If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline Thread (15/02/2012 to 01/05/2012)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

A bit earlier Joe says 'Do you go to Mass every week?'

Then she says 'Well, not religiously' :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭sudzs

If you want your child to be indoctrinated into some religion or other, then do it yourself, why expect a school to do it for you??? Sounds like a good school, don't understand why she isn't happy about the great school she's being offered. Why can't she find a catholic school if it's so important to her :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

when she says a "catholic" school, does she really mean a white school?

I think we're on the same page on this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Surely the most important thing is what school is best for your childs education and not what is best for their religion? Silly woman, she sounds like a bigot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

So much time wasted on Religion and Irish in our Schools. It's no wonder kids don't have basic Grammar and Maths skill going into Secondary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

I only collected a place on the first race Joe.

Disgrace Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Your wan doesn't even know why she wants to send her child to a catholic school, but she does. But she doesn't know why. WTF like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭Technocentral

I could be wrong but isn't that small minded catholic outlook pretty much a minority view now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I could be wrong but isn't that small minded catholic outlook pretty much a minority view now?

Hopefully

because they are a minority Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,237 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

How can Joe not know where Dublin 24 is :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Now we know where Dublin 24 is.

Tallafornia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Bertiebasher

where's dublin 24, yeh Joe..baller down the rd..

Hopefully, but you'd be surprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭rasper

The last place I'd ever send my child is one that is dominated by men In dresses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

So she turned down a school spot without the guarantee of another one, eek!

"Lee is in Dublin 24.. wherever that is?? "

Jaysus Joe, those are massive Clontarf blinkers you have on there!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

The sooner all religion is taken out of schools the better.

"catholic ethos" .....:eek:...we all know what that led to, why this woman or anyone would want to put their child through it is beyond me.

Joe: Dublin 24, wherever that is?

Caller: it's Tallaght Joe.

Did we ever get a better illustration of how far Joe has removed himself from the great unwashed of the general public?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

Not on Planet Joe it isn't.

"Significant majority want a Catholic ethos education" my arse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭Technocentral

That so called 90% catholic Ireland thing is nonsense, most people write it on census out of habit, for instance church attendance in lots of working class areas is around 7%.

Ah policy smolicy :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭surferdudz

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    How can Joe not know where Dublin 24 is :confused:

he's being a smart ars**

I thought most of the Gealscoils in Dublin were shacks?

"...and then the child is six starting school"

That's actually a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭surferdudz

yer wan wants her child to go to the local school where they wear a uniform , and get their sacrements ... to make life easier for HER.

I 'd choose the same myself if I was honest...I would not like to have to hold my child back til she is 6 to START school..

Newcomer children......new line for the Bingo!

That so called 90% catholic Ireland thing is nonsense, most people write it on census out of habit, for instance church attendance in lots of working class areas is around 7%.

They said it on the frontline last night - mind you it was only said once and then everyone kept quoting it - that this figure of 90% is a 2006 figure from the census, the 2011 figures wont be out for donkeys years apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

sudzs wrote: »
    "...and then the child is six starting school"

That's actually a good thing.

It's good IF the child has been going to a proper play school...

"they're not catholics, even..." :eek: