Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Procrastination: Discuss. (Exams Thread >_<)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

That sucks! I had to blow off "work"(volunteering) for my exam next Sat.
    Happy though, cause I have people to take care of it.

A whole week to study, yey!!
    =P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

Funniest thing OF have done in a bit!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aYrOjbdxRkU

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

DB10 wrote: »
    Anyone else think exams on saturday are ridiculous?

From a transport point of view, most of the buses probably won't be running on Saturdays, so left with the option of a train to Dublin and then another 2hr 45min bus journey, on a Saturday night, on my own....:rolleyes::(

They don't do it for the craic, there's obviously only a certain number of exam "slots" available during the week. If they did away with Saturday exams they would need to have 3 more weekday exam days, essentially meaning that we'd not start back lectures until a week later which would either force them to cut week of teaching time or add an extra year to the academic calender (plus another week for the summer exams).

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

I see, but surely an arrangement could be made with the buses to run on the Saturdays. Very frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭dillo2k10

Is anyone else really unprepared for their exams?

I know that I will do well in two and fail another two with a 50/50 chance on the 5th one.

I keep trying to study for the two I most likely will fail but I get overwhelmed by the huge quantity of information and end up learning nothing.

Now I have a make up mcq tomorrow for 33% of my module grade and then the exam for the other 66% and I haven't got a clue what's going on in the subject.

So I will be repeating in August :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

I've been pretty unprepared for my first two, but I got lucky with questions so far...

And repeating in August isn't that big a deal! It's not like it's two months extra learning something brand new, it's two months extra revision on stuff you've already been through. I think I'll be failing one of my exams, and worrying about it isn't worth the stress. I might scrap a pass this time around, but it'll be difficult, whereas doing just that exam in August will be way handier.

I've been really hard on myself the last few weeks (look at some of my posts in this thread...), and it's not worth the stress. Exam time makes everyone feel ****, worrying about failing on top of all that is just too much for anyone. As soon as you turn over your paper in the exam, everything gets easier, so don't worry right up till that moment, just work to it. Failing is no big deal, it's just another shot at a better mark.

So I'm rambling a bit here but if you're getting yourself upset over having to repeat an exam, **** that! It's a ****ing exam, it's a bit of paper, it's nothing! Not worth the stress :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Loanshark Blues

Should be studying but I'm procrastinating by reading about how others are procrastinating...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

I'm finished! :D 4 exams in 5 days is now worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

^ I'd say you're over the moon! Enjoy your 3 weeks of hols :D Wish I was finished >.<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

First proper day of study. 3 days before the start of my exams. #newlow

Today was shocking. Oh well, over now. It'll be grand :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭sudzy

Walking around Aldi getting my exam snacks, mmmn bacon fries, and I picked up the imitation Red Bull.
    DON'T GET IT

Drank two cans while studying last night and felt incredibly sick all day.

Me and my mate used to drink that stuff, red thunder i think it's called. We realised it was giving us both sore stomachs so we stopped... Was tempted to get it again and see if it was jsut a coincidence. Gonna keep well clear of it now!

One of my flatmates last year pulled an all nighter before an exam and was drinking that stuff. The next morning he said he was half blind

Least he didn't end up like Will from The Inbetweeners :pac:

I don't subject myself to that crap programme.

DB21 wrote: »
    I don't subject myself to that crap programme.
    Ah it's pretty funny tbh! It's the opposite of high-brow, but still :p Also the actor who plays Simon is fine <3

Watched it once. Thought it was as funny as a funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Netflix for Ireland! :)

Netflix haven't updated Boxee app so Irish can use it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Soooo much work to do :(

Part of me knows I have to study, while part of me thinks I might die if I don't relax and procrastinate. An Essay on Procrastination would be ideal right now

Also, Rob, do you know that you and Robert Webb are cousins?

robert-webb-006.jpg

Nailed it!

Now Quantum Mechanics 2 on Friday. But there's only so much I can do... **** it, see yis in August :pac:

I'm going to be back in August too most likely, woo. Dayum, I just love repeating! But at least now I don't really have to worry about next week's exam or the huge backload of essays I have to do. Next semester is going to be different.

Yeah, if I hadn't satisfied myself with getting it on the repeat I'd be dying with stress right now. It's not worth the upset.

Yeah that's it. I'd have probably ended up in casualty or worse if I (and my awesome friends) hadn't have kept a bit of a tab on myself; let's just say me and stress don't tend to mix well together :pac:

Few repeats, be grand!

Quantum Mechanics tomorrow. Maaaaaaan.... So many things to learn.

****. This. ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

As long as you can explain how magnets work I'll be happy.

banquo wrote: »
    As long as you can explain how magnets work I'll be happy.

See that's the thing... I could explain it, but only after memorising a set of notes that explained it to me... Is that learning?

Oh look, I'm having the same internal monologue that every other student has right before exam times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Well I'm sure learning off stuff comes with the territory(Quantum Mechanics).
    Unless you're doing research of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

The novel Infinite Jest awaits me at home; currently a borderline masturbatory fantasy because of these exams. 3 more.