Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve to Full-Time (see Moderator note in post#72)

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭footprints

bluetop wrote: »
    Or maybe the other way around, you must remember that reserves 90% of them would be within the age frame for going full time.

It wont be more, even 20 imo is too high a figure...you'll have couple of 100,000 looking to apply with only 1000 reserves.As I said before you could have 1000 sitting aptitude test there may only be a few reserves in that 1000 they may not even get to interview stage.. also out of those 150 places some of them places will already be taken unfairly.
    Because of the ratio of non garda reserves applying to garda reserves vast majority of future gardai will be non reserves..ratio could be something like 400:1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭bluetop

footprints wrote: »
    It wont be more, even 20 imo is too high a figure...you'll have couple of 100,000 looking to apply with only 1000 reserves.As I said before you could have 1000 sitting aptitude test there may only be a few reserves in that 1000 they may not even get to interview stage.. also out of those 150 places some of them places will already be taken unfairly.
    Because of the ratio of non garda reserves applying to garda reserves vast majority of future gardai will be non reserves..ratio could be something like 400:1

And what would be the problem with all 1000 sitting the exams, i could not see a problem myself, at teh end of the day these people have shown commitment dont you think, and should be rewarded, at the present time there is still no stopping on recruitment to the Reserves, so even if they took 150 out they could be filled straight away with the back log that has now accumulated dont you think.

From this below read between the lines

The regulations governing recruitment to the Garda Síochána would not permit recruitment to be limited to members of the Garda Reserve but the regulations specifically allow the Public Appointments Service to give due recognition to any satisfactory service by a person as a reserve member of the Garda Síochána.

Note the word member !! reserves are already serving members of AGS.

The regulations governing recruitment to the Garda Síochána would not permit recruitment to be limited to members of the Garda Reserve

The above states that recruitment wont be an in house competition...yet in the previous page you seem to think it doesnt rule out in house recruitment,read it again!!when they look for 150 they wont be all reserves.Also,I NEVER said reserves werent members of AGS so why you included that in your post I dont know.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭bluetop

Only one answer to this question is wait and see when recruitment starts again, when ever that happens, some time in the distant future.

footprints wrote: »
    The regulations governing recruitment to the Garda Síochána would not permit recruitment to be limited to members of the Garda Reserve

and quite right too, as i have said earlier, there is no way that thousands of people should be excluded from applying just because they were not part of the reserve force.

due recognition of course will be given to reserve members for their service which is right but no way should any future recruitement be taken ONLY from reserves.

We can have this debate but will there actually be recruitment for a long time and to what extent.At the last graduation in June 2011,Shatter met Templemore Town Committee to discuss future of garda college,I got in touch with someone who spoke with the Minister.He didn't know when recruitment would start but stressed to him that when it does it'll just be 'very small' intakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 1rishguy

Cant remember where the thread is but a question arose. Are the Garda Reserve
    members of AGS? The answer is yes. Have a look at this link and apologies if Im on the wrong thread again.

http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Pages/WP07000568

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 keep itreal

Lads,if your a reserve or not its going to be irrelevant which is a disgrace when recruitment comes round again,you'll have to know someone with hundreds of thousands applying for a few vacancies.I applied for cadets in last campaign,spent years upskilling to compete with the huge numbers applying,waste of time.It later emerged that most of the class taken in had family links to high ranking members in Defence Forces,ask anyone in army circles and they will tell you the same and it lead to this TD asking the following question with the obvious answer.

http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2012-01-26.1211.0&s=cadets#g1212.0.q

'it's not what you know it's you know':mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

1rishguy wrote: »
    Cant remember where the thread is but a question arose. Are the Garda Reserve
    members of AGS? The answer is yes. Have a look at this link and apologies if Im on the wrong thread again.

http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Pages/WP07000568
    yes garda reserve is a rank within AGS after your attested your a member, prior to attestation no your not hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

'it's not what you know it's you know':mad:

From the admission and amendment act. basic under cuts your qoute above as it is for anyone in the reserve is given due recognisation FOR THERE SERVICE NOT FOR WHO THEY KNOW. all recruitment is carried with statutory regulation in place therefore elemanates anyone trying there arm at a board member looking to pull strings.

