We haven't had a good Public Sector bashing thread in ages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

nope skoda, you just contrary :pac: (for hondaram)

Nice thread that btw.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 232 ✭✭LilyCricket

hondasam wrote: »
    Nice thread that btw.

thanks doll x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

Nice thread that btw.

She's speaking Latin again :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

Monife wrote: »
    There are PLENTY of companies in the private sector where the employers contribute to pensions. That is the whole point of pension schemes in the work place.

What about people who never work a day in their life but are entitled to a state pension when they reach retirement age? Now they certainly never earned their pension.

in a private company the whole pension has to be earned......

of course they never have....and if it was up to me...they wouldn't get one ...unless they could prove the could not get a job.....

i am a child of the forties...so there was genuine unemploymet....

Nice thread that btw.
    thanks doll x

Chucken?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

She's speaking Latin again :pac:

You'd get an allowance for that in the public sector ;)

of course they never have....and if it was up to me...they wouldn't get one ...unless they could prove the could not get a job.....

You are talking through your ar*e. The whole pension is not earned in the private sector. A private sector pays a contribution, the employer usually matches it or makes a contribution or matches it and adds a bit more on top. A private sector employee does not earn their whole pension.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 232 ✭✭LilyCricket

Chucken?

Soz, Skoda. Not chucken, I like chicken, roasted ;)

Some people in the public sector don't know what it's like to earn something. They have a system where pay rises are awarded according to length of service and not performance.

Some can coast by, with the feet up, drawing allowances, no worries;)

You want us to work? More allowances please:rolleyes:

micropig wrote: »
    Some people in the public sector don't know what it's like to earn something. They have a system where pay rises are awarded according to length of service and not performance.

What part of the public sector get pay rises due to length of service?

Increments are awarded every year, yes, but if you have a bad sick leave record or score a rating of 2 or less in your PMDS, then you do not get your increment. I know of one person who did not get their increment and also another who almost didn't get their increment because they were off sick for 4 weeks, but they got it in the end because they were actually in hospital seriously ill and had doctor's notes etc to prove it.

I think that is changing now and everyone knows some departments are inefficient. Pay rises are awarded the same way in the private sector, length of service, more holidays the longer you are there, they have perks also.

Edit, sick leave is the one thing they have clamped down on for sure, 15days sick and no increment with or without a cert.

What part of the public sector get pay rises due to length of service?

Increments are awarded every year, yes, but if you have a bad sick leave record or score a rating of 2 or less in your PMDS, then you do not get your increment. I know of one person who did not get their increment and also another who almost didn't get their increment because they were off sick for 4 weeks, but they got it in the end because they were actually in hospital seriously ill and had doctor's notes etc to prove it.

Performance = showing up for work?

Read all about it
    The have a name for it, but it escapes me at the moment, read it somewhere earlier

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=78375562&postcount=193
    I think that is changing now and everyone knows some departments are inefficient. Pay rises are awarded the same way in the private sector, length of service, more holidays the longer you are there, they have perks also.

Edit, sick leave is the one thing they have clamped down on for sure, 15days sick and no increment with or without a cert.

I would have hope it changed years ago

Monday January 30 2012

Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore has consistently said increments are part of the Croke Park deal -- even though there is no reference to them in the document agreed between the last government and unions in 2010

They are given to teachers, nurses and guards and most civil servants and are around €1,000 a year per worker -- costing a total of €250m annually.

The payments are mostly awarded for length of service, although performance is also taken into account in some instances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭user098

More bluff and bull again. :rolleyes::pac::rolleyes: At least you'r consistent, I'll grant you that.

user098 wrote: »
    More bluff and bull again. :rolleyes::pac::rolleyes: At least you'r consistent, I'll grant you that.

Were you investigating it's validity?

Took enough time:p

Monday January 30 2012

Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore has consistently said increments are part of the Croke Park deal -- even though there is no reference to them in the document agreed between the last government and unions in 2010

They are given to teachers, nurses and guards and most civil servants and are around €1,000 a year per worker -- costing a total of €250m annually.

The payments are mostly awarded for length of service, although performance is also taken into account in some instances.

Do you believe everything you read in the media? In our department, increments are performance related and there is a big emphasis on the peformance reviews.

Any links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭mbiking123

that is not security.......whatever the case may be regarding that woman....

why are all the private sector construction workers..now unemployed...along with lots of others.....their unemployment may be secure....

