If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Lads if i get a Qca of 2.48 passing all my exams in first semester and a Qca of 1.8 in second getting 2 D's do i have to do repeats

2.48 + 1.8= 4.28/2= 2.14 qca for the year.

So no repeats, unless you want to clear the d's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 panserbjorne

It was Jerry wasn't it!

haha it was indeed the Flan man. It was about two years ago, only reason I remember was because he was on a six week ban at the time for stamping in a match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 BlueFlowers

haha it was indeed the Flan man. It was about two years ago, only reason I remember was because he was on a six week ban at the time for stamping in a match

Saw that also! It was hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

mud wrote: »
    What happened to "attack the post not the poster"?

Anyway on topic. Facing an exam in the PE hall tomorrow. Man I hate that venue!

got the fright of my life when i discovered they changed the whole place!!!

when did that happen? and youll be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

El Spearo wrote: »
    got the fright of my life when i discovered they changed the whole place!!!

when did that happen? and youll be grand!

Whaddaya mean they changed the place?

Is it better? Coz it couldn't be much worse! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

They knocked the centre third of the building down (steps, entrance, canteen, dressing rooms etc. - I presume the old swimming pool and diving pit as well as the dance studio and climbing wall) and rebuilt it. New ground level entrance and some landscaping outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭NeirBot

The actual SPHall for the exams is exactly the same though... looks fairly poor compared to the new shiny part right beside it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Well, today's experience in the PE Hall was my worst exam experience to date in UL (3rd year).

There were at least 3 other exams as well as my own (possibly more) Absolutely no organisation shown by the check-in staff. Just LOADS of students in what felt like a mosh pit trying to sign in.

Really awful, people shouting and screaming everywhere. Just the most horrible way to start an exam :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Well, today's experience in the PE Hall was my worst exam experience to date in UL (3rd year).

There were at least 3 other exams as well as my own (possibly more) Absolutely no organisation shown by the check-in staff. Just LOADS of students in what felt like a mosh pit trying to sign in.

Really awful, people shouting and screaming everywhere. Just the most horrible way to start an exam :(

Awh it was terrible alright. What about yer wan standing up on the chair roaring and shouting, wasn't very helpful at all, especially to those doing last minute study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Nolimits12

Noisy people in library today grr and the I've no headphones to drown it out :(

Gonna go all Carol.lille on their a$$'s!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

That was like people trying to check in to use the hall in block E yesterday too.

They had tech maths, eng maths and 3/4 other modules and one person checking each of them in sitting side by side at the ski slopes.

Could they not have had half of the people upstairs where its wider and much more space. You had to go up one stairs and down the other to get round in there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 376 ✭✭cambridge

I had to get out of UL for the weekend, least productive place in the country to get study done. Went up to the old alma mater and enjoyed a great study environment. Unfortunately the libraries close much earlier up here but we have a 24 reading room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

And a free parking spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Jaysus, gotta love not payinng 3 euro.

Used to know the password last year but they were gowls and changed it for this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

Just had our bin subscription run out n we've a load of rubbish to get rid of :( is there any place on campus where you can get those mr binman optibags? at least we could get rid of our recycling that way...

Just get a load of small bags and drive around town putting a bag or 2 into each bin.

Or drive to the cresent and by the library they have big bins where you can quickly throw the stuff in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

toodleytoo wrote: »
    Just had our bin subscription run out n we've a load of rubbish to get rid of :( is there any place on campus where you can get those mr binman optibags? at least we could get rid of our recycling that way...

Only places are village receptions AFAIK.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Only places are village receptions AFAIK.

oh okay, is it hard to get them? Although I spose they are just meant to be used by village residents...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 BlueFlowers

How did you find out your subscription ran out?? We paid a student price for 9 months - so ours isn't up until the end of this month, if you just ran out of bags- you can collect them in town in the office, or your landlord/lady can get them for you? That is what ours do.

oh okay, is it hard to get them? Although I spose they are just meant to be used by village residents...

Well, you could chance your arm and just walk into the reception and ask. Usually they just say "Yeah flake away."

ah the aul 1916 car park....them were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

lkionm wrote: »
    Just get a load of small bags and drive around town putting a bag or 2 into each bin.

Or drive to the cresent and by the library they have big bins where you can quickly throw the stuff in the bin.
    If you do that then muck you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭highlydebased

El Spearo wrote: »
    ah the aul 1916 car park....them were the days.

It's probably 2012 or something guessable

This guy!

536757_3886037832124_1314244836_67117178_409913375_n.jpg

How did you find out your subscription ran out?? We paid a student price for 9 months - so ours isn't up until the end of this month, if you just ran out of bags- you can collect them in town in the office, or your landlord/lady can get them for you? That is what ours do.
    I think ours was a credit system, each pick up cost a certain amount and we've reached our quota. They didn't collect our bin, that's how we figured out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭ned14

I think ours was a credit system, each pick up cost a certain amount and we've reached our quota. They didn't collect our bin, that's how we figured out.
    Just call into one of the village receptions and ask for some recycling bags. If they say they don't know you, just claim to be someones brother/sister helping with the cleanup.

It's probably 2012 or something guessable

I never thought of that, it could be the year the college was founded as well.

I always found it weird that it was 1916, what if they had an English speaker over ****eing on about history or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭cup of tea

b87kinmm5

picture12cp.png

When I first saw this, for a minute I was like wooooooaaah what the lineup like?. Calvin Harris, David Guetta?. Damn, those crafty heeurs using an appealing poster to make Don Barrys party look like a dance festival :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭cjthecrow

twas an alloy. they were just the stock nissan alloy that are on all Nissan Almeras sold around then. and yea a set of lock nuts would be a great idea. typical though, that you take preventive matters after something has happended!!
    question now is how hard will it be able to replace the alloy. Don't want to have one normal wheel on the car & 3 alloys.

This just happened to a guy I know an hour ago, apparently it's the same make of car, the person who did it left the nuts and it was by the foundation car park. I think we have a collector. It's very weird.

*In Old Timey News Announcer Voice*

"Tonight in Limerick City,
    The crusade of the infamous alloy thief continues!
    The thief, who has instilled fear in the city's inhabitants with numerous strikes struck again late tonight.
    Swooping in from the shadows in the sleepy suburb of Castletroy, people only caught mere glimpses of him as he disappeared back into the darkness, tire iron and alloy wheel in tow.
    So far the police have no leads, and advise all citizens to purchase firearms for their own protection."

I blame my sleep deprived state for this bullshít.