Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

This is fracking unbelievable, restart the gravy train, Leitrim to the rescue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭pcworldisajoke

dlofnep wrote: »
    Any fracking should be resisted with physical violence. It's simply not worth the money to pollute the environment in the way that this does.

im willing to go to jail. Ive never seen a more worthy cause of incarceration and loss of liberty than saving the land and soil our ancestors fought and died for over centuries from the lying scum that propose to secure a quick dollar, based on our desperation as a result of the similar scum of international banking. I'd include any of our politicians that accede to this too.

Im willing to go to jail so future generations can have what we have. And f*ck me, i'm sure a hell of alot of other people are too. And it won't be in vain.

Recent fracking incident!
    http://www.edmontonjournal.com/business/Fracking+suspected+Innisfail+blowout/6006761/story.html
    Provincial energy regulators are investigating the possibility that hydraulic fracturing - or fracking - on one well could have caused the rupture of an adjacent oil well after a spill was reported late Friday near the town of Innisfail.
    The Energy Resource Conservation Board said hydraulic fracturing on a well owned by Calgary-based Midway Energy could have affected a producing oil well owned by Wild Stream Exploration, which was operating a few hundred metres away.
    "We don't know the details yet so it is premature to comment on the process, but my understanding is that it appears the fracturing process affected the other well," said Cara Tobin, board spokeswoman.
    Fluid collected at the site included fracturing oil, nitrogen and sand, Tobin said.
    The regulator was alerted early Friday evening after a landowner saw black fluid spraying from a pumpjack located on a hill in a neighbour's field.
    Pump it in too hard and it'll pop out somewhere!

http://thinkprogress.org/green/2012/02/01/416360/gasland-filmmaker-josh-fox-arrested-for-trying-to-film-fracking-hearing/?mobile=nc

gasland film director Josh Fox just arrested at the behest of US republican lawmakers for trying to film them talking about fracking contamination. Wonder what they had to hide.

Related to this, in recent weeks, THe potentially devastating keystone tar sands pipeline that Obama has blocked, but republicans are trying to push through, is backed only by senators that took a total of 23 million in contributions from big oil companies.

Dirty energy companies are sucking the planet dry, and have hugely corrupted american democracy (legally). No reason why it wont happen here re; fracking.

http://www.facebook.com/TarSandsAction/posts/272316176168758

http://thinkprogress.org/green/2012/02/01/416360/gasland-filmmaker-josh-fox-arrested-for-trying-to-film-fracking-hearing/?mobile=nc

gasland film director Josh Fox just arrested at the behest of US republican lawmakers for trying to film them talking about fracking contamination. Wonder what they had to hide.

Related to this, in recent weeks, THe potentially devastating keystone tar sands pipeline that Obama has blocked, but republicans are trying to push through, is backed only by senators that took a total of 23 million in contributions from big oil companies.

Dirty energy companies are sucking the planet dry, and have hugely corrupted american democracy (legally). No reason why it wont happen here re; fracking.

http://www.facebook.com/TarSandsAction/posts/272316176168758

There's more to that keystone pipeline than meets the eye!
    Oil refiners & producers in the American mid-west are also opposed to the pipeline because it means that the Canadian tar-sands effectively have a captive market thus the WTI price of oil is 10-15 dollars cheaper than Brent. They buy the oil cheap and sell it expensive, open the pipeline and their easy profit goes west (to China).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,636 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I dunno why but all this talk of freaking fracking has reminded me of the milkshake scene in There Will Be Blood.

dolanbaker, dont forget its the dirtiest fossil fuel extraction process imaginable. Many canadians also say their government has been bought by corporations in favour of opening another 12 huge (mindboggling scale) tar sands pits, in pristine environmental areas in canada. The canadians are the third worst polluter in the world because of this ****. Many canadians have been put on an enemy of canada list for speaking out about it there. Its gotten that bad- its like energy corporations are taking over the planet. Someone somewhere is gonna say enough is enough one of these days.

Anyway, on keystone- so many people ignore that the 44 senators involve have all received fortunes form big oil. THe fact that this is allowed is the saddest thing of all. Surely the sensible thing is to say- if you get money from one source, you cant vote on anything related. I realise they wouldnt getmoney then but you get me.....

the yanks have no democracy, neither do we really.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

It's very sad to see Canada, a country I always used to hold in high regard in terms of environmental and human rights issues, effectively sell out to big energy over the Athabasca tar sands reserves. Huge parts of the province of Alberta are being destroyed by the tar extraction industry.:(

Even if the proposed fracking in the Lough Allen basin involved no chemicals (which I don't believe for a second) there is the issue of radioactive materials in the waste water coming back up from the wells (uranuim and radium) and the earthquakes caused by fracking process.

Why is it, when I think of fracking, my mind turns of the small town of Hinkley in California that featured in the Hollywood film Erin Brockovitch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Why is it, when I think of fracking, my mind turns of the small town of Hinkley in California that featured in the Hollywood film Erin Brockovitch?
    We could see an influx of solicitors relocating to Co Lietrim. :p

dolanbaker, dont forget its the dirtiest fossil fuel extraction process imaginable.

the yanks have no democracy, neither do we really.

