Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stallions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mgoraf

"We are delighted, this is easily the best yearling I have produced in the last 15 years," - Duke Of Roxburghe talking about the Oasis Dream out of Attraction.

He looks really nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

The Tsui's bought at Sea the Stars today, he will have 10 with John Oxx next year by Sea the Stars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I do like the look of the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Mgoraf wrote: »
    "We are delighted, this is easily the best yearling I have produced in the last 15 years," - Duke Of Roxburghe talking about the Oasis Dream out of Attraction.

He looks really nice.

Didn't Attraction herself have fairly bad confirmation? Surprised she's thrown up a nice yearling

I remember Feathard Lady being bought by the Wylie's, a few people were saying she was an awful looking horse (I've never seen her so can't comment, but the phrase "a leg in every parish" was used)

Yeah she did. That colt looks very nice though.

A Galileo Colt went for 2.5ml guineas today.

Dalakhani /Distinctive Look. 550k
    528604_504176326260985_802873482_n.jpg

Galileo / Funsie. 2.5mil!!!!!
    74824_504217436256874_1341868582_n.jpg
    546873_504217469590204_1136142037_n.jpg
    424711_504217512923533_480643295_n.jpg

Oasis Dream / Galaxy Highflyer. 675k
    302280_504217569590194_316561036_n.jpg

Who signed for the 2.5m?

Is Funsie also the dam of Authorised?

David Redvers Bloodstock on behalf of Sheikh Fahad.

Horse has already been named - Hydrogen.

Yes. He is a half-brother to Authorised.

Book 2 started today...

Bahamian Bounty/ Hoh Chi Min. 120k

66159_505781472767137_1026658800_n.jpg

Rock Of Gibralter / Iwunder 120k
    561943_505781489433802_1017156638_n.jpg

Danehill Dancer / Lace. 120k
    285750_505781559433795_894621657_n.jpg

Myboycharlie / Lauren Louise. 135k
    316335_505829579428993_1912609498_n.jpg

Kyllachy / Maugwenna 150k.
    553468_505847472760537_361700100_n.jpg

Exceed and Excel / Merle. 150k
    523846_505862496092368_1040717315_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Vinnie Roe is a stallion who's progeny is just coming to maturity over jumps. I noticed Our Vinnie is running at Cheltenham this afternoon. They seem to be all 5 going on 6 this season. Anyone think he will ascend to near the top of the sires championship in the next few years?

Nulty wrote: »
    Vinnie Roe is a stallion who's progeny is just coming to maturity over jumps. I noticed Our Vinnie is running at Cheltenham this afternoon. They seem to be all 5 going on 6 this season. Anyone think he will ascend to near the top of the sires championship in the next few years?

Agreed he's doing well but I think he only covered 30-40 mares last year

When that crop hits the track he'll be up against others with crops of 200+

Didn't set the world on fire with his four year olds. I still really like Gold Well as a sire with few runners and Court Cave. Pity about Septimus not firing as a stallion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

Gold Well joins Coolmore N.H. division

Gold Well, who has enjoyed an excellent strike rate with his first runners, has joined Coolmore’s National Hunt division. A full-brother to world champion racehorse and brilliant sire Montjeu, Gold Well’s first crop 5-year-olds include Jonjo O’Neill’s smart novice hurdler of last season Johns Spirit and Bill Harney’s talented novice Joxer. This crop also includes a trio of point to point winners two of which ran third and fifth in the Champion Point-to-Point Bumper at Fairyhouse in April. Mr Watson, who finished third, was subsequently sold to Jonjo O’Neill for 215,000gns at Cheltenham’s April Sale.

Gold Well’s second crop 4-year-olds already include two very exciting prospects. Don Cantillon’s Grand Jesture impressed when winning the four-year-old bumper at the Punchestown Festival before selling to Alan Potts for €200,000. Sausalito Sunrise, who won his only point-to-point start by eight lengths for Nicky Stokes, has since joined Philip Hobbs and was nominated the yard’s “Star of the future” at their annual owners’ day in August.

“Gold Well has made an exceptional start with his first runners so he’s a very welcome addition,” said Coolmore’s Albert Sherwood. “The fact that he gets very good-looking stock is obviously another big plus.”
    Interesting...

