We haven't had a good Public Sector bashing thread in ages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Public servants are worth it. Every penny, give over now about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭mbiking123

micropig wrote: »
    Financial Regulator

What where these guys doing?

I'm not defending the banks, but nobody was bothering to regulate them

very true, but look at it this way

If you can steal from your neighbour and you know nobody will find out and you will not be punished - does that make it ok ?

Just cause your car can drive at 150 kph does that mean it ok to drive at that speed past a school during the day

No- just cause ya can do something does not mean its ok to do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭comeback_kid

mbiking123 wrote: »
    ya other reasons are paying back bond holders etc etc

When a guy ona building site is paid 70,000 a year why would they want to work in a video shop or factor on 20,000 or even average industrial wage of 39,000 (during boom)

thier is no one earning 70 k on building sites today , nor has thier been for several years , if their was , thier would be no reasonto cut ps wages as thats where the revenue for increased ps spending came from

Mod: Re-reg Banned

thier is no one earning 70 k on building sites today , nor has thier been for several years , if their was , thier would be no reasonto cut ps wages as thats where the revenue for increased ps spending came from

Yes there was cause I know them,

Mind ya it came as a serious kick for civil engineers too, mind ya at least they can get work abroad. Much harder for a trademan even if they emmigrate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Ok first of all, a clerical officer starts on a wage below the net figure you gave

It's not my figure
    Originally Posted by smelly sock
    I am a clerical officer that earns 445 a week after tax.
    Whats the bonus ? none for a clerical officer - a job for life
    The reason why clerical officers are paid slightly higher is to attract a better qualified/educated person. Many CO that I know have a third level education. Alot of low paid private sector jobs are unable to attract Irish workers and end up that only foreign workers will do them. Currently well paid jobs in private sector in IT, CISCO in Galway recently announced 100 new jobs which will be well paid jobs. In the end its all about if people want your skill set. If you have Junior Cert then you will end up in a lower paid job, better education then the better job. Its all about competing for those jobs

So what is this required skill set specific to a clerical officer? Is it a 4 year course?

I'm gathering from your post they are better educated and more importantly, Irish not foreign.

Mod: Re-reg Banned

I recognise that poster who can't spell their :D

irishh_bob is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

woodoo wrote: »
    I recognise that poster who can't spell their :D irishh_bob is it?

Bingo :p

I'm gathering from your post they are better educated and more importantly, Irish not foreign.

Well I dont know how they calculate the figures so, I believe 20,000 is starting pay for CO - gross

As I said to attract better educated, and as I said Irish people dont want the lower paid jobs and being filled by foreign nationals. I cant verify if they are better educated, but the civil service wishes to attract them hence the aptitude test and interview looking for education qualifications etc. You can do an aptitude test online to see how well you are suited, its on government website

What makes you think foreign people are not wanted in public sector with froeign nationals recruited into Garda, garda reserves, Defence Forces etc etc

Well I dont know how they calculate the figures so, I believe 20,000 is starting pay for CO - gross

As I said to attract better educated, and as I said Irish people dont want the lower paid jobs and being filled by foreign nationals. I cant verify if they are better educated, but the civil service wishes to attract them hence the aptitude test and interview looking for education qualifications etc. You can do an aptitude test online to see how well you are suited, its on government website

What makes you think foreign people are not wanted in public sector with froeign nationals recruited into Garda, garda reserves, Defence Forces etc etc

Civil Service Clerical Officer
    They carry out a wide range of tasks including recording, amending, up dating and storing information. They may also be responsible for general office duties such as filing, answering the phone, photocopying etc.

Work Activities
    Clerical Officers may be engaged in drafting letters, asking for or giving factual information, making and checking calculations, analysing reports, preparing, scrutinising and verifying documents, statistics, records, etc. They may also be engaged in operating office equipment such as computer terminals, photocopiers and fax machines etc. They may deal with enquiries at a reception desk and answer telephone calls.

You should be methodical and careful in your work. Some clerical duties can be repetitive, so you must be comfortable with this and able to keep your concentration and accuracy at all times.

Good organisational skills are needed, for example, to manage filing systems.

Good literacy and number skills will be important, for example, when completing forms or composing straightforward letters.

Good communication skills written and verbal are desirable in a clerical officer.

I don't mind foreigners, once they got the skills, same as most other people. Based on merit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

youre really good at looking stuff up on the internet? Facts are impressive if they relate to your argument?

:pac: Do you not have the internet? You should get it, it's great:pac:

You want the truth?
    You can't handle the truth:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

No its the banks is the big reason - main reason

The banks are the main reason our tax revenues are so low? The banks are the main reason taxes don't cover PS pay and welfare?

How do you work that out?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

:pac: Do you not have the internet? You should get it, it's great:pac:

You want the truth?
    You can't handle the truth:D

No I posted this using a pitchfork

You'd want to get yourself the internet, it's much better

K-9 wrote: »
    The banks are the main reason our tax revenues are so low? The banks are the main reason taxes don't cover PS pay and welfare?

PS pay and welfare would have been solvable problems.

Lest we forget our current problems are due to to a disgusting collaboration btw corrupt bankers and property developers and FF politicians who watched it all happen.

They are laughing in comfort while we blame each other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

PS pay and welfare would have been solvable problems.

Lest we forget our current problems are due to to a disgusting collaboration btw corrupt bankers and property developers and FF politicians who watched it all happen.

They are laughing in comfort while we blame each other

I agree but would also add a weak opposition who are now the current government, all i remember them saying during the celtic tiger was "more, more, more" but memories fade!

K-9 wrote: »

They crippled the economy, too much easy credit and inflation ran out of control. property prices reached unsustainable levels.

