Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stallions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭JimDeChamp

"The trick with choosing any stallion when possibly selling the progeny is having a good idea what will be selling in a few years and not just what is selling now"

I'm not been smart here or anything but in all honesty if we knew that we would be millionaires...

Jumping stallions are alot different to flat stallions, Some jumping stallions never go out of fashion...!

Doyen is a nice horse, was always gonna make a decent jumping stallion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 the fella who

yeah doyen pricey enough though,especially if you get landed with fillies. Anyone hear anything about Robin Des Pres in Anngrove??

myfeelings wrote: »
    Daylami's progeny seem to have serious problems with their wind. If your mare is any way unsound stay clear(prob shouldnt be breeding from her anyways if she is). Getaway being German bred is very tough and genuine and covered a large book last year at a reasonable price, Monsun will turn into a very good sire of National Hunt sires with Schiaparelli also going to be a good horse to breed from.

Stowaway covered a huge book last year so maybe if ye're thinking of selling as a store in 5 years his stock could be winning when your selling. Keep your covering fee as low as low as possible as the price of keeping mares and going to vets is astronomical. Getting large vet bills is not a nice feeling. The trick with choosing any stallion when possibly selling the progeny is having a good idea what will be selling in a few years and not just what is selling now.
    Yeah Stowaway is full up this season,with Whytemount stud I think, they are also standing Mr.Dinos who I looked at couple of years ago, thought he was nice enough, but probably not selling at the minute. Want to try find a horse like stowaway!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Will you be sending the two mares to the same stallion?

Would ye not just take a chance and send one mare to flemensfirth...?

He was hoping to spend about 5k between the two, Flemensfirth is at 10k this year

Who ever told you that is having a laugh.. He might be 10k for the people willing to pay that for him

Why would they list it on their site if they're having a laugh

Do you believe everything you read..?

Obviously not, but how much would they negotiate for one of the top NH stallions in the country when he could probably fill a full book at his fee

Alot, I was even surprised how much they dropped...! Depends on the sex of the foal too

Interesting. Would they cover it for free if the mare was really top class?

No two mares dont have to go to same stallion, I thought maybe same stud so I could hammer out deal, its a tricky business, the ones I fancy are pricey and the rest all have pros and cons, time is ticking away so see what happens, some stallion is going to come out of the pack as regards Flemensfirth, I cant see them really dealing too much. In fairness Coolmore seem to have the best selection and they noyt over priced, noticed Golan getting a couple of 4yo maiden winners in ptp recently, which is good, seen as I have a nice 3yo!!!

I stand by Court Cave and Gold Well. Think they're going to be very popular over the years,I read today Court Cave covered something like 140 mares last year or is booked to this year

They'll deal when it comes to flemensfirth, price isn't really to do with the mare, more so to do with the owner... What stallions were you thinking of..?

Furner's Green is odds on for the Guineas trial at Leopardstown. Will be a first group win for Dylan Thomas should he win. Interesting that Bolger sends an unraced colt by Teofilo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Dealing with a lower class of Stallion here but Thousand Words had his first winner on friday from his third runner in Lyric Ace for Richard Hannon. He won very comfortably beating the Brocklesby runner up into third.
    It could turn out to be a good sire to follow for 2 year olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Furner's Green is odds on for the Guineas trial at Leopardstown. Will be a first group win for Dylan Thomas should he win. Interesting that Bolger sends an unraced colt by Teofilo
    Well Furner's Green did the business for Dylan Thomas in the Guineas Trial and his runners in the Ballysax ran well enough. His progeny seem to be the type to improve with age, he could have a decent future as a stallion yet.