That is due to the fact that there employer went out of business - obviously. Private sector workers actually working do have job security through legislation. When it comes to public sector workers and job security they also can be let go. All the jobs in the Army that are currently being advertised are for a contract of 5 years. The have guaranteed employment, but only for 5 years. After 5 years there contract may be extended but no guarantees for example if some medical condition developed like celiac, diabetes etc then they will be let go. A person in the private sector would not loose there job if they developed a disease like celiac or diabetes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Monday January 30 2012

I called bulls**t on that 250million figure when i first heard it.

It is nowhere near that:

http://www.thejournal.ie/cost-of-public-sector-pay-rises-to-be-halved-this-year-%E2%80%93-howlin-337354-Jan2012/

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/04/24/00007.asp

2012 increments = €90 million

woodoo wrote: »
    I called bulls**t on that 250million figure when i first heard it.

It is nowhere near that:

http://www.thejournal.ie/cost-of-public-sector-pay-rises-to-be-halved-this-year-%E2%80%93-howlin-337354-Jan2012/

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/04/24/00007.asp

2012 increments = €90 million

if you read the link

250 in total for total for public sector 90million of this for civil servants.

if you read the link

250 in total for total for public sector 90million of this for civil servants.

Where do you see that? copy the part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

I think Lillycricket fancies you!

Originally Posted by micropig viewpost.gif

Some can coast by, with the feet up, drawing allowances, no worrieswink.gif

You want us to work? More allowances pleaserolleyes.gif

Thats a mad statement, people have an annual report, if you want to get promotion/advancement then you need to have a good track record. Nobody wants to be getting bad annual appraisals. I dont know where people get the idea that people join the public sector so that they dont have to work. People want to work for the challenge, pleasure, build a reputation in the community, solve problems, work with a group, to be appreciated, impact it makes on the world and for money. If there are people employed in the public sector and they are not working I would suggest that its not there problem and they should be moved. Currently The British Police have a ratio of 1:3 of civil servants to police officers. This is so the civil servants do the paper work etc, we are well behind this ratio. So if there are people with nothing to do put them in these jobs to release the gardai to do there job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

mbiking123 wrote: »
    Thats a mad statement, people have an annual report, if you want to get promotion/advancement then you need to have a good track record. Nobody wants to be getting bad annual appraisals. I dont know where people get the idea that people join the public sector so that they dont have to work. People want to work for the challenge, pleasure, build a reputation in the community, solve problems, work with a group, to be appreciated, impact it makes on the world and for money. If there are people employed in the public sector and they are not working I would suggest that its not there problem and they should be moved. Currently The British Police have a ratio of 1:3 of civil servants to police officers. This is so the civil servants do the paper work etc, we are well behind this ratio. So if there are people with nothing to do put them in these jobs to release the gardai to do there job.

Very true, but Micropig isnt remotely interested in the truth, dont burst his bubble!

He can't handle the truth !!

yes just ignore the link were it says incredements are mostly based on performance, for most of the civil service , keeping showing the public how delusional and in denial ye are;) the dogs on the street know how inefficient many departments are, but no matter whats reported, deny, deny, deny

how about the other link about the large section of incompetent workers, promoted due to length of service....or was it above your reading comprehension skils?

yes just ignore the link were it says incredements are mostly based on performance, for most of the civil service , keeping showing the public how delusional and in denial ye are;) the dogs on the street know how inefficient many departments are, but no matter whats reported, deny, deny, deny

how about the other link about the large section of incompetent workers, promoted due to length of service....or was it above your reading comprehension skils?

can you cut and paste the part where is says it was 250 million overall

no, on my phone, can you not just read it?

i don't have the energy to spoon fed

No seniority is gone, long gone. Actually mainly based on annual reports. If and only if the points are the same through interview, annual reports etc will it be based on seniority. This is rare as most people dont have exactly same annual reports, interview marks etc.

Ineficency in public sector, as if never happens in private sector. I had to tell IT dept in Vodafone their job recently. Or what about 30 mins waiting to get through to UPC to report signal not working, then to be asked if anyone else in my area having same problem - I dont know , thats there job. Then they said it was ok it must be my TV - guess what it was there problem in the end and they still charged me despite loss of service over a number of days. The list goes on and on. Just remember only problems in public sector !!!!!

no, on my phone, can you not just read it?

i don't have the energy to spoon fed

what page is it on. I'm relaxing on a sat night and don't fancy reading too much of what Howlin says