If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

WeightWatchers & "How Many ProPoints?" Thread MkII

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 TylersHo

Hey guys my third weigh in is tomorrow. My starting weight was 12.13 and I lost 3 and a half pounds the first week and stayed the same last week im really hoping that I am down tomorrow. I am going away this weekend and I am so worried I will be so over my points as we have to eat out Friday and Saturday any ideas on how not to go to overboard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Baby75

TylersHo wrote: »
    Hey guys my third weigh in is tomorrow. My starting weight was 12.13 and I lost 3 and a half pounds the first week and stayed the same last week im really hoping that I am down tomorrow. I am going away this weekend and I am so worried I will be so over my points as we have to eat out Friday and Saturday any ideas on how not to go to overboard?

I was away in Sligo last weekend and was down 1 at WI Thursday! I made sure I stuck to healthy low options friday before we left, so I had enough PP for the dinner. we arrived late on Friday so stayed in the hotel for dinner, the low fat options were not great so I went for a Cesar salad with chicken, I asked for the dressing on the side separate and for tomatoes added in! glad I did as they sent out loads of dressing use a fork to dip in the dressing! that way you wont pour loads on!
    I had two drinks on friday night used my weeklies for that!
    for the breakfast the food was buffet!!!! looked yummy and was yummy!
    of course Hubby was loading up!! but I grabed a bowl of fruit and got some bacon and 1 sausage, tomatoes and mushrooms (all grilled) :) I halved the sausage.

During the day we snacked on fruit, had healthy lunch I had a chicken salad wrap, had a not so healthy dinner that night a few chips and a chicken salad in pitta bread (it was horrible to be honest) we had left it to late to get dinner we were off walking all day! no drinks that night

Think I used 15 of my weeklies but I think it was snacking on fruit! grapes etc in the car that helped
    sorry for the long post but hope it helps!
    if you can check out the menu on line so you can prepare! and stock up on fruit to bring with you. bring some low options treats etc

PS have a great time :)

Thanks so much baby75 for the great advice!! Thats a brilliant idea to ask for the sauce on the side and to half the sausage i will be trying that out. I think I just need to use my will power and take it easy on the drinks. I will bring down some ww treats also to eat maybe after a few drinks maybe it will help to avoid the temptation of junk food haha thanks a million for the advice feel so much more motivated now to stay on track :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Kay_80

Well done on the loss M'lady :)

Eabha good attitude re the STS and that's an amazing loss when you look over the weeks, especially as you used to plateau alot last year the new regimen is suiting you! :)

Baby couldn't agree more with you re those TV Shows - they set up unrealistic goals for people who have full time jobs, houses to run, kids to look after etc. I'm not so sure on OT but I think with the biggest loser they go to a ranch and do nothing but focus on exercise, healthy eating and the Weight loss. It's no wonder they have such huge losses! That said though I rather the slow and steady. Once it's off it's staying off and I don't want to be one of those people who lose it quickly and then can't keep it off. I know how I eat now will be how I eat from now on :)

Ali great post I think it's the same for alot of us, I could never eat chipper or chinese now, I much prefer my own cooking. I treat myself once every 4-6 weeks to some pizza but rather than get takeout I either make my own or as was the case on Saturday cheat and use a small pizzetta from M&S - knowing you can have those things as an occassional treat is what keeps me on track. & hey re the mandarin oranges if you're going to get an addiction to something great that its zero pp related! My current one is kiwis i chop two up the night before put them in the fridge at work and have as a snack at my desk at about 12 lovely :)

Good luck with all the WI's today/tonight onwards and downwards for us all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭lisa_celtic

Can anyone explain the 'filling and healthy' option to me? ;)

I only know what I read here: http://www.weightwatchers.co.uk/util/art/index_art.aspx?tabnum=1&art_id=49711

Basicly a list of food you can eat with out pointing until you are satisfied and then you point other things you add like butter etc from your weekleys they explain it better than me haha