I'm more than aware of just how dirty the process it, it's also very energy intensive as well.

the yanks will do what it takes to get oil, no holds barred!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

This thread has finally got me interested in looking up about it. Some great points raised.

Must go to Youtube and swallow the agenda of the first video I see.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,403 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Given that the Vikings were in Leitrim how long until Norway stakes a claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭howwedoin

Sounds like the usual! If it profits...its privatised, but if its debt...it's nationalised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

dlofnep wrote: »
    Any fracking should be resisted with physical violence. It's simply not worth the money to pollute the environment in the way that this does.

You can be sure that local lackeys will be employed as security guards, and
    gardaí enforcement is never far away. Sounds familiar??

We're not the Fighting Irish for nothing..so easy to divide and conquer Paddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

Hmm.

I don't have the necessary expertise to make an informed judgement on fracking, though I've read enough to make me concerned.

One thing that doers occur to me though, is that this Company is (allegedly) inexperienced.

If that is the case - then they are going to have to employ people with the necessary experience.
    That being the case - what on earth is to stop the Irish Government hiring the same people, and keeping the extra profit for the Irish people?
    (assuming they decide to allow fracking, in the first place)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

tony007 wrote: »
    They wanted to buy all of coillte, not just certain parts of the forests.

It'd be a bit suspect to just buy the bits over the gas reserves,actually the whole thing was a bit suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

You can be sure that local lackeys will be employed as security guards, and
    gardaí enforcement is never far away. Sounds familiar??

We're not the Fighting Irish for nothing..so easy to divide and conquer Paddy.

Millicent probably lives on the east coast so thinks this will never affect her. In years to come how will she like it if her drinking water is piped from the Shannon water system, newly tainted with uranium, radium226 , who knows mercury not to mention whatever random chemical T*mboran chose to chuck in.
    If you have to get personal, then you've already lost the argument.
    Noreen1 wrote: »
    Hmm.

I don't have the necessary expertise to make an informed judgement on fracking, though I've read enough to make me concerned.

One thing that doers occur to me though, is that this Company is (allegedly) inexperienced.

If that is the case - then they are going to have to employ people with the necessary experience.
    That being the case - what on earth is to stop the Irish Government hiring the same people, and keeping the extra profit for the Irish people?
    (assuming they decide to allow fracking, in the first place)
    The inexperience wouldn't bother me, as once regulations are followed, it'd be a standard affair. The problem is that Ireland seems completely unwilling to follow regulations in anything, so the copany would most likely be allowed to do anything they want.

Also, I'd say that it'd be far too expensive for Ireland to hire people to do it. Plus, if it goes wrong, the government wouldn't have a scapegoat.

Still, I'd like to see an actual unbiased report on the fracking system that's planned, rather than conspiracy theory videos and reports made by the companies that profit from it all. Can't imagine the government asking for anything like that, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

The inexperience doesn't matter. Not because our fine regulatory system will be enforcing good practice, but because these guys will never be extracting anything.

That's the business model. They're not in the business of extracting. They're in the business of identifying areas of geological interest, sorting all planning issues, and then selling on the Play to bigger operators. They may retain a small interest as part of the deal.

That's just the way it works.

Knowing that, knowing how accelerants are NEEDED for the liberation of hydrocarbons and witnessing the interview given by Tamboran's CEO last night on the news, I would want to see an independent analysis of all their data so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This could turn Leitrim into an uninhabited wasteland........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

So, an improvement then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

WHAT???

Would it not be more beneficial to us if we set a match to the gas under Leitrim and got rid of that county once and for all.

Where the frack is Leitrim anyway, do they even have a football team?

Jaysus christ on a bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Fracking company: We'll offer you 50% of the profits Enda
    Enda : Not at all i would'nt want to upset our European partners. We'll take 10%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Park Royal

But if we brought Ray Burke back to negotiate ........

everything would be just grand......

even thirty grand......:mad:

And the whole River Shannon as most of this river originates in Co Leitrim. We would see widespread fish kills, salmon and trout stocks wiped out down as far as the Shannon Estuary in Limerick / Clare..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

and don't forget Mr RTTHills, Leitrim has famed salmon rivers. Often, the New Years first salmon catch is on a Leitrim river. Wonder what foreign anglers will think when there is nothing alive to fish for.

Mr Humanji, I've since edited my previous posting.

Another Fracking boards link, phew!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056306383

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

And the whole River Shannon as most of this river originates in Co Leitrim. We would see widespread fish kills, salmon and trout stocks wiped out down as far as the Shannon Estuary in Limerick / Clare..

Would or could or probably wouldn't?
    Are you fear mongering again?! You know what the doctor said about that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

frack leitrim its only a craphole anyways, lets get the gas out ourselves and use the money to bail our country out of debt

Would or could or probably wouldn't?
    Are you fear mongering again?! You know what the doctor said about that!
    You poison a river by polluting its basin.

It's as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

You poison a river by polluting its basin.

It's as simple as that.

And Fracking will do that?

Of course, one of the main catalysts used in the fracking process is copious amounts of raw diesel. We all know what damage that can do on the environment.