Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Possible Irish SOPA Law? :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,095 ✭✭✭✭ED E

This is gonna just slip through isnt it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Decryptor wrote: »
    The Wordpad icon is still there. And it still doesn't have a privacy policy.

It's not, you may need to clear your cache to see it properly.

He has however just changed the Wordpad icon to the Kontact icon (KDE's email application) thus violating GPL.

Methinks we need a new infograph :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭dasdog

"We've had an email storm, we're about to have a hurricane". I smiled when yer wan on the live stream said that. :)

Catherine Murphy (Ind), she seemed genuinely concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Jev/N wrote: »
    Why the hell is he saying the stakeholders need to sit down together and discuss - of course they do but that's not the issue at all! :mad:

I think he's playing Nanny and is using this legislation to force a sit down.

But why sit down? He's giving the music industry what they want.

He doesn't have a fucking notion what he's doing or what the implications could be and he's sticking to his guns out of stubbornness.

Prick.

On a brighter note: Catherine Murphy did quite well, much respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Babbling utter shìte and stumbled pretty badly when asked the injunction question. A question which he can't seem to answer with any sort of confidence anywhere, as if he's hoping whatever comes out of his mouth will be accepted as a passable answer.

That worries me.

At least Catherine Murphy showed genuine concern for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

I'm shocked at the fact he hadn't a speech written, not only as it's common practice in such situations, but the fact that nearly 47,000 people have signed a petition against what he is about to do and he couldn't be bothered getting someone to draw up a speech.

Instead, we had to listen to irrelevant and ignorant ramblings for 10 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Terrible performance by Sherlock again!

EDIT: Fair play to Eoghan Murphy there at the end for pointing out Mr. Serlock's ignorance and complete and utter laziness at not drafting a speech!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Seachmall wrote: »
    Nicely done Dev.

Also

http://www.oireachtas.ie/viewdoc.asp?fn=/documents/livewebcast/DailFlash512KB.htm

For Dail debate on Irish SOPA live.

I am getting 'Adobe Flash player crashed - reload the page or try again' over and over. Not sure if this is related to the volume of viewers ?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Sure, home taping killed the music industry, don't you know?

Judging by the **** on the radio the last countless years, it would appear that it killed music and not the industry :P

Morlar wrote: »
    I am getting 'Adobe Flash player crashed - reload the page or try again' over and over. Not sure if this is related to the volume of viewers ?

It's over now since it was only debated for 15 minutes..........well, 10 minutes of Sherlock talking complete nonsense without even having a speech available to promote this.

Complete and utter shoddy behaviour for something so huge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

http://www.seansherlock.ie/index.php

Dear Mr Sherlock,

My name is Nigel Mooney. I'm from #####, ##### and I'm emailing you in regards to the ACTA law which I'm sure you're very aware of. I don't know exactly what's being proposed as no one has been told. However I do know that it's expected to allow music publishers, film producers and other parties to go to court and force ISP's to block access to pirated websites.

On paper, this seems fair enough. However, what can be classified as a pirated website? Legit websites that allow users to upload their own content, which are plentiful, and some of the biggest in the world (Youtube, Wikipedia etc.) can be targets of this ridiculous "law". The people in favor of this are bowing to pressure from media organizations and believe me, will have much bigger concerns if sites like the following, or even much less popular sites get blocked.

The ramifications of such a "law" being passed would be dreadful on the general populous and businesses, domestic, international and multinational.

The political ramifications of this for you personally will be devastating if it's gone ahead with. There isn't a single person I know of, online through forums, online media, news, colleagues, friends, family and other businesses that isn't opposed to this law. And your name is all over it.

Thank you for taking the time to read this e-mail. I hope I hear from you as soon as possible.

Kind Regards
    Nigel Mooney

I don't care about illegal filesharing, based on the scant information out there the implications of this go far beyond that.

Few points - I don't accept the need for immediacy in rushing this through without advance notice or informed discussion.