TylersHo wrote: »
    Thanks so much baby75 for the great advice!! Thats a brilliant idea to ask for the sauce on the side and to half the sausage i will be trying that out. I think I just need to use my will power and take it easy on the drinks. I will bring down some ww treats also to eat maybe after a few drinks maybe it will help to avoid the temptation of junk food haha thanks a million for the advice feel so much more motivated now to stay on track :)
    At least in the hotel there wont be a press with junk in it to dive in to LOL I had diet coke instead and then had my two drinks which I enjoyed. had a big bottle of water in the room as well.
    I find it was all about not feeling deprived! I wasn't going to sit there drooling at my other half's plate, so if I was smart I could have a taste and not use all my PP in one sitting. its all about balance and moderation :)
    Kay_80 wrote: »
    Well done on the loss M'lady :)

Baby couldn't agree more with you re those TV Shows - they set up unrealistic goals for people who have full time jobs, houses to run, kids to look after etc. I'm not so sure on OT but I think with the biggest loser they go to a ranch and do nothing but focus on exercise, healthy eating and the Weight loss. It's no wonder they have such huge losses! That said though I rather the slow and steady. Once it's off it's staying off and I don't want to be one of those people who lose it quickly and then can't keep it off. I know how I eat now will be how I eat from now on :)

Good luck with all the WI's today/tonight onwards and downwards for us all!

Exactly Kay, OT they are at home trying to do all the normal things and change their lifestyle, which is good as they have a better chance of maintaining, I think! but its better to lose it slow than loads every week! as you said it leads to quicker gain, plus baggy skin! I think OT is probably better than the biggest loser they are not happy on less they see 5pounds plus each week! :eek: which is, as we know in the real world not healthy or sustainable !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭ynul31f47k6b59

I understand your eeeek moment! As I also started at 12'5 two weeks ago! Here's hoping we keep going down in numbers! :D

I tend to use my weekly points over Sat & Sun mostly. Not on purpose, but I just tend to want to eat more frequently when I'm at home as opposed to being in work. But I just track it and it works fine for me ;)

Jaysus girls, I'd love to be at 12 stone anything - imagine my shock when I started at 16 stone 4!!!! Still, into the 13s now, I'll catch up to ye soon :)
    Nesie wrote: »
    when it comes to the weeklies..do people find they lose more when they use them or not?

I am exercising a good bit (all moderate like cycling to work)..eat some but not all of the exercise points. am really determined as I have a friends wedding to go to at the end of march.

i could manage without the weeklies but want to maximise the weight loss before the wedding!

I have my OWN wedding this October, so as much as I love tearing into my weeklies, to be honest, it only makes sense that if you eat less, you'll lose more. I don't think I've been using the weeklies in the way that WW intended - I think really they're just in case you go over your daily pps, or for a night out - I've been bloody binge eating! No more!
    Das Kitty wrote: »
    Someone just told me that I lost a "ton" of weight. I didn't know how to respond, think I was a little bit put out by the unit of measure!

Must email her and thank her because I know it was meant as a compliment, I just stood there spouting some gibberish.

Weigh in tonight, later than normal as it's bridesmaid dress shopping time after work. One of the other Bridesmaids is kind of obsessed with body size so I'm expecting some comments, better get my gibberish prepared. :pac:

Haha isn't a great feeling though? I'm exactly the same, I haven't a clue what to say when people comment on it - was out at the weekend & someone told me "jesus, you've lost an awful heap of weight, you must have a few stone gone?" Instead of saying "I have, thank you, I feel great" or something to that effect, I stood like an eejit, red faced, going "ah yeah wasn't it about time, spent long enough sitting, lots more to go, blah blah blah" GRRRR!!! New rule to self: When someone compliments you, just say thank you and leave it that!! Not used to compliments, I think I behave as if they're insults sometimes!

