If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

leg wax wrote: »
    Bodacious wrote: »
    Bulled first heifer lastnight, blue grey edj BB 24 mts gave her OZS, she is not a giant tall and I may sell her in next Christmas as a springer if she doesn't grow. That being said AI man said she was very roomy inside ... Maybe she could make a good average sized cow (less inputs) for me or someone
    my good edj cow would calve a elephant,shes had 2 blues on her own had a part bull this year

And the dam of this heifer is a red lim with black around the muzzle( either some strain of SH or Saler in her) she would calve anything and brings no time with her whatsoever .. Much height in your EDJ cow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Seaba wrote: »
    The bull wasn't BOQ from Dovea by any chance? We had the exact same 2 weeks ago - red bull from a Charolais heifer. Big calf, needed a section. Thought the AI gave the wrong straw!

That was the dude. But our calf was very small. Once we got the back legs up, we were able to pull him by hand. the vet thought he was off a shorthorn. Apparently a lot of calf come red off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

1chippy wrote: »
    Had ours this evening. seems pretty good. you can make out the lads that are out for the grand (minus deductions) and the lads that want to make the most of it. Got the profit monitor disc so another new toy to play with. Mainly all suckler farmers with 20 -50 cows. only one beef finisher.

anyone with a profit monitor disk want to send me a copy :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I managed to repair my portable electric fencer with a bit of solder. Dead chuffed with myself. I got the same one repaired last year, cost about 50 Euro and was gone for about 2 weeks. The copper wires on the small coil had coroded away on the PCB board. That's what happens when you leave it out, not turned on and the batteries still in.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

And the dam of this heifer is a red lim with black around the muzzle( either some strain of SH or Saler in her) she would calve anything and brings no time with her whatsoever .. Much height in your EDJ cow?
    if she lay on her side she would be higher:D.small -medium sized cow,looks like a pedigree bb with the muscle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

fecking flu :(:(

woke yesterday morning & thought I was dying, woke this morn & wished I was dead, was lucky to have son free for am milking

no body available for the morn :eek:

leg wax wrote: »
    if she lay on her side she would be higher:D.small -medium sized cow,looks like a pedigree bb with the muscle.

But she is producing export quality bb weanlings with great muscle but lacking in height or easy calving lim every time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

pakalasa wrote: »
    I managed to repair my portable electric fencer with a bit of solder. Dead chuffed with myself. I got the same one repaired last year, cost about 50 Euro and was gone for about 2 weeks. The copper wires on the small coil had coroded away on the PCB board. That's what happens when you leave it out, not turned on and the batteries still in.:(

Fair play. Hopefully it keeps going. Easy to leave em out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

But she is producing export quality bb weanlings with great muscle but lacking in height or easy calving lim every time?
    put a bb on her you end up with a e grade white calf which takes after her,she hsd a rocky lim heifer last year and is just the same as her low and thickand solid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Hi folks could anyone tell me what thread the article about the fella in england using the charlie bull on lim x hol cows is please .
    I only read a bit of it last week but want to finish it now that I have a chance but cant find it anywhere .
    It seemed like a good system from what i had read .
    Thanks in advance for the help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

moy83 wrote: »
    Hi folks could anyone tell me what thread the article about the fella in england using the charlie bull on lim x hol cows is please .
    I only read a bit of it last week but want to finish it now that I have a chance but cant find it anywhere .

Think its under suckler, may be wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

anyone with a profit monitor disk want to send me a copy :D.
    pm i'll send it on, great set up

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,962 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

moy83 wrote: »
    http://www.charolais.co.uk/news/harper%20adams.html

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Last ewe lambed today another sets of triplets. Lambing Over for another year Thank God.
    Was a very good year with numbers and no real issues. Hopefully the lamb prices keep up for the year now.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Thanks blue couldnt find it anywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I was away there for a little while without internet and 95% without phone reception. Sort of miss it for a day or two then it's a release not being a slave to the phone:)

It's great to get all the news here again though!

Anyone find the blue ross alo AZL takes more time with them than other blues? One cow gone 286 and not a sign on her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Anyone find the blue ross alo AZL takes more time with them than other blues? One cow gone 286 and not a sign on her!