Our manufacturing ended up reducing as I said before people moved into the construction industry. 10 years ago people did not want to study Computing, it was accountancy and legal studies as there was more money in it. Famers were more interested in selling sites than producing food, as more money in sites

Tax revenue is low due to reduced employment and workforce emmigrating.

http://namawinelake.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/just-another-day-in-the-irish-economy-as-e1-5bn-is-paid-over-by-state-owned-bank-to-unsecured-unguaranteed-bondholders/
    Just another day in the Irish economy as €1.5bn is paid over by State-owned bank to unsecured, unguaranteed bondholders

http://www.thejournal.ie/government-to-repay-e1-25bn-to-anglo-bondholders-today-336657-Jan2012/
    Government to pay €1.25bn to Anglo bondholders today

mmmmmmm - no wonder we have no money and we all know there are more examples.

They crippled the economy, too much easy credit and inflation ran out of control. property prices reached unsustainable levels.

Our manufacturing ended up reducing as I said before people moved into the construction industry. 10 years ago people did not want to study Computing, it was accountancy and legal studies as there was more money in it. Famers were more interested in selling sites than producing food, as more money in sites

http://namawinelake.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/just-another-day-in-the-irish-economy-as-e1-5bn-is-paid-over-by-state-owned-bank-to-unsecured-unguaranteed-bondholders/
    Just another day in the Irish economy as €1.5bn is paid over by State-owned bank to unsecured, unguaranteed bondholders

http://www.thejournal.ie/government-to-repay-e1-25bn-to-anglo-bondholders-today-336657-Jan2012/

It's a pity we didn't pay anyone to regulate them and enforce rules.

As you say yourself 'we have no money' - Bankrupt country = time for cuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Don't forget that little matter of a €16 Billion deficit last year, excluding bank payments.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Monday, 23 April 2012

Without the extra capital committed to the banks, the deficit would have been 9.4% - below the EU/IMF target of 10.6%...............

.............the underlying deficit would be 9.4%, comfortably within the EU IMF target, but still the highest deficit in the European Union.......

.....The highest government deficits in percentage of GDP last year were seen in Ireland (-13.1%), Greece (-9.1%), Spain (-8.5%) and the UK (-8.2%). The lowest deficits were recorded in Finland (-0.5%), Luxembourg (-0.6%) and German (-1%)

we have a long way to go
    The Government appreciates that this adjustment was not painless and as the programme continues to reduce the deficit to under 3% by 2015,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

the biggest problem ( for patients ) is that the consultant sector is sheltered , numbers are capped so as to protect incomes

Yeah ,thats why people are years on waiting lists.Makes you wonder how many die while waiting to be seen.

Ya cut the bondholders

'Labours way not Frankfurt's way' !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Private sector banks dragging us all down, cant understand how it happened, but hey lets just blame public sector workers and make them take all the cuts! Simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

I just read on teletxt that PS unions have rejected calls by the govt to reduce uncertified sick leave from 7 to 3 days. PS workers would rather keep their stress/hangover days. These guys are still living inthe boom years with their inflated holidays, pay and pensions. The sooner the govt grap a pair and go after them, the better.
    Its Ireland, sense doesn't prevail.

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    I just read on teletxt that PS unions have rejected calls by the govt to reduce uncertified sick leave from 7 to 3 days. PS workers would rather keep their stress/hangover days. These guys are still living inthe boom years with their inflated holidays, pay and pensions. The sooner the govt grap a pair and go after them, the better.

Thats an interesting one, in ireland 'even in the Public Sector'! its not the done thing to take Uncert Leave unless you are sick. If you take it then you cant be seen out by co-workers etc

In the USA, they take all there U/C leave. They take all 7 days private or public and its consider a right. They may even take it to make free the mind, take a rest etc. Completly different outlook on it

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0503/1224315512677.html

"most recent figures produced by the Comptroller and Auditor General showed that 40 per cent of civil servants took no sick leave at all, and that the average amount of uncertified sick leave taken by each employee was well below two days in a year."

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0503/1224315512677.html

"most recent figures produced by the Comptroller and Auditor General showed that 40 per cent of civil servants took no sick leave at all, and that the average amount of uncertified sick leave taken by each employee was well below two days in a year."

Some departments seem to be worse offenders than others

03/05/2012
    SICK leave has increased in five government departments -- including the Taoiseach's -- despite a promise in the Croke Park deal to cut it by 10pc.

An investigation by the Irish Independent shows that staff at the Department of Social Protection took more sick leave than any of the other 15 government departments.

They took a total of 13-and-a-half sick days each last year, compared with just over 12 days the previous year -- at an estimated cost of over €9m to the taxpayer.

The number of days lost to illness also increased in the Department of Health, Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Department of Education and Skills, and Department of the Taoiseach last year.

The survey showed the average number of days taken by staff at the Department of Health was just under 12 each, up from 10 days in 2010.

Average sick leave rose slightly from 11.4 to 11-and-a-half days in the Department of Jobs, and from six days to eight in the Taoiseach's department.

This compares with an average 7.7 days taken by workers in comparable private sector businesses with over 500 employees, according to employer group IBEC.

Overall, the average number of days taken in all 16 government departments dropped by around 5pc, from nine to eight-and-a-half days. But this does not meet the Croke Park target.

The Department of Social Protection, where sick leave is highest, said long-term absences pushed up the number of working days lost. It said 17,439 days, or 24pc, of all working days lost were due to 103 absences of six months or more.

A message to all public servants lets all take tomorrow off sick.... ye haaaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I would if I could but in this climate I would probably get sacked.

Is tomorrow not a privilege day?

4 weeks left for me & then 3 months off:D