Got a walk in every day this week after the great beer binge of 2012 on Monday night (got completely stressed wedding planning and took into whatever was left in the fridge) - also started the 30-Day-Shred, I'm so sore!! Only 1lb to go until my 5th silver seven, I'm coming for you tomorrow evening, little sticker!

Sorry for ridiculous length of post, good luck everyone with WI today & tomorrow :)

Baby75 wrote: »
    Exactly Kay, OT they are at home trying to do all the normal things and change their lifestyle, which is good as they have a better chance of maintaining, I think! but its better to lose it slow than loads every week! as you said it leads to quicker gain, plus baggy skin! I think OT is probably better than the biggest loser they are not happy on less they see 5pounds plus each week! :eek: which is, as we know in the real world not healthy or sustainable !

Taught the fact that they mentioned last night that they were voting in pacts (don't think that's the word i'm looking for put you know what i mean) takes away from the biggest loser the person who put in the most effort on the team sent home for no good reason.. i hate B*tchyness :( but still have to watch those shows!

I do rather OT but again feel that telling people your goal for this week is 4lb or 3lb is hard on the person. We all have to admit we would love to lose that much but are still ecstatic with or 1lb losses and they are making it seam like 1lb a week is not enough. I know its all TV and hopefully we will all still be here long after these shows finish up until next January when its time to be healthy again!

Good Luck to everyone this week!! I have my dinners planned till next Wednesday nothing is going to knock me off track this week!

At least in the hotel there wont be a press with junk in it to dive in to LOL I had diet coke instead and then had my two drinks which I enjoyed. had a big bottle of water in the room as well.
    I find it was all about not feeling deprived! I wasn't going to sit there drooling at my other half's plate, so if I was smart I could have a taste and not use all my PP in one sitting. its all about balance and moderation :)

Yea it would be a good idea for me to maybe have a diet coke in between drinks haha wont feel so deprived! Im looking up a few menus just to try and decide a lower pp option and stick to it loads of things like olives on the menu so im delighted now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 jodibobs

hi, i am finding it very hard to get a 0% fat greek yoghurt. I would like to try this plan. i reached goal last year,after losing 6 stone. i am finding maintenance tough and think 2 days a week on F&H would suit me. my leader is going to cover it next week. anyone any suggestions for a suitable yoghurt or puffed wheat cereal,thanks:)

Lisa thanks a Mil for posting the link for healthy & filling it makes total sense now I was totally confused about that as well ( glad I wasn't the only one!)

M'lady was it you or Eabha that said ye were going to take treats out of your weeklies? I think that's a good idea & when you look @ the food lists for F&H that seems to lend itself to that - alot of what I eat & point is on those lists so I might try it for a few days nxt week & see how I get on :) I'd be worried about the carb bit though I think I'd still weigh out my brown rice/ pasta but maybe give myself an extra 10g it's too easy for me too eat too many carbs even if they're wholegrain.

Quick Q for ye Tiny penguin Baileypants maybe you can help me out?! What brand of low fat spread/butter did ye use for the White sauce for your pasta bake / lasagne ? I don't eat butter or spreads I never have & only use butter for baking/making sauces etc so don't have a clue which low fat version to buy :o there's bloody loads of them its been Kerry gold since time immortal in my house!

I want to make lasagne for the freezer over the weekend so one which is i suppose that's lower than butter in pp but that won't feck up my sauce either!

Thanks a mil :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

Lisa thanks a Mil for posting the link for healthy & filling it makes total sense now I was totally confused about that as well ( glad I wasn't the only one!)

M'lady was it you or Eabha that said ye were going to take treats out of your weeklies? I think that's a good idea & when you look @ the food lists for F&H that seems to lend itself to that - slot of what I eat & point is on those lists so I might try it for a few days nxt week & see how I get on :)

Quick Q for ye Tiny penguin Baileypants maybe you can help me out?! What brand of low fat spread/butter did ye use for the White sauce for your pasta bake / lasagne ? I don't eat butter or spreads I never have & only use butter for baking/making sauces etc so don't have a clue which low fat version to buy :o there's bloody loads of them its been Kerry gold since time immortal in my house!

