Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yes Kenny Dalglish and Liverpool are done. MOD POST #425 *ALL READ*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

kryogen wrote: »
    It actually is, its kinda impressive

Has to lead to bad eyes though? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,021 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

We all know the "Net spend" rubbish is just an attempt to deflect attention away from some horrendous transfer dealings but really, how stupid do Liverpool fans believe the wider public are?

They say that it doesn't matter that Carroll cost €35 million, because they got €50 million for Torres. They got €15 million profit so its ok. :rolleyes: Even a child can spot the flaw in that argument, ie: paying less for Carroll would have resulted in even MOAR profit!!!

"But no", they cry, "we told Chelsea they had to pay €15 million more than we paid for Carroll, so we were always only going to get €15 million".

What a crock'o'****e. What muppet works a transfer like that? You mean to say Abramovich demanded to see the deal sheet for Carroll before he signed off on Torres? Bollox. If Abramovich was prepared to go to €50 million then Liverpool should have been able to negotiate that fee independently to the Carroll transfer. If they couldnt then their staff should all be dumped as the idiots they clearly are.

Carroll should have been signed for circa €15 million, AND Torres sold for €50 million. That would have been good business. What actually happened was inept business, and later transfers continued that ineptness. No amount of blathering about "net spend" can hide that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

We all know the "Net spend" rubbish is just an attempt to deflect attention away from some horrendous transfer dealings but really, how stupid do Liverpool fans believe the wider public are?

They say that it doesn't matter that Carroll cost €35 million, because they got €50 million for Torres. They got €15 million profit so its ok. :rolleyes: Even a child can spot the flaw in that argument, ie: paying less for Carroll would have resulted in even MOAR profit!!!

"But no", they cry, "we told Chelsea they had to pay €15 million more than we paid for Carroll, so we were always only going to get €15 million".

What a crock'o'****e. What muppet works a transfer like that? You mean to say Abramovich demanded to see the deal sheet for Carroll before he signed off on Torres? Bollox. If Abramovich was prepared to go to €50 million then Liverpool should have been able to negotiate that fee independently to the Carroll transfer. If they couldnt then their staff should all be dumped as the idiots they clearly are.

Carroll should have been signed for circa €15 million, AND Torres sold for €50 million. That would have been good business. What actually happened was inept business, and later transfers continued that ineptness. No amount of blathering about "net spend" can hide that.

Please tell who this "they" guy is that your direct quoting ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

We're deflecting attention again lads. Wahey. Did you call us deluded?? I can't see that anywhere. You seem to have forgotten to call us deluded!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

one thing that must be said is that its a shocking state of affairs that people have been calling for Kennys head since January. He is about to finish his first full season in charge and he has been retired by some people on here.

So the options I present Spend big on players, transfers dont work manager gets sacked. (as some want to happen King Kenny)

Spend big on manager to bring quick success, success doesn't come immediately cos you're team isn't very good/unwilling to adapt (as happened AVB at chelsea)

third option you stick with the manager and give him the time to put his plan in place and support him (similar to what united did to ferguson when they finished 11th in the 88-89 season)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

oh and before anyone says do i think kenny is going to do what ferguson did. No I dont think that because i'm sure thats all some will take from what i said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭firemansam4

That's is a big generalization of Liverpool fans!

I am far from in the "Lets sack Kenny brigade", but I and many other Liverpool fans would not defend some of the money that has been spent on these signings, there has been much discussion to this fact on our own thread!
    And many of us would not defend it by saying sure we got 50 million for Torres.
    But at the end of the day when you say Liverpool have spent over 100 million for this season it is purely and simply false because we have not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

What £100 million and tactics that are positively stonehenge get you.

liverpoolXI.jpg

Dalglish clearly isn't up for the job,outdated tactics,poor transfers and the debacle that was the whole Suarez incident.I'd say he'll leave at the end of the season but as a United fan,I hope he stays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Iang87 wrote: »
    one thing that must be said is that its a shocking state of affairs that people have been calling for Kennys head since January. He is about to finish his first full season in charge and he has been retired by some people on here.

So the options I present Spend big on players, transfers dont work manager gets sacked. (as some want to happen King Kenny)

Spend big on manager to bring quick success, success doesn't come immediately cos you're team isn't very good/unwilling to adapt (as happened AVB at chelsea)

third option you stick with the manager and give him the time to put his plan in place and support him (similar to what united did to ferguson when they finished 11th in the 88-89 season)

Why do people keep going back 23 years? Times have changed, it doesnt work that way anymore!! in 1989 Millwall, Coventry, Derby and Notts Forest finished ahead of United!! Notts Forest were 1 of the best clubs in the country!!Times change!!