If the calf is only 50% BB, maybe he's taking after the dam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭porter shark

gave OVO to two cows last year on the same day, one a limxchar the other a black lim the black calved three weeks before the other,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

Quick question, What would be the highest calving difficulty you would put on a heifer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Seaba

Quick question, What would be the highest calving difficulty you would put on a heifer?
    Personally, we never take a chance with a heifer. AA or easy calving LM. 4% max for us, ensuring that the reliability figures for calving etc is over 90%.

I see a lot of lads around here giving "easy calving" BB at 7 and 8% calving. Heifer then has trouble calving, down for a week, doesn't clean properly which usually means she is even later coming back in heat, and you are thrown back a month or two. Managing what the heifer eats before she calves can reduce this but I don't think its worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

5% with a high reliability (>80%) is what I try to go with. (We won't argue over 1% :D).
    It's very comforting when a heifer comes near calving, that she's carrying to an easy calver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Have to round up my ginormous flock today and put lamb jackets on everything. Fox is paying me regular visits, three nabbed so far, and when yer only lambing 40 ewes...... Got some Stockholm tar as well I might dab on them, not convinced it works but... Bit concerned with all the messing I'll have problems with ewes rejecting them after.

Friend saw him come in last night but couldn't get a shot so I might get to nobble the scut tonight.

Ah, the joys.

Still, small potatoes when put alongside that awful photo of 48 lambs that ended up at the bottom of a well on BFF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,039 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

johngalway wrote: »
    Still, small potatoes when put alongside that awful photo of 48 lambs that ended up at the bottom of a well on BFF.

Saw that - many reckon the removing of the cover from the well was an act of vandelism:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Saw that - many reckon the removing of the cover from the well was an act of vandelism:(

Agree with the person said they needed shoving down the well and close the cap, too good for them infact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

Discing the field this morning.
    Sprayed off 2 weeks ago, slow to die off.
    Grazed with cattle for 1 week, then harrowed with Einbock to remove "wig". Had to rank up harrowings with Haybob and baled it up. 3 bales off 6 acres.
    Soil too wet to power-harrow yet.
    Thinking of using mastercrop "Extend" grass-seed. Anyone else use it?
    Quoted €73 per bag in Glanbia.

Misc_442.jpg.scaled.1000.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJFZAE65UYRT34AOQ&Expires=1334582087&Signature=OOdqDINgqhFRw%2B2tZ5y%2B3yl2DAE%3D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    Discing the field this morning.
    Sprayed off 2 weeks ago, slow to die off.
    Grazed with cattle for 1 week, then harrowed with Einbock to remove "wig". Had to rank up harrowings with Haybob and baled it up. 3 bales off 6 acres.
    Soil to wet to power-harrow yet.
    Thinking of using mastercrop "Extend" grass-seed. Anyone else use it?
    Quoted €73 per bag in Glanbia.

Misc_440.jpg.scaled.1000.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJFZAE65UYRT34AOQ&Expires=1334582148&Signature=A4DzKM6ayDCmpA%2FMNP0egeDvgSE%3D

Misc_442.jpg.scaled.1000.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJFZAE65UYRT34AOQ&Expires=1334582087&Signature=OOdqDINgqhFRw%2B2tZ5y%2B3yl2DAE%3D

Misc_444.jpg.scaled.1000.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJFZAE65UYRT34AOQ&Expires=1334582198&Signature=GZXlXmpV9u7V7kxmXlA7FYLHo1E%3D

have a bit to do as well patq but have not even started yet, was looking up that seed you mentioned
    http://www.glanbiaagribusiness.ie/docs/default-document-library/1071-glan-mastercrop-bro-lr.pdf
    i asked in kerryagri the other day, their stuff will be €75 a bag and they couldnt say if buy 5 bags get one free offer would still be on, some people here before said the kerry seed wasnt the best so not sure whether to deal with them or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Anyone planning on paying €300 to have their water meter installed??????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

reilig wrote: »
    Anyone planning on paying €300 to have their water meter installed??????????

I assume this only applies to people on water schemes, not people with their own private wells? :confused:
    But - given the position we're in, I find myself thinking how are they going to "catch" the guy with the private well... :( :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

I assume this only applies to people on water schemes, not people with their own private wells? :confused:
    But - given the position we're in, I find myself thinking how are they going to "catch" the guy with the private well... :( :mad:

dont forget the well doesnt come cheap by the time drilling and lining and filters etc if needed are all added in, drilled myself there a year or two back and it has cost me alot of money all said. im still glad to be off the water scheme though