I want to make lasagne for the freezer over the weekend so one which is i suppose that's lower than butter in pp but that won't feck up my sauce either!

I got one in Aldi - i cant remember what its called, but its the only one they had in Aldi.

I used Low low in mine and it was fine :) you will love it, it was yummy I have another recipe Ill post its 9pp and uses no butter! if you want!

jodibobs Tesco your best bet or maybe Dunnes you have prob tried them though!

lisa_celtic I hate that type of carry on as well, the show should step in and stop that carry on :( Have you seen fatfighters on channel 4 I missed last nights but going to watch on 4od I'd be interested to see what you think :) eye candy :Dhttp://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-fat-fighters/4od

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

Has anyone else seen the new Eat Live Enjoy range from Tesco? I got one last night, Moroccan Style Chicken with Giant Cous Cous and it was delicious. The nutritional info on the back makes it look much better than the usual ready meals in terms of ingredients and the pack was 10pp. They seem to have a whole new range but that was the only one I saw in my local tesco. But yeh def recommended for a quick fix when y ou are stuck! Will post a pic of the packet on my blog when I get home tonight, cant do it from work!

Actually diffidently watch fatfighters it touches on how much weight you should lose and what we have been talking about!

They recommend a loss of 8 pounds in 4 weeks is brilliant and what we should aim for :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭BaileyPants

I got one in Aldi - i cant remember what its called, but its the only one they had in Aldi.

I used the one from Aldi too. I think it's called Dairy something.
    I used Low low in mine and it was fine :) you will love it, it was yummy I have another recipe Ill post its 9pp and uses no butter! if you want!

My leader always says that Low Low is one of the lowest ones, but seen as Aldi don't have it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭ali85

Gettin ready for WI.... oooh the nerves...

@ Baileypants.... I will try and start the ball rolling for both of us celebrating our SS tomorrow!!!! :D

Just talking about the gear in Aldi, I have to say I find it brilliant. Do most of my shopping there, aside from the things like Low Low cheese... (which by the way I stocked up on while I was in Dunnes on the way home... the spreadable cheese and the spreadable cheese with cracked black pepper... yum yum yum)

Ya can't beat it on price really. When my sister started a few weeks ago, we hit tesco coz it was handy but jeepers it cost us a fortune...

I love the fruit and veg specials out of aldi... ya can pick up 4 or 5 different fruit and veg for like 2 yoyos....

ali85 wrote: »

@ Baileypants.... I will try and start the ball rolling for both of us celebrating our SS tomorrow!!!! :D

Just talking about the gear in Aldi, I have to say I find it brilliant. Do most of my shopping there, aside from the things like Low Low cheese... (which by the way I stocked up on while I was in Dunnes on the way home... the spreadable cheese and the spreadable cheese with cracked black pepper... yum yum yum)

Ya can't beat it on price really. When my sister started a few weeks ago, we hit tesco coz it was handy but jeepers it cost us a fortune...

I love the fruit and veg specials out of aldi... ya can pick up 4 or 5 different fruit and veg for like 2 yoyos....
    Best of luck!! I do all my shoppin in aldi have all my weekly shopping pointed will put up a list it's so cheap!! Love the fruit n veg specials!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭galwayhooker

Weigh in yesterday and this is what i have to lose

weight.png

GOOD LUCK ALI !! :-)

Best of luck!! I do all my shoppin in aldi have all my weekly shopping pointed will put up a list it's so cheap!! Love the fruit n veg specials!!

That would be amazing Lisa! Please do!! :-)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Down 1.5 at my WI earlier. 4.5 pounds to goal and not having to fork out a tenner a week :D.

