If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

why do people sell stock as pbnr? for the sake of 40 or 50 euro would it not make sense to register them and get a better price:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

[MOD]
    Moved from another thread.
    [/MOD]

leg wax wrote: »
    jesus vander you really nose around the place:eek::D

got the auld eyes lasered there a few years back, can see the grass growing now ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

got the auld eyes lasered there a few years back, can see the grass growing now ;)

Got that done myself.....jesus I didn't think about the fact that I'd have to watch them inject and CUT MY EYE OPEN.....!!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭naughto

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Got that done myself.....jesus I didn't think about the fact that I'd have to watch them inject and CUT MY EYE OPEN.....!!!!:eek:
    i no this is not the place but where did u get them done iam thinking of doing it what sort of ££££ are we talking

naughto wrote: »
    i no this is not the place but where did u get them done iam thinking of doing it what sort of ££££ are we talking

its prob nearly 10 years since i did mine, cost approx 4 grand in blackrock clinic and got nearly half back thru some tax thingy, no sure what it is now though, cheaper i would think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭naughto

its prob nearly 10 years since i did mine, cost approx 4 grand in blackrock clinic and got nearly half back thru some tax thingy, no sure what it is now though, cheaper i would think
    so about 2grand an eye thats not to bad

my eldest lad helps me with the milking at weekend, he sprays the cows and lets the rows in and out - every bit helps- this evening as i was putting on a row i heard a wallop on the bar of the parlour , looked up , it was all action and no sound for a few seconds , he got a kick:eek: got a fair wallop on the hand off a quiet cow while teat spraying her.. bruise came up straight away... we where trying to get finished to go to local to see liverpool game... anyways alls ok thank god... first kick of many!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

naughto wrote: »
    so about 2grand an eye thats not to bad

Got mine done last year for 2,900 I think it was

Should have said that was 2650 after health insurance - 10 months interest free

worked out great for me anyway, as karen says though its a bit hairy while its actually happening,

Yeah it's a great job - well worth the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

This is the FARMING .....PHOTOS ........thread I'm in? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

whelan1 wrote: »
    my eldest lad helps me with the milking at weekend, he sprays the cows and lets the rows in and out - every bit helps- this evening as i was putting on a row i heard a wallop on the bar of the parlour , looked up , it was all action and no sound for a few seconds , he got a kick:eek: got a fair wallop on the hand off a quiet cow while teat spraying her.. bruise came up straight away... we where trying to get finished to go to local to see liverpool game... anyways alls ok thank god... first kick of many!

Tell the young fellow what Freidrich Nietzsche said:

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger"

And while he's young get him playing Hurling...........Make a man of him;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

hey vander put up a pic of the new eyes and will tell you if it was worth it:D.**** too muchwine:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRGgIJHfnsHRd2zEY1oCzPO9skG_S-2qj1QES5Z-XXp0VTGQQHf5w

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Muckit wrote: »
    This is the FARMING .....PHOTOS ........thread I'm in? :rolleyes:
    Muckit wrote: »
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRGgIJHfnsHRd2zEY1oCzPO9skG_S-2qj1QES5Z-XXp0VTGQQHf5w

Hey :mad: What's that got to do with farming?????

:P

Bizzum wrote: »
    Tell the young fellow what Freidrich Nietzsche said:

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger"

And while he's young get him playing Hurling...........Make a man of him;)
    my father in law played hurling for dublin, they where beaten in the all ireland final ( i think) in the 1950's.... he's well recovered now, said he will avoid 707 for life:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

my father in law played hurling for dublin, they where beaten in the all ireland final ( i think) in the 1950's.... he's well recovered now, said he will avoid 707 for life:D

Cork beat Dublin in 1952 and went on to win 3 in a row,

Gaelic and rugger for the young lads, soccer is for the Michael Flatney's

Last calf of the season this morn and he is a huge whopper, a lm bull from a mo cow, fairly tough pull, left them while i let out the cows and when i came back both were up and the calf getting his 'breakfast' :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

ladies and lads, have a lamborgini 1050 premium and last week i had the pan mixer on it for the first time. ANd it was lifting the front axle. The tractor is same as a SAME 100.4. Looking for weights on donedeal and only set in donegal (the very top at mizen head) . i need 250kg plus so blocks wount work. any other ideas apart from only mixing a smaller batch? i ended up reversing with with every batch.

think you're getting malin and mizen mixed up:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

...said he will avoid 707 for life:D
    ???????????

pakalasa wrote: »
    ???????????
    the cow that kicked him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Man of Aran

ok OK, so not "snowman 707" then!

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Mine cost €1200 and I got €200 back!!
    Got it done up in Dublin too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

the cow that kicked him
    :D...I thought it was slang for something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

speed read this, this am & spent the last 5 hours thinking how long it took you f-in-law to recover from the 1952 final :o:o thought the cork lads must have been hatched men :eek:
    ok OK, so not "snowman 707" then!

no need to avoid me, (well most of the time anyhow) ;)

snowman707 wrote: »
    speed read this, this am & spent the last 5 hours thinking how long it took you f-in-law to recover from the 1952 final :o:o thought the cork lads must have been hatched men :eek:

no need to avoid me, (well most of the time anyhow) ;)
    i think i am wrong in my dates saw a pic of f-i-l today in the leinster final of 1962, he died in 1995 the day after dublin won the all ireland was only 58 of a heart attack... also the day after we got engaged :o r.i.p

lovely evening here, cheers everyone:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

I've just put in the wrong breed for a calf when I registered it on agfood.ie. What do I do now to correct it?

just do it wrote: »
    I've just put in the wrong breed for a calf when I registered it on agfood.ie. What do I do now to correct it?

Email laura.lowry@agriculture.gov.ie & give all your details- herd num, address, pps num etc. Explain the situation and leave your num and she'll get back to you.

On a completely other note, my neighbour (landlord) rang in a panic saying he had a calf stuck in a ditch of water and needed help quick.....I was in pyjamas so just stuck on wellies and ran over. He nearly wet himself laughing upon seeing me. I don't blame him:o
    img00429201205062044.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Finno59

just do it wrote: »

i think they let you change it for a while. Just go to animal registrations, awaiting registration and edit.