Secondly - this is wide ranging and has potentially long term consequences that haven't been discussed.

This signals an unhealthy development in my view. Any website can be targetted (for example by campaign or advocacy groups) and shut down with no advance notice to the site owner in the event of an alleged copy right infringement.

This means if boards have pictures posted which are copyright of another entity boards can be shut down if the alleged copyright owner desires this to happen. Without any mechanism for boards to have a right of reply.

Correct me if I am wrong but that is my understanding of this. This mechanism could trickle right down to the level of political or personal blogs and hobby websites, forums etc etc.,
    With no consideration of standard 'fair use' or without regard to whether or not it was for profit or education ignoring intent on the part of site owners etc. I hope I am wrong on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Sykk wrote: »
    [Letter]

Don't get your hopes up for a reply, I sent an email on Saturday and still nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Sykk wrote: »
    I'm emailing you in regards to the ACTA law which I'm sure you're very aware of. I don't know exactly what's being proposed as no one has been told

ACTA is the law that was passed by the EU in Poland today and the completed text was published in April of last year.

Sherlock's law is just being referred to as SOPA Ireland (or am I wrong here?).

It's way too vague, it's being rushed in, nothing has been noted of it's effect down the line, and the general public are essentially clueless to what it truly is given the lack of time and information that has been given.

It's essentially being sneaked in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

I hold the copyright to all those funny cat pictures so I fully support this bill and im gonna sue the face off the lot of ye when it comes in.

It's interesting how this government moves at a snails pace and can not get anything done except at the speed of a slow moving glacier. Then, when it has a mind to it can rush through this kind of unwanted legislation in the blink of an eye. I am finding it hard to believe that the lack of informed dialogue on this and lack of any kind of in depth information, coupled with the lightning speed of all of this is just some kind of innocent mistake on their part.

Boards has zero tolerance to filesharing links and torrent links (not the websites, but the actual downloadable links of a movie, for example).

Would this mean this site would have to tighten it's rules on people posting up Youtube videos of music videos / movie clips since, technically, Youtube would be in violation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭yeraulone

That's it. I'm deleting my hard drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Got this email from TD Joe Costello who states that Ireland is not signed up to acta
    Thank you for your e-mail regarding copyright protection and the Internet. Please find below the text of the draft Statutory Instrument and a statement from Minister Sean Sherlock that should provide some clarification on the matter.

It should be noted that the proposed Statutory Instrument does not implement a new EU Directive, but is being put in place as the High Court had ruled that Ireland had not fully transposed the relevant EU Directive(s) as part of the Copyright and Related Rights Act 2000. It should also be noted that this Statutory Instrument is not related to the Anticounterfeiting and Trade Agreement (ACTA) and that Ireland and the EU are not signatories to this agreement.

Yours sincerely,

Joe

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Boards has zero tolerance to filesharing and torrents links (not the websites, but the actual downloadable links of a movie, for example).

Would this mean this site would have to tighten it's rules on people posting up Youtube videos of music videos / movie clips since, technically, Youtube would be in violation?

According to Willie Kavanagh, Youtube and embedded youtube links does not come under this copyright legislation due to the fact that youtube pays for the material on it's site
    Let me just clear something up. YouTube will never be taken down. YouTube pays for the material it broadcasts. Even when illicit copyright material is broadcast on YouTube, YouTube pays for it.

source : http://www.thejournal.ie/ireland%E2%80%99s-%E2%80%98sopa%E2%80%99-legislation-the-big-arguments-for-and-against-336952-Jan2012/

Duggy747 wrote: »
    It's way too vague, it's being rushed in, nothing has been noted of it's effect down the line, and the general public are essentially clueless to what it truly is given the lack of time and information that has been given.

It's essentially being sneaked in.

What's the difference between a single jpeg of a photograph and a Blockbuster movie (in terms of this law) ?