My leader was all excited for me. The thing is, she's known me 10 years now and this is the closest to goal I've ever been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭ali85

Oh that would be deadly!!! Thanks lisa!!!

Thanks BaileyPants....

I DID IT!!!!!! -2lbs!!! SILVER SEVEN!!! The first of many I hope!!! So thrilled!! Im back into the 11s now... albeit 11st 13.5lbs... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

ok i started a blog today and will update it everyday if people wanna follow it , its in my signature , i'll be posting pics of progress , excercise routine etc , ive just found out this morning that my brother wants me to be a groomsman at his wedding , thats in the end of July , thats 7 months to shift 5 stone , can it be done ??? i'll give 110 %

Best of luck mate, its a long term process though and I am same height as you and started off not far from you and so its doable!.I noticed you had bread ( 4 slices ) on your menu and thought this might interest you

http://www.dominicmunnelly.ie/2011/10/if-in-doubt-cut-the-wheat-out/

I have taken to lessening bread eating as much as possible and think there really could be something in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭ynul31f47k6b59

vasch_ro wrote: »
    I noticed you had bread ( 4 slices ) on your menu and thought this might interest you

http://www.dominicmunnelly.ie/2011/10/if-in-doubt-cut-the-wheat-out/

I have taken to lessening bread eating as much as possible and think there really could be something in it

Heya, don't mean to butt in but what bread are you using that's 8pp for 4 slices? Regular bread is 2pp a slice but it's 5pp for 2, and lower bread (Hovis Nimble, Dunnes Simply Better, Weightwatchers) is 1pp a slice, 3pp for two - just be careful with it because I got caught a few times with bread :)

Oh that would be deadly!!! Thanks lisa!!!

Thanks BaileyPants....

I DID IT!!!!!! -2lbs!!! SILVER SEVEN!!! The first of many I hope!!! So thrilled!! Im back into the 11s now... albeit 11st 13.5lbs... :D

Woo Hoo !! Congratulations! That's deadly. Bring on the next one :-)

I REALLY hope that's me tomorrow! ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭twirlagig

I love reading this thread - take a sneaky peek in work whenever I am feeling like I might stray! :) Doing my own WW/OT and down 3 today :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Hi All, i was down 3lbs at WI 2nite, was delighted esp as i was up 2 last week. - 3 stone 1 lb gone now :) another 5lbs and ill be in the 12 stone bracket :D cant wait

onwards and downwards:D:D:D

Aldi Weekly Shopping List:
    • Strawberry Crunch Cereal 1pp per 10g
    • Chocolate Rice cakes 2pp each or 7pp for 3
    • Seeded Dinner Rolls 4pp each these ones Amazballs
    • Noodles (not dried.. kinda like straight to wok) 6pp for individual portion
    • Whole wheat pasta 1pp per 10g
    • Passata 0pp
    • Spicy Pasta Sauce 2pp per half jar
    • Sugar Free Orange Dilute 0pp
    • Sugar Free Apple and Blackcurrent Dilute 0pp
    • Lean Steak Mince 24pp for the tray
    • Fresh Mini Chicken Fillets I weigh these in to 4pp portions get 3 or 4 out of it
    • Chicken Slices 4pp for the pack these are the turkey version
    • Carved ham four slices for 2pp
    • All the meats pizzain the fridge 11pp for half its fab!!
    • 0% Fat yougurt 2pp each
    • Poppin chicken 6pp half a bag (great for quick Salad)
    • Lightly Dusted Yellow Sole Fin 4pp per fillet
    • Lightly Dusted Cod/Haddock 5pp
    • Bags of popcorn 3pp each
    • Chilli Heat Doritos 7pp for 1/4 a pack
    • Hot Salsa 1pp per portion
    • The mini magnum style ice creams 3pp and my fav treat!!

I also get all my fruit and veg there for 0pp my shopping is around €35 when i do it alone €55 when Al comes with me damn aldi and there man isles!!!

Brilliant losses tonight well done one & all :D