What would you do with Peyton Manning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Broncos in to 7/2 now and are 2nd favourites. I think if we're getting him though he's going to be a bronco by tomorrow morning. If he leaves Miami have him imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

He's not in Denver to discuss a potential move, he's just there to get his neck cured by Tebow touching it.

Knowing Tebow he's trying to sell the idea to Peyton right now, even if it screws himself over. Imo if we get him we're keeping Tebow anyways, we can afford it and what he stands to learn could be phenomenal, he'd be level headed enough not to throw a fit and see that. He'd see the field enough next year regardless, he'd get thrown in on enough plays to keep the fans happy and keep him ticking over. Sell him the Montana/Young situation and we could be a force in the AFC for the next fifteen years if things fall into place right :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭neilster

That's why the number one criteria on his list for a team to sign for will be protection. That's why I think Miami will be the team who eventually gets Manning. They have Jake Long at LT - one of the best in the game - and can commit to drafting Riley Reiff for RT with their first round pick. Vernon Carey was good for them at RG this year and Richie Incognito is a pretty decent LG. Mike Pouncey will be a year older at C too - I think the Dolphins offensive line is what seals the deal for them. It's a huge plus on top of a lot of other positives they have going for them in the Manning chase. I'd be shocked if he ended up elsewhere. It also can't hurt that the AFC East isn't exactly a pool of pass-rushing talent - the Patriots, Jets and Bills were 14th, 17th and 27th place respectively in sacks last year.

Its certainly an above average OLIne ... but i have a feeling Reiff may project to Guard certainly i would worry about an 8th pick on him...certainly Combine scouts were worried about it ....i have a feeling between Mannings Miami home etc that Miami may be in the front seat ....but i have nagging doubts

- they have a perilous route to the play-offs
    - the roster is thin...will reggie bush continue his renaissance ...after Marshall thin at reciever ....defence in need of pass rushers
    - the only reason i see Denver still in there is John Elway vs Jeff Ireland but it may not be enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭neilster

spiralism wrote: »

Knowing Tebow he's trying to sell the idea to Peyton right now, even if it screws himself over. Imo if we get him we're keeping Tebow anyways, we can afford it and what he stands to learn could be phenomenal, he'd be level headed enough not to throw a fit and see that. He'd see the field enough next year regardless, he'd get thrown in on enough plays to keep the fans happy and keep him ticking over. Sell him the Montana/Young situation and we could be a force in the AFC for the next fifteen years if things fall into place right :D

i should sue you for infringement from yesterday :D but this is soooo Montana / Young ....and tebow is the type of kid to see the wood from the trees ...but if Manning gets to South Beach ohoh....Marino will do the Elway character and Stephen Ross may just win this one...have the Cards any hope here ?

Twitter:
    @RyanClady:
    Turn on ESPN and they got a chopper over Dove Valley... Wow
    Cecil Lammey ‏ @cecillammey:
    If #Manning is added to the #broncos roster #tebow learns behind him as QB2 - sources tell me #jaguars don't want to trade for him
    Shannon Sharpe ‏ @ShannonSharpe:
    No coddling in Denver .We're winning sbs a.s.a.p says @johnelway.
    Vic Lombardi ‏ @VicLombardi:
    "I don't care what anybody else is reporting. The Broncos believe they're the favorites.

Just found out when and where Broncos and Manning will meet. Stay tuned to CBS4 all day. I believe the Broncos are the favorites now. #west

I'm also told the Cardinals are a bigger threat than the Dolphins. Dome. Division. Whisenhunt."

We're pulling out all the stops here. Bowlen has supposedly left Elway an open chequebook on a deal as well per the Denver Post.

Twitter:

We're pulling out all the stops here. Bowlen has supposedly left Elway an open chequebook on a deal as well per the Denver Post.

How likely is Peyton to go to Denver now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Broncos odds dropped from 9/1 yesterday to 3/1 today....Miami still 7/4

How likely is Peyton to go to Denver now?

We're second favourites to Miami on Paddy Power, 7/2. There's more than a good chance.

Worth putting money on? Is he meeting with the broncos today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

He'll meet plenty of other teams in the next week, don't be distracted by the first shot across the bow.

Syferus wrote: »
    He'll meet plenty of other teams in the next week, don't be distracted by the first shot across the bow.

Arizona and Miami, though nothing is set in stone

Strong rumours on Denver sports radio (namely 103 the fan) that Archie has followed Peyton to Denver and has just landed there.

He's apparently visiting Arizona on Sunday. It just so happens that Larry Fitzgerald and Kurt Warner will be at the facility on that day too to try and coax him. If the Cardinals are smart, they'll have Levi Brown put under house arrest to keep him the away - just in case :P

That's providing he gets that far :D

And they may have Warner and Fitz meeting him but we've had Elway and Shannon Sharpe do the honour for us, two already in the HOF.

I dunno about Arizona, he wants to stick with the AFC i heard, they have cap issues and Bidwill is cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I said a while back that Denver seemed like the best option all around (cap space, he'll get plenty of time in the pocket, a defensive minded HC which will allow Manning to call the offense) it just all seemed like a perfect fit, but there was one problem and that was Tebow.

I didn't think that Denver would dump Tebow to second choice after last season, but the chance to get a QB like Manning in as a free agent very rarely comes around I suppose.

