
    just do it wrote: »
    ... They get nuts each time they come in and it is making handling them such a dream!...
    I'm starting AI at the moment. I give the cows a few dairy nuts every day in the corner of the field near the pen. All, except a few crafy bitches, come running to fight over them. Like all good animal trainers, you have to use food as a reward..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Right, here goes...

A bit of the new farm roadway created last year - still waiting for a proper fence to be put up either side of it... :(
    204882.jpg

Enjoying the sunshine.
    204883.jpg

Few hogs I kept from last year.
    204884.jpg

leg wax wrote: »
    send her on to legs:rolleyes:

fek it, I'll chance it myself:p

new suckler unit.

shedo.jpg

dscn0439nw.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

new suckler unit.

shedo.jpg

dscn0439nw.jpg

That looks the job there. Cant beat the bit of comfort in the winter with a good set up like that . ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

new suckler unit.

dscn0439nw.jpg

is your feedind barrier going between girder at slats. what lenth is your overhang??

Richk2012 wrote: »
    That looks the job there. Cant beat the bit of comfort in the winter with a good set up like that . ;)
    Hope you're ight. spent along time mulling it over. Eventually finished on this floor plan

Dupont wrote: »
    is your feedind barrier going between girder at slats. what lenth is your overhang??

tis ya, last bay is 18ft9 to allow for cubicles as shown on floor plan.
    overhang is 8ft

Pics of easy calving cows

Following on from earlier post. Maybe people could post pics of easy calving cows they have. It might help people when choosing a breeding heifer. I'll start with this one first. I reckon she would calf anything.
    How about pics of cows that have trouble calving too?

dsc02413h.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

tis ya, last bay is 18ft9 to allow for cubicles as shown on floor plan.
    overhang is 8ft

ah i see now nice job. your well on the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

pakalasa wrote: »

Following on from earlier post. Maybe people could post pics of easy calving cows they have. It might help people when choosing a breeding heifer. I'll start with this one first. I reckon she would calf anything.

dsc02413h.jpg

did you make the anti backing bar pak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭limo_100

dsc02413h.jpg

what stops here from pushing it back pak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Ah lads! Can we stop quoting posts with big pics in them please? especially when it was only the last post. its slowwing the whole job up

did you make the anti backing bar pak?
    limo_100 wrote: »
    what stops here from pushing it back pak?
    Ya, welded it up from scrap. The gap on it is slightly bigger than the pipe so it locks when pushed back sideways. There's a 10mm bolt across underneath too.

Hope you're ight. spent along time mulling it over. Eventually finished on this floor plan
    DELUXE :)

Can post both!!! Will get going with the camera again

(Edited to remove pic for bogman. Smartphone automatically includes them :;

dscn0440be.jpg

Who knows? You might. We have bulled similar heifers and usually manage to get the calves out!
    Indeed many PB Lim heifers will be of a similar type to herself above.
    If she is out of a good cow, she is the type of heifer I'd bull.

Good Idea. I can post cows in both categories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

stanflt wrote: »
    plastic or in the open?
    putting it under plastic, sowing tomorrow hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

p5090152001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Right, here goes...

A bit of the new farm roadway created last year - still waiting for a proper fence to be put up either side of it... :(

Enjoying the sunshine.

Excellent photos John! Lovely rolling countryside. I know f**k all about sheep, but those lambs seem to me to be in great order and shaping up nicely for this time of year.

That optimizer software thing really did a great job in making the sheep pop out of the photo, must have a dabble with it ....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Right, here goes...

Enjoying the sunshine.

nice pics john, know similarly little about sheep (except how tasty they are) but they look well, as does the place.

is it the camera or does she actually have a rectangular ass?

better to spend longer thinking about it than to be cursing it afterwards.

when do you hope to be finished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

JohnBoy wrote: »
    is it the camera or does she actually have a rectangular ass?
    She must be one of those dublin bus cows Justin does be on about!!