As I understand it a copyright owner is a copyright owner. In some cases ownership can be disputed or unclear, I am not hearing any information about establishment of proof of copyright ownership or of dispute resolution procedures or any of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 JumpJump1

ACTA was signed by Ireland and Poland today, but it's a totally different thing from this SOPA Ireland business (and potentially a lot more dangerous).

darokane wrote: »
    Got this email from TD Joe Costello who states that Ireland is not signed up to acta

Someone doesn't know what they are talking about! Ireland signed ACTA today in Tokyo by Ireland’s ambassador to Japan, John Neary.

http://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-and-eu-to-sign-controversial-acta-treaty-tomorrow-336764-Jan2012/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

gavmcg92 wrote: »
    Someone doesn't know what they are talking about! Ireland signed ACTA today in Tokyo by Ireland’s ambassador to Japan, John Neary.

http://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-and-eu-to-sign-controversial-acta-treaty-tomorrow-336764-Jan2012/

I've mailed him back with that response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Here ya go lads,

Just about to publish this to Twitter and his FB page :P

http://imgur.com/JZkjX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

gavmcg92 wrote: »

It has not been ratified yet..!!!
    The European Union Signed ACTA today – months after withholding its signature at the official signing ceremony in Japan. But the political atmosphere in the EU remains very much in flux. The key to the future is that, unlike the US, the EU has admitted that ACTA is a binding international agreement and therefore requires parliamentary approval. But Parliamentary approval in the EU is in doubt.

Marietje Schaake, a pro-business member of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe in the European Parliament, known for being “Europe’s most wired politician,” recounted this week that “the European Parliament has the decisive voice on ACTA,” with the first public “exchange of views” on ACTA in the key committee scheduled for February 29th or March 1st. The committee will most likely hold its vote on the ratification of the treaty in April or May, with a full parliament vote expected in June.
    The EU vote is likely to be close, especially in the wake of the short term defeat of SOPA and the heightened awareness of internet freedom in its wake. As Schaake notes:
    “In November 2010 we proposed an alternative resolution on ACTA, which intended to take away the main concerns. It was voted down by a very slight majority, . . . 16 votes, out of 736.”

So Schaake and others are calling for a grass roots campaign to swing the handful of votes needed to defeat ACTA in the EU.

Meanwhile, the U.S. is still holding firm to its position that the executive branch can bind Congress to ACTA without the traditional congressional approval required of treaties or internationally binding Executive Agreements. Senator Wyden challenged the administration on this plan, most recently to the State Department’s top legal advisor, but as of yet the administration has not backed down or provided legal reasoning justifying the constitutionality of its course of action. A Constitutional showdown with Congress may be looming.

No other country has ratified ACTA. The Mexico Senate has voted once to reject it, albeit in a non-binding resolution. In the post-SOPA landscape, it looks more unlikely that it will go into effect than it did a few months ago. But the ultimate tally will be sure to be close.

Achilles wrote: »
    Here ya go lads,

Just about to publish this to Twitter and his FB page :P

http://imgur.com/JZkjX

Love it .. Awesome ..

Just thought I would post the response from my local MEP. Positive enough .
    Thank you for your email.

In the context of the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA), I share your concerns, especially as regards the protection of fundamental rights such as the right of information, freedom of expression, personal data protection and the right to due process. I take the view that internet freedom should not be jeopardised by disproportionate intellectual property rights provisions. Thus, in its current form, I will not be able to vote in favour of ACTA.

I will be closely following this matter as the agreement is brought to the European Parliament for consent to ratification by the European Union.

For your information, please find attached the position taken on ACTA my political group in the European Parliament (S&D) in late 2010, as well as the legal opinions of the EP´s Legal Service, which the Legal Affairs committee voted to disclose on December 19.

Should you feel that I can be of further help on this or any other matters, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Many thanks.

Phil Prendergast MEP for Munster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

k.p.h wrote: »
    Just thought I would post the response from my local MEP. Positive enough .

He's labour too, you'd think he'd bring it up with his moronic colleague