As it is also the same for the Cadetship IDF have statutory regulations in place too. but the below qoute is from A&A act

(3) The operational requirements of the service in terms of having an age profile appropriate to the physical demands placed on members in the course of their duty. Consideration is being given to changing the upper age limit, in limited circumstances, in a way which would be beneficial to An Garda Síochána. The Deputy will be aware that the Garda Síochána (Admissions and Appointments) (Amendment) Regulations 2006 already allow the Public Appointments Service to give due recognition to any satisfactory service by a person as a reserve member of the Garda Síochána.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 u s e

What the poster is saying is that like with any organisation some will be accepted into a job because of who they know.I mean would James Murdoch be CEO of the worlds largest news corporation if his dad didnt own it??I dont think so.There are gardai that got in due to that reason and its only going to be more prevalent with the recession.Ask any member in private and they'll give examples of people that got in that route.there's 13,000 plus members it'd be naive to think they all got in fair and square.
    The media highlighted only recently that Alan Shatter himself appointed close friends to certain positions in his department,it happens,is it fair?No,but its not a fair world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 keep itreal

Sorry if I caused trouble,just frustrating when you give something your all and fair enough maybe I wasnt a suitable candidate but frustrating knowing others could have talked about the weather in their interview and would still be successful.I just hope the same isnt replicated in ags because it'd be cruel to both reserves and those who arent reserves who are upskilling but I feel its the same with the public and private sector.I wont mention this topic again,realise it might prove to be controversial and 'taboo'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

As a serving full time sergeant I am thinking of joining the reserves when I retire. Most serving members will think this is a mad idea but for me I know retiring will be a painful experience and I will miss it terribly so this could be a sort of soft landing retirement solution.

I have almost 30 years done now and could do another 6 - which I hope to do. But it seems from reading the entry requirements that you must be under 60 years when 'commencing reserve training'. This would mean retiring before I finish my full time.

So how long typically does it take from applying for the reserves to commencing training?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

As a serving full time sergeant I am thinking of joining the reserves when I retire. Most serving members will think this is a mad idea but for me I know retiring will be a painful experience and I will miss it terribly so this could be a sort of soft landing retirement solution.

I have almost 30 years done now and could do another 6 - which I hope to do. But it seems from reading the entry requirements that you must be under 60 years when 'commencing reserve training'. This would mean retiring before I finish my full time.

So how long typically does it take from applying for the reserves to commencing training?

how long is a piece of string!?

some have been through all stages in 3months, others 3years! the backround checks seem to be the longest stage

im sure after 30years service within AGS, your backround checks shouldnt take too long!

may I ask, what is your opinion of the reserve, its members and its contribution to policing in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Well my time line so far, Applied March 2011, Interview May 2011, completed BR form August 2011, phone call for interview with sergeant Jan 2012, call interview with Inspector Feb 2012 then nothing since.

Every job is the same, if someone is working there you have a better chance of getting in. Also in fairness I am sure some people are thankful they don't get straight in as I can see fathers forcing there sons or daughters into the Garda and they might have zero interest in it at all, so they end up stuck in a job they hate. Which in turn reflects badly on the organisation if members are taking the piss out of the beat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

I don't normally work with reserves except when drafted in to larger centres during special events etc - I am stationed out in the sticks. But I am impressed with all the reserves I have met in the course of my duties. Most - but not all are hoping for a full time job out of it which is fair enough. I would do the same in their position.
    I feel some allowance should be made (and I am sure will) for reserve applicants. They should at least be exempt the 35 years entry limit if they were less than that when they first joined the reserves.
    Obviously they make a valuable contribution to the overall policing effort and are welcomed and well accepted by the permanent force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Yogi Bear

As far as i am aware, Full time Members only have to do Phase 1 in Templemore if they join the reserve. I'm sure HR would allow you to transfer to the reserve just before you are 60, so you would not need to retire that early. You should ring them and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

Apologies for perhaps late reply.

I think there is a provision for special treatment / age / accelerated training for retired members of AGS. Ring the Reserve Office in the park if interested. You dont have to give them your name/details but they will be happy to advise.

Reserves and regular members would benefit greatly from having the experience of a senior member staying within the organisation.