Every manager going into every club would love 3 or 4 seasons to execute a long term plan. It's just not the way of the world in football anymore.

Move on from the 80s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,991 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

mike65 wrote: »
    Manchester City: £430.77 million and they still won't win the league this year. Wonder will we have a "Are Roberto Mancinci and Manchester City Done" thread in May? ;)

Given how you were exposed earlier in the thread you were probably itching to start it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Adolf Hipster

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Manchester City: £430.77 million and they still won't win the league this year. Wonder will we have a "Are Roberto Mancinci and Manchester City Done" thread in May? ;)

Given how you were exposed earlier in the thread you were probably itching to start it.
    Cop on xavi or he won't trust you anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

zerks wrote: »
    What £100 million and tactics

Dalglish clearly isn't up for the job,outdated tactics,poor transfers and the debacle that was the whole Suarez incident.I'd say he'll leave at the end of the season but as a United fan,I hope he stays.

I've no doubt dalglish will be sacked, i say this because I've actually never seen a manager be treated the way gerard treated him last week, no respect but why should gerard respect him when he turned the club into a mediocre laughing stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

What I still cant fathom about the "he needs time" brigade is that Hodgson, who remains one of the best managers in the league, was a target for the boo boys from about a month into the job. How in the name of god did he not deserve time, yet Dalglish does? Anyone with half a brain surely could see from the second he got the job that this would not work out (I had no doubt he would fail to succeed, although I had truly no idea of how Steve Staunton like the whole thing would become). Maybe it was from being an Ireland fan that I had more of an idea of how and why this was to be bad, as we know all too well the folly of appointing poorly qualified people based on sentimentality and old boys clubness.
    Morricone wrote: »

We sold out best player last season in Meireles. We sold Torres who win he left us was bang in form and still one of the best strikers in the world.

Torres was crocked for the previous few months largely, he had never fully recovered from a few knocks he had picked up on international duty. Unfortunately there was alot of impatience from the "fans" regarding this. Fans who were calling him past it one minute and then deriding him when he left for apparent disloyalty. Being forced out of the club he loved, in addition to being forced to play several times when he should have been rested for months, have undoubtedtly turned him into the shadow of his old self that he is today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

I already started that! In March! :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056587539

Just watching a roundup of the 96/97 season atm on Sky,Roy Evans was in charge of Liverpool then & they were 5 points clear at Xmas and played some decent stuff.Just shows how much they have regressed and are now on a par with any midtable side who just raise their game for the big boys ala United,Chelsea etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Just watching a roundup of the 96/97 season atm on Sky,Roy Evans was in charge of Liverpool then & they were 5 points clear at Xmas and played some decent stuff.Just shows how much they have regressed and are now on a par with any midtable side who just raise their game for the big boys ala United,Chelsea etc.

They were top of the table at Christmas 3 years ago as well and one of the best teams in Europe. I don't know why your going back 16 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,636 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

niallo27 wrote: »
    They were top of the table at Christmas 3 years ago as well and one of the best teams in Europe. I don't know why your going back 16 years.

I know why and you do too!

No winding up or trolling intended,it's just that I was watching the show & Liverpool were challenging for the title and everything seemed rosy.3 years ago was just an anomoly,I think even the most die hard fan will admit that it was a false dawn.A league title challenge is even further away than ever now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭Sappy404

No winding up or trolling intended,it's just that I was watching the show & Liverpool were challenging for the title and everything seemed rosy.3 years ago was just an anomoly,I think even the most die hard fan will admit that it was a false dawn.A league title challenge is even further away than ever now.

Yes. Liverpool haven't been any use in 16 years. I for one dream of the heyday we had under Evans. We've done nothing since except win all those trophies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

If your not you should be embarrassed .

Cause your last two posts are nothing but cringe worthy.

All it takes is cash! Look at City and Chelsea
    Huge injection of money and suddenly........

Although judging by the reaction to the 2 teams in question, it seems most pool fans would turn it down ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭Sappy404

All it takes is cash! Look at City and Chelsea
    Huge injection of money and suddenly........

Although judging by the reaction to the 2 teams in question, it seems most pool fans would turn it down ;)

If there's a huge injection of cash it should go towards a new stadium or redeveloping Anfield and the immediate surrounding area, but there's too much red tape holding things up for the latter option it would seem.

Sappy404 wrote: »
    If there's a huge injection of cash it should go towards a new stadium or redeveloping Anfield and the immediate surrounding area, but there's too much red tape holding things up for the latter option it would seem.