Teofilo showed he can get classic contenders with Light Heavy winning the Ballysax today, the form isn't up to much but Galileo is beginning to look like an excellent sire of sires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 myfeelings

Akeed Mofeed is by Dubawi not Dylan Thomas. As for Galileo being an excellent sire of sires that is very early to say as New Approach's are only starting to race and Teo's are only 3 this season and we're only at the start of it.

myfeelings wrote: »
    Akeed Mofeed is by Dubawi not Dylan Thomas. As for Galileo being an excellent sire of sires that is very early to say as New Approach's are only starting to race and Teo's are only 3 this season and we're only at the start of it.
    Correct I was mistaken about Akeed Mofeed. Galileo has made a great start as a sire of Sires, Heliostatic managed to sire a GP 3 winner, Teofilo is looking like the real deal and his stablemate New Approach looks a similar type. Sixties Icon has 2 two year old winners on the board already. It's a very promising start and will give a boost to his progenies chances at stud, nothing succeeds like success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 myfeelings

Unless Heliostatic gets the numbers this year he won't amount to much because when he was in Ireland he got very few mares. Upgrades his mares which is a good thing but needs numbers. Sixties Icons should be 3 year olds before they start winning for me its a worry that their rushing them out winning selling stakes, i think that shows they have limited ability. A son of Galileos that a saw some nice foals by last year in France was Soldier of Fortune he has the numbers so should do very well. I just think its a tad early to say he is a sire of sires, more than likely he will be a success with his sons.

I see that Heliostatic has joined his full brother Soldier Of Fortune in France. Heliostatic @ €3,000 and Soldier Of Fortune @ €10,000. Their close relative the GP 1 winner producing sire Sholokhov is standing in Germany @ €6,000. Which one is the best value for money?

Heliostatic- Sholokhov has just produced one group 1 winner

2 Grp 3 and 5 listed as well, Intense Focus from the same family with Giants Causeway and Danehill in the pedigree @ €5,500 is interesting and they'll probably sell well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Sixties Icon champion sprinting sire by a mile.Watch Mick Channons.

Another GP1 winner for Galileo in 2012 with Niwot in Australiia. That's 2 so far this year for him, with South African Champion filly Igugu already winning in January.

He's on course to beat his his 2011 total of 11 individual GP1 winners.

http://www.racingpost.com/horses/result_home.sd?race_id=554589&r_date=2012-04-28&popup=yes#results_top_tabs=re_&results_bottom_tabs=ANALYSIS

http://www.racingpost.com/horses/result_home.sd?race_id=547444&r_date=2012-01-28&popup=yes#results_top_tabs=re_&results_bottom_tabs=ANALYSIS

So You Think, Australian fee announced as €52,275.

Fastnet Rock is now standing at €174,252 in Australia. Increasing from A$132,000 to A$220,000.

http://bloodstock.racingpost.com/news/bloodstock/fastnet-rock-fee-rise-makes-fastnet-dearest-sire-in-australia/1023853/top/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭shy-tall-knight

I stand by Court Cave and Gold Well. Think they're going to be very popular over the years,I read today Court Cave covered something like 140 mares last year or is booked to this year

Was a nice winner for Gold Well at Punchestown on tuesday with Grand Jesture in the bumper, later that evening who buys him only Alan Potts for 200k.
    Definitely a stallion to watch out for in the NH game for the next few years. I've been backing plenty of his runners in bumpers but missed that one unfortunately, 25/1 darn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

tryfix wrote: »
    So You Think, Australian fee announced as €52,275.

Fastnet Rock is now standing at €174,252 in Australia. Increasing from A$132,000 to A$220,000.

http://bloodstock.racingpost.com/news/bloodstock/fastnet-rock-fee-rise-makes-fastnet-dearest-sire-in-australia/1023853/top/
    Im sure it was the plan from when Coolmore part purchased him,or was it.His sire High Chaparral has gone from 88,000Ad in 2010 to 77,000Ad in 2012.So You Think regressed when joining Ballydoyle according to ratings.He joined of a mark 126 went to a high of 127 and then was well beaten by horses rated 104 or less.The emphasis in Australia when breeding is on stamina as most if not all top value races are 1 1/2 miles and further.His breeding suggests stamina with Saddlers Wells /Darshan mare cross.With at least 1 pattern race every day in the continent that is Australia it is hard to evaluate what Fastnet Rock has achieved but the PR team at Ballydoyle will certainly overplay it.According to Ballydoyle web site SYT is standing at 66,000Ad .He may well in time join Rodrigo De Triano,Johannesburg[his son Scat Daddy has joined Ballydoyle USA],etc in Japan.