One thing I have noticed about the NFL as a newcomer is that it has a very big ''win now'' factor. Franchises have no problems dumping players at all as soon as something better, or more ''win now'' ready comes along and there's rarely the thinking that ''we could be a good team in a few years when the younger lads get more experience''.

From reading posts here it seems that Tebow will be happy enough to play second fiddle for a few years and learn from Manning anyway, so that doesn't seem like it will be too much of a problem.

Very interesting developments either way. Manning and Tebow at the same team could well cause the NFL to explode! :D

And they may have Warner and Fitz meeting him but we've had Elway and Shannon Sharpe do the honour for us, two already in the HOF.

Shannon Sharpe!?!?

I think Peyton has a big enough pain in his neck already! ;)

I don't think he will end up in Denver (it is possible though I guess) but I wouldn't see them dumping Tebow even if he did.

Just think - a veteran pocket passer who will go down as one of the all time greats backed up by a young, unconventional kid with a lot of heart who has a fondness for leaving the pocket....hmmm, where have we heard this QB controversy before? :cool:

I don't think he will end up in Denver (it is possible though I guess) but I wouldn't see them dumping Tebow even if he did.

Just think - a veteran pocket passer who will go down as one of the all time greats backed up by a young, unconventional kid with a lot of heart who has a fondness for leaving the pocket....hmmm, where have we heard this QB controversy before? :cool:

I just meant that as to second choice QB, not releasing him.

It would be very exciting to watch, I hope it happens :)

Much like with the Dolphins, other teams who have expressed interest in Manning still are waiting to hear from his camp, league sources have told NFL Network insider Jason La Canfora.

hmm, maybe he doesnt intend to go anywhere else ? :D

News has just broke that Denver players DJ Williams and Ryan McBean have got 6 game bans for drug abuse. Well timed dickheads, that's going to cost ye yer jobs.

Edit for news: We've filed tampering charges with the league, believing that the timing of the release of the news was a bit too much of a coincidence.

Edit for more news: Colts have released Clark, Bullitt, Brackett and Addai. We could use them as leverage, offer to bring Manning's mates in too. Clark could take Virgil Green's spot as he's guaranteed to be cut for landing himself a four match ban for the same offences as Williams and McBean

More news again:
    Brandon Spano Show ‏ @BrandonSpano
    Pressure mounts on Denver to get this done. Sources say Tebows camp is not happy. Also Archie Manning landing in Denver has been confirmed.
    Though...
    Brandon Spano Show ‏ @BrandonSpano
    Apparently the Manning camp has also informed Houston that he is interested in talking with them.

Broncos have ridiculous cap space don't they? Think it's either Denver or the Bengals who have the most cap space as it stands. The Denver Post say they have a 33% chance (very scientific calculations there, i.e. either them, the Dolphins or the Cardinals) but that if they do get him, Tebow won't be there for much longer. And here we were thinking Manning would be the most talked about roster move this offseason :)

49 Million. We could bring in all of Peyton's mates too like i said above and still have tons left

If the news on the suspensions costs us Manning, then **** me, i'm going to be livid.

Schefter on Denver radio per orangemane.com:
    The Broncos were not interested in pursuing Manning then something changed in the last couple of weeks.

Manning won't sign before leaving town. He's there on a fact finding mission. There to meet coaches, see the facility. Wants to see what it's like. Expected to visit Arizona as well.

He won visit anywhere he isn't serious about. He's visiting Denver, Denver is on his short list.

Just because Broncos first doesn't mean Broncos are in the lead to sign Manning.

Tebow? Broncos will have to talk about that. If Manning signs he plays every down. There really isn't a spot for Tebow.

They aren't talking contract. Manning is not working out for the Broncos on this visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Justin10

Surely there wouldnt be a market for Tebow?

Could this be the end of Tebow? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Paully D wrote: »
    Could this be the end of Tebow? :(

He will rise again....

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Surely there wouldnt be a market for Tebow?

there won't and i could well see our front office telling his people where to go if he wants out tbh, we wouldnt get much. If he stuck around for a while he'd come around to staying too. His people are naturally pissed off but unless we make a move their hands are tied, he's three years left on his deal and unless we see a good deal he stays put and learns from manning.

Remember that Manning hardly has a good record with back-ups, both Sorgi and Painter were the butt of jokes. They weren't huge talents but if sitting and watching him practice and prepare was much of a bonus they woulnt have been so useless.

Also, the Los Angeles Jaguars, confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Justin10

Remember that Manning hardly has a good record with back-ups, both Sorgi and Painter were the butt of jokes. They weren't huge talents but if sitting and watching him practice and prepare was much of a bonus they woulnt have been so useless.

That could be down to Manning not letting them throw the ball in practice.

Where you see the LA news?

Source?

I thought Khan was all about staying in Florida. Mark Lamping said as much a couple of weeks ago.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    That could be down to Manning not letting them throw the ball in practice.

I bet Rodgers barely got to throw most of his four years, either. I think it's far more about the mentality and drive of the back-up than it is about who he's watching, I'd never expect any two players ostensibly competing for the same job to be some sort of mentor-student pairing. If that happens it happens, but I'd never bet the farm on it.