Depending on how rich your benefactor is - you get both!
    And new youth\training facilities

Its win win! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭firemansam4

What I still cant fathom about the "he needs time" brigade is that Hodgson, who remains one of the best managers in the league, was a target for the boo boys from about a month into the job. How in the name of god did he not deserve time, yet Dalglish does? Anyone with half a brain surely could see from the second he got the job that this would not work out (I had no doubt he would fail to succeed, although I had truly no idea of how Steve Staunton like the whole thing would become). Maybe it was from being an Ireland fan that I had more of an idea of how and why this was to be bad, as we know all too well the folly of appointing poorly qualified people based on sentimentality and old boys clubness.

Come on not this chest nut again!! why did we sack Woy and not want to sack Kenny!!

Well did Woy win us our first trophy in 6 years? did he get us to the semi's of an FA cup? did he show any signs at all of improving Liverpool and getting them to play well?

Yes in Kenny's time there have been some very high price signings for mediocre players (which were more than likely more down to Camoli)
    And he has had a disastrous run of about 7 league games, but up until then we weren't doing too bad.
    At least under Kenny we have shown signs of some decent football and that has been shown in our cup runs, under Woy there was just no signs of anything happening except us going backwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Well did Woy win us our first trophy in 6 years?
    Not the best angle to approach that argument at seeing as he was sacked in January,before all cup finals.

I'm not saying he should have been kept on before ye get the pitchforks out. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,636 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Not the best angle to approach that argument at seeing as he was sacked in January,before all cup finals.

Well, the mighty Northampton had already scuppered his interest in one of them anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

3 years ago was just an anomoly,I think even the most die hard fan will admit that it was a false dawn.A league title challenge is even further away than ever now.

some fans will believe anything, without proper objective research, to fuel their hatred.

it was only a "false dawn" because of a lack of investment, H***s and G*****t asset stripping the club, and Rafa not adapting very well to the lack of investment; investment he had been promised, and then being run out of the club in the changeover.

that really is it in a nutshell.

and i too found your need to go back to Roy Evans to make your point rather amusing.

Come on not this chest nut again!! why did we sack Woy and not want to sack Kenny!!

Well did Woy win us our first trophy in 6 years? did he get us to the semi's of an FA cup? did he show any signs at all of improving Liverpool and getting them to play well?

Yes in Kenny's time there have been some very high price signings for mediocre players (which were more than likely more down to Camoli)
    And he has had a disastrous run of about 7 league games, but up until then we weren't doing too bad.
    At least under Kenny we have shown signs of some decent football and that has been shown in our cup runs, under Woy there was just no signs of anything happening except us going backwards

Roy got you far in europe though didnt he? Then Kenny got you knocked out

This is funny\ironic though:
    Youve got europa league at least, but a poor "finish" to the season is costing you

Kenny Dalglish blames Liverpool's failure to qualify for Europa League on poor start to season

Liverpool manager Kenny Dalglish believes the club were lucky to finish sixth in the Premier League table after their abysmal start to the campaign.

Aston Villa's 1-0 victory on Sunday helped condemn the Anfield outfit to their first season without European football since the 1999/2000 season. The damage was largely done under previous boss Roy Hodgson after he gained just 25 points in 21 games until Dalglish took over the reins in mid-January.
    Speaking to reporters after the match, the Scot bemoaned the poor state of the club when he took over and admitted that a season without European football would take some getting used to.
    "It's always nice for everybody to be involved in Europe, isn't it? Whether it is going to be helpful or not to be out of it remains to be seen," Dalglish stated.
    "It is a long time since this club wasn't involved in Europe. "It is new ground for everybody. We just need to get on with it and accept that we aren't.
    "We didn't qualify for Europe because we lost the game today it was because we had a bad start to the season.
    "If you start as badly as that then you're lucky to be sixth come the end of it."
    Liverpool's disappointing season ensured that no Champions League or Europa League football will be on offer to prospective signings this summer. Despite the setback, Dalglish was convinced the club remained a big enough draw and was confident if any player didn't want to come it'd be "their loss not ours."
    "There are a lot more players who don't play in the Champions League than do and I think Liverpool football club is a big enough attraction to players," he added.
    "If we want to bring someone in, I'm sure the club is a big enough attraction. Anyone we do bring in will have to be a lot better than what we have here and that is only the chosen few.
    "We'll be select with what we choose to do, and if they don't want to come, it's their loss not ours."

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2011/05/22/2498208/kenny-dalglish-blames-liverpools-failure-to-qualify-for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Well, the mighty Northampton had already scuppered his interest in one of them anyway...

Didnt he put out a weak team in that carling cup game? Alex Ferguson the greatest manager of our time has been knocked out on several occasions in that competition by playing weakened teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    cambo2008 wrote: »

True but he was still in the one that Kenny picked up.....
    Obviously would have gone out the next round though :D