Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Tipp Man wrote: »
    I'll second that - always top quality photo's from Redzer - JohnGalway is another man who takes a great photo

If the farming ever goes to pot lads ye have another career to fall back on

Yes JohnGalway too! Great to see hilly 'difficult' land being farmed to it's potential. Love the photos and I wouldn't know one end of a sheep from another!!! Keep them coming ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Muckit wrote: »
    Yes JohnGalway too! Great to see hilly 'difficult' land being farmed to it's potential. Love the photos and I wouldn't know one end of a sheep from another!!! Keep them coming ;)

Jeez I hope to knock more out of it yet :D If this is it, I think I'll retire :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Some day, my skin is a bit fair for this crack :rolleyes:

Had some pull with this lad out of a 2 year old springer this morning

photo-63.jpg

photo-62.jpg

The cows stopping for refreshments coming home from the ''moon'' at 7 this morning.

photo-60.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Got a few out yesterday evening.

The cows stopping for refreshments coming home from the ''moon'' at 7 this morning.

God the BWH has some bag of milk!!

She had some lump of a calf a few hours after!!
    You can see the nuts starting to take affect now, fleshy calves!!

photo-65.jpg

photo-64.jpg

Spent the whole day spot spraying rushes with this yoke. Im scalded and crippled after it, mind you I would probably be more crippled if I was using the knapsack ;)

photo-66.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Had to use the jack with this lad today, black lim 2nd calver at only 37 months, calved her last year at 25 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Bodacious wrote: »
    Had to use the jack with this lad today, black lim 2nd calver at only 37 months, calved her last year at 25 months
    looks big:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭limo_100

hes a fair length of a calf aswell fine big calf pity that bull is gone aswel

leg wax wrote: »
    looks big:eek:

Too big for my liking (@calving difficulty 9%) she was making no headway at all for nearly 2 hours so i took him with the jack, fine until i got to the hips but not bad either she was roomy enough.

happy out to see them bouncing around in the sunshine, best time of year:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Some great pics lately. Lovely to see the fresh calves out and about in 20*C in March!

Pic 031: LimX cow with her Ch calf a few days old
    Pic 037: Freedom at last........ Let a few cows/calves out yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

are there enough pics and people looking at this thread to make it a sticky yet :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

@bizzum Thats a fine calf thats lifting its tail in the second pic.

@Bodacious You did well to get him out. he's a bit of a bruiser!

@bizzum Thats a fine calf thats lifting its tail in the second pic.

@Bodacious You did well to get him out. he's a bit of a bruiser!

A couple of the limx calves are similar, I'm not sure which one it is, but I think he is by ABI out of a BAX cow, prob born in Nov.
    The cows look a bit raggy at the moment, a month at grass should have them looking good!

Too big for my liking (@calving difficulty 9%) she was making no headway at all for nearly 2 hours so i took him with the jack, fine until i got to the hips but not bad either she was roomy enough.

Try a straw of the Charolais bull Fury Action for the crack. He's fooking well named! Here's a pic of a son of his, he's a ped CH and he aint that old in that pic either. He was a bear when he came out, and a struggle it was to get him out too even though the cow is powerful cow to calve!

Bizzum wrote: »

Try a straw of the Charolais bull Fury Action for the crack. He's fooking well named! Here's a pic of a son of his, he's a ped CH and he aint that old in that pic either. He was a bear when he came out, and a struggle it was to get him out too even though the cow is powerful cow to calve!

No thanks Bizzum,

Powerful looking calf alright ,

I would be steering clear of him if that's the case if one of your best calvers struggled with him... I've Too much love for my cows to knowingly invite trouble on them!!

"start them small but grow them big"

p3290005o.jpg

p3290001.jpg

'Silage harvesting' in March............town council style :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

p3290005o.jpg

Made by something like this perhaps?:
    198219.jpg

p3290005o.jpg

Your culprit popped up on my facebook yesterday Muckit, Doyle from some part of roscommon, down around the loughrea side at the moment :)

Doyle.jpg

God yer quick lads!! No flys on ye!! :D:D

Rovi wrote: »
    Made by something like this perhaps?

Beat me too it Rovi :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

What is it:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

just do it wrote: »
    What is it:confused:

It's a Vervaet Hydro Trike, a self-propelled slurry injection machine.
    Main Vervaet site: http://www.vervaet.nl/indexuk.php
    Direct link to Hydro Trike page: http://www.vervaet.nl/content_uk.php?menu=112

Heres a whited heifer of of a belgian blue x friesan cow the uncle had yesterday. I sound like someone on donedeal now but the pictures really dont do her and justice. The real mccoy of a whitehead, great back on her!!

photo-70.jpg

photo-71.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Spent the whole day spot spraying rushes with this yoke. Im scalded and crippled after it, mind you I would probably be more crippled if I was using the knapsack ;)

photo-66.jpg

what model is that redzer, 450 or 350? how do you find the yamaha? a day on the quad is tough going, the throttle tumb gets soar too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

this heifer just couldnt wait her turn to get fed this evening so she took matters into her own hands:)

001pii.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

what model is that redzer, 450 or 350? how do you find the yamaha? a day on the quad is tough going, the throttle tumb gets soar too

350, a lovely bike to drive, way more comfortable than a honda with the independent rear suspension and the stepless gears are nice too. My thumb was ok but driving on rough ground all day I was shook to bits. A really comfortable bike overall and there isint a straight diff in the back either so no tyre scuffing if you like driving a quad sensibly!! Came in at about 4600 new last year but hes vat registered. I think 350 is plenty powerful for nearly anything apart from pulling a manure spreader mabye. I was down your side early this morning, no sign of life anywhere around :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

oak before the ash, were in for a splash