Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Bodacious wrote: »
    Is it on their website or paper copy ?

Link in my last post to it.

Lads, did any of ye buy a Jarmet sprayer lately? Looking for a 400 liter dipped sprayer. Do they come with a handlance and self fill pump and what kind of money would you be talking? From reading old threads it seems to be whites up north that are the cheapest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

whelan1 wrote: »
    i rang bandon again, she said i would have to ring the dvo again, explained what the dvo "lady" was like, she said no problem i will sort all that here for you:D i said thank you very much, now problem is sorted no thanks to dvo wagon

There you go, maybe the dvo lady is right. Treat people like s***, then they are half frightened of you and then you don't have to do anything;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Lads, did any of ye buy a Jarmet sprayer lately? Looking for a 400 liter dipped sprayer. Do they come with a handlance and self fill pump and what kind of money would you be talking? From reading old threads it seems to be whites up north that are the cheapest.

ya got one from whites there a yr or two back, came with handlance, we went for model that wasnt self filling, i think it was 1150 or something like that, courier brought it down. a few small problems with seals which they posted down to me after. the hand wash part the little taps doesnt work, only small things, for the money they are grand

Well for all I would be doing it would do. Normally borrow one of your man I do the silage with but its so hard to get a right day to go spraying you would want your own one really. A friend over the road was going to go halves on it.

ya same as that, cousin is halves with me, sure its barely used

I might go ringing tomorrow. I emailed whites and the brogans yesterday but I got no reply!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

I emailed whites and the brogans yesterday but I got no reply!!

Have to say that really annoys me...
    Companies need to be on the ball, it suits some of us to email in queries... We still have money to spend !!

bbam wrote: »
    I emailed whites and the brogans yesterday but I got no reply!!

Have to say that really annoys me...
    Companies need to be on the ball, it suits some of us to email in queries... We still have money to spend !!
    +1 there bbam, I'm a bit shy on the phone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

I bought one of those 2 years ago. galvanised, self fill, handlance 400litre... the same as the one you are thinkin about.
    it was 1250 from mc cords in cookstown. For the money they are grand. as you said the window for spraying is very small this time of year and its hard to beat your own but they are soft and light...if I was to go again I'd have spent an extra 1500 on a stronger model.
    Buy cheap buy twice as the saying goes..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

blue5000 wrote: »
    Ya the lad that scans for me can do the heavier pregnant cows on the side. Only works from about 6 months on.
    Ah right I knew I wasn't dreamin....
    How accurate is it regarding time, sex and twins do you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I mean without putting the probe through the rectum and instead scanning from the side of the animal ?

Great stuff. I'd never heard of it being done for cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Whats the difference in going halves or borrowing it? It will still never be in your place when u want it.

The lad I borrow it off is a contractor I work with 8 miles away, when I want to go spraying he normally has spraying to do aswel. The lad I was going buying it with works 5 days a week, has a small farm and would only need to use it one or 2 days in the year and we only live over the road from each other, the land I have to spray is actually closer to his house than mine. It's very hard to get agood day for spraying and by the time I'm gone down to borrow the other one the most of the day is gone if he's not using it himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Has JohnGalway fallin' off the face of the planet? Haven't seen any posts/pics from him in a while... ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Muckit wrote: »
    Has JohnGalway fallin' off the face of the planet? Haven't seen any posts/pics from him in a while... ??

Two guys are walking through the woods and come across this big deep
    hole.
    "Wow...that looks deep."

"Sure does... toss a few pebbles in there and see how deep it is."

They pick up a few pebbles and throw them in and wait... no noise.

"Jeeez. That is REALLY deep... here.. throw one of these great big rocks
    down there. Those should make a noise."

They pick up a couple football-sized rocks and toss them into the hole
    and wait... and wait. Nothing.

They look at each other in amazement. One gets a determined look on his
    face and says, "Hey...over here in the weeds, there's a
    railroad tie. Help me carry it over here. When we toss THAT sucker in,
    it's GOTTA make some noise."

The two men drag the heavy tie over to the hole and heave it in. Not a
    sound comes from the hole.

Suddenly, out of the nearby woods, a sheep appears, running like the
    wind. It rushes toward the two men, then right past them,
    running as fast as it's legs will carry it. Suddenly it leaps in the air
    and into the hole.
    The two men are astonished with what they've just seen...
    Then, out of the woods comes a farmer who spots the men and ambles over.
    Hey... you two guys seen my sheep out here?

You bet we did! Craziest thing I ever seen! It came running like crazy
    and just jumped into this hole!

Nah, says the farmer, That couldn't have been MY sheep. My sheep was
    chained to a railroad tie.

John is still looking for that sheep.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Jesus :eek: So that's what happened to Baaaaaaaaaabra, me best ewe!

I go away for less than 24 hours and the FBI are called :D

I've no hair brained schemes on the go at the moment so no threads to post and PhotoBucket say I'm too popular (until the 18th anyway) to let me post any more of my photos :D

(Must remember to bring the tagger the next time I'm in Mayo and even out that other ear :p )

johngalway wrote: »

(Must remember to bring the tagger the next time I'm in Mayo and even out that other ear :p )

Got a few replys there now. Whites €1180 for a 400 liter galvinised with 10m booms.

johngalway wrote: »
    I go away for less than 24 hours and the FBI are called :D

I've no hair brained schemes on the go at the moment so no threads to post

Phew! Your OK! :D I hope you got yourself the IFJ this week, sheep special... you'I soon have more things to be scheming about! ;)

Got a few replys there now. Whites €1180 for a 400 liter galvinised with 10m booms.

make sure you can get parts handy for whatever sprayer you purchase. You'I always need to get a few nozzles etc or more if it gets frost damage over a hard winter ;)

in fairness there seems to be heaps of the jarmet stuff about and whites have sent me nozzles etc twice, on both occasions they had the address wrong but the stuff still arrived eventually :rolleyes:

Phew! Your OK! :D I hope you got yourself the IFJ this week, sheep special... you'I soon have more things to be scheming about! ;)

OK? God no, sure don't us farmers always have something to bitch and moan about :pac: I'm "not too bad" :D

Nah I don't buy it, but I'm sure the ould fella might have done, thanks for the heads up I'll have to check it out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Driving day today here, good view of the country, my fields are so small:(!!! 500km up already and heading for a refuel :mad:

Time to get a good horse again Bob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,043 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Driving day today here, good view of the country, my fields are so small:(!!!

If it helps I'll invite you up to my few acres in North Mayo - i guarantee you'll leave feeling much better about your fields:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

-1.5 here last night.
    Good white frost all round and had to leave car running to defrost. No sign of a burst of growth just yet. Madness!

bbam wrote: »
    -1.5 here last night.
    Good white frost all round and had to leave car running to defrost. No sign of a burst of growth just yet. Madness!

Ken Ring (NZ long range forecaster) was on radio the other day. He didn't exactly have a great prediction for Ireland. Below average temps and higher rainfall. Dry spells end of June, end of July and sometime in October.

I'm not sure I believe in long range forecasting, but all the same after last year In this part of the country) it didn't make for the happiest listening!

After spending the last 5 hours walking looking for a cow that's gone missing calving and no sign of her, I'm fit to crack up now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

After spending the last 5 hours walking looking for a cow that's gone missing calving and no sign of her, I'm fit to crack up now!!
    well get back out there and keep walking:D,nothing worse when you know what she is at, fingers crossed its a bull.