They were listening to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Just looking over the Breeders Cup and saw Curlins name. Forgot about him. Also he was sent Rachael Alexandra and she had his foal in Feburary this year. Something to keep an eye on across the pond.

Amazing how many of the group 1 horses over there have stallions who'd never have a runner over here.

Think Mark Prescott had 1 or 2 of Curlin's.

Group 1 winner for Teofilo the other day. Thought he looked very promising last year, thought he was a little disappointing second crop

Two group 1 winners from Henrythenavigator in his first crop. Very good start. Suspicions are it could have been even better if the ground was better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 cc181187

Montjeu, Montjeu, Montjeu, I really really love you. Really liking Dubawi as of late, seems to produce very tough horses

Don't like him at £75k though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

UrbanSea wrote: »

Group 1 winner for Teofilo the other day. Thought he looked very promising last year, thought he was a little disappointing second crop

Heavy Weight from Teofolio looks a good bet in the last race at Dundalk tomorrow. Rigoletta in the 2nd last has good e/w claims aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Two group 1 winners from Henrythenavigator in his first crop. Very good start. Suspicions are it could have been even better if the ground was better
    Henry fairly put Sheikh Mohammed's Ravens Pass in his box and there may have been an element of the Coolmore/Godolphin battle involved in the decision to put so many of them in training with O'Brien. Maybe they were just trying to make him or it was an expression of their belief in the horse. The proof of the pudding will be in how they progress at 3. They look like they will, but they're not exactly world beaters in the first place.

tryfix wrote: »
    Henry fairly put Sheikh Mohammed's Ravens Pass in his box and there may have been an element of the Coolmore/Godolphin battle involved in the decision to put so many of them in training with O'Brien. Maybe they were just trying to make him or it was an expression of their belief in the horse. The proof of the pudding will be in how they progress at 3. They look like they will, but they're not exactly world beaters in the first place.

Ballydoyle had a very small number though, no bigger than twelve. Can't remember off the top of my head but think it was twelve, with about 5 or 6 up to group level.

Can't wait to see him standing this side of the Atlantic. Needs good ground though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Frankel £125k at stud. Begins living it up from Feb 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

Frankel £125k at stud. Begins living it up from Feb 2013

No horse rated 136+ has produced a son of his equal. Will Frankel buck the trend?

I certainly wouldn't gamble 125k on it.

Mgoraf wrote: »
    David Redvers Bloodstock on behalf of Sheikh Fahad.

Horse has already been named - Hydrogen.

Yes. He is a half-brother to Authorised.

Hydrogen will be trained by Peter Chapple Hyam

Bullet Train is to stand at an as yet unidentified farm in Kentucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

I've been very impressed with Teofilio's recently.

Especially in 2yr old nurseries. A sire worth sticking with.

Seeing as this is the stallions thread. Would we be able to get 50 stallions and the abilities of the progenies. I'm no breeding expert but I am learning.

Bernardini's tend to be real eye catchers and lookers.

Exceed n Excel's tend to only go on good quick ground

Captain Rio's excel at Southwell and love a bit of cut in the ground.

Kyllachy's love a short sprint with cut in the ground.

Dubawi's are tenacious and fight strongly.

Feel free to disagree or add some more. Sometimes you can chalk off 5 runners on breeding alone in races. I know if I see its heavy going at The Curragh I will never back an Exceed n Excel progeny. Simple things like that always help finding winners.

Nulty wrote: »

Had the winner of the valuable mares bumper at Navan today

He's getting stacks of winners, just a matter of seeing if he can throw up a few top notchers

Was looking at the Derby yearling entries. Lots of Sea the Stars, Godolphin have plenty of them

I'm still scratching my head over Dubawi at 75k. Looking at the entries it only looks like Godolhpin using him and these foals would have been at the cheaper rate.

Sea the Stars-Look Here caught the eye so too did Sea The Stars-Vodka. Not a bad number of Danehill Dancers but not one of them being Coolmore owned. Galileo and Montjeu obviously very popular, literally one or two Mastercraftsman. Don't even remember seeing a Dylan Thomas or Duke of Marmalade. Can't see them hanging around Coolmore for much longer. Fastnet Rock-My Emma another who caught the eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

I just can't see how someone would have sent a mare to Duke of Marmalade, :eek:, never would appeal as a stallion to me.